Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

The Wahoo, St. George Island Florida Vacation Home, Secluded and Quiet

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

A dog friendly non-Smoking, Island Home complete with designer furnishings! New hardwood flooring installed this Spring.

Travel over the 4 mile bridge to beautiful St. George Island with it's white sand beaches. The bay area offers great kayaking and fishing.

St. George Island is across the bay from historic Apalachicola, Florida, seafood and oyster capital of the world. Apalachicola has become an enclave of eclectic galleries, shops and gourmet restaurants.

This three bedroom two full bath home features a large living area with vaulted ceilings. Two of the bedrooms are furnished with queen-size beds and TVs in the room and the third with two twin beds. The large galley kitchen opens up to the living room and has all the cooking utensils needed for cooking the excellent local seafood.

Internet WIFI is available.

Enjoy the island evenings and beautiful stars on the large covered deck in back. Either side of the home features extra wide entry steps to make moving in easier. Boaters and fishermen welcome. Three block walk to beach access and half a block to fishing in the bay. The TVs have been upgraded to flat screens.

You must be 25 years of age to rent.

Rentals in the summer season are by the weekly (7) night stay rate and the total rental rate is $1,300.00.

Taxes, cleaning fees and linens are included.

Keywords: Beach vacation rental fishing boating sun snorkling

More Details

Tim Riordan
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 12, 2017

About Tim Riordan

Love the saltwater, either on it or in it. Also enjoy fishing, canoeing both scenic and whitewater.

Tim Riordan purchased this house in 2003

Why Tim Riordan chose Gulf Beaches

As a general contractor for 34 years I designed and built the 'Wahoo' as my second home. I purchased the lot in the late 80's thinking that 'next year' I'd start the project, 2003 I began the design and construction to meet the latest coastal wind and flood codes.

What makes this house unique

Quiet and secluded street without neighbors on either side, at this time anyway.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Tim,

I wanted to thank you

We had some very good time on St George island, and we all hope to be able to be back another time, and spend more time doing some serious fishing

I have been unable to catch a pompano, and this will be my goal next time

What is the best season for that ?

Do you also have some good tarpon fishing there, and what would you recommend to do for this ?

Your house was perfect for us

I hope that everything had been ok on your side

best regards
Apr 2004
  • 1 of 1


Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Car: recommended

Fishing!, Fishing! Snorkeling & Diving, There are several rental facilities for bicycles, motor scooters, kayaks, surfborads, wind surfing, boats, to name a few

Internet WIFI is available.


Gulf Beaches House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Full Baths (1) Shower Stall
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • festivals
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Cable (three TV's), Coffee Pot, Outside Shower (hot & cold), Large Covered Deck


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
19% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
The Wahoo, St. George Island Florida Vacation Home, Secluded and Quiet
average rating of 4.6190476 based on 43 reviews
Tallahassee, FL

Relaxing weekend get away

  • 5 of 5

Had a great trip to SGI and wonderful, comfortable stay at The Wahoo. The owner is very easy to work with, as we had to postpone our trip by a few days due to a hurricane hitting...Tim's response, "No problem!" Very comfortable for the furry family too. Nice back deck for morning coffee with the sound of the birds in the trees. The only thing that could have made this better was iced down beer and oysters waiting for us when we get there. Maybe Tim can do something about that on our next visit!!!

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a good time, thank you! Please come back for a 10% discount, I'll work on the oysters and beer. Regards, Tim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The Smith's review

  • 5 of 5

My third trip to the island - have stayed here every time. FYI, love the new floors. I bring my husband and kids here as often as i can, love that it's dog friendly. 1/2 block from the bay with the most amazing views of the sunset over Apalachacola. We walked to the beach every morning for sunrise and coffee. I think price wise it's the best deal on the island. We also enjoyed riding our bikes to Harry A's to eat dinner. Looking forward to coming back next year! Thanks Tim.

Sincerly, Paul and Margery Smith

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Paul for your great review! So glad you enjoyed your stay and our great island getaway. Please come back as I offer a 10% discount for repeat guests. Enjoy the rest of your summer, Tim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Renter Beware!

  • 1 of 5

This was our first vacation to SGI. The island was beautiful and we enjoyed our stay however, we were extremely disappointed with The Wahoo. We found the unit very untidy with sandy floors and unwashed bed linens. With that said, the worst part was the ROACHES! Yes, this unit has a major roach infestation. We contacted Tim immediately after discovering the roaches, but he never replied. The appliances are very old and worn out, the dry vent outside was almost completely clogged, beds were very uncomfortable and the couch is ready for the dump. Bottom line...Renter Beware! We will definitely visit the island again, but we will NOT be staying at The Wahoo.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry your experience was not what you had expected and you experienced a lot of rain during your stay. Fact: I arrived early at 1:30 pm day of check in to spray, check in is at 4:00pm, as my previous guest emailed me he saw a roach. You had already checked in, and with your luggage and belongings everywhere I could not do a proper job. With all the rain of the past two weeks the bugs have gone to higher ground to make matters worse. I am taking serious measures to resolve the bug problem, Florida does have bug issues. I asked you if everything else was in order and if the beds had been made etc. and you said yes. Your daughter even told me you are "clean freak" while I was there. My reviews over the years are mostly 5-4 star. The sleeper sofa is 2 years old, really? As a professional builder I take pride and do my best to keep my second home in tip top order. In addition my neighbor informed me the sheriff had two cars outside my house during your stay, nice. Also he informed me you 'jimmied' my front door open with a credit card when your children locked you out and I see now you destroyed the weatherstripping. Respectfully, Tim Riordan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Very very please

  • 5 of 5

This was our first vacation at Saint George Island and we loved it. My family and I were so please with this beach house. It was clean, excellent location and close to the beach. Tim was excellent to deal with and get a response from. The house was just as described and we had no issues whatsoever. Would highly recommend and I would book again. Thanks Jen & family

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

The house has a great location to walk to the beach and restaurants. Also a small grocery store not very far. The home is spacious enough and comfortably decorated. The deck makes you feel that you are up in the trees, listening to the birds! The area is beautiful and we would recommend a stay here.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Iowa city, IA

A quiet, comfortable, spacious house

  • 4 of 5

Also, very favorably situated with wonderful walks in every direction. Close to the bay and the beach. The house has a great large deck from which to watch birds, crashing storms, read or just relax and snooze. We had a lovely week.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Adrianne, Please come back soon. I offer a 10% discount for repeat guests. regards, Tim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Refundable damage deposit $500

Rentals in the summer season are by the weekly (7) night stay rate and the total rental rate is $1,300.00.
Taxes, cleaning fees and linens are included

Personal, business check or cashier/money order, ACH Transaction

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.