Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Charming cottage on 3-acres, 625-feet of lakefront. Lake views from every room!

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,900 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

4-bedroom, 2-bath, sleeps 16

At Dragonfly Point, you'll have room to run, relax and play in relative privacy. We've completely rehabbed this 1949 cottage on Meta Lake between Three Lakes and Eagle River, adding comfort while keeping the charm.

The amenities are numerous, but here are our favorites:

-3 acres of woods and lawn on which to play, picnic, walk and meditate

-4 bedrooms with comfortable matresses and a lake view from each

-2 charming, fully remodeled and updated bathrooms

-Recreational supplies that include 2 canoes, 2 kayaks, a large swim platform, sand beach (and sandy bottom lake), some swim noodles, life jackets and 2 fire pits.

-3 piers on the west, north and east side of the point

-Wood-burning fireplace inside

-A pretty hefty collection of lawn chairs and grilling supplies

-Beautiful, fully stocked kitchen with a dishwasher and convection oven.

-Indoor recreation includes a large TV and movies (no cable), WiFi, games, art supplies, cards and poker chips.

A pack and play and high chair are available for babies — just let us know in advance. 

-We welcome dogs with an additional charge.

We provide sheets. You provide the towels. We also provide hand soap, dish soap, dishwasher soap, a roll of paper towels and enough toilet paper to get you started.

The owners are an interior designer and remodeling contractor, and we think it’s the perfect lake cottage. We’ve purposely kept it comfortable and not too fancy. Very, very charming!

Note: There is a fifth bedroom and third bath. The master suite upstairs is not part of this rental, but you can add it for $50 per night in winter and $500 per week in summer. Just let us know and we’ll post the additional charge.

More Details

Tim and Lisa Meidl
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2018

About Tim and Lisa Meidl

Hi! We're Tim and Lisa Meidl and this cottage is our happy place, which we are thrilled to be able to share. Lisa is a writer/Realtor and Tim has a master's degree in education, but is taking a break to run his business, 7 Hills Remodeling. We have three children, Isabel is a sophomore at UW-Madison studying psychology, Colin is a senior in high school and Eden is a sophomore. (The photo is a little out of date, but we're too busy to update it!)

Tim and Lisa Meidl purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Tim and Lisa Meidl chose Eagle River

We've always loved the Northwoods. In 2014, we leased and ran a resort -- Twilight Cove -- on this same lake. The first summer, we sold out and were camping in our car on check-in Saturdays because we had no place to stay. This house was on the market for years, being marketed as a tear down. We saw an opportunity to rescue it and turn it into our family's special place.

Since October, 2014, we've spent about 1000 hours remodeling it, including lots of help from our children, friends and family.

A little more about this cottage. It was known as "the Gaffney Cottage," named after the family who stayed here and continue to live in the Eagle River Area. The land was purchased by several brothers and sisters in 1948, and the cottage was built primarily by the bachelor uncle Ed Gaffney, with the help of his nephews. They owned about 40 acres connecting to this property (and family members still do) as well as another 20 up near Evergreen Road. In fact, much of the wood you see in the cottage and on the cladding was logged from that land.

The Gaffney's spinster aunt and bachelor uncle -- both teachers -- would care for about a dozen nieces and nephews who would spent their entire summers there building rafts, swimming, fishing and generally having fun. Their parents would take turns coming out for weekends -- some from as far away as Michigan. As they grew up and moved away, the cottage was used less often, and no one had stayed there for about seven years when we came along and fell in love.

What makes this cottage unique

You can see the lake from every window. The pine wood used to build the cottage was all lumbered from nearby land the family owned. We've worked to retain almost all of that wood (and added a bit of new wood as well). Since it was a summer cottage, we did have to amend it to make it ready for winter use -- new insulation, furnace, and windows and doors.

The best part of the property is the land. You can walk all over the beautiful property--along the water, in the woods and on the driveway--without seeing another soul. The neighboring lots haven't been built on at all so there are no nearby homes (although that land is owned by others -- so no trespassing please!).

We've recreated the lovely sand beach the family had installed in the 1950s and added several piers.


Eagle River Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Leave the house as you found it.
  • Pick up all dog waste before leaving.
  • Trash day is Friday. Take your trash and recycling to the appropriate containers at the top of the driveway by 10 a.m. Friday.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Soft water and plenty of water pressure.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , Double bed bunk beds (sleeps 1 adult or 2 children)
    Bedroom 4 - 3 double , 1 double bed and a double bunk beds (4 adults or 6 children)
  • Dresser in each bedroom. All bedrooms have lots of windows with lake views. There is also a pack and play available (bring your own sheets). A fifth bedroom and third bathroom, the upstairs master suite , are available to rent for an additional $100 per day. Just ask us to add it in your booking note.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • limited accessibility
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


4.3/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
Charming cottage on 3-acres, 625-feet of lakefront. Lake views from every room!
average rating of 4.25 based on 4 reviews

A little slice of Heaven!

  • 5 of 5

Three families spent 7 relaxing and fun filled days here. We all enjoyed the seclusion the property offered. There was plenty of room for everyone. Three piers, several fire pits and a great beach area for the toddlers to enjoy. The lake had a great sandy bottom that extended very far out.

Almost every night and several mornings the deer entertained us as they wandered through the property. Loons and eagles were abundant.

We've rented for several summers trying to find that "perfect" place. I believe this is it.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's always a pleasure to have guests who treat your home with care and consideration. They left it in perfect condition! Thank you! We'll continue to keep up the improvements so you'll always feel right at home. More games, movies, and a new screen porch -- provided Mother Nature gives us enough work time weather wise before our summer starts.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great setting for a multi-family holiday getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Our 2 families and 1 set of grandparents and 2 golden retreivers made Dragonfly Point our home for the Christmas week. We had a great time. The layout of the house and the two full bathrooms makes it very comfortable for a larger group. The full kitchen WITH DISHWASHER was great as we cooked for every meal. The kitchen has every appliance, cooking ware, and serving ware you could need. Bedrooms are comfortable with lots of blankets. Unfortunately we were there during some bitter cold temperatures and Lisa and Tim were quick to provide a space heater for one of the bedrooms that our younger children were sleeping in. The wifi worked great with multiple people on their devices during the week (almost wish they didn't have wifi, but that's our issue!). We went for a few short walks around their beautiful property and secluded road but with the temperatures we didn't get to do as many outdoor activities as we hoped. We went into Eagle River for bowling, children's museum, Tone Zone gym, and out to dinner one evening. Great week! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! You were a pleasure to host. We hope you come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The property was in real need of repair and the owners are working on it from what we could see.

  • 2 of 5

The property was in need of repair and the owners were in the midst of doing some work but a lot was still unfinished. The view was very limited from the house due to all of the trees on the property and there is no real beach to speak of. The property description led us to believe that there was a badminton game and croquet available but we didn't see them anywhere. The 3 docks were great to sit on a watch the ducks and boats on the lake and we had 2 visitors every day, a mama deer and fawn strolled through the property consistently. If they house were to be completed with new master bed and bath and the view and a beach done we might consider staying there again.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have noted on our posting that the house is in the process of being remodeled-- cedar shakes are being added to the dormers, although the majority of the house is complete. We are also adding a master bedroom and bathroom upstairs, which were not part of the rental. You will be hard-pressed to find another property with this level of privacy, peace and lakefront -- about 600 feet. The lake is perfectly viewable from every window, but there are trees between us and the lake, which we feel protects our privacy. There is also huge beach on the property--among the largest on the lake--so I'm not sure why the renter said there is no beach. The water is high this year, however, so it is up to the breakfront that typically separates the sandy beach on top of the breakfront and the sandy portion connected to the water.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

We found this property to be one of a kind -- peaceful and family friendly

  • 5 of 5

This cottage has everything we needed as a family. Plenty of room for our teens to have their own space, comfortable beds, lots of room outdoors to roam and 675 feet of shoreline on a private lake. We sat for hours in our lawn chairs watching other people enjoy the lake. Meta Lake is so clean, we even took a quick bath in it one starry night. The property has plenty of woods for us to enjoy as well as a wide open lawn where we could lay on blankets and watch stars. My husband and kids caught enough fish on the first night for a fish fry featuring crappie, blue gill, bass, perch and even an walleye. Occasionally we could hear the girls' camp, but we really enjoyed that component. The year before we were there after the camp closed and the peace and quiet was really lovely as well. The fact that the lake is private--no public boat launches--meant that everyone on the lake knows the rules and there wasn't any problems with boaters too close to our swimmers (the property has a cute and clean beach, although there are some beach grasses there) or bothering us when we fished. We spent a lot of time in the quiet bays that are just wilderness and that transported us to feeling we were in a completely undeveloped area. So it's really the best of both worlds. We appreciated being able to fish from the pier, the many cribs the owners set up to help little fisher people, and the ability to hang out in a hammock.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! You certainly kept us busy with your questions, which we are always happy to answer. We hope you enjoyed the addition of the kayaks. We look forward to your return next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 3


Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Eagle River Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Eagle River Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Nearest Beach
On property
Car: necessary

The famous Eagle River/Three Lakes chain of lakes is just next door to our lake and, if you have a boat, there's a public ramp close by. Our lake is lovely in that it's private in that there isn't a public boat ramp. Our neighbors water ski, pontoon and fish all over the lake, so there's always activity -- without the crazy hubbub you'll find on the chain. The best of both worlds.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $75

Price includes all amenities at the property such as rowboat, canoe, kayaks, and water toys. It does not include any power boats or pontoon boats. They can be rented at the nearby marina.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.