Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Direct Oceanfront Villa Sanibel 1 - A

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,150 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

YOU CANNOT STAY CLOSER TO THE BEACH and OCEAN than VILLA SANIBEL 1-A. Just open the screened door from our Ground floor Lanai, and walk 8 feet on our Private Boardwalk to the beautiful white sand beach. Porpoises frolic just off shore, and frequently a sea turtle can be spotted in our lush island vegetation. Perfect for families with small children. Just place your baby monitor in the guest bedroom, and Mom can enjoy the beach while baby naps. The Lanai closet holds Beach Chairs, Fishing Rods, and lots of Children's Beach Toys, Floats, and Games.

There are Beach and Ocean Views from every room in this lovingly cared for Beach Home. Let the soothing sounds of Ocean Waves lull you to sleep...awake refreshed with the sparkling waters of the gulf just a few feet from our lanai.

Inside our recently renovated unit, you will find every amenity imaginable. Our decorators chose a 'Tommy Bahama' theme. High quality furnishings, Pillow Top mattresses dressed with 600 - 1.000 thread count Egyptian linens. BEWARE - Linen program sheets are less than 200 thread count and, worst of all, the bottom sheets are not fitted!! Top quality Granite counter tops throughout. The newly remodeled bathrooms are beautifully decorator tiled and have the finest bath linens. Well designed kitchen has all new appliances with a complete assortment of cooking utensils, dishes, glassware, silverware...everything you could possibly need, or want.

Keywords: Condominium, Ocean Front, Beach Front, Ground Floor, Pool, Tennis, Luxurious, Updated

More Details

Owner
Jack Carleton
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2018

About Jack Carleton

We have been visiting Sanibel Island since 1982. At one point we owned 3 ocean front rentals simultaneously. After Hurricane Charlie hit, in 2006, we scaled back to just our personal favorite - Villa Sanibel 1-A. We would love the opportunity to share our island paradise with you. Although you can only get the Owner Direct rates through us, we do have an on island agency that sends you a formal contract, Collects the actual rentals, arranges extra services like Baby Bed, High Chair, Bicycle Rentals & Delivery. Upon arrival they will give you your keys, directions, and acquaint you with their Concierge Services. 24/7 Local Assistance.

Jack Carleton purchased this condo in 1993

Why Jack Carleton chose Sanibel

When we first discovered this wonderful island paradise, we never would have bought Villa Sanibel 1-A...you see, it cannot be properly insured since it is SO CLOSE to the Beach & Ocean. Now, it is actually painful every time we have to leave and cross the causeway bridge to the RSW Fort Myers Airport.

What makes this condo unique

Where else can you be THIS CLOSE to the Beach and the Ocean? Wonderful shelling, sparsely populated West Gulf Drive Beach, pure tranquility inspires the fondest family memories. Only the Best Sunsets - Key West, eat your heart out! Come, enjoy this slice of paradise.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just wanted to let you know we had a great time staying at your VS 1A condo in Sanibel. The condo was in great shape and being right on the beach was awesome! It made for a great vacation for us and the kids. Everything was very convenient and we had no problems with anything.







Thanks again for the opportunity to stay at your condo,
Jun 2010
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Sanibel Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1150 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Ducted Cooling
  • Ducted Heating
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1) Newer Pillow Top mattress, Twin or Single Beds (2) Newer Pillow top Mattresses, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Top of the line Queen bed convertible sofa sleeper.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis Court
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • In Ground Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Only 8 feet to the White Sand Beach; Tennis Court, Reserved Parking Space. Brand New 42" Flat Screen HDTV with Blu Ray DVD in the Living room; Brand New 32" Flat Screen HDTV with integrated DVD in the Master Suite; Brand New 26" Flat Screen HDTV with integrated DVD in the guest bedroom. FREE WI-FI & DOMESTIC LONG DISTANCE PHONE SERVICE. Pillow Top Mattresses with 600 - 1000 Thread Count Linens. BEWARE, Linen Service Linens are Less than 200 Thread Count and most do not have Fitted Bottom Sheets.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

96% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Direct Oceanfront Villa Sanibel 1 - A
average rating of 4.962963 based on 29 reviews
5

Being right on the beach was awesome

  • 5 of 5

It was our first visit to Sanibel. Not knowing what to expect we absolutely loved the island and the condo. Open the slider and have coffee virtually on the beach and being 10 feet from having toes in the sand was awesome. There were great dining options. For me you vacation at the seashore you eat seafood. There are plenty of great options.

It was a refreshing break from our New England winter and would love to do it again.

  • Submitted: May 8, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many Thanks for your kind review. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again next year. Best, Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely sunsets

  • 4 of 5

We usually vacation every other year in Sanibel. This is our 3rd time at Villa Sanibel. We rented 1A for the week. Being right on the beach sure has its benefits. Was a bit disappointed in the condo itself. Decor really needs some updating. Blankets missing binding, blanket in guest room the binding was hanging part way off, closet space was ample but not for guests as owner had lots of things stored in them. Lamp shade in guest room has several holes in the shade. Could have used some additional frying pans as we cooked several meals at the condo. There was very little supervision at the pool with children under 16. Seems like parents just dropped them off. The beach was great so that's were we spent our time. Love the location. Convenient to Baileys, restaurants and shopping. We are really looking forward to our return to your beautiful island.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are confused since we left there 2 months ago and everything was in tip top shape. There was also an over supply of frying pans with at least 2 full sets. Your email to us was only positive and we certainly wish that you had addressed your linen problems to our on island management company while you were in residence. They were immediately addressed upon your departure. There is a first time for everything and yours is the first review that we have received under 5 stars.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This is THE PLACE to stay!

  • 5 of 5

This condo is the best location on the island! Literally steps away from the water. The beach directly out from the condo consistently had dolphins, pelicans, shells galore and beautiful white sand. The condo is fully stocked with beach gear, kitchen equipment, linens, etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!

  • Submitted: May 8, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: When you're happy, we're ecstatic. Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to your next visit. best, Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Breckenridge,
5

Villa Sanibel 1A

  • 5 of 5

We love Villa Sanibel. There were just a couple small fixes needed which I shared with the owner and he is taking care of those. It has a very special location and the unit has everything we need. We have booked our stay for next year.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the two minor issues. They are being seen to, and we really appreciate your feedback. looking forward to hosting you next year. Best, Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bowling Green, KY
5

BEST PLACE EVER!

  • 5 of 5

This was our 2nd stay here at Villa Sanibel 1-A. And Loved it all over again! The shelling this time was the BEST! I found 2 12 in long whole conch shells right out infront of the condo in waist deep water!!!!!!!! The sunsets every evening were AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The dolphins came a bit closer to shore then we had seen in the past that was pretty cool to see. The farmers market they have Oct-spring was the best market I have ever been to! it is a shame it is only on Sundays! This time we went to the shell museum we thought it was well worth the time (about 2 hrs) and the $ to see all they had and learned a lot from the live tank talk! And again the no-see-ums got me good this trip! As long as there is a good onshore breeze the no-see-umz stay away but when the wind dies down they come out in force! Next time i will bring my lemon eucalyptus bug spray (by repel) and see if it works, no one on the island had it to buy :( ! We will be back this place has all you need in the best location i would not stay anywhere else!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks John for letting us enjoy your rental.

Until next time!

Jennifer

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jennifer...You make it all worthwhile. You are my kind of people. Happy Holidays, Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We have stayed here many times. It is like a week in paradise.

  • 5 of 5

Location is wonderful. You are about 22 steps from the ocean. One can watch sunsets and the sun rising right from the Florida room. I would highly recommend this property .

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We cherish repeat guests and look forward to hosting you for many, many years to come. Happy holidays, jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
RSW ....Fort Myers FL
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Sanibel Grill
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Beachview & Dunes
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Fort Myers FL
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
HWY 75
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
The Timbers
Nearest Beach
Directly out our screen door
Car: recommended

Sanibel Island, a Barrier Island, has 14 Miles of White Sand Beach and has World Class Shelling, second only to the Seychelles Islands, off the coast of Africa. Home to the World Renown Ding Darling National Wildlife Preserve, over 1/3 of the island is dedicated to wildlife preservation. With paved Bicycle paths, Sanibel is known as the 'Nantucket Island of the Gulf Coast'. But our laid back island lifestyle means that ties, or jackets, are never worn. Come, Relax & Rejuvenate in our Island Paradise. Direct Charter flights to RSW Fort Myers Florida Airport from Germany & the UK.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200

Full Refund if cancelled outside of 90 days prior to arrival.
Otherwise, Deposit is forfeit within 90 days unless it is rebooked at a comparale rate.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.