Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

'The Ocean's Edge' Grand Cayman Oceanfront Condominium

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,250 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Aqua blue ocean views from every window--that is how best to describe this condominium balanced on the pinnacle of the magnificent Caribbean sea. The Ocean’s Edge, newly built and located in the exclusive Cayman Kai/Rum Pointe area of Grand Cayman (the quiet, unspoiled side of Cayman) boasts a unique location in the 10 unit North Pointe Condominium complex. There is not just one single straight on view of the ocean, as you will find in other Cayman Island condominiums, but every bedroom window, living room, dining room, lanai and even the bathroom window overlooks the crystal sapphire Caribbean Sea.

The Ocean’s Edge is uniquely situated in such a way as to surround you with an unsurpassed pristine blue water view that fills every window, as the proximity of the water is only a few short feet of sandy white beach away. The Ocean’s Edge is located on the second floor, in the part of the complex that juts out toward the ocean, so the views are everywhere. And they are spectacular! This is what you come to the Caymans to see. Location, Location, Location is what makes The Ocean’s Edge a premier accommodation for your most unforgettable Grand Cayman vacation.

The Ocean’s Edge is an ideal spot for your perfect Cayman honeymoon, beach wedding, scuba diving trip, deep sea fishing trip, romantic rendezvous, or fun filled Caribbean family getaway. Even if you do nothing but relax in the hammock on the panoramic ocean view lanai, you will not be disappointed. The Ocean’s Edge will accommodate your every need.

Located on the quiet, unspoiled side of Grand Cayman, our condo sits in a quaint, white sandy beach front 10 unit complex and is one of the only units in the rental pool that has a vivid blue ocean view from every window...even the bathroom has a view of the sea. Some guests have likened their stay to being on an ocean liner, as there is pristine blue ocean surrounding them from every window...and some have even said they momentarily felt like they were actually floating on the water. Both of the two bedrooms plus the vaulted living room open into a panoramic screened-in lanai that overlooks the white sand beach with its aqua blue water and the freshwater adult and children's pools. This 120 degree awe inspiring view is unsurpassed. And even if you do nothing but relax on the porch for your entire vacation, you will go away satisfied that you have visited paradise.

• Unlimited local phone calls and a list of our favorite places to go and first choice restaurants. (after many years of coming to the Caymans, we have learned where the bargains and the best places are)

• On-island manager in case of emergencies.

• Privacy of a small complex but still located conveniently near restaurants and entertainment

• Adult and kiddy pools that overlook the ocean

• White sand beach and an ocean view from every single window (no kidding)

• Many outstanding dive sites from the Cayman North Wall are nearby. Snorkel to see colorful coral and abundant fish wherever you enter the water…..Reefs are everywhere.

• Located in the upscale Cayman Kai community only 30 scenic miles from the Airport and 7 Mile Beach. (But you may not ever want to leave the North Side)

• Magnificent sunsets and great restaurants in close vicinity.

• Famous Rum Pointe beach and Stingray City only minutes away.

• Small Grocery store only 5 minutes away. Major ones 15 - 30 minutes away.

• Starter soaps, detergents, and paper products are provided.

More Details

Owner
Hilary Pandorf
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 30, 2017

Why Hilary Pandorf chose North Shore

Grand Cayman was a stop on a cruise we took in 1983. We fell in love with it then and have been coming back to vacation on a regular basis ever since. When we had children we began bringing them here and they also fell in love with it. It is our family's special vacation spot.

What makes this condo unique

We love the clear blue ocean water, the snorkeling and diving are fantastic. The locals on the island are very friendly and we feel very safe and relaxed on the island.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Grand Cayman Condos. We loved the pool right in our backyard and the easy access to the ocean. Although there were other renters in nearby condos, we found that we had plenty of privacy when we wanted it. The condos were fully equipped and were very clean. We spent a lot of time on the lanai enjoying the beautiful view while visiting with our family. The location of the condos provides for a slower paced vacation, while being conveniently located to local attractions and activities.
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 4

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Owens International Airport
Car: recommended

Grand Cayman is protected by a barrier reef that creates calm, crystal clear water and provides for excellent snorkeling/diving from shore. Grand Cayman is world famous for Stingray City/Stingray Sandbar where you can feed, play and swim with southern stingray. The 'North Wall' dive site is 300 yards from the condo shore.

Amenities

North Side Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • MasterBathroom with bathtup and shower combo. 2nd Bathroom shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King Size bed in Master, 2 Twin Beds in 2nd Bedroom, Portable Pack 'N' Play for infant, Queen size sleeper sofa.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Raft
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
10% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
'The Ocean's Edge' Grand Cayman Oceanfront Condominium
average rating of 4.733333 based on 34 reviews
5

Fantastic Condo!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at this property was fantastic! The condo was exactly as described, and had everything available for a perfect vacation. The unit is well maintained and nicely decorated. With views of the sea from every room, including the comfortable lanai, we found ourselves relaxing in the wonderful breezes that came through the unit. The condo complex, including the pool, is nicely landscaped and again, well maintained. The snorkeling right in front of the condo was beautiful, and we spent every evening enjoying a cocktail right in front of the condo with the beach to ourselves. We loved staying on the North Side as it is quieter and away from the major touristy areas, and yet has restaurants and other activities close-by. We recommend Over the Edge for a great local fish dinner, with a French flair. It was only a few miles away, and we enjoyed several meals there. Hilary was great to work with, and we would highly recommend a stay at this condo. We loved it, and hope to return.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for submitting this review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for renting from us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Had a wonderful time!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the location and the property. Condo was clean, just as described with ocean literally feet away from our door. We hope to return again!

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had a wonderful time!

  • 5 of 5

The condo was comfortable and had stunning views of the ocean from all rooms. We enjoyed being on the quiet side of the island yet could drive to Rum Point or even the other side of the island for activities. We snorkeled many times and loved it! I hope we can return some day!!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great vacation at The Ocean's Edge, North Pointe Property

  • 4 of 5

We just returned today from a fabulous week on Grand Cayman Island. We chose this condo on the north coast for two reasons: to be far away from Seven Mile Beach (and the large resorts), and to have our own place with all the home comforts and a kitchen for self-catering. The Ocean's Edge is a wonderful location, literally steps away from the sandy beaches and warm ocean waters. We shared the two-bedroom condo with another couple, friends of ours from Oregon, so we all participated in the evening meal preparation which was fun. The condo complex also has a swimming pool, which was nice, but since we came for some snorkeling adventures, we hardly used the pool area.

We enjoyed our best snorkeling at Turtle's Nest (south coast, by Turtle's Nest Inn) -- greatest abundance of fish and sea life, the public beach at Spot's Dock (south coast, west of Savannah) -- best for seeing green sea turtles grazing on the sea grass in the late afternoon, Rum Pointe and Starfish Point (a short drive to the northwest), and Sting Ray City -- we took the 2 1/2 hour sailing boat cruise to the sandbar and to the north wall for snorkeling.

A trip to the Cayman Turtle Center was wonderful, an hour's drive to Northwest Point Road. We stopped for a picnic lunch just before we reached the Turtle Center. It turned out to be a perfect picnic spot on the left of the main road, where we could watch and listen to the tremendous sounds of huge ocean waves and white surf crashing into the rocks.

We ate out just twice, and both restaurants were excellent: Czech Inn, Bodden Town, owned & operated by a native Czech transplant, George (and his wife, whom he met while vacationing here a number of years ago); and The Ocean's Edge Restaurant (about 10 minutes drive from the condo). Both restaurants served freshly prepared, great tasting food.

The only downside of the week was the wind -- very strong north winds for 3-4 days out of 7, which made snorkeling directly from the condo beach impossible due to the turbulence and poor visibility underwater. The south coast snorkeling spots were fine though, and even the bays by Rum Pointe were sheltered enough from the wind. There were huge piles of sea grass on the sandy beaches by the condo, and much was littered with plastic debris, unfortunately, but this didn't stop us from enjoying some nice walks along the beach.

Thanks, Rich & Hilary, for an enjoyable and relaxing stay at your home! J&V (Minnesota)

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet getaway

  • 5 of 5

Everything as advertised

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointing, not well maintained , go elsewhere

  • 2 of 5

The condo was not clean nor well maintained it is not as advertised. It is grubby - doors, walls and floors it needs a thorough clean.

Some Items of note:

The bedding in the master was not changed upon arrival.

Kitchen cupboard doors do not close properly. One on the bottom is missing screws to hold the bracket on.

The teflon pots and pans are badly scratched and are falling apart and unusable.

The dishwasher does not heat up so the soap doesn't dissolve.

Cutlery is stained.

The air conditioning does not work in either bedroom.

The scatter rugs were and are filthy and stained they have no rubber beneath and I slipped and fell on the first attempt to access the gallery.

The shower head in the master bath leaks from the pipe.

The kitchen sink faucet does not work on the cold side only the middle and hot.

The kitchen chair seat covers are filthy. There are only 4 chairs in the kitchen and gallery this condo is advertised for 6.

The beach chairs are rusted out and have stained the gallery tile.

The fire alarms need new batteries and were making a pinging sound on the last days of our stay.

The outside doors are filthy inside and out with rust on the storm shutters on the floor area most of whose handles don't work or are broken.

The wifi continuously cuts out unless in the living/dining area.

The owner wanted to interrupt our vacation to have new televisions installed.

The beach and pool are unusable due to the high wind which when speaking to locals is not a one off it is always like that.

When an owner states

"Unfortunately, since I am not at the condo often, (being that I live in another country) I don't always know what needs to be fixed." You know there is and will be problems.

We have rented many condos and this is the first time I have complained and sent photos to the owner. While the owner said we should have told her asap as stated above she has to rely on renters for an honest accessment, that is not my problem. I paid for a two week vacation condo that was as advertised for a relaxing stress free time not to be the eyes and ears of an absentee condo owner.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you had such a bad experience. We want all of our guests to enjoy the condo as much as we do. I'm also sorry you thought we "wanted to interrupt your vacation" when we asked if it was ok to have the televisions upgraded while you were there. We thought you might enjoy the new TV's. Naturally we respected your wishes and scheduled the delivery for after you departure. I can certainly relate to the fact that you didn't want to be interrupted on your vacation however most of the "items of note" could have been resolved immediately. All of the minor maintenance items were fixed in less than a day. Had you been willing to accept a five minute interruption, our caretaker could have at least dropped off new pots and pans, throw rugs, and beach chairs (all of which get replaced on a regular basis). To say the condo is "grubby" is unfair and untrue. For the last 10 years we have spent every summer vacation at the condo with our children and stayed there on many other occasions. It's our home away from home and we think it's beautiful. And, as you can see from our other reviews, our other guests agree. We have visited Grand Cayman dozens of times over the last 30+ years and most of the time the weather is excellent. It can be quite windy at times, but the suggestion that it's like that all the time is nonsense. Unfortunately we have no control over the weather. Likewise, we have no control over the internet provider company which provides the internet service. We would have gladly called the internet provider for you had we known you were having internet connection issues. As for the condo not being "as advertised", that is completely untrue. We are licensed to accommodate 6 people (one king bed, two twin beds, and a queen sofa sleeper). The description of the dining area clearly states "Seating for 4 people" and the photo shows four chairs around the table. As many of the other reviewers have stated, the condo is exactly as advertised.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.0%

Special pricing for long term stays, for last minute bookings and for rentals booked far in advance. Contact owner directly as they set the price.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.