Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Wonderful Family house, Private Hot Tub, Close to Beach

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Stay in our wonderful home in Pinecrest Estates Whistler!!! Get away from the hustle and bustle of Whistler Village in our peaceful forested development. Our Private Hot tub waits for you at the end of a day on the mountains. Callahan valley Nordic center is located between us and Whistler and has excellent cross country skiing and snow shoeing . We have our own private lake/beach and tennis courts and relaxing trails for mountain biking. One of the best hiking areas in Whistler is five minutes away, Black Tusk Mountain.

Our home has a warm ambiance with Pine floors and heated slate flooring in our downstairs bathroom and hallway.

Persian rugs, and antiques add comfort and charm. There are three large bedrooms, each bed has a cozy duvet. The master bedroom is on the main floor. The large loft has table tennis and our den is a great spot to look out over our deck and watch the latest DVD or the birds feeding in one of our several bird feeders. The kitchen is fully-equipped and we have a full-size washer and dryer.

You will have a terrific time!!! Our place is 2200 square feet and a great location for a family or group reunion.

We are close enough to Whistler to enjoy all it has to offer but far enough away to experience that 'getting away from it all feeling.'

Keywords: Chalet/House

More Details

Owner
Marg Tennant
Member since: 1999
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 9, 2017

About Marg Tennant

Hi , from Neil and Marg the owners of this property. Neil is a structural Engineer and Marg is a Nurse. We decided a few years ago that we wanted to have recreational property for our growing family, so we carefully looked at various properties in the Whistler area. We decided on Pinecrest for many reasons...the unique setting that provides a peaceful rural atmosphere plus having our own lake, tennis courts, relaxing walking trails and is a short drive to the growing Whistler Resort.

We find our area especially wonderful for families with no worries about traffic, kids can bike around our roads safely and it is just a short stroll down to the beach area of our Lake.

Marg Tennant purchased this house in 1985

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi from the owners of the house, Marg and Neil!! We are a professional couple ( a structural Engineer and a Nurse) with a family who grew up vacationing in our lovely relaxing holiday home. We have a unique setting which is wonderful for families, a lake for swimming, tennis courts and a lovely, peaceful winter atmosphere in our forrested setting.

To explain the one negative comment: this was expressed by someone who we were not able to accomodate due to a need to do some maintenance work at the house/ and our own use.
Feb 2004
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Pinecrest Estates House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , New slate heated floors
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , wonderful freestanding roll top tub
  • Main floor bath has new heated slate floors, a spacious shower . Upstairs is a full bath with a rolled top free standing tub
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Main floor bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 twin/ single , sleeps 3
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 bunk bed , This room sleeps 4
    Den - 1 sleep sofa /futon , very comfortable 6 inch queen sized mattress in our sofa bed
  • Upstairs bedrooms (1) Luxurious King plus a single bed, (2) Queen and twin bunk beds, Downstairs bedroom has a Queen bed Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) our cozy den has a queen sofa bed with a comfortable 6' mattress
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • 5 garden chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Private lake with a beach and 2 swimming rafts, Private Tennis courts, walking trails

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Wonderful Family house, Private Hot Tub, Close to Beach
average rating of 4.8292685 based on 42 reviews
5

Wonderful ski house

  • 5 of 5

My family and friends joined me for a wonderful week at the Tennant's house as a base for skiing at Whistler. The location is very good - it is about 25 min south of Whistler Village, so it is also 25 min closer to Vancouver airport which worked very well for us as we had several people arriving and leaving during the week. I have previously stayed at ski-in ski-out at Whistler, which is obviously convenient for skiing, but this time we wanted to stay away from the main mountain in order to see a little more of this area of BC. This house worked well from that perspective - for example we could drive just 30 min to Squamish for shopping and to dine at the very good Indian restaurant and English fish and chip/pie restaurant. The house itself is beautiful and well equipped with everything you could need. Everything is exactly as described. The kitchen is well equipped, the beds very comfortable and the wood stove is easy to use and makes the house toasty! I spent one day relaxing at the house and it was very cosy. The very occasional train passing (only one or two day for the most part) adds interest and was not a disturbance at all. Another day my wife and I had a nice outing to nearby Brandywine falls and the nordic skiing center, with dinner at the Pony restaurant in Pemberton (excellent food and beer selection in a pub-like restaurant with great atmosphere and views). We had several inches or more of snow on several days while we were there, but this was not a problem because the neighborhood and our driveway were plowed regularly and the driveway was also salted.

I should also say that we could see this would be a great place to stay in the summer - such a beautiful area for hiking, or mountain biking at Whistler etc.

Marg and Neil were a delight to work with throughout the booking process and while we were staying at the house. They were always very responsive to any questions. During our stay there was a short water outage for a few hours due to some pipe work being done in the neighborhood. Marg and Neil kept on top of it, contacting the caretaker and keeping us updated with information which helped to make it only a very minor inconvenience.

In summary, we highly recommend staying at this property and hope to stay there again ourselves on a future trip to the area.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your comments describing our unique location and so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Edmonton Alberta Canada
5

Cozy home on gorgeous lake!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our time at this property. Surrounded by trees and short walk to the lake. The house is lovely and the hot tub is super relaxing. I am planning our next stay already. Marg and Neil are lovely hosts and there were zero hassles the whole trip. The cabin lacks nothing and the arrival was a breeze. Best VRBO experience to date.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful cabin,great location!

  • 3 of 5

It's a beautiful cabin full off antiques and family memorabilia, I don't know how often owners visit there but we are charge cleaning fee and cleaning service doesn't do a great job! Cooking pots are grease dirty(there is a dishwasher),all antiques cover with dust, inside the kitchen cabinets filthy dirty(drawers) not plesent to even stick your fingers in. I wash both bedding (we use 2 bedrooms) and dry before leaving also start a load of towels.Train goes by the house very close, during the day it's ok but if it comes at 4:30AM honking like 5 times can be very alarming.Thank you for a vine but could not have it.Electronics in tv room didn't see any cleaning for long time very dusty, common garbage area overflowing with garbage.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review , we appreciate your comments. I'm very sorry about your dust concerns. We refinished our pine floors shortly before your stay. It appears that some dust hadn't settled prior to cleaning. We would have welcomed your comment during your stay such that a more thorough cleaning could be done at your convenience. The "common" waste and recycle areas can be stressed over long weekends due to increased use. The community is rectifying this problem with additional pickups and visual enhancements. The train travels down the entire Whistler Corridor. This does result in some train noise for very short periods of time , we rarely get comments about this, as the unique positive aspects of our property seem to outweigh the inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Stilwell, KS
5

Great house, beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5

Was as advertised, quaint, quiet, homey, and funtional. Our whole family enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
5

Charming cabin in the woods. Amazing location!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed for the may long weekend with friends and family and absolutely loved it! There was plenty of space for both the adults and kids to relax and play. Beautiful location and amazing little community. We will definitely come back for another visit. Thank you Marg and Neil!

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy house, perfect for families!

  • 5 of 5

We had two families here for 3 nights and loved it, very cozy, loved the separate TV room and hot tub. Kids loved the games upstairs! Only complaint was the bunk bed- very creaky and noisy. We ended up taking mattresses off and moving to floor. Otherwise great!

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your comments! Good to know about the bunks, we'll see what we can do to make them less noisy, sorry about that.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $119.19
Damage Deposit $238.38

You may use online booking or we accept personal checks in CA or US funds. If paying by check the security deposit is a separate check that will be returned if there is no damage, or excess cleaning or bylaw fines. The rental amount is subject to change until the reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.