Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Wildernest Chalet, Indianhead Ski Hill,Toboggan Run,Jacuzzi Snowmobile

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 6 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 6-16) *instant quote is for UPPER UNIT ONLY

Wildernest Chalet with its open floor plan is the perfect getaway for those who want a spacious, upscale lodging experience. We have an upper and lower unit that can accomodate 6-16 people. Units can be rented separately or together.(Instant rates are for upper unit only) We have the perfect solution for families and friends who want to stay together under one roof yet maintain some privacy. CALL FOR AVAILABILITY- CALENDAR WILL SHOW RESERVED ONLY WHEN BOTH UNITS ARE RESERVED.

As you enter the living area in our upper unit you’ll be amazed at the open floor plan overlooking a wraparound deck with expansive patio doors that will draw you in to the North Woods experience. This unit has a wood burning fireplace, full kitchen, dining room and sunken living room. There are 4 bedrooms and two bathrooms. One bathroom has a large two person whirlpool tub to soak those aching muscles after a long day of skiing or sledding. The 1st and 2nd bedroom each have a queen bed, the 3rd bedroom has two twin beds and a bunk bed and the 4th bedroom has a full size bed. This unit will sleep 10 people. (For additional space see our lower level description below)

Our lower walk out unit is spacious as well, and has a full kitchen and living room with a wood burning fireplace. It has two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a separate room that has a large two person whirlpool tub. The first bedroom has a queen bed and the 2nd bedroom has a full size bed and a bunk bed. This unit will sleep 6 people.( For additional space see our upper level description above) For those who have a larger group, the chalet can be rented together and accommodate 16 people. CALL FOR AVAILABILITY- CALENDAR WILL ONLY SHOW RESERVED WHEN BOTH UNITS ARE RENTED, SO PLEASE CALL TO SEE WHICH UNIT IS AVAILABLE.

INDIANHEAD AND BLACK JACK HAVE MERGED SO NOW YOUR LIFT TICKET CAN BE USED AT EITHER HILL!

You’ll feel like you’re a million miles away, but we are nestled in the Village of Indianhead ski hill, so the lodge and ski hill are just a few blocks away. We are also a short distance from Blackjack, Big Powderhorn and Whitecap Mountain so you can ski a different hill everyday. After skiing, if you still have the energy, you can enjoy our private toboggan run located amongst the pine trees on our property. There is plenty of room to park your snowmobiles and trailers on our large driveway or in our cul de sac location. Also in our backyard is a 18 foot tall carved Native American Statue carved for us by Peter Toth. Peter has carved a statue for every state in the United States in honor of the Native Americans and was featured in People Magazine. You’ll feel like you are in your own private estate when you stay at the Wildernest Chalet. Please contact owner for availability: Calendar Maintained Off-Site.

Miles and Hours from Major Cities:

375 miles from Chicago(approx 6-8 hours)

225 miles from Minneapolis(approx 4.5 hours)

225 miles from St Paul(approx 4.5 hours)

320 miles from Milwaukee(approx 5-7 hours)

285 miles from Madison(approx 4-5 hours)

225 miles from Green Bay(approx 3.5 hours)

Keywords:Indianhead Lodging;Blackjack Lodging;Powderhorn Lodging; skiing, snowboarding, Michigan lodging; Upper Peninsula lodging;Snowmobile Lodging;Luxury Chalet Duplex; Upper Level 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms; Lower Level ; 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. Each unit has a fireplace and its own Jacuzzi tub. We have a toboggan run in our backyard for our guests to use, all located in a wooded cul de sac location. (CONTACT OWNER FOR AVAILABILITY-CALENDAR MAINTAINED OFF-SITE.)

PLEAE NOTE: INSTANT QUOTE IS FOR UPPER UNIT ONLY-PLEASE CALL OR EMAIL TO RENT BOTH UNITS

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 26, 2017

About The Owner

We live in the suburbs of Chicago and have an insurance agency that specializes in group and individual health insurance.

The Owner purchased this chalet in 1983

Why The Owner chose Upper Peninsula

We live in the Chicagoland area and started skiing over 30 years ago. We started out by heading a few hours away to Cascade Mountain and then ventured up even further to Rib Mountain(now known as Granite Peak). We heard so much about the skiing in the UP that we decided to give it a try one weekend; after all it was only another few hours from Granite Peak. I still remember the 1st experience we had at Indianhead. There had just been a fresh snowfall and it was covered in beautiful new powder. We had never experienced anything like it and I remember falling into the fluffy powder instead of the hard ice that we had experienced at the other places. We found out that the UP gets over 300 inches of annual snowfall and with 3 other ski hills nearby, it seemed like the perfect place. After that we decided it was worth the drive and came up whenever we had a free weekend. After paying to stay in the area hotels, we decide to look at properties for sale so we could have our own place and also rent it out for additional income. We take great pride in our place and I think it shows when you see it for the first time. We use to have Indianhead rent our units but as time went on we felt that we would like have a little more control of our property. We use the chalet ourselves so we wanted to make sure that it stays nice for us as well as for our guests. Our two boys grew up skiing at Indianhead. We had them in the ski school for lessons and soon they were good enough to go down the big hills with us. They surpassed us within in few years and left us in the snow dust! They then moved on to snowboarding and that’s all they do now. We wanted to keep our house in a private setting so we purchased all the lots surrounding us so no one could ever build next to us. We think that our place is a winter wonderland!

What makes this chalet unique

It's a Winter Wonderland! We own all the lots surrounding our property so you have lots of places to explore. We have wonderful memories when the ski hill would be open on Thanksgiving day. We would put our turkey in the oven and go out skiing. We also enjoy just walking around in the woods or taking the snowmobiles out for a spin in the area. We also try to go out on the toboggan run and have contests to see who can go the furthest. Sometimes we take a 30 minute drive to visit the casinos and try our luck. In the summer we have gone to Lake Superior and the Porkies for some great sight-seeing. There are beautiful waterfalls in the area as well. September is the perfect time to experience the UP's beautiful fall colors.

Guestbook comments from the owner

(This review is copied from a note sent to the owner)

"Wildernest I & II are great places to stay-so spacious and uniquely decorated. We enjoyed the Indian Statue and all the Indian pictures. The two units accommodated our family extremely well. In spite of the extreme cold, we had a fantastic time. We'd like to stay at Wildernest again when we return to the UP."
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Wakefield Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1-Upper - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upper Level Unit
    Bathroom 2-Upper - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Upper Level Unit
    Bathroom 1-Lower Unit - toilet , combination tub/shower , Lower Level Unit
    Bathroom 2-Lower Unit - toilet , combination tub/shower , Lower Level Unit
    Bathroom 3-Lower Level - jetted tub , Lower Level has a jetted tub in a separate room
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Upper Level Unit
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Upper Unit
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Upper level unit
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , Upper level unit
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Lower level Unit
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed , Lower Level Unit
  • Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Bunk Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Private Toboggan Run located on premises with sleds provided. Plenty of parking for snowmobiles in our cul de sac location. 17 foot carved Native American Statue in our backyard. Located walking distance to Indianhead ski lodge. Lodge facilities are open to the public for a nominal fee.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Wildernest Chalet, Indianhead Ski Hill,Toboggan Run,Jacuzzi Snowmobile
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 20 reviews
5

Very spacious chalet

  • 5 of 5

This was a great place to host our 11 family members for a ski weekend. We used both the upper and lower units. The open concept was FANTASTIC for us as it allowed everyone to be together and not on top of each other. Beautiful plot of land at the end of a cul-de-sac. And the toboggan run was a hoot! Very nice owners who are very organized.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your nice review. I'm so glad our home worked out for you and your family. Very happy that you got to enjoy the toboggan run too! Thank you again for staying with us-it was a pleasure working with you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sun prairie Wisconsin
5

MLK Weekend at Wildernest

  • 5 of 5

We took a long weekend trip to ski at Indianhead MLK weekend 2017. It was our first time to the resort. We went with our family of five and two other couples for a total of 13. We always rent privately when we travel, and spent quite a bit of time researching different locations to fit our needs. First, working with Jennifer was wonderful. She was super responsive and accommodating, making sure the place was heated when we got there, and we had everything we needed. Customer service like that is so important so I wanted to mention it first.

We all agreed that Wilderness was awesome and we would definitely come back again. The layout is so conducive to families and being social. We rented both the upper and lower unit and all of us spent much of the time in the upper unit without feeling cramped, although having the lower unit gave us the luxury of bedroom space and moments of "go downstairs and play that game". The property is gorgeous, and we loved the toboggan run. One of my favorite moments of the trip was when we adults took flashlights out and did night toboggan runs under the stars with the kids, it was super fun. Rooms were ample large with dressers and closets. They had lots of firewood available to us for the wood burning fireplaces, which we appreciated every night after skiing. Kitchen was fully stocked. There was nothing we needed that we couldn't find (although we did bring our own crock pots, I didn't look for that). Thank you for accommodating our families! We hope be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Laura for your nice review. It was a pleasure to work with you too.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Freeport, Illinois
5

Great vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

We (three couples) just stayed at Wildernest Chalet in Michigan. We rented the upper unit, which worked out well for our group. We used the three bedrooms .. didn't need the room with the single beds. It was easy to share the two large bathrooms for the six of us. The layout is very spacious and inviting .. also very well maintained. We also hiked through the snow to the toboggan run .. what a hoot!! We skied two days (a Monday & a Tuesday) at Indianhead. No one on the slopes .. and the best snow we remember ever skiing on in the UP. We would definitely recommend Wildernest and also return for another visit.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you again for your great review. It was a pleasure working with you. Glad you had a blast on the toboggan run!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent for large groups!

  • 5 of 5

We came with a large group for a weekend of skiing. This chalet was a perfect find! Lots of rooms and REAL BEDS for 16 people! It also has an entry way with closets for ski equipment which were very convenient! The chalet was clean and ready for our arrival. The owners were super helpful in coordinating the arrival, departure and making sure everything was taken care of throughout our stay. They had even left us gift baskets with some holiday treats! I highly recommend this chalet. We had a wonderful experience.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your great review. It was a pleasure working with you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Carpentersville
5

Wonderful home to stay

  • 5 of 5

We reserved the whole home for the july4th long weekend. It was a breeze to work with Jennifer. We made the reservation through homeaway and received the home keys few days before our trip. Jennifer sent some brochures on the area which were very helpful.

The home was easy to find on google maps and as expected was in the woods. The home was very clean and well maintained. The upper unit had 4 bedrooms and the lower unit had 2 bedrooms. There are 2 bathrooms on the upper unit and 2 in the lower unit.The bathroom was supplied with required towels and soaps. There is also a 2 person jacuzzi tub in both the units.

The upper unit has a very spacious deck and there is a weber barbecue grill available.

For any shopping, There is a walmart and super one in 20 min drive time. I recommend making one trip to get all the required items

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review, Karthik. It was a pleasure working with you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Our group had a fantastic time March 2016

  • 4 of 5

There was plenty of space to sleep, eat, drink and cook! The availability to park snowmobile trailers was HUGE! No need to worry about being parked in! Having the heat already on on arrival was very nice.

We didn't have the key for all the sliding doors, but we found we didn't need them.

Very good communication with Jennifer.

The sledding run was a hit with the boys downstairs. I meant to make it out there for a run or two, but it never happened.

I missed the information about one of the bedrooms being off of the bunk room. I'm sure it is typically used for multiple families, not four couples, but I felt I had to knock before exiting our bedroom into the bunk room.

The location of the property was a big bonus. Being so close to Indianhead was very convenient when we had to run back for some things for the wedding!! We all had a wonderful time.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review Shae. We really appreciate it. Most people like the bedroom that connects to the bunk room so they can be close to their kids, but I can see how it didn't work as well for you as a group without kids. I try to explain the set up to everyone so they know how it's set up, but thanks for bringing it to my attention- I'll be more conscious of making sure that everyone understands the layout. I just want everyone who reads this to know there is a door that separates the 3rd bedroom from the bunk room, so there is privacy.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Ski
Indianhead

Our property is in the village of Indianhead Ski Hill. You can also Ski at 3 other ski hills within 5-20 minutes. Porcupine Mountain is just an hour away and has skiing, snowmobiling and plenty of summer and fall activities. There are Two Casinos within 30-40 minutes away. Visit the nearby areas beautiful Waterfalls, Lake Superior, Copper Peak Ski Flying Hill, and the most beautiful fall colors you'll ever see.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wakefield Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer UPPER UNIT Only
May 1 2017 - Nov 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
HOLIDAY RATES UPPER UNIT ONLY
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
2 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Martin Luther King Weekend
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Presidents Weekend UPPER
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 19 2018
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$450
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 11.0%

The Standard rates are regular season rates for the UPPER UNIT ONLY and are not the holiday rates(Christmas, New Years, President's Weekend)-The SUMMER RATES are for the upper unit only. Please call for rates when renting the whole house.Rates are subject to change without notice. The upper units sleeps 10 and the lower unit sleeps 6 and any amount over that must be approved by the owners. Our units are no smoking and no pets.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable