Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Baby Bear Cottage, Sleeps 8, Walk to the Lake

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Space 1,205 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 8)

**June 2018 Special for New Bookings**

We pay your sales tax!!

The Baby Bear Cottage is a quaint little house. It is approximately 1200 square feet and is one level. It's a 5-minute walk to the lake or to nearby restaurants.

The house has a living room with large TV, DVD player, well-equipped kitchen with a breakfast nook, and a laundry room. There is a bathroom (toilet, shower / tub) in the hallway between bedroom 1 and 2.

Baby Bear Cottage is located on Bear Lake Boulevard in the heart of Garden City. The property has direct access to the lake via 150 South (this is the beach access road that goes directly to the public beach).

The entire house is available for renter use.

Our greeter is available to answer questions during check-in and lives close by. You can also contact me if you have any questions.

There is a nice city park about 2 blocks south of the cabin. It has a kids playground, a large covered pavilion and a large grassy field. To the east of the city park is a boardwalk that goes through some wetlands to the lake.

There are two restaurants next door: Bear Trapper Steak house and Bear Lake Pizza. The Bear Trapper steak house caters.

For larger groups, see our other listings. The Mama Bear Family Cabin sleeps up to 16. The Papa Bear Family Reunion Lodge can handle groups up to 50. Or, for *really* large groups, you can rent all three cabins as they are all adjacent to each other on 1.25 acres of land.

More Details

Owner
Michelle
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2018

What makes this house unique

We love to walk down to Bear Lake. It's a short 5-10 minute walk. No big roads to cross, just walk across the property and then down 150 south.

Amenities

Garden City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1205 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Family Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • There are 4 bedroom(s)!
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • playground
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

3.5/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

36% Complete
18% Complete
18% Complete
18% Complete
9% Complete
Baby Bear Cottage, Sleeps 8, Walk to the Lake
average rating of 3.5454545 based on 11 reviews
5

Charming Old House

  • 5 of 5

Rent this every year - we feel at home there. Place just needs a little loving care, good overall cleaning. Yard could use some work but the location is great!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Salt Lake City, UT 84109
1

House needs better maintenance and manager!

  • 1 of 5

Dated and run down place. Could definitely use some updating. We rented it through VRBO for the weekend. Sierra, the orientation lady didn’t show up for the appointment. When I called her after 15 mins, she was very casual about it. She said something came up. She should have texted about it. I have seen other similar reviews.

Overall, the house needs dusting and cleaning. The freezer was disgusting and we ended up not using it. Comforters and pillows were old, stained and lumpy. They tried updating the living room by putting some new couches but would have rather had better bed rooms.

Also, in the ad, it says walkable to beach...which is not entirely true. The closest beach on 150th street was muddy, so technically it was not a beach. we had to drive down to south side for beach access.

I won’t recommend this place for the price. You could better book a room or cabin in ideal beach or blue water resort for cheaper with private beach access.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Highland, UT
5

Great small vacation spot.

  • 5 of 5

Compared to the other cottages on this property, this building has not been remodeled inside. This makes it a very serviceable space, but not as luxurious as Mama Bear and Papa Bear.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Valley City
4

Quaint house in a perfect location

  • 4 of 5

The host Michelle is very helpful & responsive. The house was equipped with everything we needed for a wonderful stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Inexpensive

  • 3 of 5

If you take time to look on the website you can see that is an old building. We found it to be clean and by coming early on Wednesday we were able to prepare for the remainder of our family to arrive and stay at the Papa Bear. Had some problems with plumbing.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great Location, but...

  • 2 of 5

I brought a party of 8 people for a short vacation to this cabin. We were all very excited. The walk to the lake is about 5 minutes (DEFINITELY WEAR SHOES!) and the location of the cabin was very convenient.

Upon arrival, I was told that a person would meet with my party at 6pm to give us a tour and some information, they called it "orientation." We arrived and got settled in, (the cabin is very "homey." a simple and small place to stay, a little run down but we were comfortable) but we never met up with anyone because they canceled on us, saying that we would meet us the next morning. So we showed ourselves around, explored, and were able to enjoy ourselves, but we wished we got an actual tour. Especially because the next day, the person forgot that they had planned to meet us (after canceling the night before) and showed up to the meeting time 30 minutes late. It ended up being fine, but we wished that they had stuck to the plan and provided better customer service.

I would recommend this cottage to others, but I will warn everyone thinking about renting to be extremely aware of the condition that the house is in as soon as you arrive. Take pictures of everything that you think may be damaged before you got there, because I did not get my security deposit back after they accused me and my party of breaking both couches, a bed, and staining the carpets and couches. They also said that they found evidence of smoking in the property which was not ever performed. I am quite certain that no one in my party broke the couches or bed that they claimed we broke, and was very disappointed when I heard that I wouldn't be getting my deposit back. We had a wonderful time at Bear Lake, but my stay was spoiled when I heard what they had thought we had done. My advice is to be extremely aware and cautious of the condition of the cabin before settling in.

Everyone in Garden City is very friendly, it's a cute town with a lot of activities in walking distance, and the people are friendly. We loved going to the Paris Ice Cave and the lake is absolutely beautiful.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I wish you would have contacted me directly to resolve this. We are now attempting to resolve this publicly via this review. During the last 8 years, I have not had to keep the entire damage deposit until your group. Our manager took many pictures of the damage your group caused, along with the spilled garbage and alcohol stains, that were not there before you checked in.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • $199-$250/nt
  • US Dollars
  • Peak Midweek ........... $225 (per night -- 3-night minimum)
  • Peak Weekend ........... $225 (per night -- 3-night minimum)
  • Peak Holiday Midweek ... $250 (per night -- 3-night minimum)
  • Peak Holiday Weekend ... $250 (per night -- 3-night minimum)
  • Value Season ........... $199 (per night -- 2-night minimum)
  • Value Season Holiday ... $225 (per night -- 2-night minimum)
  • Peak season is Memorial day to Labor day.
  • Value Season is after Labor Day weekend until Memorial Day.

You might like these similar properties