Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Gulf and Sound Views, Large Beach Home, Pool, Sleeps 22, Your Own Beach Retreat!

Sleeps24
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms with attached suites in 4 of the rooms, 5 bath, sleeps 24

Sandcastle by the Sea is the perfect spot for your next family gathering, wedding, or corporate event at the beach. One of the largest homes on Navarre Beach, this enormous beach house is directly across from the gulf on a quiet area of Navarre Beach.

Enjoy your own private pool in the back of the house, with a nice patio and private fence.

You'll love the gulf views from every balcony. Guests will enjoy sitting on the balcony as runners and bikers stroll by on the bike path crossing the house. You'll feel like you're on your own retreat, as you experience this quiet, peaceful beach town, so different from most beaches today.

Don't worry, you are only minutes from shops and restaurants, making it easy to go out at night or to stock up on groceries during your stay. You can even use the elevator to bring your groceries in!

You'll also see water views of the sound on the back of the house. It's hard to beat multiple water views! Your biggest challenge will be finding which view you want to enjoy during your stay. The owner recently added new porch furniture, so there is plenty of sitting room for your family to spread out and enjoy the home.

Sleeping Arrangements:

Top Floor - Master Honeymoon Suite: You can't beat the views!!

The master occupies the entire top floor with a king size bed, bathroom, and seating area.

2nd Floor -

Bedroom 2: Two twin beds, with attached suite that has a full bed. Suite is separated by a curtain. Bathroom attached.

Bedroom 3: Two double bed, with attached suite that has a full bed. Suite is separated by a curtain. Bathroom attached.

First Floor:

Bedroom 4: King size bed, with attached suite that has a full bed. Suite is separated by curtain. Bathroom attached.

Bedroom 5: King size bed, with attached suite that has a full bed. Suite is separated by curtain. Bathroom attached.

The house sleeps 20 people in beds plus two additional sofas. The five bedrooms, five baths will provide plenty of room for each family to have their own privacy while also staying together.

There are two separate living rooms to provide extra room for large groups to gather. One room features a pool table and card table.

The 9,000 sq. ft. house is private, and your group will be the only ones using the home during your stay.

If you don't want to take the stairs you can take the elevator. Don't worry how the older folks will get around or hauling groceries upstairs!

There are two sets of washers and dryers to accommodate several families.

If you would like to have any questions at all answered, call Ginger today at 334-703-4340! We love taking care of our guests and providing the best vacation experience possible.

Also, check out our other beach house in Destin at vrbo #469550.

Other attractions:

Bike path through the National Seashore Park (just 3 miles away)

Bike rentals within walking distance

Butterfly House (May through September)

Crabbing

Fishing Pier

(Ft. Walton Beach or Pensacola Beach), deep-sea fishing and surf fishing

Flea Market (Saturday and Sunday, on the mainland)

Golf and Miniature Golf

National Naval Air Museum (Pensacola)

Public boat-launch very nearby

Publix, Wal-Mart and Winn Dixie supermarkets, CVS and Walgreen's drugstores

Restaurants: two on the island, many more on the mainland

County Park and picnic areas

Shopping in local gift shops, or Outlet Malls (SanDestin)

Walking and running trails

Water sports, swimming, snorkeling

Watercraft rental - jet skis, kayaks, windsurfing

Taken From Navarre Beach website:

'Whether you are seeking activities like charter boat fishing, sailing, golfing or parasailing, the Navarre Beach, Florida, area has a lot to offer! If you love the great outdoors, you might want to spend the day on a charter boat from one of our many area marinas for some of the south's finest saltwater fishing.

Perhaps you'd like to browse the many shops, boutiques, galleries and specialty shops? For family time, there are amusement parks, miniature golf and water parks to round out your daily itinerary. Our most sought after attraction, fresh local seafood, is available at our one-of-a-kind restaurants.'

More Details

Owner
Ginger Hallmark
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
May 28, 2017

About Ginger Hallmark

Hello, and welcome to Sandcastle on Navarre Beach, Florida. My name is Ann, owner of Destin Luxury Real Estate, and I would love to have you come stay at my place! Please let me know how I may make your stay the best vacation you have ever had.

What makes this house unique

I can have everyone in one, beautiful, luxurious place that the whole family enjoys!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Ginger,

I just wanted you to know that the house was great and we had an awesome time......thank you for working with us to book a very memorable family vacation!!



Regards,

Mark
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 10

Amenities

Navarre Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 24
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 24
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Child Beds (1) two pack and plays, Baby Cribs (1), Sectional Sofas (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

Gulf and Sound Views, Large Beach Home, Pool, Sleeps 22, Your Own Beach Retreat!
average rating of 3.8888888 based on 37 reviews
1

Filthy, Run Down, Very much in need of repairs

  • 1 of 5

We were very unhappy we were during our stay. We encountered numerous problems and were too pressed for time to continuously call each time a problem arose.

The pictures posted on VBRO are very misleading and do not present an accurate picture of what the property looks like at the present time. Much of the furniture is different and broken, and the house is not yellow, as pictured. It is painted white with chipped paint and rust over much of the house. Guests were telling me how filthy the house was and that I needed to call the homeowner and let them know the condition of their property. After speaking to Ginger, I got the impression that the homeowner is very much aware of the condition of this house because she spends a lot of time at the property.

We spent the first day that we were there moving broken patio furniture so no

one would get hurt, hosing down urine on the back patio, and trying to make a house that is very much in need of repair presentable for a wedding. We were up until 2 am the

first day cleaning, then until 3 am the second day decorating. As a result, we had a total of 6 hours of sleep over a 3 day period. We lost an entire day because we had not planned on having to spend it cleaning. The day of the

wedding, we were all exhausted and everyone was on edge from lack of sleep. After contacting Ginger regarding the condition of the property, she stated that if I had contacted her while we were there, she could have sent someone to clean. The condition that this house is in is not something that could be fixed during our 3 day stay there while 24 people were staying in the house.

After seeing the condition that the property was in, I wanted to cancel the

reservation and find someplace else to have the wedding. Since I had already

sent out wedding invitations with the address, I was not able to do this. It was very embarrassing for me as a hostess to have my guests noticing what terrible condition this house is in and having to ask them to help me camouflage as best we could to make the house presentable for the wedding. I spent a lot of time and money to have a nice

wedding for my son and daughter-in-law. I didn't plan on having to clean and move furniture when we arrived there. It was not fair to me or to my guests to have to do this.

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: While we take all guest concerns very seriously, this reviewer should have stated that they viewed the house TWO times before they arrived. The bride and groom picked this house for their wedding and looked at it twice to work out the arrangements for the wedding. We were personally there when they looked at it the first time, and they were in love with the house. If they had any concerns about the home not meeting expectations, we would have known it then. However, the mother in law called us AFTER the wedding weekend to express her concern that the house did not meet her expectations and asked for a full refund (after hosting a large wedding at the home with lots of trash and debris left in the yard). We are happy to help with any problems that come up during a guest’s stay, but we can’t fix problems after the fact. If you are booking the home for a wedding where you will be hosting a lot of guests, we encourage you to call for a visit before the wedding, so we know it's a great fit for you. Naturally, a large house on the water will go through some wear and tear and requires constant attention by the owner. The home was painted two years ago and all windows were just replaced this spring. We have an excellent cleaning service and always send them back if any areas are not satisfactory for a guest. This home makes a wonderful wedding venue since it has gulf AND sound views, beautiful private pool with waterfall, plenty of parking, and a huge reception area, with no strict HOA rules. It is also ideal for a large family vacation or multiple families coming together, since it sleeps so many in beds, has two large living areas, and the convenience of a pool with easy beach access. We also have a responsive teams that works hard to make sure all guests are taken care of and happy during their stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place to stay and plenty of room

  • 4 of 5

Great stay and very accommodating! Would definitely stay again. Made a great place to be married!

Thanks

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Roland. We enjoyed hosting your family at Sandcastle for your wedding weekend.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Deception, Disgust, Dissapointment. (TAKE EXTREME CAUTION)

  • 1 of 5

I would not trust any positive reviews you see about the Sandcastle house in Navarre, FL. We booked this house after reading the reviews and deciding that the perks outweighed the bad sides of this property. However, we were SORELY dissapointed with our experience. The first thing we saw was the outdoor furniture which was all overturned and obviously not well-kept. As we entered the house we immediately noticed a musty smell and a small amount of sand on the floor. We were all initially trying to be really positive so we discounted this and went on to see the rest of the house. The one honest thing advertised about this property is the number of rooms! We were pleasantly overwhelmed by the space this house offers. There would be more than enough room for our family of 12. I will admit that the master bedroom and bathroom was pretty nice. However, basically all of the other rooms had serious problems. We found a spider on one bed and cockroaches on the floor of almost every other room. The beds were made but they were dusty and seemed like no one had been in to tend to the house in weeks. We tried to make our selves comfortable but the first thing I wanted to do was look for the vaccuum to clean up all the roaches and the dust! If your guests have to deep clean the entire house before they move in to feel comfortable, you have already failed as a property owner. We were still willing to make it work until I opened the icemaker as I was exploring the kitchen & live cockroaches were running around all over the ice in the ice maker. We killed at least 6 live ones and gave up because there were too many. After that, we made the decision that the only way we would stay at the sandcastle house was if Ginger got a house cleaner and pest control personnel out to the property before the end of the day. We called and she was accomodating at first. She promised that she would do her best and we appreciated that. However, we then discovered dead mice under the furniture that looked like they had been there for months. That was the last straw, and we called and asked for our money back. Thankfully, we recieved it and we left the Sandcastle property as soon as we could. It was a disaster of a first day of vacation and caused a lot of chaos as we tried to find a last minute vacation home to accomodate our budget and 12 people for the entire week of Thanksgiving. It all worked out and we had a great vacation, but the Sandcastle house was a SHAM and we regret booking it.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Victoria, We were sorry to not be able to accommodate your family. Due to the extremely dry weather we experienced in November, our pest control company had a hard time getting rid of some pest issues. We were thankful that after multiple trips last fall, they were able to eliminate this issue. The home was also not cleaned by our professional cleaner before your visit. The owner had a friend stay at the home, and the the friend promised to clean it (instead of our cleaning team). The owner was very sorry that it wasn't in top shape and quickly gave a full refund, so that you could find an alternative place to stay. Our professional cleaning team does a wonderful job, and we will only use them in the future. The Sandcastle is one of the largest homes on Navarre beach with a private pool, so it stays booked year round with many, many happy guests who have booked return trips for this upcoming season. Although it is difficult to please everyone, we take all guest complaints seriously and do our best to correct all concerns. After you arrived at Sandcastle, the owner and I immediately went to the house to inspect the issue and spent several days making sure that everything was back to top shape for the next guests. The Sandcastle offers a unique experience with water views on both sides of the house and beautiful balconies on every level to enjoy the views. The owner has recently added new porch furniture, replaced flooring, and several other updates to make sure our guests have the best vacations possible at the Sandcastle. We are glad you were impressed with our honeymoon master suite on the top level. The views are hard to beat!
Did you find this review helpful?
12 2
Northwest Florida
5

Your Dream Vacation Rental Experience!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I have rented the Sandcastle Beach House each October for the last three years. We cannot say ENOUGH about how accommodating the rental company has been for our needs and in providing a WONDERFUL rental experience! The price is very reasonable, and house is beautiful...inside and out! It is ideal for weddings, receptions, family reunions...you name it! We first used the Sandcastle in 2014 for a wedding reception because of the number of people it can accommodate and because of the large outdoor reception area and private pool. We absolutely love the fact that you have three different levels of living space, as well as balcony space, for different family/friend groups. You can spend as much time together or separately as you desire. The views are simply magnificent, as there are balcony and bedroom views of BOTH the Gulf and Sound sides of the water on each level of the house. The cleanliness of the home has been impeccable each time we have stayed. Everything cooking utensil you can imagine is fully stocked in the kitchen, and there are plenty of clean and freshly laundered linens for all of the bedrooms and bathrooms. The elevator is a life saver, as we have guests who need the access. The cleaning company also leaves lots of extra touches, such as large bottles of shampoo/conditioner as well as other specialty guest toiletries. All of our family looks forward to what has become an annual gathering, and it is because of the superior customer service we receive, year after year. Ginger is always in touch to assist with any requests or questions, and she takes a genuine interest in all of her guests. Since we live in the Northwest Florida area, we are often in Navarre Beach, at the beach access directly across the street from the Sandcastle...did we mention there is a GREAT beach access directly across the street and large public parking lot right next to the Sandcastle that is perfect for guest parking? You can't find those two so conveniently located at any other beach house rental of this size! We can personally share that we see the Sandcastle Beach House rented on a regular basis all year long, and all of the people we see, from renters to professional event planners, are extremely complimentary and happy with the Sandcastle Beach Rental and receive the same level of service that we do.

As for our future plans, we cannot wait until next October! The Sandcastle Beach House is paradise found for us!

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Robert and Chris! We certainly enjoy having you and your family back every fall. We're so thankful you've created such special memories at the Sandcastle.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 4
2

Pictures very deceiving, house needs deep cleaning

  • 2 of 5

We enjoyed staying at the sandcastle...perfect spot, enough room for big families, and also having a private pool was great!! However, the house had many issues...you can tell the upkeep of the house is not being taken care of, which is sad because it has so much to offer. The top surface cleaning was good, beds where clean and comfy the kitchen was nicely stocked with plenty of dish wear/cook wear. Plenty of towels. Nice having 2 laundry areas!! However...it needs a really good deep cleaning!! All the air vent had several layers of dust build up and mold, under furniture had dust and stuff that had been dropped like hair ties, etc under things. Some of the Windows had orange foam spray around the seals, bad build up in the doors. The blinds wear dirty. Cockroaches in the kitchen cabinets. Bathroom showers panels seal chipping away and causing panels to be loose. The outside of the home is really showing its wear! The decking has severe wear to the point wood chipping/falling apart....The outdoor kitchen....the grill doesn't work, so placed in front of the broken grill was just a regular outdoor grill...junky looking. Be careful about walking around the property...trash all over, sand around the fence and pool area filled with debris...landscaping around pool dying...had a few issues with the pool that someone had to come out and fix....and at night watch out for some of the largest cockroaches we have ever seen outside around kitchen/covered patio...couldn't tell you how many we killed while hanging out down there during the week!! This house from pictures is stunning but in person is a shame.. If someone would just take the time and put a little tlc into it, it would be a beautiful place!!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jamie, I’m very surprised to hear your comments after our company worked so hard to accommodate your group. We immediately sent the pool company to clean up after a storm. He even came back an extra time on Saturday night to fix the water fountain. We had our cleaners return to clean the air vents and blinds at your request. The house is on a regular pest control program, and we recently increased their number of visits. The owner works very hard to make improvements during the off season and recently painted the entire outside and inside of the home. She has plans to replace some of the windows as well. This is one of the largest homes on Navarre Beach and the owner is very proud to offer it as a top rental for families to enjoy time together with beautiful beach views and a private pool.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1
WIsconsin Rapids
5

Amazing place for our wedding!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this home for 10 days for our wedding and honeymoon! There was plenty of room for our children and extended family for stay and have their own space. The pool and dowstairs patio area were amazing except that the grill did not work. There were some cosmetic things that needed work and the elevator was incredibly slow but other than that everything was perfect! We paid way less for this place than all of us would have paid at a hotel and we had so much space of our own! Well worth it! The kids continue to ask when we are going back to the house in Florida :) hopefully someday we will return!

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 3

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles

Photos

Rates & Availability

Navarre Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Summer 2017
May 27 2017 - Jun 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 11 2017 - Aug 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,250
$8,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$785
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
cleaning fee $350 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable