Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beach, Golf, Water Sports, Restaurants, Shopping...the perfect OBX vacation!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms, 5.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Enjoy both beautiful sunset views and easy access to the beach in this non-smoking, pet-free,sound-front home. The beach is a quick 5 minute trolly ride and it stops right in front of the house.And the beach is one of the few on the Outer Banks protected with a lifegaurd!!! The home rents from Saturday to Saturday.

Included is a 14 x 28 in ground pool for your personal use. So if you don't want to use the beach front pools or the indoor pool at the recreation center across the street you now have the advantage of a private pool right out your back door.

The home is beautifully decorated. From the Pirates room to the Margaritaville room, each bedroom has a special theme.There are 3 Bedrooms with private baths ( 2K,1Q ). 1 Bedroom with Queen bed and 1 bedroom with two Bunk Beds share a hall bath. Combined with one sleeper sofa this home comfortably accomodates 12 guests. You'll like preparing meals in the large, fully equipped kitchen.

Enjoy the views of the sound while dining in the screen room. After dinner sit on the third floor deck,around the outdoor bar, to enjoy the spectacular sunsets while the kids have fun with the pool table, video games and TV in the first floor game room. Finish the evening off by relaxing in the hot tub..

The home is part of the Corolla Light planned community with multiple amenities including a beachfront pool club, multiple outdoor tennis courts,volleyball,basketball,shuffleboard courts and many planned activities. The sports center features an Olympic size indoor pool,fully equipped exercise room, along with handball & tennis courts. Both the sports center and sound-front pool are closeby... just a two to three minute walk!

Whether you like to be active with sports, take in some serious sun at the beach, read a book on the deck or go shopping, this home provides is less than 10 minutes from everything. Spend a week here and you'll have a vacation of a lifetime!

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Rich Setzer
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 8, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Norfolk
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Currituck Club

4 wheel drive beach with wild horses

Amenities

Corolla House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
14 x 28 in ground swimming pool, No Smoking No Pets

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beach, Golf, Water Sports, Restaurants, Shopping...the perfect OBX vacation!
average rating of 4.785714 based on 28 reviews
5

Exceeds Expectations

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to OBX and first time renting a vacation home. Both exceeded our expectations. Your home is lovely and the decor really sets the tone for a great beach vacation. There was ample room for our eight family members. There was plenty to do to keep the interests of the adults, the teens and younger child. There were so many extras in the house that we didn't expect, such as pool toys and floats, ample deck chairs and hammock swings, board games, bikes, Netflix, crab nets etc. All were well enjoyed. The private pool was awesome, and the sunsets over the sound were breathtaking. We enjoyed the Corolla Light pool and beach, but nothing could beat the 4WD beach and the wild horses. We'll certainly return to the outer banks in years to come, and wouldn't hestitate to return to My Sound View. Thank you for providing such a memorable vacation.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You for the kind words. We hope to have you as our guest again when you return to the Outer Banks
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Not bad for first time

  • 4 of 5

First time renting a beach house. Elan serviced well. Lots of small issues with house (fridge with nasty rotten fish smell, screen door and DVD player broke) but overall a nice place. With these issues addressed would stay again. Right on the water made for amazing sunsets; lots of bugs as one might expect at the edge of a marsh. Enjoyed the hot tub and billiard table.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: All these issues are the responsibility of the rental management company, Elan. I am not pleased that these issues were not resolved to the guests satisfaction....I will be changing the rental management company in 2018
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Best

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time here, Thank You Richard!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear it...hope to have you as our guest again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Clean house, wonderful amenities, responsive owner - just a few disappointments

  • 4 of 5

First family trip to the outer banks - we were excited to visit Corolla and booked with Rich way in advance. He was always responsive via email or phone to questions and made us fee really good about our choice before we even arrived.

We absolutely loved the amenities provided through the house at Corolla Light resort - easy beach access, wonderful restaurant and activities, very family friendly. My Soundview was a delightful place to stay - plenty of room for 7 adults and 2 kids, everything you could want in the kitchen, a private pool and beautiful sunsets over the sound.

Unfortunately, some things on the end of our trip hit a sour note and made our last few days somewhat disappointing.

On a small scale, some of the amenities could use a bit of updating. The exterior porch door, the outdoor shower, and the dishwasher (as well as a few other features throughout the house) were broken/dirty and, while usable, did exhibit some wear and tear. Nothing horrible, just noted.

The bigger issue that really disappointed us was the pool. My daughter loved the pool and had a blast the first few days. On Wednesday morning, the motor for the pool broke and we were unable to swim. We called Elan (the property management company) as indicated in the contract; but the motor was not fixed until Friday evening - as our contract was up Saturday morning, we were unable to use the pool for four days. This was really frustrating, especially for my daughter - at 2.5 it is difficult to explain why we can't go in the water!

We spoke to Rich when we got back from our trip (he called both when we were there to check-in and upon our arrival home) and he was extremely helpful and understanding. I really appreciated his concern and the opportunity to provide feedback.

Overall, our trip was enjoyable and we appreciated the house and owner immensely - we just wish we would have gotten to use the pool as stated in the contract that we paid for and agreed to.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I called them on day 1 , as I always do to welcome our guests, and they said "everything is great" . I ended the call with asking them to call me if they had any problems. I was not aware of any problems that the guest had during their stay until I reached out to them the following week and asked for feedback. When I learned of the pool problem I called the rental management company and the pool maintenance company and their story was somewhat different. The owner of the company NEVER told them the pool wasn't safe to swim in, they made that decision on their own. Also, the timeline was a bit different; the pool was repaired in 1.5 days. Regardless I believe "the customer is always right" so I didn't share this information with them and agreed to refund half a week fee for the pool use and sent them a check. I only write this response so future guests will know that , as the owner, I do everything I can to make sure their vacation experience in our home meets their expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Heaven

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved this beautiful beach home. We took the trolley to and from the beach and we never waited more than a few minutes for it. We went from the ocean to the oceanside pool, to the pool at the Setzer house. The hot-tub was very relaxing after a long day at the beach.

When inside the house we watched movies from their excellent collection, or used satellite television or Netflix. The kids enjoyed the pool table in the basement, and the WiFi was strong enough for everyone's devices.

The kitchen was well stocked with various pans, serving plates and dinnerware. There was even an extra counter ice machine for cool drinks. The best thing was the beautiful sunset that we viewed every night from the deck and we looked forward to it.

This is a great home and we can't wait to go back there next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago, IL
5

Paradise in the OBX!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a great time at your place, it was very clean and the layout is great!! Love the décor that you and your wife had set up for each room, there was also plenty of room…and the central air worked really well, sometime you rent a house and you just never feel the house cooling off, yours was superb!! Love the Trolley to the beach, no need to take a car, and you can leave the beach or pool whenever you wanted, the Kids and adults loved the idea…Also everyone that worked there was so nice too and so nice to have the lifeguards all over the grounds. We actually took advantage of the service on the beach. We had 12 Chairs, 3 Umbrellas and 2 Coolers full of ice, it was so worth every cent. You were at the same spot each time so the kids never got lost, they refreshed the ice every day and you didn’t have to drag the coolers full of ice either…just bring your drinks to the beach, the towels and lotion and you are all set to go. Plus if you feel like having a cocktail, the waitress services would come to the beach take your orders and then bring it to the beach for you.

PS, Tell your wife she has great décor skills.

Thanks so much, we really enjoyed our stay. This was our first time in OBX and we are so glad we went with your house and having all the amenities with your house at Corolla Light.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties