Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

4 BR Pool Home Directly Off Vaca Cut

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

4 bedroom, 2 bath pool home off the open waters of the Gulf. 110' dock with 6' draft. Great fishing and lobstering due to open, free flowing water.

Screened porch with 2 tables, fan and light. Florida room with second dining room table and pull out couch. Remodeled kitchen with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances. Second refrigerator in laundry room for bait and fresh catch.

One queen bed in 2 bedrooms, one full bed in a bedroom and 2 twins in the fourth bedroom. House is one story and has a carport. Parking for 3 cars and one trailer. Rates quoted are for a maximum 8 guests/occupants. Any additional guests/visitors must be disclosed and will be considered. Lessee must be 25 years old.

Boats available for rent:

20' Dusky Center Console

175 Optimax Motor

19' Mako Center Console

130 Honda 4 Stroke Motor

26' Bluewater Center Console

250 E-Tec Motor

Keywords: House

More Details

Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 30, 2017

About The Owner

I am a native Floridian and have come to Marathon for 20 years to dive. I have owned vacation rentals since 2001 to have a place to boat and dive.

The Owner purchased this house in 2003

Why The Owner chose Marathon Area

I have vacationed in Marathon for 30 years staying in hotels. I decided to buy my first vacation home in 2001. Having a kitchen and barbeque grill to prepare fresh catch is so valuable. Also, having private dockage is a must. The ability to leave gear on the boat is such a plus and so nice not paying a daily dockage fee at a hotel.

What makes this house unique

The home is on open water, so fishing is good. Snapper are plentiful and a grouper head on the line at dusk can catch a shark. Snorkeling for lobster at slack tide in the nearby seawalls can produce dinner.

Boats available for rent. Inquire with owner.


Marathon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Waterfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Snorkeling in the area seawalls at slack tide for lobsters. 8' depth at end of dock. Good fishing off dock. Boats available for rent: 26' Bluewater Center Console/250 Etec 20' Dusky Center Console/175 Optimax 19' Mako Center Con/130 Honda 4 Stroke


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
4 BR Pool Home Directly Off Vaca Cut
average rating of 4.25 based on 8 reviews

Awesome stay in the Keys!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed here for 5 nights and absolutely loved it! It's centrally located and the view on the water is beautiful! There was plenty of room for everyone, and it's pretty rare to find a 4 bedroom house in the keys. The kitchen, although somewhat small, was well equipped, and it was awesome having the second refrigerator in the laundry room to store extra food and tons of fresh fish! After a long day of fishing, it was so nice to have the pool to relax in and grill some fish on the back deck. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you Cynthia!


  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Below average place to rent in the keys

  • 2 of 5

We rent a different place in the keys every year to try new places . This was by far the worst yet. Day 1 and each day after we saw little cockroaches in the kitchen so we washed each dish before use . If you look at the photos closely you will see rubble right outside the back deck ( no safety rail) which is very unsafe. The dock is quite long and is great other than the vacca cut is right there and the no wake zone does not start until after the dock so YOUR BOAT WILL GET BEAT UP during the busy times of the day , also there were nails sticking up and 1 of our guests cut her foot . The inside of the home was ok other than the roaches, the outside had construction debris and the landscape was unacceptable. The owner took $75 off the deposit because we left a few dishes in the sink even after she was informed of all the issues we had. We will not be staying here again, there are MUCH better places to choose from .

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This renter did not notify me of any problems until I charged an extra fee for the unacceptable mess left in the kitchen. My lease is very clear that the kitchen must be left clean. The sink was full of dirty dishes, frozen drinks were left in the blenders and the lower cabinets were in disarray. My cleaning girl brought in a second girl to clean the kitchen. She has limited time between departures and arrivals so a clean kitchen is required on check out. It is possible for Guests to bring in bugs in their fishing tackle and dive gear. If this renter had notified me there was a bug issue during his stay, I would have addressed it that day. Two palm trees in the back yard were hit by lightning 3 weeks prior to the renter's arrival. The trees died in 2 weeks. As soon as the house was vacant I had them cut down. I informed this renter that I cannot control Mother Nature! The renter sent me a picture of the construction debris. It was 3 concrete blocks left on the side of the house by the pool repairman after the lightning strike. They were left in an area that is not a pass through. No one would have to walk around them. I told him I was not aware the blocks were left there and had them removed. The dock was completely inspected and any work needed was completed the month prior to this renter's arrival. He would not tell me where on the dock the guest cut her toe. I had the dock reinspected and there are no issues with any nails or boards. The property description states the home is on Vaca Cut. The online pictures of the home shows open water. This is the first complaint I have ever received concerning problems with boats at the dock. Guests should always use fenders at any dock and properly tie up their boats. Cleats are provided on each side of the dock. I did not receive any complaints from this renter until I charged the extra cleaning fee. I am sorry he did not refer to his lease prior to check out. I have many happy, returning guests every year.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Nashvill, TN

Great views, great weather, great house

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this property in December to get out of the Tennessee cold. The weather was above 80 degrees every day of our stay. Absolutely crazy! Loved that we were able to walk to Captain Hooks to rent a boat and buy bait. We spent every night fishing off of the dock. The dock lights are great. Owner provided us with restaurant recommendations that came in handy. Made us feel like locals!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

We come back every year!

  • 5 of 5

We come to stay at this home every winter. We choose it because it has two dining areas (one with great water views!) and we can keep our boats right out back. This is a great rental-well equipped with plenty of kitchenware, a clean pool, and perfect bay and ocean access. There is a gas station (Captain Hooks) 10 seconds away. Other rentals we have stayed at have forced us to motor miles just to get to a fuel station. You can also walk to a few restaurants. This is our fourth year at the house, and we will be back again.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Nice View

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at this bayfront home on Vaca Cut from 2/10/13-2/23/13 with our 2 teenage daughters. While the view and location are both nice, this home leaves alot to be desired. It is falling into disrepair and while we stayed there the air conditioning unit needed to be replaced so we spent 2 days out of our vacation dealing with repair men in and out of the unit. The floors are filthy, so make sure you keep your slippers on after you shower. It gives one the feeling of a fish camp rather than a vacation home. The "splash pool" leaks and while we did not use it, I felt obligated to monitor the water level and fill it on a daily basis. The lock to the back sliding glass door was also broken, which my husband ended up fixing as this made me very nervous. The lounge chairs are old and ratty and sorely in need of replacing, but if you are looking for a place with a boat dock and easy access to either the bay or ocean side this is it. The current in front of the dock is also very strong at times and this is not the ideal spot to swim or snorkle unless you are very experienced.

This home sure could use some love! Would not stay here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This home is maintained, with a full staff on call. The air compressor gave out during their stay and was promptly replaced, no questions asked, and no cost spared. It is disappointing when an appliance breaks, but it was addressed the day they notified us. The floors are swept, wet mopped, and vacuumed after every renter. We cannot control what the renter's track in during their stay. Maybe the renter did not realize that wind and sun may cause water to evaporate from a pool? We have the pool maintained on a weekly basis. The handle to the sliding glass door became loose. When we offered to have our staff replace it (within two hours), they refused and said they would fix it themselves.They tightened the screws on the handle. The lounge chairs are in good shape, and there are plenty of them. Finally, the home is off a cut. The renters said the current was strong out at the dock. The dock is over 110' long. Yes, oceans have currents, especially at bridges or cuts. That is the reason other renters have caught lobsters, tarpon, snapper, grouper, snook, and a host of others right from our dock.
Did you find this review helpful?
16 8
Miami, Fl, USA

Great fishing right from the dock

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this home after our previous booking cancelled on us. What great luck! We had no idea the fishing from the dock would be so amazing. We caught 16 different species of fish! SIXTEEN! We caught sharks, grouper, snapper, tarpon, jacks, parrotfish, and so much more.

The house has plenty of room for dining, with two dining tables and a kitchen with new appliances.

Highly recommended for large groups, die hard fisherman, or those looking for a great view.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 1


Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Sombrero Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
U S 1
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Fish Tales
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Sombrero Beach

Swim with the Dolphins at the Dolphin Research Center in Grassy Key or Theater of the Sea in Islamorada. Visit the Turtle Hospital that cares for injured sea turtles in Marathon. Take the trolly to Pigeon Key off the 7 Mile Bridge. Stroll through Crane Point Hammock.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Deposit $500

Rate is based on 8 occupants/guests. If additional guests are requested, please discuss number of people and rate with owner.

Leasee must be 25 years old.

$600 deposit to hold your dates. Balance due 120 days prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties