Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mountain Chalet 6 miles from Hunter Resort. Absolute privacy!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,330 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 3 Baths, indoor sauna, indoor jacuzzi, outdoor 40' pool (summer only

Beautiful mountain views on 13 wooded acres. 6 miles to Hunter Mountain. 40' inground pool. ( summer only) game room with air hockey, foosball, xbox, darts,music.

Great hiking ( at lest 10 marked trails just minutes away) or hike on the property. river tubing, (snow tubing in winter), fishing, tennis and golf nearby, horse back riding and miniature golf nearby. 20 minutes to Woodstock. less than 10 minutes to Hunter Mt. festivals


Owner
Peter Blume
Member since: 2004
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english, german, russian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 5, 2017

About Peter Blume

Semi retired Architect/Contractor (Peter) Ironman Triathlete and world motorcycle traveler and Semi retired Computer Guru (Lara) aspiring athlete and non-motorcycle traveler are your hosts

Peter Blume purchased this house in 1988

Why Peter Blume chose Lanesville

It can be as relaxing with a cold drink at the pool or as vigorous as a hike to the top of Hunter Mt. from the property.

What makes this house unique

Absolute privacy

Guestbook comments from the owner

We enjoyed our stay here. We can all say that this is a beautiful country house!
Apr 2012
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Lanesville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2330 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 10 ...
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Pets require advanced approval by owner and additional fee. Pets can not stay alone in the house and are not allowed in or around the pool area
  • please complete guest list, sign rental agreement and return with your reservations
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , jetted tub
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
3 queens, 1 full, 1 sleeper sofa, 1 futon. Pool (summer only); 2 wood stoves; jacuzzi ( not used in summer months); sauna; HDTV.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(65 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
10% Complete
4% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
Mountain Chalet 6 miles from Hunter Resort. Absolute privacy!
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 67 reviews
5

I wish I could give it 6 stars!!

  • 5 of 5

We've rented this house for the last two years in a row, twice per every season, and can't wait to do it again this upcoming winter. The house is both exceptionally clean and amazingly thought through: weather it is cutlery or extra blankets, pots or glasses, bottle opener or tea cup coasters - anything we don't even know that we might need is under the fingertips. Beautiful and stylish. Comfortable for adults. Fun for kids! Our boys enjoyed x-box, hockey table, soccer table and especially - darts! We enjoyed the spectacular views, close distance to Hunter skiing trails, loving atmosphere... and most of all: how easy, helpful and responsible was its owner, Peter. Thank you, Peter, warmest memories from our past two winters were created by the side of a fireplace in your mountain retreat!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful weekend

  • 5 of 5

We have booked late fall weekend to see fall foliage before the winter starts. When we arrived Peter and Lara greeted us and gave us a quick tour of the house. We were two families and the house had plenty of space for us all. Everything in the house was clean and fresh and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook for our group. We love sauna and jacuzzi to relax after our hiking. On Sunday it rained and the boys were very busy in the game room downstairs. Peter and Lara, thank you for wonderful weekend in the mountains. We hope to come again in the warmer days when the pool will be open

Natalia

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Mice, Camera, Dissatisfaction! Dirty Rental with Mice - Beware!

  • 1 of 5

We would not recommend Property 103440 to others, as the level of cleanliness fell far below a satisfactory standard: There were mouse droppings scattered all over the house- it was clear that most of the droppings had been there for some time and they could easily have been vacuumed away prior to arrival. My wife screamed one evening after finding a mouse INSIDE the toilet bowl after she had used it. She was mortified. The kitchen sink faucet was absolutely coated with grime and gunk. The sheets in the bedroom were filled with crumbs and debris. The table fan in the bedroom was broken and non-functioning. The walls were scuffed throughout the house; wooden edges of shelves and wall units were splintered; every single piece of dishware, silverware, and glassware had to be cleaned prior to use. The "Master Bedroom" is cramped and one must sidestep to reach the bathroom, where there is no shower, only an oddly shaped therapy/rehab tub that accommodates one person max. There is one shower on the main floor, it is very small (one person only), wood paneled, and has poor lighting. The hot tub is actually in the basement, which has very low ceilings, providing a dungeon-like atmosphere. It was not in sanitary condition and the water smelled very sour. I found a bottle of bromine tablets and put some in, but why this wasn't done prior to our arrival? The cherry on top was the chores asked of guests prior to checking out which included taking out the garbage and walking it down the steep and windy driveway to a shed; and removing the bedding and gathering all towels, to be placed in the basement. We did our chores, and upon returning home I emailed the owner with these complaints. He first offered compensation, but then after I contacted VRBO he CHARGED US $378 (!) for unplugging a cord in the basement, which was visibly and in plain sight labeled “Camera.” We felt uncomfortable and very creeped out by the idea that there were surveillance cameras hidden inside the house, so we simply unplugged this cord from a modem. Perhaps it was for outdoor cameras, but we didn’t want to take a chance. He also included a charge for “breaking into” a locked linen closet. We did attempt to open a closet in search of clean bedding when we discovered ours to be dirty, but when we saw it was locked, tried no more. We have not received our deposit back. We appreciated the quiet of the house, but were quite disappointed in the level of cleanliness.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: For 20 years we have been renting our vacation homes.We always strive to make our guests’ experiences positive and over 60+ reviews reflect that. The house is always professionally cleaned,all linens washed no more then 2 days prior to guests’ arrival.We greet our guests on arrival and ask to be notified ASAP if anything needs attention.Our numbers and emails & our cleaning staffs’ are provided and in the house manual. Mr.B asked for an early check in. We had our rep meet him in the house at noon as requested.Mr.B showed up 2 hours late.Our rep waited in the house, walked them through the house.Mr.B did not mention ANY dissatisfaction during the walkthrough.In fact he stated he “liked the house very much” While we had been in frequent communication with Mr.B prior to his arrival,neither our rep nor we heard anything from him until 2 days after check out, when he expressed disappointment and demanded a 50% refund. We take all complains seriously and we contacted our rep to address Mr.B’s complaint.They confirmed the house was properly cleaned 2 days prior to Mr.B arrival. In the interim we found our security system,a driveway camera and motion activated outdoor lights no longer functioned.The next day our rep arrived to clean the house, found the locked linen closet broken into,sink and dishwasher full of dirty dishes, garbage in the kitchen.We asked Mr.B for a response.He never responded.Our tech Co.came to service the security system.The costs of the service call and closet repair exceeded the security deposit. The chronology in Mr.B review is backwards. We informed him that his security deposit was being held to cover damages done during his rental. Again he did not respond. He filed a complaint with VRBO. We answered his complaint with receipts and photos. VRBO dismissed his complaint. Then he wrote his toxic review. Mr.B stated that he feared there “were cameras in the house”.This is patently absurd and borders on libel.This is an outdoor security system.Had Mr.B told us that he disabled the system,we would not have had to call our service Co.and incur those charges.He never answered our email re: his disabling of the security system or breaking into the locked closet.  We do ask guests to do a few “chores”:taking out their garbage,loading the dishwasher,and pushing the start button. We regret that Mr.B was not pleased,but as he made no attempt to contact us during his stay it was impossible to either verify or address the issues he stated post stay
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great place for family gathering

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time at Peter and Lara's over the labor day weekend. The setting and surroundings were absolutely lovely. Even though it was cold, we got a couple of swims in and the kids loved the deck, games in the basement and the fire pit. Peter and Lara provided a place that had all the things we needed for a stay (gas for BBQ, firewood, condiments, linens etc.) Thanks for a wonderful time.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and nice property

  • 5 of 5

Great location, only 10 mins drive to hunter Mountain. The swimming pool is a great hit. The house is equipped with basically everything you would need for a vacation home. The owner is very nice and responsive. Highly recommended for vacation rental.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous Family Escape in the Catskills

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for two families each with two kids. The pool and game room offered fun and entertainment on site, and the location offered close access to the best beauty of the area. We're so grateful for the chance to make this our joint home for 10 days, and are indebted to Peter for the sacred memories created there.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Albany,NY
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
many
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Tannersville
Nearest Train
40 Miles
AMTRAK
Nearest Motorway
28 Miles
NYS Truway
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
many
Nearest Ski
6 Miles
Hunter
Car: recommended

Skiing, swimming,hicking

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $100

Please remember to fill-in guest list and rental agreement
House is equipped for 8 guests. Any additional guests have to be approved by owner @ $50./night ea. and listed in rental agreement.
All pets have to be approved by owner and listed in rental agreement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties