check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Wildernest Chalet, Indianhead Ski Hill,Toboggan Run,Jacuzzi Snowmobile

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
chalet
Sleeps
16
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
4
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

Chalet, 6 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 6-16) *instant quote is for UPPER UNIT ONLY

Wildernest Chalet with its open floor plan is the perfect getaway for those who want a spacious, upscale lodging experience. We have an upper and lower unit that can accomodate 6-16 people. Units can be rented separately or together.(Instant rates are for upper unit only) We have the perfect solution for families and friends who want to stay together under one roof yet maintain some privacy. CALL FOR AVAILABILITY- CALENDAR WILL SHOW RESERVED ONLY WHEN BOTH UNITS ARE RESERVED.

As you enter the living area in our upper unit you’ll be amazed at the open floor plan overlooking a wraparound deck with expansive patio doors that will draw you in to the North Woods experience. This unit has a wood burning fireplace, full kitchen, dining room and sunken living room. There are 4 bedrooms and two bathrooms. One bathroom has a large two person whirlpool tub to soak those aching muscles after a long day of skiing or sledding. The 1st and 2nd bedroom each have a queen bed, the 3rd bedroom has two twin beds and a bunk bed and the 4th bedroom has a full size bed. This unit will sleep 10 people. (For additional space see our lower level description below)

Our lower walk out unit is spacious as well, and has a full kitchen and living room with a wood burning fireplace. It has two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a separate room that has a large two person whirlpool tub. The first bedroom has a queen bed and the 2nd bedroom has a full size bed and a bunk bed. This unit will sleep 6 people.( For additional space see our upper level description above) For those who have a larger group, the chalet can be rented together and accommodate 16 people. CALL FOR AVAILABILITY- CALENDAR WILL ONLY SHOW RESERVED WHEN BOTH UNITS ARE RENTED, SO PLEASE CALL TO SEE WHICH UNIT IS AVAILABLE.

INDIANHEAD AND BLACK JACK HAVE MERGED SO NOW YOUR LIFT TICKET CAN BE USED AT EITHER HILL!

You’ll feel like you’re a million miles away, but we are nestled in the Village of Indianhead ski hill, so the lodge and ski hill are just a few blocks away. We are also a short distance from Blackjack, Big Powderhorn and Whitecap Mountain so you can ski a different hill everyday. After skiing, if you still have the energy, you can enjoy our private toboggan run located amongst the pine trees on our property. There is plenty of room to park your snowmobiles and trailers on our large driveway or in our cul de sac location. Also in our backyard is a 18 foot tall carved Native American Statue carved for us by Peter Toth. Peter has carved a statue for every state in the United States in honor of the Native Americans and was featured in People Magazine. You’ll feel like you are in your own private estate when you stay at the Wildernest Chalet. Please contact owner for availability: Calendar Maintained Off-Site.

Miles and Hours from Major Cities:

375 miles from Chicago(approx 6-8 hours)

225 miles from Minneapolis(approx 4.5 hours)

225 miles from St Paul(approx 4.5 hours)

320 miles from Milwaukee(approx 5-7 hours)

285 miles from Madison(approx 4-5 hours)

225 miles from Green Bay(approx 3.5 hours)

Keywords:Indianhead Lodging;Blackjack Lodging;Powderhorn Lodging; skiing, snowboarding, Michigan lodging; Upper Peninsula lodging;Snowmobile Lodging;Luxury Chalet Duplex; Upper Level 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms; Lower Level ; 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. Each unit has a fireplace and its own Jacuzzi tub. We have a toboggan run in our backyard for our guests to use, all located in a wooded cul de sac location. (CONTACT OWNER FOR AVAILABILITY-CALENDAR MAINTAINED OFF-SITE.)

PLEAE NOTE: INSTANT QUOTE IS FOR UPPER UNIT ONLY-PLEASE CALL OR EMAIL TO RENT BOTH UNITS

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2017

About The Owner

We live in the suburbs of Chicago and have an insurance agency that specializes in group and individual health insurance.

The Owner purchased this chalet in 1983

Why The Owner chose Upper Peninsula

We live in the Chicagoland area and started skiing over 30 years ago. We started out by heading a few hours away to Cascade Mountain and then ventured up even further to Rib Mountain(now known as Granite Peak). We heard so much about the skiing in the UP that we decided to give it a try one weekend; after all it was only another few hours from Granite Peak. I still remember the 1st experience we had at Indianhead. There had just been a fresh snowfall and it was covered in beautiful new powder. We had never experienced anything like it and I remember falling into the fluffy powder instead of the hard ice that we had experienced at the other places. We found out that the UP gets over 300 inches of annual snowfall and with 3 other ski hills nearby, it seemed like the perfect place. After that we decided it was worth the drive and came up whenever we had a free weekend. After paying to stay in the area hotels, we decide to look at properties for sale so we could have our own place and also rent it out for additional income. We take great pride in our place and I think it shows when you see it for the first time. We use to have Indianhead rent our units but as time went on we felt that we would like have a little more control of our property. We use the chalet ourselves so we wanted to make sure that it stays nice for us as well as for our guests. Our two boys grew up skiing at Indianhead. We had them in the ski school for lessons and soon they were good enough to go down the big hills with us. They surpassed us within in few years and left us in the snow dust! They then moved on to snowboarding and that’s all they do now. We wanted to keep our house in a private setting so we purchased all the lots surrounding us so no one could ever build next to us. We think that our place is a winter wonderland!

What makes this chalet unique

It's a Winter Wonderland! We own all the lots surrounding our property so you have lots of places to explore. We have wonderful memories when the ski hill would be open on Thanksgiving day. We would put our turkey in the oven and go out skiing. We also enjoy just walking around in the woods or taking the snowmobiles out for a spin in the area. We also try to go out on the toboggan run and have contests to see who can go the furthest. Sometimes we take a 30 minute drive to visit the casinos and try our luck. In the summer we have gone to Lake Superior and the Porkies for some great sight-seeing. There are beautiful waterfalls in the area as well. September is the perfect time to experience the UP's beautiful fall colors.

Guestbook comments from the owner

(This review is copied from a note sent to the owner)

"Wildernest I & II are great places to stay-so spacious and uniquely decorated. We enjoyed the Indian Statue and all the Indian pictures. The two units accommodated our family extremely well. In spite of the extreme cold, we had a fantastic time. We'd like to stay at Wildernest again when we return to the UP."
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

Wildernest Chalet, Indianhead Ski Hill,Toboggan Run,Jacuzzi Snowmobile
average rating of 4.9375 based on 18 reviews
5

Great vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

We (three couples) just stayed at Wildernest Chalet in Michigan. We rented the upper unit, which worked out well for our group. We used the three bedrooms .. didn't need the room with the single beds. It was easy to share the two large bathrooms for the six of us. The layout is very spacious and inviting .. also very well maintained. We also hiked through the snow to the toboggan run .. what a hoot!! We skied two days (a Monday & a Tuesday) at Indianhead. No one on the slopes .. and the best snow we remember ever skiing on in the UP. We would definitely recommend Wildernest and also return for another visit.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent for large groups!

  • 5 of 5

We came with a large group for a weekend of skiing. This chalet was a perfect find! Lots of rooms and REAL BEDS for 16 people! It also has an entry way with closets for ski equipment which were very convenient! The chalet was clean and ready for our arrival. The owners were super helpful in coordinating the arrival, departure and making sure everything was taken care of throughout our stay. They had even left us gift baskets with some holiday treats! I highly recommend this chalet. We had a wonderful experience.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your great review. It was a pleasure working with you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Carpentersville
5

Wonderful home to stay

  • 5 of 5

We reserved the whole home for the july4th long weekend. It was a breeze to work with Jennifer. We made the reservation through homeaway and received the home keys few days before our trip. Jennifer sent some brochures on the area which were very helpful.

The home was easy to find on google maps and as expected was in the woods. The home was very clean and well maintained. The upper unit had 4 bedrooms and the lower unit had 2 bedrooms. There are 2 bathrooms on the upper unit and 2 in the lower unit.The bathroom was supplied with required towels and soaps. There is also a 2 person jacuzzi tub in both the units.

The upper unit has a very spacious deck and there is a weber barbecue grill available.

For any shopping, There is a walmart and super one in 20 min drive time. I recommend making one trip to get all the required items

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review, Karthik. It was a pleasure working with you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Our group had a fantastic time March 2016

  • 4 of 5

There was plenty of space to sleep, eat, drink and cook! The availability to park snowmobile trailers was HUGE! No need to worry about being parked in! Having the heat already on on arrival was very nice.

We didn't have the key for all the sliding doors, but we found we didn't need them.

Very good communication with Jennifer.

The sledding run was a hit with the boys downstairs. I meant to make it out there for a run or two, but it never happened.

I missed the information about one of the bedrooms being off of the bunk room. I'm sure it is typically used for multiple families, not four couples, but I felt I had to knock before exiting our bedroom into the bunk room.

The location of the property was a big bonus. Being so close to Indianhead was very convenient when we had to run back for some things for the wedding!! We all had a wonderful time.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review Shae. We really appreciate it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wildernest Chalet

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic experience from beginning to the end. Jennifer was very responsive with questions prior to us booking a few days with the family, just prior to the stay with getting us keys and other information and was quick to return our deposit afterwards.

The property is located at the end of a dead end road surrounded by woods. It's very well-cared for with lots of room for hanging out in the kitchen, dining room and living room upstairs or the living room downstairs. Kids loved the tobogan run.

There's tons of parking and being at the end of a dead end we had two trucks with snowmobile trailers - one 2-place and one 4-place - that were able to park right out on the road.

Will definitely return and would recommend to anyone.

Thanks!

Mike

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Mike for you the positive review. So glad you liked our place.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wildernest a wonderful place for families

  • 5 of 5

We stayed with friends at the Wildernest upper unit for Feb skiing and had a great experience. With 4 adults and 5 kids, there was plenty of space. The whole house was well stocked and everything from towels to plenty of pillows and blankets was provided. The kitchen was clean and organized, with plenty of cooking utensils. We liked the wood burning fireplace and large living room. One of our favorite features of the house is the long hallway between the bedrooms and the living space, so we could put the kids to bed and not worry about waking them when we stayed up later. The internet was fast and reliable. It was an easy walk for a couple adults from the house to the lodge for some live music one evening. Probably the best part was how organized and helpful the owners were, being on top of everything including checking to see what time we would arrive so they could have the heat turned up, and also providing us phone numbers for the maintenance and housekeeper (which we did not need, but nice to have in case). We would definitely recommend this property and hope to come back and stay again ourselves next year.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Ski
Indianhead

Our property is in the village of Indianhead Ski Hill. You can also Ski at 3 other ski hills within 5-20 minutes. Porcupine Mountain is just an hour away and has skiing, snowmobiling and plenty of summer and fall activities. There are Two Casinos within 30-40 minutes away. Visit the nearby areas beautiful Waterfalls, Lake Superior, Copper Peak Ski Flying Hill, and the most beautiful fall colors you'll ever see.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wakefield Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Presidents Weekend UPPER
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 20 2017
2 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$450
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 11.0%

The Standard rates are regular season rates for the UPPER UNIT ONLY and are not the holiday rates(Christmas, New Years, President's Weekend)-The SUMMER RATES are for the upper unit only. Please call for rates when renting the whole house.Rates are subject to change without notice. The upper units sleeps 10 and the lower unit sleeps 6 and any amount over that must be approved by the owners. Our units are no smoking and no pets.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Wakefield Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1-Upper - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upper Level Unit
    Bathroom 2-Upper - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Upper Level Unit
    Bathroom 1-Lower Unit - toilet , combination tub/shower , Lower Level Unit
    Bathroom 2-Lower Unit - toilet , combination tub/shower , Lower Level Unit
    Bathroom 3-Lower Level - jetted tub , Lower Level has a jetted tub in a separate room
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Upper Level Unit
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Upper Unit
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Upper level unit
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , Upper level unit
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Lower level Unit
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed , Lower Level Unit
  • Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Bunk Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Private Toboggan Run located on premises with sleds provided. Plenty of parking for snowmobiles in our cul de sac location. 17 foot carved Native American Statue in our backyard. Located walking distance to Indianhead ski lodge. Lodge facilities are open to the public for a nominal fee.

Partner Offers