Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Modern Home in Historic Old Bisbee

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,180 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

First, if you do want to make enquiries please send to me at cshackleton@chori.org as well as through this site.

This is a modern house in center of Historical landmark town. . Living room has high ceiling and real wood-burning fireplace. Beautiful patio accessed from living room through 12' opening bi-fold doors.The two bedrooms have French doors opening to the patio so when everything is open, outside and inside seem to merge. Bedrooms and bathrooms are in two separate wings of house that affords extra privacy when two couples are staying. The view from the patio is towards downtown and looks directly at the mountains, particularly the iconic 'B' mountain which is straight ahead. Downtown is a 5min walk, max. There are about 12 gentle wide steps to the property. There is off street parking for two compact cars.

The house is built of Rastra and the walls are 11' thick which offers good insulation; AC in one bedroom only. Each bedroom has its own bathroom close by.

The town has good restaurants and bars in short walking distance from house in both directions, about 200 yards, 5 min walk. Two food stores, Mimosa's and High Desert Market just a few minutes walk away.

House particularly affordable because only extra charge is State Tax, no Homeaway booking fee, No cleaning charge, No damage deposit, no pet fee, Cancellation fee very low at anytime after booking($60).

Pay no attention to the VRBO "Response rate" of 50% and response time several days. I always respond to everyone within a few hours. Those low figures are because I have often replied to personal email addresses rather than through the site. In future I'll always do through site to get my numbers up.

Also, you may see a VRBO "warning" at the top of my listing, warning you that I don't take online bookings so you are not covered for problems. "This owner doesn't offer online booking through VRBO's checkout. You won't be eligible for our Book with Confidence Guarantee. Learn more"

The reality is that I refund money up to the full amount for problems, my reviews are witness to my honest dealing. I've tried to stop them from putting up this notice, but to no effect.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
cedric shackleton
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2017

About cedric shackleton

I am a medical research scientist originally from UK. I work at Children's Hospital Oakland on rare genetic disorders in children and live most of the time in Berkeley California.

cedric shackleton purchased this house in 2008

Why cedric shackleton chose Tucson & Southern Arizona

I've had vacation homes in this town for 35 years and love it because of it history, weather and physical beauty. The town is nestled in a valley of the Mule mountains. It's a liberal oasis in a generally conservative area

What makes this house unique

Biking, hiking, birding. Hanging out in local restaurants and bars. Enjoy the artist galleries. Bisbee is the friendliest of towns with active social scene.

Amenities

Bisbee House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1180 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • One bathroom has tub and shower, the other larger walk-in shower and access through door to outdoor hot-tub area
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Two bedrooms on ground floor with queen beds, each close to its own bathroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(63 traveler reviews)

Modern Home in Historic Old Bisbee
average rating of 4.952381 based on 63 reviews
5

Great location in old Bisbee

  • 5 of 5

Great location. Several blocks from downtown in Old Bisbee and just up the hill from High Desert Market (yummy food). Amazingly quiet considering how close it is to downtown. Lovely home. Enjoyed the patio - sunny in the morning and shady in the heat of the afternoon. Has a well appointed kitchen. Cedric (the owner) has been easy to work with and responds immediately to emails.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad it worked out for you and thanks for such a generous review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA
5

Great home in a great location.

  • 5 of 5

The house has a really smart floorplan with the two bedrooms at opposite ends of the house. The living/dining area has great windows and access to a courtyard-like patio. The house was clean and very conveniently located a short walk into town. If I'm back this way I will definitely see if the house is available for my stay. I highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad it worked out for you, come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home, we'll maintained with all the amenities to relax

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful! Great place,great landlord, beautiful property.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for kind review
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Our group of four stayed over the long holiday weekend and found this vacation rental simply perfect. Mr. Shackleton has put quite a bit of thought into the details of this dwelling in order to make it feel like home. The location could not be better giving almost immediate access to the Old Historic Bisbee downtown area and all the charm that offers! The house itself was skillfully prepared to offer a variety of satisfying amenities from the gorgeous morning sunrise views to the soothing hot tub after days of trekking up and down through the hills, side streets, and nearby haunts! The layout of the house itself ensures privacy for the guests as well as very comfortable common areas for relaxing and enjoying this special little town! Our group cannot wait to return and we will definitely make a serious effort to stay at this location!

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
phoenix,az
5

Beautifully Restored, with Great Location

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week in Bisbee - having a great place to stay helped a lot.

House is high up and centrally located. Patio is private with a view of the hills and of Old Town. The house has been beautifully restored and is very well- insulated. We found it to be comfortable at 100 F. without air conditioning. Kitchen is modern and complete. Separate wings give maximum privacy possible. An easy walk to main street.

The owner provided complete and clear instructions, and was very gracious.

We have no complaints at all, and are happy to give 5 stars.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a wonderful and generous review. This is sometimes an uncomfortable time of year in Arizona and I'm glad you enjoyed the house and town in spite of it being early summer.Hope you come again
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

great home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

I so enjoyed my time here at Cedrics' rental.The house is easy walking distance to town.(even with my recovering knee surgery).Only a couple steps to the front door,and a 2 car spot off the street.The best part for me was the folding glass doors that opened from the living room and bedrooms onto a very nice patio with a view.I will come again and stay longer next time. This house will not disappoint.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind review, come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bisbee House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Memorial day
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$140
$800
$1,900
 
 
Bisbee Pride
Jun 15 2017 - Jun 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$140
$800
$1,900
 
 
4th July
Jul 2 2017 - Jul 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$140
$800
$1,900
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$140
$800
$1,900
 
 
Stair climb
Oct 18 2017 - Oct 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$145
$800
$1,900
 
 
Halloween
Oct 27 2017 - Nov 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$140
$800
$1,900
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$140
$800
$1,900
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2017 - Dec 27 2017
3 night minimum stay
$140
$800
$1,900
 
 
New year
Dec 29 2017 - Jan 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$140
$800
$1,900
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$140
$800
$1,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.1%

Cancellation policy. Cancel at any time; only $60 retained

Cheque for full amount required ahead of stay. With cancellation (even at last minute) full amount returned less $60.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties