Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront, Dog Friendly, Great Ocean Views, 3rd Fl Bedr Suite

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 9-12)

We have some OCEANFRONT property in a house we call Arizona. From our back porch you can see the sea and miles of the Cape Hatteras National Seashore. The beautiful, non-crowded beach is directly across the dune. We have only rented the house for a few years, so it still has a very homey feel. WE RENT ONLY FROM SATURDAY TO SATURDAY. THE HOUSE IS STRICTLY A NON SMOKING HOUSE.

The house has four bedrooms and three and a half bathrooms. Each bedroom has direct access to the outside decks through sliding glass doors. Two of the bedrooms on the lower level have queen sized beds. The third has a pyramid bunk (twin over full) and a small TV (see picture). This level also has a full size washer and dryer setup in a hallway closet.

There is a third level with a master suite with an Italian four poster bed. This room also has a 22' HD TV with a Blu-Ray/DVD player and FREE streaming Netflicks. There are spectacular views of the dune and ocean from this room and a private deck. There is also a tiled bathroom and you can even see the ocean from its large jacuzzi bathtub!

The main level has a great room with plenty of comfortable seating, including two large sofas and several comfortable arm chairs. Both sofas are sleepers, providing extra beds, There is also a foosball table, which is a lot of fun. This level also has a separate media room equipped with a 51' HD TV powered by a DirecTV DVR HD satellite hookup, and a blu-ray DVD player with free streaming Netflicks for unlimited video viewing. The media room has a comfortable wrap around sofa that easily seats six people. The kitchen and dining area are also on this level. The kitchen is fully equipped. We are a family who loves to cook and it shows in the way that the kitchen is decked out.

Salvo is the southern most part of the tri-village which includes the villages of Waves and Rodanthe. The tri-village is positioned between the Pea Island National Wildlife Refuge to the north and 12 miles of pristine National Seashore to the South. It is more quiet than Avon and the village has a real local feel. Unlike the northern beaches, Salvo has a significant year-round population. It is far from the hustle and bustle Nag's Head and Kitty Hawk in so many ways.

Keywords: Beach House, Cottage,

More Details

Owner
David Rekosh
Member since: 2011
Speaks: swedish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

About David Rekosh

'We got some oceanfront property in Arizona.

From our front porch you can see the sea,

We got some oceanfront property in Arizona,

Now if you'll buy that we'll throw the Golden Gate in free!'

David Rekosh purchased this house in 1995

Amenities

Salvo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Queen size Beds (3) There are 3 queen beds, including one which is in the third floor master suite that is a four poster bed., Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) There is a queen sofa sleeper and a double sofa sleeper in the main room., Bunk Beds (1) This is a pyramid bunk with a lower double bed and an upper single bed
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is an outdoor shower under the house with hot water and a small changing room.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(44 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront, Dog Friendly, Great Ocean Views, 3rd Fl Bedr Suite
average rating of 4.840909 based on 44 reviews
5

Lovely stay on the ocean at Salvo

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful vacation house--and is the PERFECT dog friendly abode, with gates that lock on each deck level, keeping the pooches safe from escape! We hung hammocks on the decks and watched the stars at night, enjoyed a nice kitchen area and lovely sitting room. The photos in VRBO do not do this house justice, it's bigger than it seemed to us in every way. Top level MBR has a great view and sound of the ocean, and from which we watched the eclipse sunrise, one of the most beautiful I've ever seen. Highly recommend this home, it's beautifully decorated and very comfortable for a large family or group! And bring those pooches, they will love it too!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice comments. We're glad you and the dogs enjoyed the house!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great dog friendly house!

  • 5 of 5

Loved the all the decks! Very comfortable house and appreciated being able to bring my furbabies!!! Great location.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
maryland
4

the house was perfect for us!

  • 4 of 5

we are just back from a stay at the Arizona. The layout of the house was really neat and we were very comfortable. there were a couple of issues with maintenance and the property management were responsive. the reasons i could not give 5 stars are as follows: 1) the WIFI does not work adequately. we could not use it on any of our devices. i even called the internet provider to no avail, they kept telling me how great they showed our signal to be. we could join the internet, however, it would not stay on for more than 1 minute. when we watched Netflix, the connection would "re-buffer" about every 7 minutes. 2) there were some cleaning issues-a lot of dishes and the silverware all had to be cleaned by hand (even what was in the drawer). 3) the tv room and the bedroom with no ceiling fan stayed very warm, nearly uncomfortably so. additionally, i would recommend some cleaning supplies be left for visitors to use to help keep things tidy. all in all, the stay was terrific. Thanks.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for posting that the house was perfect for you and that the stay was terrific. We apologize for the few things you mention that prevented you from giving us a perfect score. In the summer, the Island is full of visitors who are all using the internet and the service can easity get overloaded, even though we subscribe to the one that is fastest and most reliable. Your stay was immediately after the power outage and it may be that upon restarting the air conditioning system developed a problem. We're sorry if that caused an inconvenience. We have notified Shore Details, the cleaning and maintenance company we use and they are checking things out. As you know, you could have phoned them too when you were there and they would have helped you out. Lastly, sometimes the hardness of the water leaves a slight residue on the silverware and plates that can be easily wiped off. We find that if a high quality dishwisher soap with a built in rinse like Cascade is used, the problem goes away right away. The dishwasher itself is brand new this year. We strive to give our guests the perfect experience, so we really appreciate the feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Lake Wylie, SC
4

Relaxation in Salvo

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at the Arizona and absolutely loved it! The house had plenty of room for 6 adults and 2 children. The kitchen offered everything we needed to prepare our meals each day and the beach is beautiful!

I would recommend this house to anyone that wishes to get away from the hustle and bustle of the northern beaches. There are plenty of stores nearby where we bought bait, groceries, ice cream and fudge. The dunes offer stunning views of wildlife throughout the day. The sunrises were amazing.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay and will visit again in a few years.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the very positive comments, full of superlatives like "absolutely loved it" and "wonderful". Since you seemed to enjoy your stay so much, we wonder what you felt was missing because we'd really like to know what we could do better to earn that fifth star!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Manassas/VA
5

Great vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a wonderful vacation at Arizona. The house layout, proximity to the ocean, the evenings on the decks, and ability to take our dog with us made our time there perfect. The house was very clean and we really enjoyed the fire on the beach. Thanks for a great week.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5

The Arizona was just what we were looking for. More than enough room, comfortable, and a great location. We traveled with 7 adults and pet's. We would definitely return on our next visit to the OBX to this property.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
REAL Watersports
Nearest Point of Interest
Atlantic Coast Cafe
Nearest Point of Interest
Lisa's Pizzeria
Nearest Point of Interest
Top Dog Cafe
Nearest Point of Interest
Blue Whale Market
Nearest Point of Interest
The Fishing Hole
Nearest Point of Interest
Salvo Day Use Area
Nearest Point of Interest
Boat Launching ramp
Nearest Point of Interest
Hatteras Watersports

You can walk to the beach right across the dune

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Damage Deposit $400

All rentals are Saturday to Saturday only. Rates include bed linens and towels. Pet fee is extra. No cats are allowed. The house is a non-smoking house. In the event of a mandatory evacuation due to weather, we will pro rate the stay and refund the unused portion.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties