Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charisma by the Sea - Elegant Beachfront Home

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Space 3,398 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 0 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedrooms, 5.5 Baths, Sleeps 12

Come take advantage of wide open beaches and true oceanfront style. Upgrade from a smaller rental to this Luxury Beach Front Beauty. Great large home for Winter family reunion. This home has the feel of real sophistication. The top floor is where the master bedroom and living suite are located complete with handicap accommodations as well as two private decks. You can watch the ocean from your bed, and when you step out onto the deck, you can relax and watch the sun set! It also has a large kitchen, elevator, outside shower, and children's sandbox. The first floor has a large hallway with 4 built in bunk beds that are perfect for the kids!

This is the perfect spot for your wedding or next event for up to 80 people ($1000 event fee applies). Beginning August 1st, 2018, all events will be limited to 49 guests.

Pets are allowed with a pet fee of $125 per pet. Please let us know if you will be traveling with a pet. Fireplace is not available. Hot tub is no longer an amenity.

For your convenience, there's a well-equipped golf cart available to lease parked at the property. It's available to rent by the day or week. You can rent the golf cart upon your arrival or you can also rent it prior to your arrival by calling or going directly to the website.

More Details

Property Manager
Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2008
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
January 21, 2018

Amenities

Folly Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 3398 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • 5.5
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • 5 Queen beds, 2 Twin beds, 2 Bunk beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Notes:
Event Home, Weddings, Reunions, Corporate Meetings Multi family Upon check-in we supply a starter kit to get you going. This includes a 1 roll of toilet paper per bathroom, 2 bars of soap per bathroom, 1 roll of paper towels, 2 dish towels, kitchen sponge and dishwasher tabs.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Charisma by the Sea - Elegant Beachfront Home
average rating of 4.631579 based on 19 reviews
Greensboro, NC
5

Christmas at the Beach

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Cons: The Sliding door located in the front foyer that has been repeatedly complained about still does not slide with even the slightest of ease. Could be due to the fact that it is a beach property. It turned cold and in hunting for the draft he felt, my son discovered that one of the great room window latches was broken thus the window was not sealed. The built in microwave broke but was taken care of immediately. The one fan light in the great room was burned out and not replaced during the week. The one refrigerator had a broken shelf support. Beauties: the view was fantastic! the beach was wide and clean. The house was absolutely spotless - even the corners. We had children and a dog with us and the property was very suitable for us. Very comfortable and inviting. We felt that the owner welcomed both the kids and dog. I enjoyed the artwork displayed. Excellent quality pots and pans abounded as did casserole dishes and dishes, silver, glasses, mugs. The only thing I had to take was my small food chopper. Washer and dryer worked well and were good sized. We did a lot of laundry as the 2 year old kept falling in the ocean. There are two full sized refrigerators plus two small ones (one is up in the master sitting room area). Puzzles, games and books were available for entertainment. The elevator was a godsend when hauling in suitcases and groceries. the older grandson had fun sending his brother off in the elevator much to the adults dismay and the kids amusement. The elevator was a home elevator and up to speed for such. It was as fast as the elevators in the two homes I have visited that had home elevators both built in when the multimillion dollar homes were built. The view from the greenroom was outstanding and made us all feel as of we would like to visit this home again next year.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: Avocet Properties
Owner's Response: Dear Ms. Hurd, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with this feedback from your recent stay here in Folly Beach. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time in this property with your family over the holiday week! We definitely look forward to seeing you next time your travels bring you to Folly Beach!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Marietta, GA
4

Thanksgiving at Folly Beach

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This is our second year at this property. It is a large, accommodating house and well stocked in kitchen appliances, utensils, and accommodations for our family. We were fortunate to follow the annual deep cleaning so the house was very clean and prepared after the season. Unfortunately no doorway rugs or sand catchers were available (they were at the cleaners) so it was difficult to control tracking sand into the house. The property was ready for us to pick up keys at the appointed time. The staff at Avocet was friendly and responsive to our needs and queries. For such a nice house the lack of normal maintenance is disappointing. One of the biggest issues faced was the reluctant back door (slider) which we reported last year. Apparently, a year later nothing was done. (We understand this will be handled this winter.) The exterior stove vent was left hanging open after an unsuccessful first attempt at repair. Obviously, there was no plan to complete the repair until we raised the potential issue and liability. It was immediately repaired in a perfectly adequate temporary fashion. Another example is that this house has rollup hurricane shutters, but at least one doesn't work and didn’t last year. The original beach access walkway was terminated and structurally repaired but the temporary access barrier was never moved the to the end to get full utilization. The Deck gate sags and drags across the deck. The workmanship is poor but functional and probably par for the course for beach rentals. One item that really is none of my business is the deck maintenance. It was coated/painted when new. This is obvious. It was never restored and the decking and railing has been allowed to deteriorate rapidly. Had the wood sealant been maintained they would have gotten many more years out of it. Now there is no choice but to completely replace the deck and railing which I assume won’t be done until someone falls through or trips on the irregular deteriorat

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: Avocet Properties
Owner's Response: Dear Mr. Beals, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this detailed review from your recent stay here in Folly Beach. We do apologize regarding the maintenance challenges you encountered during your stay. Due to the deep cleaning being completed right before your arrival the rugs were still out being professionally laundered, which we do apologize about. We were aware of the vent that was left hanging and fortunately it was completely safe and just cosmetic, which we did explain to the nice woman who had checked in for your reservation as well as letting her know it would be repaired on Tuesday of your stay. We do apologize if that was not relayed to you as well. We are always looking for ways in which to improve our properties and services and are working to address these other areas of concern. The home owner and property manager are currently in the works to replace some of the boarding on the deck along with fixing the gate and the stairs to the main boardwalk. They are also working on fixing the shutter as well. We appreciate your recommendations and are looking forward to you seeing the finished product next time you choose to stay with us here in Folly Beach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Woodstock, VA
4

Loved Charisma

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very unhelpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Our family of 15 loved the location and home "Charisma by the Sea". Unfortunately, I cannot say the same for Avocet Properties'service. From day 1, it was lacking. My name, street address, zip code and email address were all entered incorrectly by the agent taking the reservation. I called since I had not received anything and requested it be corrected but again I never received anything so I had to call again and request it be updated/corrected again as they still had the incorrect information on file. As I said the home was amazing - location great and decorated beautifully. Unfortunately, Avocet Properties does not appear to be taking care of such a gem of a home. Upon arriving, hot tub had lid off, error message and full of sand. I sent a picture plus called twice and asked that it be cleaned for our use. They indicated they were aware of the issue each time I called but no one ever came. A smoke detector began beeping on day 2. With kids and dogs in the house and it too high for us to reach, I called and asked for maintenance to come change the battery. I was told someone would be out to do so. No one ever showed, so we managed to get on each other's shoulders to get the batteries out of the unit to stop the beeping. The beer frig did not work but since there were 2 full size frig, it was not an issue for us. The patio door came off the track multiple times and you had to be a weightlifter to get it opened or closed due to this. The elevator would have been handy for our elderly guests but the doors were so hard to get open and shut, we could not use it. I called and nicely relayed this information to the phone service on the Saturday morning we left at 8:30 since the Avocet office did not open until 9:00. The phone service indicated someone from Avocet would call me back within 24 hours to discuss things with me and well, it's been 9 days and I've still not heard from anyone.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Avocet Properties
Owner's Response: Dear Ms. Whittle, Thank you for taking the time to provide this extremely helpful feedback from your recent stay here at Folly Beach. We want to apologize for the various challenges you encountered regarding maintenance, cleanliness and delayed responses. We are always looking for ways in which to improve our services and properties and with the help of your review we will able to do just that. We are working to address those areas of concern to resolve this issue before any future guests arrive. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location of the home and hope you will consider us next time you choose to vacation here at Folly Beach!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Matthews, SC
4

Lacking value for price paid

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We paid a high price for this property. Loved the location and slept the people we wanted to sleep. Loved the personal bathrooms in each bedroom. The property had great AC and kitchen utensils and dishes. Loved the ground floor and shower. However, only 1 slow ice maker and the drink cooler did not work. Sliding door needs to be replaced. Sand in hot tub. No chlorine for hot tub, no room or dustpan in the house, parking too small for that big of a house, could not get trash cans to Road for cars parked. Also all of the furniture and floors were sandy when we got there and sticky. Property management staff was not familiar with the property. Need better descriptions in their paperwork, floor plan, notes about steps going to master bedroom and steps down to the beach.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Avocet Properties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rochester, MN
5

Beautiful Beachfront Home

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The photos online do not do this home justice! It was absolutely gorgeous and spacious enough for all 11 guests to enjoy their stay. The home is on a quiet patch of beachfront but still only a 5 minute drive from downtown. Every night we slept with the windows open to hear the crashing waves.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: Avocet Properties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Yelm, WA
5

Wedding Beach House

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Avocet was a dream to go through. They were always friendly and willing to help with any request. Whenever we had an issue one call and it was fixed. The property was perfect, it's a little far from center street but that means less people in front of the house. All of our guests were amazed and we're already planning our rental for next year.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: Avocet Properties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

The Folly Beach community is full of fun activities. Downtown Folly Beach has a fishing pier, shops, bars and restaurants including Blu Oceanfront Restaurant and Bar, The Crab Shack, Surf Bar, Lost Dog Cafe, and more. There is a tennis court, dog park and a park for children. Downtown Charleston is a short 15 minute drive from Folly Beach. Charleston is known for its world-class restaurants, arts & culture, and its historic preservation. Charleston is a unique city steeped in local and national history with all the excitement of the latest fashions and trends. If relaxing and playing on the beach is primarily what you are seeking, Folly has a wonderful beach with miles of hard-packed sand for biking, running, and walking.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
  • From $3900 - $6519/wk
  • US Dollars
  • Winter 2013/2014 (10/26/2013 - 3/21/2014) 4 night minimum, $3,900/wk, $650/nt
  • Spring 2014 (3/22/2014 - 5/20/2014) 4 night minimum, $4,950/wk, $825/nt
  • Summer 2014 (5/31/2014 - 8/15/2014) 7 night minimum, $6,519/wk, $1,087/nt
  • Late Summer 2014 (8/16/2014 - 8/22/2014) 7 night minimum, $6,450/wk, $1,075/nt
  • Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
  • Additional pet fees apply. Event Fee: $1,000 (Special permitting required)
  • Reservations are subject to 17.5% tax, cleaning/linen fee & $50 Damage Waiver.
  • Holiday rates and night minimums apply.