Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Creekside Woodland Brook Historic Cabin Summer Song Cabin 9,

Bedrooms 1
Space 400 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

This is a short term rental. 30 days or Less.Cabin, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2

Summer Song is a Woodland Brook Historic Cabin. Secluded & Peaceful, it's an easy walk to town & river & minutes from several nearby Hot Springs

Our Historic Log Cabin is situated close to the banks of the old Cottonwood Creek before it was diverted downtown. We are nestled in the heart of Colorado's most spectacular 14,000 foot Peaks, with Mount Princeton, Antero, Yale, Harvard, Columbia and more. In fact there is no place on Earth where you can visit more 14'er's from one valley. You must go up Cottonwood Pass as well as the other beautiful canyon south of Buena Vista to visit Famous White Chalk Cliffs, overlooking Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Pools. We share a nice Five acre property with the other cabins that speckle the landscape of this secluded area full of tall mature trees and many grassy meadows for your relaxation and pleasure. There is also a small pond just to the left as you leave our front door - follow the creek and it will lead you to the pond.

This Log Cabin is small and cozy - perfect for an affordable romantic relaxing getaway. It is surrounded by spectacular quaking Cottonwoods, Aspens and Pines. Relax on our front porch area, or at the picnic table, and enjoy the feeling of being in a forest eco-system overlooking waters of our creek - all while just a few minutes walk or bike ride from the historic central downtown area of Buena Vista. If you enjoy fishing, test your skills in one of the many nearby creeks and lakes to find yourself a private fishing spot.

Our authentic Log Cabin has a nice Mountain decor; having been restored with all the modern conveniences while maintaining its original 100 year old rustic charm. Several Antiques add charm to the cabin, as do the old 1921 Calendars on the wall.The living room has a gas heater and a studio kitchen with all appliances except an oven and dishwasher. This one room cabin has a luxurious Queen size log bed, with log vaulted ceilings and an enclosed private bathroom and shower area. There is also a stereo and Flat Screen Television with many cable channels.

Nearby activities include white-water rafting, kayaking, hiking, fishing, skiing, snowmobiling, ATVing, mountain biking, golf etc., or simply relax in one of Colorado's best Olympic size, Natural Mountain Hot Springs.

Keywords: Colorado Cabin

More Details

Property Manager
Charles Lugenbeel
Member since: 1998
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 26, 2017

Why Charles Lugenbeel chose South Central

Buena Vista is a fantastic area in the heart of Colorado - As the Chamber of Commerce motto for Chaffee county goes; ' NOW THIS IS COLORADO!'

The area is home to the most 14'ers in the world and yet despite the great views of Mts all around, the valley is kind of a sunbelt and comfy cozy most of the time. The Arkansas River runs thru the area and is host to the largest number of Raft companies and most annual visitation of river runners in the world. Kayaking park at south main is another area attraction and hiking trails, horseback companies and biking abound. Skiing is not far - north or south and the Hot Springs at Mt Princeton or Cottonwood are also some of the best in the world.

What makes this cabin unique

Drive up any of the main area passes to get a really wonderful view of Colorado any time of year. Cottonwood pass has easy access to incredible hiking and sunsets at the Continental Divide - Up Chalk Creek canyon there are more scenic views, lakes & old mining towns like St Elmo with great aspen fall colors or hiking & XX Skiing any time of year. There's an opportunity to see 5 eco-systems in a 15 mile drive - from high desert to tundra so be sure to get out and explore around the area. See also the Hot Springs and the River Adventures. Truly this is the Heart of Colorado so ENJOY!


Buena Vista Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • tennis


3.7/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

42% Complete
22% Complete
8% Complete
8% Complete
17% Complete
Creekside Woodland Brook Historic Cabin Summer Song Cabin 9,
average rating of 3.6571429 based on 35 reviews

Property was nice

  • 1 of 5

The cabin was nice BUT there was a gas leak. When I texted about it, I was told it had been checked and there was nothing to worry about. Just open a window. I'm sorry any kind a gas leak is scary. I told them I would not be staying the night there and have not heard anything about a refund or particial refund. I have stayed in these cabins before and never had a problem. Really bothers me that no one has gotten back with me yet.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: At Joyous Vacations we care about our guests. We offered a credit for another time as our policy is no refunds. But we did look into the concern and it was a bad pilot light that needed worked on. So our plummer has been out an all is well. So do check the home out for yourself.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

High on charm, lower on amenities.

  • 3 of 5

Tiny, as described. Functional and outdoor setting, lovely. Coffee pot broke, and new one appeared, within hours! But sheets are dreadful, in need of replacing, throw rugs dirty and very slippery and the cobwebs are in lots of places....

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a great 100 year old cabin. Don't let the 3 stars stop you from visiting the area. We are one of the cheapest in town in summer. Things break and our sheets and towels are clean. Not sure of the extra amenities but more of them the higher the rate. So do come to Buenia Vista Colorado and check it out.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cabin in Buena Vista

  • 5 of 5

This was an older cabin in an ideal location - perfect for my husband and I - convenient walking into Buena Vista and easy access to great hiking. The location was quiet and it was a comfortable stay for us.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Indianapolis, Indiana

Very nice rustic cabin.

  • 4 of 5

Very cozy cabin. Well equipped and loved the quiet location. Town is also great. Would return.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

Please don't waste your money! Only gave it one star because you have to put something.This is a quaint cabin but that's as good as it gets. We arrived and had 3 wasps flying around and 2 dead on the window sill. The bed was raised on one side so it slanted to the other, as well, the bed was like sleeping on a board, if you have any back trouble at all, this bed is not good! The rugs were filthy, cobwebs everywhere and just not clean, as well one roll of toilet paper for three days. Just not satisfactory at all. Have sent an email to Charles, he said we didn't let him know these things, but was also told prior to our stay, not to contact him unless it was life or death until we got home. Then states the contract said no refunds. REALLY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: "We value our guests and what they say. This is a 100 year old cabin. We state the home is small and rustic. Its not a hotel, as the HOA was putting in a new gas line we worked hard so we wouldn't have to cancel any rentals. As this was for the 4th all the guests did is email stating they would be leaving do to the bees, bed and dust. (The bees could of be killed, dust housekeeper could of been sent out, bed was fixed by the guest per their review.) But we didn't even have the chance to send someone out to fix the issues. They choose to go to a hotel. As you can see on a number of sites the home is posted on. The guests just love this rustic little old cabin. But some guests just don't see the charm in it. Yes our policy says no refunds, especially on a busy holiday when we have staff to pay and other guests are looking hard just to find some type of place to stay. So as we were working on the process for some type of refund and breaking out policies. Now they wanted a full refund and post a bad review. So as a company we can't see any guests getting both. So please do read all the reviews and check this great cabin out for your self. Thanks"
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying in this cabin. It was older, but very nice. It was equipped with everything needed for a very comfortable stay. The location was quiet and private, yet in town and easy to access all things locally. We would love to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Pet Fee $20

Discounts maybe offered, email to find out.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties