Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Key West Cottage -Steps From the Beach Private Pool! Comfortable home for family

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

For the quickest and most accurate quote please contact 1-800-341-2021


The ideal spot for beach lovers, on a corner right across from the beach, with unobstructed views of the beautiful Gulf from the upper deck and direct access to the beach. Created to capture the feel of old Florida, mixing comfort and convenience with a touch of the funkiness of old Key West.

3BR/2BA with open design kitchen and living area. Enjoy cooling breezes on the screened porch and watch spectacular sunsets from the raised deck. Ground level style with few stairs makes it friendly for children, physically challenged and seniors.


The home also features wi-fi

Keywords: House, cottage,home,villa,beach house, island home, screened porch

Key West Cottage is professionally managed by Suncoast located on the island. If you have any questions or concerns they are available. Please be sure to visit one of our other 2 homes there on the island.

Key Largo: vrbo 472841

Siesta Key: vrbo 337817

More Details

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2018

About The Owner

My family and I take pride in offering affordable beach vacations. Having said that we do not offer heated pools, extravagant furnishings, televisions that span the entirety of a wall. We do offer a safe, comfortable vacation home that will not break your budget and allows for memories to be made on this picturesque island. If you are looking for an over the top expensive home please look elsewhere.

The Owner purchased this house in 2010

Why The Owner chose Gulf Beaches

steps from the water this home allows for a relaxing and comfortable stay on the island


Gulf Beaches House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • ID and paperwork must be signed at time of check in at Suncoast -
  • All occupants must be listed on agreement- exceeding the number allowed will result in expulsion with no refund
  • Furniture and linens must stay on property- fines will incur for damaged or missing items - report spills and breaks
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single , 2 bunk bed , beds have been updated since photo was taken- thank you
  • This is a family friendly rental
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
Key West Cottage -Steps From the Beach Private Pool! Comfortable home for family
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews

Family, Beach & Pool - Best of all combinations!

  • 4 of 5

Just enjoyed Labor Day Weekend with my 2 kids, their spouses and my 7 grandkids (5 adults, 4 teens, 3 under 3) and had a wonderful time! The location was convenient - across the street from the beach and the pool was a wonderful addition for the little ones when we tired of the sand. House was just fine - older single story w. over carport deck so teens could enjoy their own space with little adult interference when they weren't riding bikes or enjoying the beach. House generally clean but showing wear; Kitchen well equipped but you may have to look through all cupboards. Suggest you wipe down counters & table before using (hard to avoid the beach dust that blows in & collects on surfaces). Bring extra rolls of paper towels & TP (only 1 small roll of towels & 1 roll TP in each bath) & cooler of ice (no ice maker & fridge is definitely small and worn, but kept food cold). There's also an enclosed outdoor shower and hose behind the carport that we didn't find right away, but it is great for rinsing sand off feet & shoes or to wash off the beach grit before jumping in the pool or coming inside. Our family enjoyed this get-away so much we've decided to make it an annual event.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Chicago, IL

Great house in a fabulous location!

  • 5 of 5

Our vacation here was great and this house made the difference! It was wonderful for our three kids to be able to play as if they were home with the pool and screened in porch. We loved being walking distance from the beach, and the owners could not have been more friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend this spot to a family looking for a 'home away from home' atmosphere in a beautiful location.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 2 of 5

This was out tenth year on SGI for vacation. We have stayed in many homes depending on the size of our group. This year was just me, my husband and out 2 teenage boys. We were excited about your home, having picked it while vacationing the previous year. When we checked in at the rental office about 4:15, we were told the house had been cleaned but had not been checked by the ambassador yet. The polite young man took my number, told us we could head for the house and he would call, telling us we could enter. We stopped at a store, bought some groceries and went on to the house. After waiting a while, my son used the code and we unloaded. We never received a call. Upon entering, the house appeared clean but the soles of our feet were black within minutes. We discovered the keyless entry system was not working a short time later but had batteries with us and used those as we went to visit the beach. The next morning the entry system was again not working and I called the rental office who suggested we go on to the beach while she put in a work order. I replied that was unacceptable as we would have no way of entering the house if needed. She put in an immediate order and the issue was resolved that afternoon by removing the unit and giving us keys. We were disappointed by the lack of furniture on the screened in porch, the living room TV remote did not work (even with new batteries,) and the overgrown dog run that was completely unusable. The slats on the bunk beds fell out easily. I was confused by the washer and dryer being on a pallet until we received rain and saw how the carport and utility room flooded. Needless to say, all items, including our charcoal were soaked. Again, we have stayed in many houses, some very expensive, some not so expensive, and some in the middle. Overall, your house was a disappointment to us. The pool was nice but needed cleaning to remove sand and debris from the bottom that we could not remove with the skimmer. The kitchen was adequate although it was the only house we have ever had with no ice maker. All dishes had to be washed before using as they were not clean. The layout of the house was great, and the roof did not leak during the rain. The ceiling fans were great to have and stayed on constantly. We liked the location of the house. I did send a report in after the flooding, so the rental company is aware of this issue. It would have been nice to know so we could have kept our belongings from getting wet and dirty.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have just regained control of my properties and have stumbled upon this review. For the last several years my homes were managed by a number of different management companies and I am happy to say we are back with Suncoast, the original management company. I apologize for your stay and hope you will be willing to try Key West or one of my other properties again in the future. As an owner our only life line is the management company and I am not always please with the way they take care of my property. I am sorry for the delay.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 3
Augusta, Ga

Key West Cottage

  • 5 of 5

This is a great property for any family to spend a weekend or week. It has a relaxing pool if your to tired to walk across the street to the beach and a screened in porch so you can sit outside and just enjoy the amazing weather. The owners are extremely accommodating and go out of their way to ensure that you have the best time on your vacation. I'm really looking forward to visiting again.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased you had a great time, it's very important to us that our guests enjoy their stay. Hope you get back down to the island again soon and when you do I hope you visit Key West Cottage again
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a great vacation. The house was pretty clean, though a deep cleaning is probably needed. There was a little bit of grime in the corners of the floors. The pool was a nice feature to have, but the beach was close enough that we didn't use it much. We sat on the screened-in porch a ton! It was wonderful. The house was exactly what we were looking for and the owner was very prompt in answering our questions and helping when needed.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the response, as for the cleaning after a full summer of back to back renters a little sand builds up in the corners. I have taken it off as a pet friendly home and that should also help with the cleaning. I do hope you visit us again. Karrie
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Lynchburg, Va

Lovely Cottage/Gracious Hospitality/Brill Stay

  • 5 of 5

This charming cottage and its lovely owner strikes all the right notes. I'm an adopted islander & have been visiting SGI for decades. This beach abode embodies old school, island charm... has lovely/comfy decor, great views, quite pet friendly and an excellent location. It is an easy walk to both the beach & a park on the bay-side which is great for dog walks & swims. Also convenient for bike trail.

The owner went out of her way to be accommodating of our needs.. even giving a heads-up when the house was available a day earlier which allowed me to celebrate my Dad's birthday in his favourite spot. (Thanks again Karrie) We had a brilliant time and are heading back again this year. Excited to check out the new pool they have installed. I highly recommend both the cottage & the owners if you desire the quintessential island-spirit stay served up with a gracious dose of southern hospitality.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: April 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


St, George Island is the Perfect Place for Beach and Outdoor Lovers, Over 20 Miles of Uninterrupted Beach Make a Swimming, Beach Walking, and Just Kick-Back Relaxing Paradise, For Exercise a Walking and Bike Path Stretches Nearly One-Third the Length of the Island, and Kayaks, Jet Skis, Sailing and Fishing Boats Are All Available for Rent, George Island State Park Has Seemingly Endless Beaches, Marshes, Dunes and Scenes of Nature at Her Finest, Wildlife Lovers Will Find Abundant Viewing of Dolphins and Other Marine Life, Fishing Charters Are Available for Deep-Sea, Bay and Flats Fishing, Casual and Fine Dining Features Fabulous Local Seafood, The Quaint, Old Seaport Town of Apalachicola is a SightseerGÇÖs Delight of Shops, Marinas, Stately Old Homes in the Town's Historic Section, Live Local Theater, an Aquatic Museum, and Jumping Off Point for Guided Tours of the Surrounding Bay and Estuaries


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

registration fee $65 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Rates are subject to change until confirmed. The check in will be completed at the Suncoast office on the island where an ID will need to be presented and all paperwork completed. 1-800-341-2021

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.