HERMOSO "ESCAPADA" 5 DORMITORIOS 4 BAÑOS Y APARTAMENTO INDEPENDIENTE Y COCINA!
GREG DRAGOS / DEBBIE DRAGOS
Reglas de la propiedad
No se permite fumar
No se aceptan mascotas
Se aceptan niños
Número máximo de personas:14
Política de cancelación
100% de reembolso para cancelaciones con más de 14 días antes de la fecha de entrada. 50% de reembolso para cancelaciones con más de 7 días antes de la fecha de entrada.
House with potential...
I want to start off by saying that our families had a good time at the lake and made lifelong memories. The house served its purpose and is ideal size for multiple families. The road is a long dirt road and may be a little difficult if you bring your own boat, but it is doable. Our dissatisfaction and low rating comes from inaccurate descriptions of the yard, the "apartment," and poor communication.
The yard is poorly maintained and conflicts with the description. The yard is described as "great lake views and new landscaping," but is far from that. In fact, you can't see a clear view of the dock from anywhere on the property except from the top deck, due to overgrown bushes. Additionally, there is septic overflow in the only clear grassy area of the yard.
The apartment was not used by us during our stay due to mold/mildew on the ceiling and baseboards in the bathroom, along with a not so pleasant smell. On arrival there was a strong "bug spray" smell, which was relayed to the owners right away. The mold/mildew was noted after our initial communication with the owners.
In addition, there was poor communication with the owners of the check out process and when issues were noted. Upon arrival, we noticed minor things and emailed the owners. Initially, he was quick to respond. However, towards the end of the week when other concerns were voiced, there was no response from the owners.
According to the owners, the "app" does not match the website in regards to what is and isn't included. For example, renters are responsible for their own linens & towels (but the VRBO "app" states they are provided).
There are no check out details on-site (or provided electronically) because according to the owners it was "misplaced." Renters are responsible for removing the trash from the property and figuring out where the closest landfill is. Had I not asked about the trash pick up, I would of not been aware of this and potentially been charged. After no response from the owners regarding where the landfill was, we found one a few miles up the road.
Upon leaving the home, I messaged the owner and made him aware of our experience during our stay and have not received a response from them. I was hoping to get a response from him before submitting our review, but after 48 hours of no response, I have proceeded with the review. This house really has the potential to be a beautiful home, it just needs maintenance and better communication.
Has great potential but needs love and attention to reach it
The owner was responsive when contacted but the property needs attention. The listing says no pets but we found the place full of pet hair everywhere and at best quick cleaned. We spent our first hours there cleaning before we could unpack and were not able to enjoy some of the areas because of the cob webs or the moldy smells. The home has great potential after a good deep cleaning of the inside, the outside, and some mold treatment and air dehumidifiers placed throughout. It als needs some new beds on the loft and on the detached unit - they are way too old to be used safely or comfortably.
When we contacted the owner, he had his cleaning lady come by and vacuum the carpets for us - as there was no working vacuum to use. So we appreciate that effort.
The location was perfect. Access to the lake was great and location to "town" was only 10 minutes away!! The property says no pets but the owners must have a dog so if you have an allergy to dogs, be aware. The house was great for our family that had 12 people staying in it which included 5 young children. The main floor has two bedrooms but only one bathroom. The basement has a beautiful master bedroom/bath and a second bedroom with a hall bathroom.
We really enjoyed the amazing views from the deck, fishing and swimming from dock (great condition and size), and cooking in the great kitchen. We would definitely rent this house again. Greg is awesome to work with. For example, we lost power on our last night and he helped us contact the power company to resolve our issue at 10pm!. We had an amazing trip and a great experience. Can't wait to go back!
Gaston Getaway Review
Great stay, beautiful house, very nice owners. Overall awesome experience!
Josh : thanx for the kind words. we try very hard to be sure all our guests at our "Gaston Getaway" have a wonderful "vaca"experience !
Greg & Debbie
House dirty, dirty, dirty, lake area very nice
I arrived on Sunday afternoon after our family arrived on Saturday to find the kitchen un-clean. The family cleaned up and went on. I can't attest to the state of the kitchen since I did not see it but I can attest to the condition of the "Garage room" that my wife and I were unfortunately assigned to (Our daughter would not sleep there). It was very smelly. I guess the best description was musty, very musty. We aired it out as much as possible but it was still very pungent. All of our clothes had this "stink" on them after the stay. Even the clothes that did not come out of our bags needed to be washed. My Wife left on another trip the day after coming home from this property and she had to use luggage that did not make the trip to the Gaston Getaway because of the stink that stuck to everything.The shower in this area got "Luke Warm" at best and the wall A/C was very loud but it worked. Yeah!
The main bathroom on the first floor of the house smelled of URINE near the toilet. Unfortunately, my opinion was that this area had not been cleaned either. I am a Registered Nurse so I am familiar with the smell of "old urine" and this was it. I also played pool with my Daughter down in the basement. My bare feet ended up so dirty! This hard surface floor evidently had not been cleaned either. Just disgusting in my opinion. The vaulted areas in the living room were totally dusty, with cobwebs as well. Great for someone with asthma!
In my opinion the home owners need to find I different cleaning company. Or maybe do an inspection after the house is "cleaned" before commanding such a premium weekly rental.
We found that the dock and swimming area to be very nice. Lake Gaston is a very clean lake and we enjoyed this. The dock area set up was very nicely, although some of the furniture was not that great. We enjoyed the swimming!
With a deep cleaning and a fresh paint job inside, in my opinion this could be a nice property, unfortunately I did not find it to be one for our stay. Thanks to my Sister-in law for dealing with the owners of Gaston Getaway. I know this was a trying process!
As Abe Lincoln once said : "you cant please all of the people all of the time ". Albeit , since our massive renovation some 8 years ago we have certainly attempted and have succeeded in making 99%+ of our renters feel welcomed and comfortable at our , "Gaston Getaway". On this singular occasion my wife, who was actually there when these renters arrived ,offered to reclean as needed as we have had a poor performance from our housekeeper.The renters declined this offer. Moving forward we will have a brand new housecleaning service beginning this month. The garage apartment was not used much this season and hence there was a mustiness to it and that has been addressed by completely sealing off the apartment from the rest of the garage.We also provided a several hundred dollar refund to appease these folks but apparently that too was insufficient.Please note that every previous review on VRBO has been very positive.
Our "Gaston Getaway" is one the nicer homes on the lake with a huge well stocked kitchen / dining area , slate pool table , redone 18 by 34 foot dock , and upscale master suite which we love coming to from Raleigh NC. If you have any questions please call us. Thanx in advance .....Sincerely .....Greg and Debbie
Perfect Family Reunion Spot
This house allowed the perfect mix of R&R and excitement for a family of 14! We loved the location, which provided the privacy of a cove with the gorgeous main lake views. The dock setup was great; it has a shaded area for those who don't want to get too much sun. I appreciated this and didn't notice it with a lot of other docks on the lake. My grandmother can't walk all the way down to the dock, so the large shaded deck was a good option for her to enjoy the views. For entertainment, we had pool and ping pong tournaments, roasted marshmallows by the fire pit, went paddle boarding (there is a place to rent them locally), watched movies, played some games from the house and even found a few fun local bars and restaurants (check out The Pointe Cafe) that can be accessed easily by car or boat. The bedrooms were spacious and clean and we had plenty of room to spread out. This house was the perfect spot for our family reunion. Thanks for sharing your lovely home!