check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Beautiful Renovated Historic Home In Kinston Historic District.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

Great Country Home Waiting For You. Close To Downtown Kinston.

Nostalgic home with large rooms and lots of wooden floors. Enjoy spending time in an American classic with updated heating and cooling system, recently painted interior and modern kitchen. This home offers a gentler way of life. This three bedroom house built in 1909 features three baths, a queen bed, two doubles with a king size bed. The property has all the necessary amenities, TV, DVD player, dishes and utensils, hairdryers, air conditioning, and laundry facilities.


Property Manager
Eleanor Harper
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 22, 2017

Why Eleanor Harper chose Central Coast

A notable frame example of the Colonial Revival style is that said to have been designed by Sidney Andrews of Norfolk, Virginia, for J.F. "Jack" Parrott.. Built prior to the opening of the second section of Mitchelltown, this house caused the extension of West Washington Avenue to be made two lots north of its eastern section.

What makes this house unique

This house is minutes away from The Chef and The Farmer. Most of the guests are avid viewers of the A Chef’s Life on PBS.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Beautiful Renovated Historic Home In Kinston Historic District.
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews
5

Spacious, character home walking distance to historic downtown Kinston.

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a great stay at Harper House. We had a three night stay in December for a wedding and this house was an easy walk to downtown. The home was very spacious and more than enough room for 4 people, having three bathrooms was very handy. Everything was clean and well looked after. The property owners were prompt in replying to our questions and checking in and out was straight forward. I would recommend this property to anyone looking to explore the Kinston area on foot and enjoys homes with some unique character.

  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

End of Semester

  • 5 of 5

As always this is a fabulous house to rent when staying in Kinston. My classmates and I were coming down for our last week of finals at LCC and was nervous that we wouldn't find a place to stay or stay hours away from campus. Fortunately the Harper House was up and running! It was such a blessing. Mrs. Harper got back to me like 20min after I asked of the status on the house due to the hurricane.

The owners of the Harper House are wonderful in the upkeep of the property and excellent in the check in/out process. I always this place when we had to stay, it definitely feels like home when you are away!

PS: The new showerhead in the upstairs bathroom was on point after a long day with hospital rotations. :)

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Tomika, we were happy to accommodate you and your classmates! It's a blessing that the house was spared from the flooding of the nearby Neuse River, even though we had some damage on the outside from Hurricane Matthew. We appreciate you coming back to the area and giving us the opportunity to host you and your classmates! Although, Debra and Joe from next door moved to Phoenix, Paul and Marie had nothing but wonderful compliments that you took good care of the house. Regards, Eleanor
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A Spacious Home

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I visited Kinston, NC with two other couples in August in order to dine at The Chef and the Farmer and The Boiler Room. We had a great time. It is a marvelous place to visit with a bunch of friends for a weekend, especially if you are a fan of "A Chef's Life" -- a popular show on PBS about chef, Vivian Howard, who owns and operates The Chef and the Farmer and The Boiler Room with her husband Ben.

The home is spacious and comfortable. Built in the 1920's it has a wonderful charm about it. The home is in need of exterior repairs (the owner informed us of ongoing repairs in progress), but the interior has been remodeled. The home is very convenient to downtown Kinston. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the restaurants and to Mother Earth Brewery and the Farmer's Market. The neighborhood is an old one; many of the surrounding homes are in need of repair; but as a whole many homes are in the process of rehabilitation, which mirrors the city of Kinston. We felt completely safe in the home.

The home is well furnished. We cooked breakfast and one dinner in the home. There is no cable or satellite television, only a digital antenna. I would recommend to the owner a newer television in the living room area. Wifi is provided and we brought an Amazon Firestick with us which worked well with one of the newer bedroom televisions. There was a shortage of wine glasses, of which we informed the owner. I would have liked some pictures on the walls. We communicated all of this to the owner, who promised to address these concerns. The owner, Eleanor, was very pleasant, responsive and easy to work with.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Anthony for the wonderful write up! The Chef and Farmer is hit with out of town foodies! We already got the wine glasses in the kitchen and will look at replacing the tv and pictures when we get to Kinston at the end of the year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Loved it!!!!

  • 4 of 5

This property is huge!!! While we know Kinston isn't a "resort" town, the neighborhood was fine.

Also:

-furnishings were great, love that it wasn't just bare minimum (dishes and utensils, W/D, ironing board nice bonus)

-clean when we arrived, clean linens that smelled FRESH!!!!

-books and games a nice plus

-love that we could control temperature

-love that we didn't feel watched, that the caretaker wasn't popping around all the time

-wall colors weren't jarring, nice on the eyes

My family and I will definitely be renting here again!!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Joy, You and your family are already booked for next year! Really enjoyed having your at our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice old house

  • 4 of 5

Very nice old house. We had no real issues except none of the DVD players worked and the upstairs shower had no water pressure. The neighbors did play loud music early in the am but that's not the owners fault. But it was a big old house and a lot of fun to stay at. Downtown Kinston had some great restaurants also.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tommy appreciate your candid feedback. Over time, hard-water minerals in tap water build up and clog the spray holes in shower-heads-hence the low water pressure. For both DVD players not playing is a mystery to me, especially the blue ray since it's not even a year old. I know that you were busy and probably didn't have the time to reach out me or Paul on these items. Thanks for bringing this to my attention. We are working on correcting them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

I DIG this house!!!

  • 5 of 5

I always enjoy staying at this house. It is very convenient and the neighbors are nice.

  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Restaurant
0.06 Miles
http://chefandthefarmer.com
Car: recommended

Come stay close to downtown Kinston, North Carolina: a town in the midst of a 21st century renaissance. Let Kinston captivate you with its Southern charm. Civil War buffs can find plenty to explore in Kinston and Lenoir County as you visit the First Battle of Kinston and Battle of Wyse Fork battlefields. For nature lovers, Kinston is an ideal location with plenty of parks, waterways and recreational spaces. Kinston is close to other cities such as New Bern, Greenville, Rocky Mount and Raleigh.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kinston House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$140
$900
$3,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 4.75%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kinston House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3006 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries

Partner Offers