Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Maine Lakefront 4 Cabin Private 4 Acre Compound Boats Dock

Sleeps28
Bedrooms 11
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Cabin, 9 Bedrooms + Lofts, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 25-28)

Lakefront Family Compound in Southwestern Maine is Perfect for Family Reunions!

This truly amazing place has four cabins located on four gorgeous waterfront acres in southwestern Maine. Each cabin has all the amenities including a porch/deck with a gas grill, kitchen, 2-3 bedrooms, full bathroom, and family room.

Great views of the lake through the trees!

Three of the cabins have fireplaces. The big main lodge (Konewago) has a two-story stone fireplace in a giant room, beautiful hardwood floors, large table, and sleeping lofts with six twin beds AND a separate master suite.

What's Included?

In total, there are: beds for 25 people in 9 bedrooms and two lofts (PLUS room for 3 extra guests)

4 kitchens

4 living rooms (Each with TV/VCR/DVD player, games, books, etc.)

3 fireplaces

4 gas grills

5 bathrooms

3 porches

2 decks

2 patios

an outdoor fire hearth (Great for barbecues or toasting marshmallows.)

What Else?

The Camp Konewago cabin compound comes with:

a private dock on Keoka Lake

two canoes

a Sunfish sailboat

Stand Up Paddle Board (SUP)

inner tubes

paddles

fishing poles

life vests

plenty of toys.

You can bring your own power boats to tie up at our dock or rent from local marinas. Our private dock and 450 feet of private lakefront land are directly across Waterford Road from the cabins. In addition, less than a mile down a country lane is a sandy town beach and public landing.

Around the cabins, we have:

outdoor volleyball/croquet space

horseshoe pit

outdoor hearth

several grills

plenty of space to park.

Extras like a pack-n-play, coolers, high chairs, blenders, a karaoke machine, lobster pots, croquet and bocce sets, a craft box for rainy days, and all sorts of kids' games and 400 book paperback library are provided.

We even provide propane for the gas grills and wood for the fireplaces and outdoor fire pit.

What's Nearby?

Located in the lovely town of Waterford, Camp Konewago is in the Maine Lakes Region at the base of Mount Tire'm and only a few minutes drive from historic Bridgton and beautiful Harrison, with its renowned Deertrees Theatre. Bridgton also has a twin drive-in!

The area offers blueberry-picking, strawberry-picking, and apple orchards, depending on the season. Short family hikes with great views are literally minutes away up the mountain. (It's about a half hour walk to the top of Mount Tire'm.) Longer hikes are close by and available for just about every skill level, along with great bike riding.

Keoka Lake has some great fishing. Real anglers will want to bring their gear. For families, about 8 kids rods are provided.

Five Keezers Gorge is about 10 miles north of Konewago. The gorge is a hidden swimming hole including a 20 foot waterfall. It is an absolute thrill to swim here, and after you can stop at Melby's (an adventure in and of itself) and get an ice cream on the way back.

Camp Konewago is only about 60 minutes away from tax-free North Conway, NH (famous for its outlet shopping) and Sebago Lake State Park.

Summer rentals of family compounds like this are VERY difficult to find. They are also often very expensive. Rental agents in the area say it's not uncommon to try to piece together a family reunion rental from several properties. That ends up costing much more and the cabins are never together like this. Your rental includes the entire 4 cabin compound.

Keywords: Compound

More Details

Owner
Chris Lingamfelter
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
April 17, 2017

About Chris Lingamfelter

I am the dad in the middle. This is a group of some of our best friends at Konewago. It rained one afternoon, so we did a craft and the girls are showing off the bandanas they made. This is about 2/3rds the capacity of Konewago. As we rent Konewago in July and August, I typically go up in June and September with my wife, 3 girls and various friends. On this trip we went with the Shulmans and the Jekas. We encourage Konewago renters to take the Konewago sign and snap their own group photo and send it to us.

Chris Lingamfelter purchased this cabin in 2003

Why Chris Lingamfelter chose Mountains & Lakes

Camp Konewago was started in 1919 by Mrs. Carson as a summer camp for girls.

In August, 2003 my wife and I purchased the camp from the Carson family.

Prior to the start of the 2004 season, we spent more than $30,000 on renovations and improvements to the camp. Each year we improve the camp by taking in suggestions from renters. If you stay at Konewago, please fill in our feedback form or shoot us an email! Thanks. Based on feedback, we added a SUP board (awesome) and new enclosed trash shed (boring) for 2015.

What makes this cabin unique

Konewago is a large compound always rented as a single unit. In total you can comfortably accommodate more than 25 guests. But it is not required that you fill the place up! It is mostly used for family reunions or celebrations but we have also had corporate retreats there as well. Everyone always has such a good time in the woods, by the lake with so much to do. I have personally strengthened many relationships with people important to me up at Konewago.

Amenities

Waterford Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 28
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 11 Bedrooms, Sleeps 28
  • Konewago Cabin Master - 1 king , 1 twin/ single
    Konewago South Loft - 3 twin/ single
    Konewago North Loft - 3 twin/ single
    Kojoko Master - 1 king
    Kojoko Bedroom 2 - 1 bunk bed , You must walk thru Kojoko Master bedroom to enter bunkroom
    Kojoko Bedoom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Kasita Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Kasita Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Kokaski Master - 2 twin/ single
    Kokaski Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Kokaski Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1 room), Queen size Beds (1 room), Twin or Single Beds (9 rooms) 17 twins beds and 1 bunk bed spread across all 4 cabins. Email for details of bedding type by room and cabin. Sleep Sofa (1) or Futons (1).
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Private Dock, 2 canoes, 1 sunfish, 4 gas grills, 3 porches, 2 decks, 2 patios, 1 horseshoe pit, volleyball, outdoor fire hearth, inner tubes, kids fishing gear, private washer and dryer, 4 full kitchens each has a microwave, coffeemaker, blender, lobster pots etc.,

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

Maine Lakefront 4 Cabin Private 4 Acre Compound Boats Dock
average rating of 3.7272727 based on 11 reviews
5

Communicartion was excellent

  • 5 of 5

We had booked a family vacation but had to cancel due to a death in the family. Although we weren't able to stay at the property, we wanted to let others know that the communication with the owners was excellent and they were compassionate and gave us a full refund on short notice. This is not a corporate run facility and the owners are very open to communication. Hope to book another trip to their property soon.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Kingston, MA
5

Family Vacation- 25 people

  • 5 of 5

We rented the camp the week of 8/27-9/3. Admittedly, after reading some of the reviews below, I was a little concerned with what we might find when arriving. Knowing that reviews are one sided, I called the owners a week prior to our arrival to walk through the concerns highlighted in previous reviews. Not only where the owners willing to ensure all my concerns were addressed, they went above and beyond- confirming all week the updates that had been made and the ongoing support we had, if needed.

The week was amazing! The camps are rustic, but we knew that going in. We had 13 children with us, and we wanted a place where we could sit back and relax, not worried the children were damaging anything. It was good old fashion fun- campfires, lake canoeing, BBQ's- family time.

I would recommend this to friends and we have already discussed returning next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Had a Great Time

  • 5 of 5

we have a VERY large group ( 3 Generations) and the camp provided us with the room and the privacy that we needed to accommodate all. Rustic YES but that's part of the charm. something for everyone and the space o accommodate us. Large cabin was used for small children and Cabin 4 was the "Party House" great they were separate. Cabin 2 was used as kinda a library for the quieter folks in the group. Used the sailboat ( had some repaired but part of the charm was working to get it going ( only 1 of us was a seasoned sailor) in the end we all tried and had a blast. fishing was great caught fish all over lake but most fish were caught right off the dock that came with cabin. Granddaughter loved fishing with Papa. the grounds are woodsy and we found space to set up games we brought. Hiking Awesome, waterfall was visited many times as was hike to nearby summit ( great pictures) Highly recommend Waterford World Fair. Small but inexpensive very fun. pig scramble was a blast and Granddaughter of one of guest won a Bike!! food was good and so was music. having multible kitchens was great all cabins took a turn and we were able to all in in " The Big House" ( no wait for a bathroom either) start of week was cool so we were able to use awesome fireplace then warm and good great use of lake. Everyone has their very own experience and ours ( all 26 of us) was GREAT

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Laura, We are very happy your large family got to enjoy all the Camp Konewago has to offer. We hope to welcome you back next year. Chris
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Waterford, ME
1

Horrible accommodations

  • 1 of 5

Currently staying here for a family reunion vacation. The cabins are straight-up GROSS. Mice EVERYWHERE. We even saw one carrying a baby in its mouth. As I'm writing this my family is freaking out trying to kill a mouse that's UNDER OUR BED. Floors are uneven, frogs in the laundry room, cabins are muggy and damp inside. The cabins are so dark we can barely see. When it rains the ceilings leak and make huge puddles on the floor. I wouldn't in a million years have stayed here knowing what I do now and don't recommend anyone else even think about renting this place. They need to exterminate and do a complete overhaul on the cabins before letting anyone else stay here.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Caylee, I'm sorry our property did not live up to your expectations. It would have been helpful if you had contacted us during your stay, as your contract says you must. That would have allowed us to correct issues immediately. For other renters here is what we have done: We hired Green Pest Defense to evaluate and remedy the mice. We paid for their highest level of service. Renters later in the season have not found any mice at all. The roof leak near the chimney in cabin 4 was completely repaired and the ceiling fixed.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Blackstone, MA
1

It could be wonderful, but its not.

  • 1 of 5

I try and be fair when writing reviews. In my honest opinion, these cabins should not be rented out. I feel they are in need of repair and a deep cleaning. There are loose railings in the loft in Konewago. There are rotted decking boards on the front porch of one of the cabins and the railings going up stairs to said porch are very loose. A couple cabins leaked enough to cause puddles on the floors when it rained. The cabins are not insulated so it was either too warm or too cold inside. There are fans to use, but when its that warm fans don't help much. The walk to the lake is down a short path through woods, covered in rocks and tree roots, not good for small children. Once down the path you must cross Rt 35, this is a very busy road, with log hauling trucks driving by all day long.

We saw mice inside the cabins on more than one occasion, we kept all of our dry food in totes hoping that would discourage the mice from visiting. The floors seemed sloping and sagging in all cabins, one even felt like being on a boat, that uneasy, off balance feeling. The water pressure in the shower in Konewago was very low. I saw many damaged screens in doors and windows. The king bed in Konewago was comfortable.

The fire pit area was nice, but again the paths leading to it are rocky and have tree roots, no stairs or clean path.

Also, most of the chairs around fire pit are damaged and falling apart, I don't know why they are even there, someone could get hurt.

There are several buildings on the property which are falling down, so if you have young kids keep a close eye on them, you don't want them to explore these buildings.

The property is great for getting many people together, but if no one feels comfortable because of the conditions of the cabins, it takes away from the vacation.

Keoka lake is beautiful, the fishing was great, and we saw loons and eagles. We would return to the area, but not to this property. If improvements were made I would consider coming back, but there is a lot of work to do.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: LLL, Im sorry our property did not live up to your expectations. The rocky windy paths around Konewago are part of the charm. Konewago was built in the 1920's and while we upgrade many of the systems, we try to keep the timeless, old Maine feel that many other rents appreciate. In the off season of 2016, the old tool shed you mention was demolished. We also replaced the trash shed with a new one. Also in the off season, we have completely replaced the oldest bathroom in Kasita with a new one, new walls, new fixtures, everything. Also for the 2017 season, we are building a small boat storage rack at the lakefront and replacing the seating at the fire pit. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you at Konewago again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
1

Only for the very hale and hearty

  • 1 of 5

NO WAY as described. NOT lakefront. Busy highway between you and lake. False advertising!!!!! All cabins are very well worn. Had to muscle watercraft down steep hill, through the woods, across busy highway. Watercraft in poor condition. One kayak sank - hole on stern. One canoe had no seats. No paddle board (as advertised). Mold and mildew in cabins. Screens torn on screen doors. Windows hard or impossible to open/close. Dirt. Dusty. Cobwebs. One bench seat had huge mouse nest in it. Trash on the grounds. Fans full of cobwebs and dust. Available (per the listing) toys, i.e. Frisbees, balls scattered in woods or incomplete. No sign of volleyball net/ball. Primary power lines from the pole to one cabin so low I could grab them flat-footed. I'm 5'10". Birch railing around balcony in main cabin coming apart. Rusty nails sticking out. 10' drop to the floor!!!! Flashlights sans batteries. Propane tanks empty. Fishing equipment not complete. Leaking roof (they did put a pot under it). Mice, ants, roaches. Nasty shower in two cabins. Stained mattress pad. Some beds horrible. Nasty oven. Anyone interested, I've got pictures to back every FACT!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Old John, I'm sorry our property did not live up to your expectations. We have addressed your points so that the remaining renters in 2016 have a better experience. We added another staff member to the cleaning crew with the primary purpose of cleaning the outside of the cabins and straightening out the water toys and boats between rentals. We called Central Maine Power about the power main that you mentioned and the came out that afternoon and fixed it by raising it 4 feet higher. In the second week of August we added another canoe to the fleet. For the 2017 season, we are adding a boat rack at the waterfront and adding several unsinkable SUP boards and kayaks.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 3

Map

Nearest Airport
49 Miles
Portland International Airport (PWM)
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Keoka Lake Waterford Town Baech
Car: necessary

Hidden freshwater swimming hole with 18 foot waterfall 10 minute drive from compound. Twin Drive In movie theater in Bridgeton and live performance Deertrees Theater in Harrison. All less than 20 minutes away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Waterford Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 17
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $300
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 9.0%

In June, July and August, rentals are Saturday to Saturday and check in is at 3pm and checkout is at 10am. Upto two well trained dogs are permitted at a fee of $100 per dog per week.No refund for cancellations with less than 90 days till rental start.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties