Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Inside Rumbling Bald Resort

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10))

Beautiful Rumbling Bald Resort lakeside 2 story house. Great for families; lots of activities for kids both in & outside house. Very comfortable & spacious home. Upstairs wrap around deck with outside table & chairs. Dock at property with kayak, canoe, pedal boat and battery operated trolling boat available. Clear lake that is nice for swimming. Open floor plan with master bedroom with new queen bed and jacuzzi tub and walk in shower. Second bedroom has a new queen bed and a twin bed.

Kitchen is fully stocked with all your cooking utensils. Downstairs has a kids bunk room with two bunks that are a full on the bottom and a twin on top. There is a full bathroom, laundry room, game room, tv lounge area and complete bar. Once you exit the sliding doors you are only 8 steps from the water.

Keywords: Lakefront Home

More Details

Scott and Molly Pressler
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 22, 2018


Lake Lure House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Bunk Beds (2)
  • CD Player
  • Foosball
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • jetted tub
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
15% Complete
Inside Rumbling Bald Resort
average rating of 4.05 based on 20 reviews

we enjoyed

  • 5 of 5

we got good relax,

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We loved its location, and roomie home

  • 4 of 5

We loved this home and location, house is very nice and roomie. It was extra nice to be able to use battery boat to explore lake and fish. Enjoyed kayak too. This location in addition allows amenities with the rumbling bald resort added bonus for families with kids. My 5 yr old loved indoor pool, beach and mini golf in addition to boat rides at the house.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fun family vacation on a beautiful lakefront property

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay over the 4th of July holiday, the house was perfect for our group of Grandparents, parents, and young kids/toddlers. There was plenty of room and it was very comfortable. It was not super up to date or fancy, but everything was functional and it served our purposes well. There was a ton of space for hanging out or letting the kids play and the fire pit outside was great for roasting marshmallows! We would definitely recommend it to others staying here as the owners were great to work with, and the golfing, pool, and other resort amenities were an added bonus. The dock was big and it was a perfect lake for swimming, canoeing, and paddleboating. It was a fun vacation and I'd definitely recommend this as a great place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Lakeside Lookout is Lakeside Neglect

  • 1 of 5

Our family was very excited to spend a week relaxing lakeside. Instead, we found ourselves looking for excuses to leave the property daily. While inside truly shows its age and has some issues, it is clean. The outside is completely uninviting. Upon arrival, we found the weeds and overgrowth an unwelcome greeting. The 40 steps to the front door was unexpected. The decking and furniture on the main floor is heavy with cobwebs and dirty. The wooden walkway and stairs to the dock has many soft and rotten boards. My husband fell through near the dock. One handrail is broken. The only accessible seating is on the dock and not very comfortable once you’ve finished your coffee. This was very unfortunate because the Bald Mountain Lake is very calm and serene. There are 2 wooden benches but one sits in the weeds and the other you have to access off a walkway that is unstable. The landscape is unkept and is covered in weeds, fallen trees, large tree limbs and old boards laying around. The side of the house is where items are stored that probably need to be taken to the dump. Our family of 4 was hoping to take advantage of the 6 boats and found that the only the kayak and the pedalboat functional. The canoe was busted at the end and repaired with duck tape. The aluminum boats leaked and the fishing boat was not worth the attempt. Inside we found the lighting poor. The kitchen had 6 light switches but none turned on the overhead light. Perhaps the bulb was burned out like several lights in the basement. There must be structural issues because the master bedroom floor creaks as if the floor is breaking. The pool table is a toy and should be advertised as such. The dishwasher operates, but both drawers are broken and need to be manually pulled in and out. The dishwasher door needs to be kept locked to keep it closed. The master bed is probably 20 years old and sags badly. Then there are the small things – only 3 partial rolls of toilet paper. We had to buy TP, paper towels, Kleenex, dishwasher soap, and dish liquid. While having access to the resort amenities was nice, it became our daily refuge.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0

Run down and the owner won't refund your security deposit

  • 2 of 5

Essentially, the house is in the resort. You might think the resort is excellent. The house, however, is a bit run down and especially the outside, has not been maintained adequately. It's okay, but for the price he is charging, it should all be excellent. The owner refused to refund my security deposit. Not with any complaints at all from him, but he just won't answer my phone calls or respond to my emails requesting the money back. You could do better elsewhere.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Quite simply - there are two sides to every story. We could not possibly rent our house for 9 years if we didn't refund deposits ......... Treat others property as if it was your own and things work out as expected
Did you find this review helpful?
9 1

Great lake house!

  • 4 of 5

The pictures really don't show how nice the lake is and how large the dock is - exactly what our family was looking for! I also think the house seemed bigger than the pictures look (the master bathroom is huge for instance). This would be the perfect house to share with another family for an easy vacation. The master and another queen bedroom (with an extra twin) are upstairs, each with their own bathrooms. The downstairs bunk room would sleep 7 little kids (if some doubled up on the full bunks) or 5 big kids/teens. The downstairs toilet did seem to be on the brink of a plumbing issue, but I think that's somehow how basement baths are. There is a nice sized washer/dryer downstairs which we were able to use and really appreciated.

I was a little nervous about the quality of Bald Mountain Lake since I had never heard of it, but the water was clear, deep and perfect for swimming. Our 3 kids spent all day jumping in and out of the water. Other docks nearby had families swimming too, but it was really quiet and private. We enjoyed the canoe and paddle boats as well as the floats available for use in the boat house. The owners have plenty of games there to keep you busy - foosball, darts, pool table, board games, etc. We didn't stay long enough to enjoy everything there was to offer - we didn't even watch TV, listen to all the music provided or really spend any time at the bar or pool table. We just hung out on the dock the whole time we were there and there is plenty of shade/seating down there as well. We didn't eat any meals in the house, but the kitchen seemed stocked (2 coffee makers even!) and the fridge/freezer (with ice maker) was large and perfectly cold. I can't say anything about the cable and internet because we were outside the whole time.

As for the resort, we enjoyed putt-putt ($5/pp) and we ate at the nearby pub/restaurant which had families and golfers alike. We did go to the beach and playground briefly, but we soon realized that the dock at the lake house was even nicer, so we went back there. There is a golf course onsite, so pack your clubs (I forgot to tell my husband this…).

The grocery store and gas station are about 15 minutes away, so stock up and fill up before arrival. There is a nice hiking trail just up the road from the house you can get to without getting in the car. Our family spent one afternoon in Saluda tubing at the Green River Cove Tubing company which was a highlight of the weekend.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1


Car: recommended

Lake Bass fishing, trout stream fishing and fly fishing. Close to the Biltmore, Asheville, Chimney Rock and Saluda. Many outdoor activities within surrounding area. New International Tryon Equestrian facility. Also, The Gorge is a great activity for the highest vertical Zip Line in the U.S.!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

not tending boat care $75
Property Damage Protection $99
Pet Fee $75
cleaning $125

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties