Luxury Self Catering Apartment in the grounds of a Monastery on Loch Ness
About Joanne Nicholson
Built in 1876, The Benedictine Abbey that's now home to The Highland Club is one of the oldest buildings in Fort Augustus and one of the most stunning buildings around Loch Ness. For many years, Benedictine Monks ran the Abbey as a school. There are many recorded sightings of the Loch Ness Monster by the Monks over the years whilst they stayed there.
Joanne Nicholson purchased this Cottage in 2008
Why Joanne Nicholson chose Ft Augustus
The Highland Club provides luxury self catering accommodation in the Highlands of Scotland. This holiday destination is an ideal way to experience the best that Scotland has to offer for both young and old.
What makes this Cottage unique
The Highland Club is just 40 minutes from Inverness and Inverness Airport, making it convenient to fly for a rejuvenating weekend break. The location allows traffic free access to Aonach Mor ski area during the winter months and year round access to the Highlands and all the local outdoor/adventure sports. The beautiful beaches of the West Coast of Scotland can be found about an hour away with easy access to Isle of Skye across the new bridge at Kyle of Lochalsh. To the East there are several beaches in the Dornoch/Black Isle area. Whisky Distilleries are in all directions, while for the children, the Hogwarts Express is a train that runs along the valley where Harry Potter was filmed. The nearby ruins of Urquhart Castle, Cawdor Castle and the world famous Eilean Donan Castle are all within an hour's drive. Not forgetting the Loch Ness Visitor's Centre and the monster itself.... Whether you are looking to have a family holiday on Loch Ness, or you want a romantic weekend break for two, The Highland Club is in the perfect location to offer something for everyone, whether you want to soak in the area's history, go on an adventure, or stay warm and dry, there are activities for everyone. When you stay at The Highland Club, you have access to our extensive range of indoor and outdoor facilities, including: Swimming pool Sauna Steam room Tennis court Gym BBQ Area Billiard table Table Tennis Archery and other activities
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
Minimum age of primary renter:18
Max guests:4 (sleeps up to 4 adults)
Lovely place for a short visit
We booked this as an alternative to a cottage, for 8 days. The flat itself is stunning to behold but does have a major problem with a lack of natural light due to the stained glass windows. You need to turn on around 8 lights each day which is a pain. Also due to the lack of windows to open I suspect it would get a little stuffy in the height of summer. Shower was powerful but did do the ‘hot, not so hot’ thing on a cycle. I did report so perhaps they can fix. There was no Bose sound system as promised which was disappointing as we like to listen to music. If this all sounds negative, apologies but I am being hypercritical due to the high cost of the flat. The flat is one of a lot of flats in the development. We didn’t have any problem getting in to use the pool however I suspect in busier periods it may get more difficult. Overall this is a lovely flat for two. Due to the slightly claustrophobic lighting I would recommend as more of a weekend stay rather than a longer visit. For a weekend it would be a stunning experience. Overall we very much enjoyed, a 7.5/10
Sleeping in a chapel.
Enjoyed the property.Very well equipped.Stained glass windows are wonderful.
Only two complaints-no window in the second bedroom and the clothes drier takes too long.
Dear Mrs Moffat,
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We clearly state on our main website that there is no window in the second bedroom. When advertising on other sites the information is pulled across from the main website and invariably this is not replicated in full. Thank you for pointing this out, my advice is that anyone booking on these types of sites refer back to the main site as this is where all the property information is generated and is most up to date.
We are delighted you had a lovely holiday and that you appreciated the wonderful architectural details in this property. It is truly amazing and has been designed around the original features hence the need to compromise on layout on some occasions.
Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct
Joanne Nicholson Highland Club direct
This place is beautiful! It was on the pricier end but staying inside a chapel was exceptional and the place is perfectly located.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you had a wonderful holiday. Thank you for raising the point about how convenient the location is to all amenities and many fantastic day trips. St Andrew's Chapel is certainly a special property, the owners have invested significantly in the quality of the furnishings which makes this apartment exceptional. We hope you will visit us again soon and take advantage of our repeat guest discount. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct
Just as wonderful as it appears in the photos
This property is as wonderful as it seems in the photos. The property manager, Mike met us as we drove up. He gave us a tour of the property and was helpful throughout our stay.
The Chapel rental was all light up on our arrival and absolutely gorgeous. We appreciated the provisions provided. The beds are on the firm side but Mike provided us with a pillow topper. We enjoyed the swimming in the heated pool, playing ping pong and wandering the Abbey. The town is a short walk away, along with boating activities. We enjoyed dining several times at The Boat House restaurant. Would suggest dinner reservations, especially on the weekends. We would highly recommend staying at this very unique property.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay in St Andrews' Chapel. The experienced property management team are on hand to attend to any questions and help you require during your stay. Thank you for pointing out the close proximity to the prettiest village in the Highlands, Fort Augustus. It has all amenities that anyone needs and is a short walk away from The Highland Club. We also have a large amount of excellent on site facilities such as swimming pool sauna and steam room.
We have one of the best selections of properties and hope you will visit us again soon and take advantage of our repeat guest discount.
Highland Club Direct
Love and Hate
No one from management ever talked to us, maintenance man was of no help whatsoever. I had to reset hot water tank twice each day every day just to have heat and water. The electric curtains did not work and haven’t worked for 6 months according to maintenance man.. The sauna and steam room did not work, other than that the place was beautiful.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed the location at The Highland Club. We thank you for your considered and frank comments regarding the apartment. Good reviews are always uplifting as it means we are doing things right however more important is your feedback when we have not met customer expectations. It is important to point out that The Highland Club is a collection of privately owned properties with a property manger in place. In the apartment itself there is a welcome book with contact details for the allocated property manager. The management team are on hand during the arrival process and during your holiday and can if asked attend to any maintenance issues. In response to the hot water issue there is no hot water boiler in this property and therefore you may be referring to the combo boiler in the cloakroom which under normal circumstances should not be adjusted. We are sorry that you did not telephone or email the property manager as this was a simple fix as the pressure was low. This was checked immediately after your departure as you kindly left a note on the contact form, its a great pity you had not called or emailed the management team as this could have been easily remedied. Regarding the electric blinds these are in working order but on inspection were switched off at the main socket.
Currently the sauna is not working as the glass window has been broken and we are awaiting a part from Germany, however there is no issue with the steam room.
Thank you for raising all your comments, we rely on customer feedback to improve our service. The welcome book in each property is an invaluble tool for guests and they should never feel inhibited about contacting the property manager if they have an issue with their property. The managers are always on hand to help, if the problem is not within their capability they will contact a relevant trades person at the earliest opportunity.
Funky, modern chapel designed to please
Ancient walls and windows—ultra modern amenities! There were 2 reasons I gave this property 4/5 stars was because there were stairs and no elevator, AND the smaller bedroom’s bath was down another flight of stairs. If you’re physically fit, it’s perfect! Great location for exploring the Highlands and good food in the Boat House restaurant on the Highland Club property.