Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

3 Bdrs vacation home. With AMAZING ocean View ! Perfect for couples & families

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 1,937 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

Your dream house. Tucked in the jungle & close to the beach !

THE POINT HOUSE is an outstanding destination for those seeking at the comforts of a home, amid the wild, natural beauty of Costa Rica!

All rooms in the house have ocean view.

The living room and kitchen where also built around enjoying every bit of the amazing pacific ocean view.


THE POINT HOUSE is located just 5km (3 mile) from Playa Hermosa (Hermosa Beach).

Located on the Central Pacific coastline, Playa Hermosa is just ten minutes south of Jaco Beach (Playa Jacó).

THE POINT HOUSE is only 1 ½ hours from Juan Santa Maria International Airport in San Jose, Costa Rica.

If you are planning to drive from the airport, the new highway will take you on an enjoyable trip with amazing views of the mountains and down to the beach. We will provide you all the directions to get to your destination.

Attractions and activities:

Playa Hermosa is one of the most famous surfing beaches in Costa Rica, producing a world class wave.

In Playa Hermosa you can find a few small restaurants and a couple mini markets. We recommend VIDA Hermosa restaurant. They have the best refreshing smoothies, and a variety of delicious meals you can enjoy while you look at the ocean!

In Jaco (15 min North) you can find pretty much everything you need. There is grocery stores, banks, Clinics, Spas, beauty salons, pharmacies, many restaurants to choose from, casinos, juice bars (try “Mandarina´s”, it is one of our favorite!), mail office, Gyms, Bakeries, souvenir shops… etc…

Or just stay at home and enjoy the breathtaking ocean view and the monkeys jump from tree to tree. Or maybe go for a walk, or even for a swim at the river (a short drive down the road).

If you are looking for activities, to do during your stay at THE POINT HOUSE. We can provide you all the information you need.

Please note you will NEED a vehicle (4x4 required) to stay at THE POINT HOUSE and to explore the area. There are many places to visit and all kind of activities to do just a short drive away from THE POINT HOUSE. These are just a few examples:

* Horseback riding (5km)

* Canopy tours (3 km)

* ATV tours (7 km)

* Crocodile river tour (45 km)

* Mangrove monkey boat tour

* Snorkeling and Catamaran tours to Tortuga Island (17 km) or Manuel Antonio (45 km)

* Deep sea fishing (17 km)

* Jungle hiking, and wildlife watching at the National Parks:

- Carara National Park,

- Manuel Antonio National Park, It is a beautiful wildlife Park on a white sand beach…

* White water rafting (45 km)

* Surf lessons (8 km)

* Golf (17 km)

… And many other fun activities.

* We also own COSTA RICA UNLIMITED: The best Dirt bike tour company in Costa Rica! We get riders from all over the world.

Feel free to ask, we will be happy to address your specific needs and with booking your adventures in paradise as well as in-house Massage therapist.


Here is what THE POINT HOUSE has to offer you:

* 3 Bedrooms with AC and amazing ocean view !

* 2.5 bathrooms

* Kitchen, dinning and living room also with breathtaking views of the pacific.

* Our kitchen has all the appliances you need to feel almost like home !

* Hot water

* A/C in all the bedrooms

* Internet (wifi)

* We do not have a pool at the moment. We are working on that. Hopefully we will, sometime next year.

* View: Tucked in the mountains of Hermosa, with the privilage of a beautiful ocean view.

* Ocean view deck / Lounge area

* BBQ area

* Just a few meters away from THE POINT HOUSE we have a Canopy bridge, where the monkeys sometimes run and play, mainly in the mornings and afternoons. In green season and after a good rain you can walk on the bridge and enjoy the sound of the small waterfall below it ! It´s like paradise!

* Bonus ! Our water comes from our private deep well; the water is 100% potable. No need to buy bottle water

************ Please remember that a 4 x 4 vehicle is required while staying at this property *************

Hope we´ll have the pleasure to meet you !


English / Spanish / French Spoken

More Details

Chris & Mièle
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

About Chris & Mièle

We moved to Costa Rica over 15 and 25 years ago respectively. We love it here ! And we want to share it with you.

Chris & Mièle purchased this house in 2010

Why Chris & Mièle chose Playa Hermosa

THE POINT HOUSE has a little of everything. It´s nice to be close from town but not in the middle of it. It´s also located just a few minutes from the beach. And very secure. It´s perfect to enjoy nature.

What makes this house unique

All 3 bedrooms, kitchen, dinning and living room with beautiful ocean view !

While tucked in the the jungle, but only 5 km from the beach and 12 km from a large selection of great restaurants, a few casinos, bakeries, grocery stores and much more.

We also have a beautiful canopy bridge on the property just a few meters away, where the monkeys sometimes play in mornings and afternoons !


Playa Hermosa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1937 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Please note a vehicle (4x4) is REQUIRED to stay at this property. We can help with rental car recommendations. No taxis, ubers, shuttle allowed
  • NO additional guests are allowed at the property without prior autorization from owners.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , With beautiful mountain view
  • Beautiful stone walking showers
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , With private bathroom & closet
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Big open Bedroom with ocean view, sofa and a sitting area
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , With mountain and ocean view
  • Enjoy ocean & mountain view from all bedroom in this house !
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Located a in a very secure private area, THE POINT HOUSE is perfect for those who just want to relax and enjoy their stay in nature. Our water comes from our own private well. And it is 100% potable. ***** PLEASE NOTE YOU WILL NEED A 4X4 VEHICLE TO STAY AT THIS PROPERTY********** We can also help with rental car recommendation


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
3 Bdrs vacation home. With AMAZING ocean View ! Perfect for couples & families
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 21 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Went here with a small group of friends for my 30th birthday, and it did not disappoint!! It was everything I could have wanted, the pictures don't do it justice! This mountain top home will have you feeling a world away, with beautiful scenery and wildlife all around. It's completely relaxing and I would recommend it for anyone! I hope to return in the future. Chris and Mielle have a beautiful property, thanks for sharing it with us!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing Property !!!

  • 5 of 5

Pictures don 't do this property justice. The property is well maintenance and the employees that live near the property were a great help. If instructions are followed properly no one should have any issues getting to the property. The most amazing view I've ever seen is what i believe this property has. The architectural design of this property in my opinion was amazing and to know that this was the owners work lets you know the vision they have. The home is perfect for families, couples, etc. I am already planning another trip to Costa Rica and looking forward to staying here again. This home is the definition of what they say is "Pura Vida".

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Costa Rica Unlimited is amazing

  • 5 of 5

I chose to spend my 40th birthday with the folks from CRU and a few good friends. This place is amazing and the staff goes over the top to make you feel welcome. The accommodations do not get any better. If you are looking for a world class top notch motorcycle adventure or just a relaxing vacation in one of the best spots in Costa Rica, call these guys

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great experience and Beautiful View

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful place. The house was filled with the hardwoods of Costa Rica. When they say you need a 4x4 to get there ... believe them! However, it is worth the trip up the mountain to see this place. They have their own suspension bridge and several small places on their property that they rent. The views are spectacular! And to top it all off, Chris and Miele are really down to earth, great people. We enjoyed every minute. We would highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Rick, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review. It´s really appreciated ! Glad to know you guys enjoyed your stay at The Point House. Hope to see you again sometime :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This place is AMAZING and BEAUTIFUL !!!

  • 5 of 5

WOW doesn't give this place enough credit. The house is great, beautiful and spacious. We had a wonderful time here and got to see some monkeys, toucans, geckos as well as the local doggies (Bullet, Diesel and Pachanga). We went fishing 2 half days out of Quepos and had fun catching rooster fish, snook, snapper and seabass and even had one cooked (grilled, blackened and fried) at the local marina that evening (#delicious). The owners were more than helpful and provided good local information. They were totally spot on with the requirement of a 4WD vehicle. The climb up to the point house is steep in a few spots, but not overwhelming. Overall this is a place I would recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in CR. I cannot thank the owners enough for their hospitality. Chris and Miele are wonderful hosts.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, what a great review ! Thank you so much Mr. Bracey. It was a pleasure to meet you all. Super nice to have you at the house, and we are very happy to know you enjoyed it so much. We are glad you got to see some of the animals, and also got some great fishing ! Take care :) Mièle & Chris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Costa Rica Unlimited

  • 1 of 5

A friend and I thought riding the jungles of costa rica would be a really fun time. After spending nearly $5k combined we were set for 1 weeks stay & 3 days of dirt biking. Were told to rent a 4x4 to get to the compound, but--none were available. We tried to get there in a 2wd. The concrete road is so steep our car ran out of power! Unbelievable--Nothing like it in the States. Had to call our host for help. Host was quite angry, using profanity to describe how we were ruining his busy day. For someone who claims word of mouth is their best marketing tool---this is Absolutely inexcusable behavior. We spent a Lot of money and multiple days traveling to get there and when we finally did, were met with amazing disrespect. Amazing Disrespect! No longer feeling welcome, we asked for our money back to cancel the trip! Prepayment was Required & we had paid In Full. The Only reason we moved forward was because of prepayment. I will Never Prepay for anything like this again! Ever! The next day we met our host who had acquired a new attitude! We had a blast riding the jungles of Costa Rica. The bulk of our stay was fun. We rode 2015 model bikes in good condition. The house is clean & of good quality materials, beautiful place worthy of even the most discerning palate. Gorgeous, Panoramic view of the valley & ocean. There's pots, pans, appliances, towels, bedding but not much else. You must bring your own coffee, aspirin, bandaids, condiments..everything. Internet connection was virtually worthless. A 1hr movie takes 2hrs to watch--download interruptions were constant. Unfortunately, on our last night I became Very ill & had to go to the hospital at 3:00am, essentially checking out Very Early. Our host drove us off the hill & arranged a cab which I was very appreciative of. After leaving, received a Sarcastic text from our host stating he's never worked harder for any group & that we're really "something special". Sarcasm--Really? Very disappointing. Insulted us both coming and going, smiling in between. If you stay here, bring earplugs. During our stay dogs Barked ALL NIGHT LONG! Would I stay there again? What a mixed bag! Nice Facilities, Nice bikes, good trails. VS Insulting/sarcastic behavior & daily Profanity from our host (on video), Barking Dogs, No entertainment, No coffee/condiments, board games, cards or even bandaids! Stay there again? Absolutely Not! My hard earned money goes somewhere else next time.

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Patrick, we appreciate your sincerity. And we would like to remind you how it went (there is always another side of the story!). First, you were 100% aware (we tell all our guests over and over) that you will need a 4x4 vehicle to get to the house (we have several e-mail to prove that). We even sent you our rental car recommendation to make it easier for you. A few days prior to your trip, you guys said you did not wanted to rent car at the moment and arranges pick up with us at a hotel in San Jose (90 minutes away). Our driver showed up 30 minutes in advance and waited and waited and waited.... After 2 hour of waiting, he finally asked the receptionist, who told him you guys had already checked out. That afternoon, after calls, emails and messages, you guys showed up in a 2WD vehicle demanding to have someone take you to the house right now. We told you the 2WD vehicle was not a good idea, but you guys insisted. No one was available at the moment to show you the way to the house (as we were not waiting for you at that time). Finally and after 5 people involved, we sent our mechanic, to show you the way to the house. Obviously the 2WD did not make it. You decided to start calling us, demanding that we come pick you up. And yes !! you were definitely making our day very complicated with all this lack of planning. And demanding did not made it better, as we were with other clients that deserved our time as well. Come to found out you guys brought a feminine companion with you (the ones you pay for) who was very upset that she was not welcome on our property (we have other rental homes on the same property, people with their families). This was definitely the cherry on the cake. Even though this tour started very poorly, we swept the 1st day under the carpet, and manage to spend the next 5 days days trying to make you have the best dirt bike experience of your life. We even gave you free rides to town (since you did not end up getting a 4WD vehicle). We even showed up at the house when you needed a ride at 3:00am when you were filling sick. We honestly don´t feel bad about any of it, because we feel we did more than we should off, with a group like yours that had no respect towards us whatsoever.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
100 Kilometres
Aeropuerto Internacional JUAN SANTAMARÍA
Nearest Barpub
5 Kilometres
Backyard Bar
Nearest Ferry
80 Kilometres
Ferrys Naviera Tambor
Nearest Golf
19 Kilometres
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Nearest Train
50 Kilometres
Estación de trenes Orotina
Nearest Motorway
4 Kilometres
Costanera Sur
Nearest Restaurant
5 Kilometres
VIDA Hermosa
Nearest Beach
5 Kilometres
Playa Hermosa
Car: necessary

Playa Hermosa is one of the most famous surfing beaches in Costa Rica, producing a world class wave.

It is a beautiful and quiet beach. Between the months of July and December, it also becomes one of Costa Rica´s sea turtle nesting site. Where lucky nature watchers can see these lovely beasts; coming ashore at night, to lay their eggs on secluded beaches.

Please remember you will NEED a 4x4 vehicle to stay at this property.

There are many places to visit and all kind of activities to do just a short drive away from our properties.

Since this a very touristic area, you can find many activities to enjoy outdoors with family and friends.

We definitely recommend the CANOPY TOUR, it´s a very cool experience to be traveling across the jungle from tree to tree !

We also recommend ATV Tours. You can choose from a couple of hours to a full day tour. You will be traveling on dirt roads in the mountains, thru little rural towns. If you prefer to be a little more adventurous, and if you have motorcycle experience. We also own COSTA RICA UNLIMITED: The best Dirt bike tour company in Costa Rica! We get riders from all over the world. In case you might be interested to join us on the best ride of your life ;-) One thing is for sure, if you choose this activity, you will enjoy some of the most amazing views around.

If you want to walk around nature and do some wildlife viewing, we recommend 'Manuel Antonio National Park' (about 45 min south), you will see all kinds of animals, and don´t forget your swim suit, there is also a amazing white sand beach, and some very good restaurants!

Horseback riding is also a very good option. Talk to our good friend Andrea, she will be happy to take you for an astonishing ride on the beach, rivers and jungle. 100% fun Guaranty !

Restaurants / drinks and others:

In Playa Hermosa you can find a few small restaurants. We recommend VIDA Hermosa. They have the best refreshing smoothies, and a variety of delicious meals you can enjoy while you look at the ocean!

In Jacó (15 min North) you can find pretty much everything you need. There is grocery stores, banks, Clinics, Spas, beauty salons, pharmacies, many restaurants to choose from (we recommend sushi at Tsunami, or Arigato), casinos, juice bars (try “Mandarina´s”, it is one of our favorite!), mail office, Gyms, Bakeries, souvenir shops…

Or just stay at home and enjoy a cup of coffee on your private terrace, as you watch the parrots, toucans and the macaws flying overhead. You will probably also see the white face monkeys jumping from tree to tree, around THE POINT HOUSE.

For more information about all our rentals, please take a look at our website, where you will find all the information you need: &


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $40

If cancelled or modified up to 30 days before date of arrival, 50% of deposit will be refunded.
If cancelled or modified later or in case of no show, the deposit will be kept in full.

The balance for your reservation will be charged in cash at check-in.

A vehicle (4x4/4WD) is REQUIRED during your stay at this house. Roads are concrete but also very steep

A $500 refundable damage deposit is required to rent this property.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund