Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Walk to Jazz Fest and City Park!

Bedrooms 1
Space 190 sq ft
Property type bed & breakfast
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

One bedroom suite with a full bath. You have a private entrance and front porch space. Although we do not share any space, you will hear us. Our home is a typical New Orleans double entrance house where we live on one side and our guests use the other side.

Bedroom features include:

-Queen bed with gel memory mattress

-Quality sheets

-MyPillow brand pillows

-Ceiling fan with 4 speed settings

-Armoire with hangers

-Walls hooks for hanging clothes, towels, etc.

-Table and 2 chairs

-2 nightstands and reading lamps

-Sound machine

Bathroom features include:

-Cast iron bathtub with 2 shower settings

-Vanity with hairdryer, towels, and toiletry essentials

We are directly across from several restaurants as well as a salon, grocery store, coffee shop, laundromat, and bus stop.

Good to know:

-We have a 4 year old son and you will hear us get up for school around 7:30 (on weekdays). We try to keep our noise level as low as possible though!

-Our water is triple filtered throughout our home so no need for bottled water.

-We use only natural cleaning products and detergents to clean and launder sheets.

-The thermostat is inside our area so please just let us know if you're hot or cold and we'll adjust it ASAP!

More Details

Laura Lea Reid
Member since: 2017
Speaks: english, spanish, italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 5, 2018


Bayou St. John Bed And Breakfast Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bed & breakfast
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 190 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Books
  • Television
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • sailing
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Walk to Jazz Fest and City Park!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews

Charming bedroom on Esplanade

  • 5 of 5

I enjoyed three days of serenity in this fresh, light-filled bedroom in a distinctive recently restored New Orleans house in a shady residential neighborhood. The front porch is a relaxing spot and a window onto a bustling Esplanade Avenue intersection with a park, restaurants, and two coffee houses within a block are two. There's no coffee maker in the room. Hosts Laura and Marcello are friendly and accommodating. Recommended for those who want a respite from New Orleans festivities.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so happy you enjoyed you stay! We look forward to hosting you next time you visit Nola.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Ideal Experience

  • 5 of 5

Perfectly located for Jazzfest, Laura Lee and Marcello were extraordinary warm, welcoming, and helpful. The room is beautifully appointed and comfortable, and we couldn't have asked for a better location. Thanks again for the wonderful weekend.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place and area! Hostess is wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for three nights when attending a friends wedding. The home is absolutely beautiful and very clean. The location is perfect. Restaurants are in walking distance from the home. The hostess, Laura is a doll and wonderful! :) She provided us with everything we needed to have for a comfortable stay, checked in on us to make sure we were enjoying ourselves in NOLA, and knows the best place to go for margaritas. :) We defineitly recommend people to stay here!

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely perfect Hosts and location

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful Historic Home, very comfortable and clean, with private entrance/exit just for us. Will definitely will be booking again at this location. Close to walk to everything we wanted to do. Hosts were very helpful and able to answer our questions, the room was very comfortable and had everything plus that we needed to have a comfortable stay.

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not ideal

  • 1 of 5

This experience was not at all what my husband and I expected when renting this property. This is a bedroom in the home that simply has an outside entrance, so we could hear everything going on in the main house. There is either a children's bedroom or playroom directly above the rented portion, and the noise was enough to keep us awake. When I texted the property owner letting her know the noise was too much, her and her husband came and knocked on the door to discuss my text message and to remind me that if I was in a hotel there would be noise above me too. This experience was not at all a good fit for us, and we ended up cancelling the rest of our stay and finding a hotel in order to have the peace we wanted.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The truth is we asked Samantha and her husband to leave our home. Samantha sent us an extremely rude (and quite odd) text message at 8:15 PM complaining of noise and the room in general. We immediately called her to apologize for any noise and assured her we would move to another part of the house so we would not disturb her. Also, that had we known she was going to bed at 8:00 PM we would have taken steps to assure her as much silence as possible. She again, responded very angrily and was not at all interested in a resolution of any kind. At this point, me and my husband went to speak with her directly to understand what was going on. She continued to be very aggressive and insulted us personally and professionally. At this point, we realized something was not right and that we needed them to find other accommodations for the remainder of their stay. In the description of our space it clearly states that you will hear our family. However, we are always 100% considerate of our guests and would never allow anyone to have a bad experience with us...not matter what! We have hosted over 200 guests in our space over the past 2 years and have been very fortunate to never have had a problem (that could not be pleasantly and easily solved), but that was not the case with Samantha. We cancelled the remainder of their reservation after contacting VRBO to make sure there would be an immediate refund issued with no problems for either party. We stand by our decision.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Great location and hostess! Room was even better than photos look.

  • 5 of 5

We were very impressed by the room, the quaint neighborhood, and especially our hostess Laura. Our visit felt more like staying with a friend than an host. The neiborhood had plenty of walkable amenities, and is also just a short walk to city park. Would love to stay there again.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. Hope to host you again next time you're in town!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $25
Refundable damage deposit $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties