check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Cabin on Trout Lake, Michigan

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
11
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Fibre Cabin Rental Photos and Description

We have a relaxing lakefront cabin located in the Hiawatha National Forest, on sandy Trout Lake. Within an hours drive away are St. Ignace, Mackinaw City, Mackinaw Island, Tahquamenon Falls, the Soo Locks, Whitefish Point Lighthouse and the Great Lakes Shipwreck Museum, and access to 3 of the Great Lakes - Michigan, Huron, and Superior. Within a 2 to 3 hour drive are Seney National Wildlife Refuge and Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. Canoeing is available on the Carp River, a National Canoe River, which is connected to Trout Lake itself. Also close-by is part of the North Country Trail for hiking.

The cabin is a place that is ideal for swimming, canoeing, kayaking, fishing, golfing (many courses in the area), and hiking. If casinos are more your scene, there are 3 casinos located about an hours drive away in St. Ignace, Sault St. Marie, and Brimley. Or, if you prefer, stay inside near the 2 sliding windows overlooking the beach and build a fire in the fireplace. We also have a fire pit located on the water front.

This smoke-free cabin contains 3 bedrooms for 11 people (3 queens, 5 twins), and 2 full baths. You provide your own food and meals, but you have access to a kitchen fully supplied with utensils and cookware. There is also a coffeemaker, blender, toaster, crockpot, microwave, and outdoor grills.

There is a washer and dryer, DVD player, canoe, and kayak (bring you own paddles). We also have beach chairs available to use on the front and back porches to gaze at the stars or take in the sun and enjoy the boaters on the lake.

We have a list of restaurants and places to visit at the cabin, including many maps.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Nanci Murdock.
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 29, 2016

About Nanci Murdock.

Our dad and mom built this cabin so we could have a place to enjoy. We inherited it, (my 4 brothers and sister), when they passed away. We have gone all over the U.P. and Canada and seen many sites. It has brought many hours and years of happy memories.

We have decided it is a good time to encourage others who may like to explore the upper peninsula and see what it has to offer. It is a great place to lay back or use as a home base!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We are going up to the cabin this week-end (July 30th) and will be fixing the stairs. We currently have a tape across one of two stairs leading from the front porch to the lake. We decided to take care of this problem when we were up there over July 4th. It is the first time we have been able to get back back up there due to rentals.
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Cabin on Trout Lake, Michigan
average rating of 4.0 based on 10 reviews
5

This was a great location. Cabin was very clean and well maintained

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at the cabin and were very happy with the accommodations. Everything you need is there. We take a family trip every year

with our children and grandchildren and it was great to be able to all be in one cabin. There were 11 of us this year and we all had a bed to sleep

in. The grand kids enjoyed swimming and fishing. It is centrally located to the Soo and the Falls. When we returned home we posted pictures on facebook and had several people want information on the cabin and how to book it. We would definitely stay again.

Brenda Coxon

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Brenda! You never know what people will think and say. We really appreciate your kindness!! Nanci Murdock Trout Lake Trust
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Time at Trout Lake

  • 4 of 5

Our time at Trout Lake was very nice. The setting and lake are beautiful and very relaxing and the home, although older, met our needs just fine. Nanci was excellent at answering our questions and providing us with information. My only suggestion would be to complete the repairs quickly on the porch facing the lake. Yes, we would return to this rental.

Bob & Deb

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice Peaceful Week

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I wanted a relaxing quiet week with our 2 little dogs, that's exactly what we had. The house was very comfortable with everything you could possibly need. We enjoyed the lake , the firepit and all the peace and quiet. There are many things to do and see not far from the property but we chose to get some rest. This is really a great rental, so Thank you for the use of your home and we hope to come back again .

Linda S from New Boston, Mi

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Disappointing weekend

  • 1 of 5

We rented the cabin for a long weekend with the family. When we arrived things weren't as nice as they appeared in the photo. The price we paid was not worth it. The kitchen counters were cluttered with items that we had to put away to make room for our items . We put them in the closet pantry which had food that had been opened and set in there. The refrigerator was the same scenario. We put those items in the refrigerator door and told the family not to use. They had a mouse problem. The mice got into our food and after we spotted a mouse, we started checking for traps. We found mouse traps hidden in the kitchen and living room. We even trapped a couple mice ourselves.Thankfully we thought ahead and brought our own towels as there weren't enough for everyone. The back deck had rotting stairs. We had to borrow life jackets from the neighbor. Need I go on? We booked months in advance. We booked in May for a stay at the end of September. We felt like they did nothing to prepare for us or to make our stay special. Sad indeed.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were disappointed to see the message left by this tenant. This was the only complaint we received from 8 tenants who rented from us this year. Six of them gave us rankings of "4" or "5" out of 5. This was the first year we rented the cabin. Some of the comments are probably accurate and we will do a better job describing the cabin next year. However, our cabin is used by our family on a regular basis. Yes, we leave food in the refrigerator. We will eat it the next time we are there if a tenant doesn't. We can remove perishables when we leave. Things like mustard, ketchup, jams, and bottles of water (some people don't like the iron taste that comes from the well), we will still leave in the refrigerator. We are in a National Forest. Sometimes mice show up in the fall. We make no attempt to hide that fact from tenants. There are outdoor animals around. Some try to sneak into the house as the weather cools. That is why there is a bag of mouse traps in the pantry closet. There is no "colony" of mice who come in. Usually there are two or three which are caught easily and dropped across the road in the woods. The steps are not "rotten". There are some steps that are slightly deteriorated but in no way dangerous. The steps are part of the regular maintenance we do on the cabin. Remember that our families with children and their friends, are there often during the year. We are not about to allow any disrepair that would be dangerous. There is nothing in our description of our cabin that states we have life jackets. There are simply too many sizes that would be necessary. If a tenant has questions about the availability of life jackets the prudent thing to do would be to ask. We were not asked. Finally, there are plenty of towels available, as stated in the rental agreement, # 18. We will make sure it is more obvious next summer. We have sent a similar email to the tenant explaining the above. We are willing to work with her in an attempt to return to 100% satisfied customers.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlevoix
5

Absolutely perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Great property and house! My husband, daughter and I along with 4 friends had a wonderful weekend getaway at this home. Everything was clean and very spacious. And was so nice to have stocked linens, kitchen, you name it! We will definitely be coming back and m would love to make this a regular destination for our family and friends. Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. We are so happy you had a good time!! The Talpos Family (Nanci)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Trout Lake Stay

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was perfect for our 2 family vacation get-a-way. The bedrooms were set up perfectly to fit our needs as well. It was great with children enjoying the shallow water to play in. We also caught several Walleye which my kids have never seen before. The bit of criticism I would offer is that the aluminum boat had mismatched oars (one didn't fit that particular boat). Thank goodness I had my trolling motor. I would recommend in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have purchased 2 new aluminum oars for the boat. Thank you for your positive comments! Nanci Murdock
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Fibre Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$190
From
$193
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,200
$4,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Canoe and Kayak Access $25
Property Damage Protection $99
Pet Fee $50

Deposit is retained if reservation is cancelled less than 10 days prior to reservation. Rates may change prior to confirmation. Add $200,00 for Memorial Day and Labor Day weeks and the week of July 4th. Three night minimum does not apply to those days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Fibre Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • bathroom 1 combination bathroom 2 shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 3 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
  • 2 up, 1 down
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties