Clásico Waterfront Home, privada de playa, 2 dormitorios, 2 baños, (Capacidad de hasta 6)
Reglas de la propiedad
No se permiten fiestas o eventos
No se permite fumar
No se aceptan mascotas
Se aceptan niños
great yard for kids to play or explore tidepools
Número máximo de personas:6
Cancellation Policy: As a stand-alone vacation rental home a cancellation affects me significantly. Please consider purchasing trip insurance.
Garbage & Recycling: There is no regular garbage service at the house. You will need to take it to the dump on way to ferry.
Cleaning charge: is for a min. of 2 hours. It can take longer. Laundry takes time. Please strip the beds and start a load. Use the cleaning checklist.
Política de cancelación
100% de reembolso para cancelaciones con más de 60 días antes de la fecha de entrada.
Wonderful Stay on Orcas Island
The location of this home is exquisite. It’s in a forest, overlooking the bay/inlet. . During our stay we saw whales, a sea otter, and a deer swimming from a nearby island. Peaceful and beautiful. Melinda was very responsive. We can’t wait to return to Orcas Island!
I look forward to your return visit. Orcas is a magical place! Cheers, Melinda
First Orcus Island Trip - But Not The Last
One word, WOW!
If you are looking for San Juan Islands seclusion, look no further. This property is a 45-minute drive from the ferry dock to peacefully quiet privacy, overlooking the Rosario Strait and the Peapod rocks. There is enough watercraft, personal and commercial, as well as wildlife activity to keep one occupied looking through the all the big picture windows without going anywhere else. For an extra treat venture down the two staircases to the water’s edge where seals and sea otters will greet you. Make sure to bring binoculars! The house itself was clean, well-stocked with the appliances and tools to cook and clean, and the open floorplan provided plenty of space to spread out.
Those so inclined to travel around can visit East Sound for shopping and the Island Market there is wonderfully well stocked with beautifully laid out marketplace to purchase all the food and accompaniments for your stay. Additionally, there are the historic sites of Mount Constitution and Rosario Marina Resort and Spa to visit and linger over. The ferry ride to San Juan is easy, quick, and scenic.
The house ownership was very communicative and allayed any misgivings we may have had for riding the ferry system and provided a map to be able to find the remotely located property. This was important to us as we were first time visitors to the San Juans and we were a bit nervous beings the ferry system is integral to moving about the major islands.
We had a lifechanging visit and are certain this will not be our last excursion to the San Juans and hoping that is property is available for the next time.
Hi Benn, I am so glad that you had a wonderful time. Orcas is truly a magical place that should be on everyone's bucket list. I hope to have you visit again! Cheers, Melinda
Beautiful island retreat
All the positive reviews are true and any negative comments are minor. This is a wonderful secluded house on the water with a gorgeous view, lots of wildlife (unfortunately the eagles didn't show up for us), and even a visiting cat from next door. The living room and dining area have lots of windows, so the view is always right there. We spent a lot of time on the back deck and got a spectacular thunder and lightning storm one night.
The good, the bad and the primitive
The location is very private and quiet with beautiful views. The directions to it were iffy but we managed to find it OK. It was the list of things that we were told were not provided and we had to bring ourselves that we found absolutely astounding. Toilet paper and soap are not provided! Really??? I have stayed in places all over the world including some rather primitive 3rd world locations and I have always been provided toilet paper and soap. We also had to bring our own laundry detergent and paper towels! For what it cost us to stay there I found this shameful.
We should have been told to bring some pots and pans as well because what was provided was woefully inadequate. The ONLY frying pan was so tiny you could only cook an egg or a hot dog in it - but not both at the same time as it was too small. The pots were tiny too and not useful for anything more substantial than a can of soup. The stove was so old that you could not read any of the dials at all. It was a complete guess as to what setting and temperature you were cooking at. Finally, if you are a cat lover you will love it there since the neighbor has at least 3 and every time we opened the door one of them scooted in. Oh, and did I mention the thermostat in the living room did not work and the tub was so narrow that if you are not a slender person you will never be able to sit down in it? In summary, the location and views were terrific but the house needs some upgrades as does the owner`s thinking on what needs to be provided. And a king size bed would be welcome upgrade as well.
Jim and Julie Sept 2019
Hi Jim, My house is generally rented by families in the summer by the week who will bring in more supplies for a longer stay. I'm sure that you found toilet paper, soap, and laundry detergent at the house. There are plenty of frying pans in the bottom drawer of the stove, sorry you missed seeing them. And, also there are small and large pots including a large pasta pot in the cabinets. Sorry about the stove knobs and thanks for pointing this out. They will be replaced. The dial for the thermostat in the living room needs to be turned to get that heat to come on. I could have answered that question if you had texted or called me. Yes, the house is older but it is clean and the tub is a standard size tub. So sorry about the neighbor's cat. I hope that you didn't let the cat in because we are a pet free house. My rates for a private waterfront home are less than a hotel room on the island. For others reading this, please read the other reviews of very happy visitors for many years! Cheers, Melinda
Beautiful Get-Away Home
We were very pleased with Melinda‘s property. It was everything that we were hoping for: a clean & comfortable home with beautiful sweeping views of the water. Also, Melinda was very responsive to any questions we had. If you love being “away from it all” and surrounded by nature, this is the place for you! And as a plus, if you don’t feel like cooking, Doe Bay Resort has a fabulous farm to table restaurant which we highly recommend.
Frente al Mar, Playa, Observación de aves (águilas calvas americanas); La observación de ballenas (orcas); Otros Vida Marina (focas, nutrias de mar)