Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Captain's Hideaway off Palm Blvd Close to Beach

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Well decorated Mother in law best deal on island

8 Palm Ct Isle of Palms ,SC 29451 This is a personal home kept by owner..This house is newly remodeled with closed in glass porch and has a separate small apartment with high ceilings I used for my Mother with mid modern furniture avacado fridge with w/dryer huge deck 23x10 .Located right across from the beach but off the main noisy Palm blvd in quiet cul-du-sac . This is so close to the beach can be part of #256601 the main town house...or closed off an separated by 4 ft of what now ties in or not. ..separate nice kitchen.a mother-in -law This is 2 bdr with foldout sofa bed apartment ...Isle of Palms is expensive so if you pay this little you are lucky to be getting this close to the beach.This apartment is charming and remodeled with hardwood floors and very zen bathroom..with water fall faucet in antique cabinet and Hollywood lights new kitchen cabinets and huge microwave..Really great for 2 adults with 2 children..This is a separate extention 700 sq ft with 12 ft high ceiling s kitchenette and dining table table with sliding hidden captain's door for bath that is a totally ready efficiency ( sheets, laundry soap, dishwashing liquid, toliet paper, etc. It has a large screened in porch an grill with washer /dryer an fenced in yard for pets.Pets must be on flea program 48 hours before arrival for their protection. A lot of Privacy.The apartment/mother in law is on ground floor so no stairs to climb ..newly remodeled .SCREENED IN deck in a bird sanctuary surrounded with 20 ft bamboo . There is a total recreation center located one block an half behind home, across street but still 1/2 blk to either beach access ...two car only.per apt.park off street of Palm Blvd if have to .quiet neighborhood ...The Isle of Palms Recreation center is directly behind with state of the art children equipment.This is a downstairs apt so no stairs to climb. But the biggest attraction is the ocean 1/2 blk to access .., towels, linens provided. . You will have a great time in a wonderful neighborhood....this extention all to yourself. On the right side of main house is the door . There are few people on this end of the beach If you want a life guard for your children walk towards the pier to park ..No smoking on any parts of grounds..I have continued to improve this listing an the space is loved by a lot of people..750 sq ft an 23x8 deck all well done....Monthly rates quoted for annual must be approved by owner .

Property Manager
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2018

About Property Manager

Realtor investor 100 ton off shore to go out at sunset from Morgan's creek an come back at night. Love my place an have been decorating since I was 9.

Property Manager purchased this apartment in 1996

Why Property Manager chose Isle of Palms

This property is a mother in law of main house 344990 ...I have continued to improve this apartment to the ,most fashionable residence but it is small an in summer I like to rent as a whole..but if not rented as a whole I will offer at a discount..last minute text me..Captain Rachel

What makes this apartment unique

This is not a rental in a condo this is first floor and in a home completely separate with lots of privacy..It really is a hideaway..bird car only...great for quiet not rowdy clients- perfect for fishn guys, baby boomers, small families on a budget..

Guestbook comments from the owner

I stayed here last year and I cannot believe the difference..the owner has remoldeled completely new windows,landscaping ,new furniture but thankgoodness still great sleeping beds..perfect formy husband and myself and the kids..We loved the closeness to the beach and the provided beach skimmers ,body surfing boards, two mand blowup boat..thankgoodness we did not have to buy it.and we loved the no stairs..perfect..Can't wait till new year...Sherry
Feb 2011
  • 1 of 4


Isle of Palms Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • clean up after pets -check yard for all feces .no noise after 10 isle of palms ordinance ...start wash with all whites in washer when you leave ..
  • go to the beach as soon as you can ...enjoy yourselves ..maybe go downtown..if there are kids ,adults pets go to Rec center a block behind
  • .be happy ..don't spend time fusing go to beach or enjoy cable sports extensive movies xfinity ,netflix
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 full bath has shower and antique counter with glass bowl asian type hardwood floors ..sliding door with deck cleets as handles
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , beautiful bedroom and new hard wood floors
  • Queen (1) double bed 2 TOP OF THE LINE SPRING AIR SLEEPS LIKE A KING, 3Sleeper sofa
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


3.2/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
22% Complete
22% Complete
Captain's Hideaway off Palm Blvd Close to Beach
average rating of 3.2222223 based on 13 reviews
Northern Iowa

The Iowan

  • 5 of 5

I just arrived home from spending a month in this cozy rental and was not ready to leave. Everything is provided and didn't have to furnish anything. I found the location to be very quiet and yet just a half block from all the activity. The beach is close and not as crowded as other areas. The "Captn" was very helpful in guiding us to restaurants and gardens that we may not have thought to try. I had some company during my stay and we were able to arrange the pull-out sofa to accommodate everyone. I would recommend this unit to anyone contemplating a visit to the IOP. The screened in porch and birds were amazing. I know that the "Captn" will make you feel right at home as she did with me.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: February 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 3

BEWARE Misleading and disappointing

  • 1 of 5

The photos of this rental are the definition of misleading and false advertising. We arrived Thurs eve. There was no lighting and we could not find the key. Multiple messages via phone & VRBO to Rachel, no response. We had no idea this rental was a small sub-unit on the side of the main house and were not looking for an unlit side door.

Inside was a dingy & poorly maintained unit. We quickly realized that the descriptions in the ad were a joke and the photos were carefully staged to conceal the considerable flaws. The "remodeled" kitchen includes a dented microwave, a rusted stove, a beat up table and a pieced together counter top of remnants that are too small for the cabinet and split into two uneven pieces leaving a wide crack down the middle and a gap on the edge that are great havens for dirt. The rusted fridge is on the back porch. "Fully stocked" in this case means a pile of a few stained/dirty pots & some cups.

The general condition was poor. To list a few: holes in the walls, exposed wiring, missing face plate on electrical outlet, a bedroom closet with 1 door and a collapsed shelf, a ceiling fan with weed trimmer line for the pull, burned out light bulbs, a broken down sofa bed with a shirt from a previous renter, stained mattress, old furniture stacked up at the foot of the bed & on the porch (with nails sticking out) and an old bed frame and signs stacked up outside of the house, walls partially painted, or unpainted, that were patched with caulk or spackle and left unsmoothed, creating lumpy bumpy walls that were an eyesore and a mess. Its like someone threw spackle at the wall and walked away leaving it to dry as it landed. No access to the air cond in this unit, only in the main house. The back porch was too dirty and crowded with junk to sit on.The TV did not work and there were no instructions about the TV, trash, or any helpful info anywhere.The "zen" bathroom was the worst. More lumpy walls. Exposed pipes, rusty air return, TP holder falling off the wall, dirty shower curtain and a toilet that would not flush. We managed to make it work for the weekend by plunging it multiple times with each flush. 7 calls to Rachel over the two days (for the toilet and tv) resulted in one return call the day before we left - she had been on a trip and unreachable for most of the weekend. She was unapologetic. We were left with a bad experience and a waste of money.

And the nautical touch? a deck cleat nailed to the bathroom door over the old handle.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry we just had 8 inches of rain and all septic tanks took awhile to drain. I was on a cruise and not on wifi I just had the tank pumped but I should know that when you take a trip you will have a flood. I had other numbers to call.Well it looks like people love this place or they don't . There might be several things people are confusing difference in new and old houses plus price on Isle of Palms close to the beach and weekend prices . This apartment was just totally redone floors ,cabinets , paint and all bedding..and it is the most inexpensive way to stay on Isle of Palms so close to the beach.All pictures and information are correct. The house is old so not perfect and it is a mother in law I put it has great deck on it and I love the 12 ft ceilings but it was a cheap price for location and number one beach and number one city Charleston SC 29451. Plus there are very few people that do weekend rentals because of turn over cost..The apartment along with all new floors , cabinets and paint plus 12 ft ceilings and spreads and cleaning done by a wonderful cleaning group that are perfectionist because some people like myself are allergic to pet hair so they make sure all traces of pets are gone.The apartment has wonderful wifi and all HD stations including special sports channels and on demand plus pet friendly and a fenced in back yard plus in a culdusac great for pets and kids ..near the Recreational center free..2 blocks behind.This is a DEAL..If you want new the price is $8,000 because you have to do big and new and they know what they have to charge for a turn over ..This is an apartment ...mother in law ..I say it...there was another number to call and numbers of plumbers , handy men etc..I know after arriving and having the plumbing backed up nothing goes right ..but I called in 24 hours and you said you were on the beach and everything was beware if you want new housing and further away from the beach and you will still pay $5000 for your stay..Hey I had a dentist I grew up going to in Cayce SC with your last name.... was that a relative ? So I hope this response makes people understand what they are renting ..
Did you find this review helpful?
1 5
North Carolina

Repeat visitor

  • 5 of 5

I would like to contest the review below by simply saying that I have stayed at this property multiple times. It is not a basement, but a "mother-in-law suite". It is cozy, peaceful, only across the street from the beach, and completely adequate and fully furnished. The owner/landlord is a wonderful woman, of great character, and has gone out of her way to make every stay we have had better than expected. Thank goodness she has a place that is pet friendly for those of us who can leave behind our 4-legged family. I can honestly say, from the first time we stayed, we have gained a friend in her and always choose her property first.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: April 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. There have been nothing but great reviews an improvements to the property that is so inexpensive for it's location an what it offers..privacy ,quiet, outdoor shower,w/dryer not shared...lots of storage an room..deck ,with bird watching.grill ,complete kitchen ,attractive furnishings,wifi,cable,IOP rec center a block behind with workout equipment free...a separate rental of 500 sqft an can berented with the 1500 other sq feet of beautiful tastefully decorated home ...#256601.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 5
Brentwood TN

Renters BEWARE of this property

  • 1 of 5

After driving 9 hours from Tennessee, my husband and I arrived to find the lease we had signed for "Captain Farley's Old Fashioned Beach House" was in fact not valid and we were told we were staying in the "apartment" in the house's basement. The lease that was signed two months prior was for the house and even specified where we were to park and find the key - so we would not be parking in the space for the "apartment." The house's hot tub was also mentioned in the lease, but you don't have access to it from the apartment.

We went ahead and checked the apartment out and found it to be completely inadequate. My husband would not fit in the bed, let alone both of us. One of us would have been on the couch the entire week. Also, there was a note stating that the lady upstairs would be down periodically to do her laundry. Why would anyone on vacation want a stranger coming through to do their laundry? Other turn-offs would be the musty smell in the apartment, the U-haul trailer and trash in the back yard, and the exposed duct work and insulation in the ceiling of the laundry room. We have the pictures to prove all this!

After seeing how inadequate this space was, we had to find another place to stay. After communicating our concerns to the owner, a refund was requested. We pointed out that the lease we signed was for the house and not the apartment and we would like a full refund. She declined to offer us a refund and continued to charge our card for an extra day and when I brought this to her attention, she debited the card again instead of crediting it. It took several days to get those costs refunded and I had to cancel my credit card. We are out the money to a landlord who badly misrepresented what she was renting us.

We were very disappointed and I don't believe this property is worth the price. It was dingy, uninviting and small. If you plan to stay in the apartment, check the space out before paying the entire rent and see for yourself if you want to spend a vacation at the beach in that place.

The owner's response to this will most likely be that the apartment listing number was referenced in the email exchanges between the two parties. That listing number meant nothing to us and the lease that was sent and signed was for the main house, which is what we believed we were leasing from the

start. Based on our experience, be wary of dealing with this landlord. No effort on her part was ever made to help make things right.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Goodness ..when you book a $100 a night right off the beach place instead of a 1400 square ft 5 star was not willing to take the rap with her husband screaming "this looks like student quarters."...she was ina spot ..I will post a picture of the sheet room quite a over the top critisism .My oh my ....don't know folks but great deal but next year I rent it with the house only....
Did you find this review helpful?
32 3
Near Charlotte, NC

Last minute getaway

  • 4 of 5

I was lucky to find this efficiency for just a few days at the last minute. The AC was nice and cool during a week of 100 degree weather. The property is not top notch but for this price (relative to Isle of Palms) it is good enough. Captain Rachel was great to work with. I would recommend this property as long as you are not expecting luxury accommodations. There are basic utensils, good for making breakfast, lunch, or a light dinner. It is in a good quiet location and the beach is just a short little walk across the main road and is not too crowded. We ate at Morgan Creek Grill, the food was OK, not really special, but the waterfront setting makes it worthy and they have great service. Another good place to eat is Vickery's on Shem Creek.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2012
  • Stayed: June 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Cazenovia, NY

Recent renter

  • 2 of 5

Rented this property during the last two weeks of January, 2012. Excellent location, quiet, great bed and stocked with paper and cleaning products. Found it to be extremely rustic and not particularly clean. Has seen a lot of wear and tear. Kitchen OK for reheating or microwaving; tough to cook a meal. Beach across the street. Parks nearby.Two people maximum. Would not recommend.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2012
  • Stayed: January 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: All excellant things to say about renting a $100 anight property right across the street from the beach on number one island number one city which this particular person did not go see..stayed in an watched the flat screen tv with wireless and cable has refridgerator with ice maker wonderful brass bed that sleeps like a king great new $2000 w/dryer a deck with birds surrounded by bamboo.. with grill ..she complements an has no complaints except dust $200 or $300 an see the difference when I remoldel it will be $200 now it's a deal to hang ur hat an see this #1 beach an #1 City #1 location #best price...
Did you find this review helpful?
15 3


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Charleston National
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
4 blks
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Wild Dunes
Nearest Train
20 Miles
North Charleston amtrack
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Morgan's Creek..Banna Cabanna ..
Car: not necessary

Recreation center one block away indoor/outdoor basketball workout area ping pong outdoor soccer,baseball,basketball and tennis all free Across is Beach Great Location


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100
Pet Fee $100
linens + towels $100
Property Damage Protection $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.