Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean View, Studio Condo, 5th Floor @ Makai

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

SURF'S UP...This 5th Floor Studio Condo is bright, colorful and comfortable with a spectacular Ocean View. The pull out sleeper sofa is queen size. It is decorated with colorful straw umbrellas and surfer theme decor. The Makai Building is loaded with amenities such as a billiard room, indoor pool, sauna and fitness room. Located on 42nd Street, bayside, this place is right next door to the Ocean City Convention Center...there is no other place to stay in Ocean City that is more convenient to the convention center than here. The Makai Building was converted from a hotel to a luxurious condominium. It is beautifully painted and tastefully decorated as well.

Keywords: studio, apartment, condo, efficiency, room

More Details

Owner
Cynthia D'Azevedo
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 24, 2017

About Cynthia D'Azevedo

In 2009, we purchased and renovated our first OC condo on 80th street. In 2010, we acquired this unit as well as a unit on the 6th floor and transformed it from an empty unit to this fun and luxurious studio condo. We love setting up a vacation place to stay and share with other vacationers. Rentals are our business!

Cynthia D'Azevedo purchased this condo in 2010

Why Cynthia D'Azevedo chose Eastern Shore

We've been coming to OC since we were kids and have many fond memories of staying in Ocean City. We love the people, the CRABS and the Beach! If you love crabs, as we do, this property is directly across from On the Bay Seafood and their crabs are amazing and the service is great as well. If you are visiting the Ocean City Convention Center, this property is conveniently located on the bayside right next door.

What makes this condo unique

SURF'S UP - Unit #509 @ Makai has a spectacular Ocean View and is brightly decorated with Surfer Theme decor. Enjoy the 42' TV, fully equipped kitchen and luxurious bathroom.

Map

Car: not necessary

Amenities

Ocean City Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 5
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No outdoor grilling
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Queen Pull Out Sofa - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen Size Pull Out Sofa (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
20% Complete
16% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Ocean View, Studio Condo, 5th Floor @ Makai
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 24 reviews
4

Great location, great condo!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at this location! It was close to everything (beach, restaurants , etc)

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5

Great stay! 4th time staying in this unit. Great location. Nice balcony with views of the ocean! We'll be back soon! Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Small

  • 3 of 5

It was nice but no cable was the only issue nor internet

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

It was fine for a short stay.

  • 3 of 5

Great Location! Owner responds quickly to questions and concerns about property.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The Makai is great. This Room is Sub-Par

  • 3 of 5

Overall, I can't complain about the weekend. The Makai itself is in a great location, we had a nice view of the ocean, and enjoyed all the amenities that the condo complex offers. Cynthia is easy to communicate with and even let us switch dates, which I greatly appreciate. However, all the reviews you read about the pull out bed are true and then some. The bed is actually inverted so that your head rests way below your feet and it's almost impossible to close with the mattress topper on it (that slides off). We had to use the couch cushions to bring our heads up level so we could lay somewhat flat. Seems like they're waiting for it to completely break before buying a new one. I've stayed at low-budget motels with better beds. We didn't let it bother us much because we don't like to complain and we didn't see the point because what could have been done, really? We also just got engaged this weekend, so we were on a bit of a natural high anyway and not much bothered us. So, other than the terrible bed, the apartment itself is fine. Clean. All you need for a weekend trip. But I would definitely look elsewhere in the building as it seems there are 2BD/2BA apartments in the Makai with actual beds for the same price or within the same price range.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Congratulations on your engagement! Makai is a great building! Our cleaning crew does a great job and the view of the ocean is SPECTACULAR! I am always available to address your needs. I'm disappointed I wasn't given the opportunity to remedy the complaint at the time so that a comfortable experience would have been reported. I can assure you, I am not waiting for the bed to break. I thought that I had corrected the comfort issue with the bed by adding the topper and the previous guests have reported that the bed was fine. The reviews of the bed that were sub-par are old and prior to the corrective measures that were taken to make the pull out sofa comfortable. Proper set up of the bed when pulled out is required. If I would have been contacted when there was trouble setting up the bed, I could have had maintenance set up the bed and the problem would have been corrected immediately as I have done so in the past. UPDATE: 7/27/17 We replaced the pull out sofa completely with a new sofa with innerspring mattress.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great Vacation!

  • 4 of 5

My fiance and I had a wonderful time at Makai! The location was great!! Close to the ocean and the main strip! It was the best of both worlds. The room was clean when we arrived and our view was very nice. The pull out couch wasn't as bad as we thought. I loved having a kitchen so that we could make some meals instead of having to eat out every night. The only downer was that our washer broke day 3 into our 1 week stay and we were told it couldn't be fixed until the day we had to leave. Coming from an apartment, where I always have to go out and do laundry, this was a huge bummer. We were hoping we would be given money so we could at least find a place to do laundry and not go home with a ton of dirty clothes but unfortunately we were not compensated :( We were however given a gift-card for a restaurant of their choice but never got to use it. Overall, it was a very nice trip! It was our first BIG vacation together and we would gladly go back!

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: UPDATE: 7/27/17 We replaced the pull out sofa completely with a new sofa with innerspring mattress. Your gift certificate is still good for your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties