Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8), Yellowstone Riverfront, Yellowstone

The sound of the Yellowstone River lulls you to sleep while visions of trout dance at the end of your wake up and it's not a dream-you are really there!

This wonderful and spacious cabin is right on the Yellowstone River, just minutes away from Yellowstone National Park and the Roosevelt Arch entry at the north entrance to YNP, and close to Mammoth Hot Springs, mountain biking and all the wildlife you can imagine.

The Grizzly Den Cabin on the Yellowstone Riverfront is self-contained with wilderness furnishings in the living area, crisp linens, plush towels, books, DVD/VCRs and video library, WIFI access, a complete fully-stocked kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, range, washer & dryer, coffeemaker, gourmet coffee and teas, gourmet spices and sauces, 2 outdoor grills and a wonderful covered patio for relaxing after a day of hiking, horseback riding or rafting on the Yellowstone River. Restaurants and local shopping are within ten minutes driving distance and Chico Hot Springs Spa & fine restaurant are a half hour away.

This Yellowstone cabin is a delightful place from which to navigate your Yellowstone National Park vacation, and you can even walk to the park directly from our driveway, only 1500 (approx) feet away. Enjoy a BBQ on the patio, a marshmallow roast at the fire pit or a relaxing stroll down our rural road, away from the noises of the city.

Just under 48 miles to Livingston, and 1 1/2 hours from Bozeman Airport, the location is convenient yet very private. Feedback, both in our guest book and online, for our cabin has been consistently wonderful, with our most recent guests saying our 'river home, not really a cabin, was over the top!'

Please join us for your Yellowstone National Park and cabin on the river vacation. Discover how comfortable and luxurious you can feel in the tranquility of the Montana experience!

Cashier or Personal checks are cheerfully accepted! For questions please call 406-600-4620.

To avoid the service fees charged on this platform , please contact the Owner directly. Due to system changes we can no longer view your phone number or provide ours. You can visit our site directly at thegrizzlydencabin.

Keywords: Cabin, Yellowstone River, Yellowstone Vacation Rental, Yellowstone cabins, Grizzly Den, Mountain Cabin, Mountain view

More Details

The Grizzly Den Cabin on the Yellowstone Riverfront
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 15, 2017

About The Grizzly Den Cabin on the Yellowstone Riverfront

Yellowstone National Park has always held a special place in my heart. I've been visiting the park on an annual basis since 1999 (sometimes several times a year) and each trip is unique and special in its own right.

In 2008, I brought my Dad to Yellowstone over the Thanksgiving holiday and the weather was & crisp but not cold and unbearable. We hiked for several hours every day and had the time of our lives. One morning we set out on an 8-mile hike. It had snowed a couple of inches the previous night and 1/2 mile into the hike we discovered we were following the tracks of a large grizzly bear. For the next 3 miles we walked in the footprints left by the great bear, armed only with bear spray, but never did see the bruin. Seeing my Dad's face light up when he realized the tracks were not very old and that we were not 'alone in the wilderness' was priceless. Because of that trip, I realized I wanted to spend as much time as possible with my Dad, enjoying moments like those while we still had the opportunity. Life is so short!

Then in 2012, my entire family was able to join me in Yellowstone to celebrate my birthday. It was in that moment I decided this is where my heart is and in order to experience more lasting memories with my entire family I needed to have a place for them to call their 'home-away-from-home'.

Together, my Dad & I purchased this cabin as place to relax, watch the wildlife, fish the Yellowstone River and most importantly build more lasting memories. Being able to give my Dad the gift of owning a cabin means so much to me.

As a Vietnam Vet and someone who grew up without modern conveniences (ie: running water & indoor plumbing), owning a cabin was never on his radar. My Dad is the most kind-hearted, caring person I know and he would go the extra mile for those he cares about. Being able to give back to him was a dream come true and helping to make his dreams come true is what life is all about!

The Grizzly Den Cabin on the Yellowstone Riverfront purchased this cabin in 2013

Why The Grizzly Den Cabin on the Yellowstone Riverfront chose Gardiner

We chose this cabin because of the proximity to Yellowstone National Park and the fact that it is located right on the Yellowstone River. We can literally fish right from the banks outside the cabin and grill the fish minutes later while enjoying the evening from the patio...all without leaving the cabin.

We named the cabin, 'The Grizzly Den' for a couple of reasons, 1) Grizzlies are my passion (I've been studying them since 1999) and seeing them in the wild is a most special and unforgetable moment (for anyone), and 2) on our trip to purchase the cabin we were fortunate enough to locate a grizzly den high on a mountain slope and after watching through our scope for several hours the sow emerged with two cubs-of-the-year.

Also, the Park boundary is less than 1500 feet from the driveway and the North Entrance to Yellowstone is only 4-miles away. We wanted something close to the park but not overly commercialized or populated. This cabin was close, convenient and had the space we needed.

With 2 bedrooms (4 Double beds) and 2 full bathrooms, a full kitchen, dining area, living room and covered patio, we knew our needs were covered. Being able to share this property with others is exciting. Each trip to Yellowstone is different and offers a whole new experience. Whether you are coming for adventure, hiking, sight-seeing, fishing, wildlife viewing or photography this is the place to be!!

It was also important to me that we had a cabin where wildlife were welcome. Occasionally we will have bison, deer or elk in the yard and rarely a grizzly bear.

What makes this cabin unique

The unique benefits of The Grizzly Den cabin include the amazing views of Electric Peak and the Devils Slide. Located right on the Yellowstone Riverfront our guests are able to fish directly from the banks outside the cabin.

For those that enjoy walking, the Park boundary is just 1500 from the driveway and only 4 miles from the North Entrance to YNP at Gardiner.

The Grizzly Den cabin is open and available to reserve year-round and we encourage our guests to visit the Yellowstone National Park during different times of the year as each experience offers something new and different.

You will love staying at this Yellowstone cabin known as The Grizzly Den on the Yellowstone Riverfront!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We wanted to thank you for a great week. It's heaven on earth there. I'm still blown away by the beauty. We feel like the herd of deer and antelope around there and blocking the road were our own pets. Your brochure had us excited, but the photos cannot do it justice. Just breathtaking beauty.

The town was great, we spent 3 days in the park and a lot of time hanging out together in the cabin. Don't get cable or satellite it was great just chilling and talking watching DVD movies.

It was a week we will never forget and that's not easy to do with a 13 year old who really didn't want to go and hang out with his parents for a week.

We had just a wonderful, wonderful time and will be telling all our family and friends about the great place we stayed.

Oh yes, we will be going back. Did I mention what a great time we had!

Thanks again for hosting a very memorable week!
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 5


Gardiner Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
  • 2 - Full bathrooms.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 double
    Bedroom 1 - 2 double
  • Double Beds. Two doubles per room, each with its own full bath and shower.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
30 minutes from the world famous Chico Hot Springs where you will find swimming in the Hot Springs, Fine Dining, and other wonderful activities.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(59 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
8% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
average rating of 4.8135595 based on 64 reviews

Had a wonderful time here.

  • 5 of 5

The Grizzly Den is in a picturesque, river-side setting about four miles from the northern entrance to Yellowstone National Park. We were four adults and one 16 year old and stayed for almost a week while we explored the park. There were lots of Elk Around the property and we saw about a dozen of them only feet away from the back deck.of the cabin. The road to the entrance of the park from the cabin is somewhat bumpy but we enjoyed the drive each morning. We saw pronghorn antelope beside the road every day and birds of prey flying along the river. With binoculars we could see them flying into a large nest beside the river from the back porch of the cabin. Although there was no TV reception it was not a priority for us. There was good WIFI and we spent our evenings enjoying the atmosphere on the deck beside the river. We stayed at a number of different places on our trip and this was our favorite place to stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We are so happy you enjoyed your time at the cabin. The elk this time of year really enjoy their mornings by the cabin which makes it a fun experience for all!! The Osprey next which you describe has been there for years and it is an an active nest with baby chics each spring. I'm happy to hear this was your favorite place to stay!! We'd love to have you back in the future!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This was one of the best experiences of my life!! Tammy was great, responsive, and full of local information, sites and suggestions. The cabin was EXTREMELY clean and comfortable. I would HIGHLY recommend staying and will certainly be back again myself!!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind compliments. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and the local attractions. Would love to have you back again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Delightful cabin, great location.

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful cabin! Set alongside a small group of similar cabins, but still private, with completely open views of the river and beautiful landscape beyond. Inside - spacious, well equipped, super clean and lovely furnishings. Step onto the porch with your morning coffee to watch the kingfisher diving for fish in the river or be greeted by elk as they gently make their way up from the river and onto the property to graze and snooze. Delightful!

The location is excellent. Just a few miles from the North entrance of Yellowstone Park and close to Gardiner for grocery shopping, restaurants, bars and to book adventure excursions (trail riding, white water rafting - The raft goes past the cabin! - , zip-line etc. all easily available). It's a great base for a family vacation with nature all around. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Grizzly Den Cabin Gardiner MT

  • 5 of 5

This place was everything as described and more. Very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Great place to spend a vacation.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Okay but issues

  • 3 of 5

The cabin is clean and fairly well equiped. While it is on the river it's about 150 yards away. The lighting is horrible in all but the kitchen. The alarm clock was broken. The light near the beds only worked sometimes . I suggest asking for the "rules" before booking. They suggest you take the trash out daily to a dumpster 3.5 miles down a gravel road away from town. The TV is a joke. It's a 13" old model with a very old combo vcr/dvd attached.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Chuck, Thanks for the feedback regarding the clock and the light by the beds. This is the first we are aware. My Dad is staying at the cabin this week and will address any lighting issue with the lights by the beds - that is concerning. If you noticed the living room has 3 light sources and one that is a 3-way bulb so I'm not sure how much brighter it can get. :) Also, the cabin is certainly NOT 150-yards from the banks of the river...maybe 50 feet. There are step just outside our cabin that lead directly to the edge water. You will be hard pressed to find cabins with closer proximity to the river in Gardiner unless you are in town and on the cliff with no access to the river. Yes, we do have an older tv and vcr/dvd player for guests to use at their leisure. Until the last 2 weeks, it has never been an issue for any guest. While we have considered upgrading the tv, a majority of our guests have indicated they do not have time to watch the tv as they are busy enjoying the Park and/or the view from the patio. Regarding the "rules" and trash procedure, these cabins are in grizzly/bear country!! In fact, in September, we DO have grizzlies on the property - you just may not see them. :) It is just the benefit of living and recreating in bear country!!! Not one residence in the area has garbage pick up...all trash must be taken to the nearby dumpster 3.5 miles down the road. For most guests, it is every 3 days or so that they must take to the community bin. Not really a big deal for most guests. At the end of the day, I am opening my home for others to enjoy this wonderful place on the banks of the Yellowstone River and the edge of the word's first National Park. While I do try to accommodate all guests, I realize it is impossible to please absolutely everybody.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Misrepresented outdated sleeps 4 not 8, non functioning amenities

  • 1 of 5

Landlord failed to fix several deficiencies brought to her attention during our stay. We were made to feel like the deficiencies were our problem, that our actions had somehow caused them. The landlord was rude on the phone. The property is listed as sleeps 8 with queen beds. Beds were double size, kitchen table and living room only accommodated 4 people. Amenities such as cookware, towels, TV and kitchen appliances were very outdated. In fact, one burner on the stove did not properly heat. The back screen door was broken. and two light bulbs burned out. The landlord made no effort to fix any of these issues and made us feel responsible. She withheld $70 of our deposit for a hand towel and two wash clothes she claimed had makeup on them. She did not provide a receipt for the replacement items.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Karen - It is unfortunate your claims are not truthful. The photos and description on the VRBO site is accurate. We have had many groups of 6-8 and received wonderful reviews (60+ in fact). The damage you caused the cabin is very well documented. You contacted me AFTER you had been checked into the cabin for 3.5 days of your 5 night stay about a night light on the dresser that had a burned out bulb (keep in mind this is not the main source of light - there are 3 other main sources of light in this is a night light) and again on your very last night that a living room light bulb had burned out (which is out of our control). You damaged not only wash cloths and towels permanently but also a dresser by placing your luggage on top and leaving black marks (while we ask you do not put luggage on top of the dressers to avoid causing damage), and blinds to the cabin. The tv is shown in the photos and we do offer a vcr/dvd player for guests to use at their leisure. All of which is found in the photos as well. As to the stove burner not working, that is the first we had been made aware and are addressing the issue, if there is one. Again, it is out of our control and you must remember you are also cooking at altitude (5,000+ feet), very different than Omaha. Your comments toward items being outdated is interesting, as we have NEVER received that feedback. In fact the cabin was entirely remodeled in 2014 along with new living room furniture, all bedding and decor. Yes, we do withhold for damage to the property, as per the contract and we refunded $230, only withholding $70. You filed a complaint with VRBO and they sided with US, the homeowner based on the 19-page documentation we submitted as evidence from our communication with you, photos, the cleaning report and witness affidavits. We could have withheld much more of the deposit and did not. VRBO's repsponse is below to your claim: "Hi Tammy, Thank you for your prompt response. We have made thorough notes of your comments and explanation of this unfortunate situation and now consider this case closed. All feedback is forwarded to owners, and we understand there are going to be miscommunications and unintentional circumstances that arise. At this time your account is still in good standing." I believe the 54+ positive reviews we have speaks volumes as do the other positive feedback we have from our other cabin, including a 3rd that I manage at this same property.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
84 Miles
Bozeman, MT
Nearest Barpub
4.5 Miles
Several in town of Gardiner
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Highway 89
Nearest Restaurant
4.5 Miles
Several in town of Gardiner
Nearest Ski
4.5 Miles
Yellowstone National Park - Cross Country Trails
Car: recommended

Experience the wonder of it all...just 4 miles from the North entrance to Yellowstone National Park, The Grizzly Den cabin is conveniently located and offers a place to relax, recreate and enjoy the moments that take your breath away. This cabin is fully furnished and available year-round.

This Yellowstone Riverfront Cabin has a full-kitchen, living room and dining table as well as 2 large bedrooms, each with a private full-bath and sleeps 8.

Enjoy morning coffee on the covered patio while watching the sun rise over the mountains and listening to the river rush by. Evenings can be spent grilling and relaxing on the patio or at the bonfire pit.

Being on the Yellowstone River is a unique and special opportunity to enjoy the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem in all its glory.

Whether you are seeking adventure or relaxation, The Grizzly Den Cabin on the Yellowstone Riverfront is the place to come. Fish from the shore outside the cabin, go white-water rafting, horseback-riding, hiking, sight-seeing, wildlife viewing in Yellowstone National Park. Sometimes the wildlife meanders through the property too.

Some local attractions include a visit to Montana Grizzly Encounter where you may meet and photograph 'Brutus-the-Bear' (appeared in movies, commercials and on TV). It is truly a must see for everyone. Montana Grizzly Encounter is located at exit 319 between Livingtston & Bozeman.

To avoid the service fees charged on this platform , please contact the Owner directly. Due to system changes we can no longer view your phone number or provide ours. You can visit our site directly at thegrizzlydencabin.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Refundable damage deposit $300
WIFI access(waived 7-nt) $10
Tax Rate 7.0%

Holidays/Holiday weekends are subject to higher rates. Please email with questions.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties