check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Free Cleaning on Week nights Jan 19-26! Breathtaking Lake Mtn View Fire Pit Wif

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Awesome view! The Perch is a secluded log home at a dead end street, paved all the way. Relax on a wrap around porch in one of the several rocking chairs with ONE OF THE BEST VIEWS of Lake Chatuge, mountains of Brasstown Bald (tallest point in Ga.) and sunset views, the pictures don't do the view justice! Enjoy a meal on picnic table on the porch or have a cozy fire in the outdoor fire-pit. All the comforts of home with a fully furnished log home that has linens, flat screen cable TV and wireless internet. The 3 bedroom home has one bedroom with a king-size bed with a twin day bed in one bedroom, second bedroom has a queen bed the 3rd room has a queen. Downstairs in the living area is a double futon, and a twin day bed also with a gas stove fireplace for cool nights, the king-size bedroom and 1 full bath. Enjoy a wood fireplace on the main level with a separate living area, kitchen, 2 bedrooms and 1 full bath. This home, just 2 miles to town, has a washer and dryer, dishwasher, microwave and ceiling fans. CABLE TV with an expanded SPORTS CHANNELS. Come and enjoy the peace and quiet in the beautiful North Georgia mountains.

Keywords: THE PERCH, Log home with Lake Chatuge view, see mountains of Brasstown Bald, sunsets, one of the best views in Hiawassee, secluded, paved drive at dead end road.

ASK FOR 3 NIGHT OR MORE SPECIALS!

More Details

Property Manager
Karen Harris
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 17, 2017

Why Karen Harris chose Lake Chatuge

The Perch is only 1 mile to the town of Hiawassee Georgia. Located at a dead end road, feel secluded in this lodge-style home. Hiawassee is one of the most beautiful towns in the North Georgian mountain area. Escape from the chaos and hustle of larger cities. The photograph does not do the view justice, come and see for yourself.

What makes this house unique

This real log cabin has one of the best views in Hiawassee. Sit in one of the tall adirondack chairs that looks over the rail or relax in one of the cushioned chaise lounges for a perfect lake, mountain and sunset view. The home sits on a private, secluded lot at the end of a dead end road, FULLY PAVED with parking for 2 cars wide. Only 2 miles from the middle of town.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

Free Cleaning on Week nights Jan 19-26! Breathtaking Lake Mtn View Fire Pit Wif
average rating of 4.7906976 based on 43 reviews
5

Great cabin. Great New Years!

  • 5 of 5

We've stayed at 2 of Karen's cabins now and would certainly come back.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Orlando, FL
5

Beautiful and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

The view was amazing and the house was clean and comfortable! We thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the balcony enjoying the view! The fireplace was great as well when the cool front moved in.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful view and enjoyed ourselves.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. We got some much needed rest. Our little dog who is 8 enjoyed just laying on the porch napping. She went on walks too. We went to Brass town Bald A super big mountain and could see several states. All in all we had a great time. Karen is very helpful. Sandra Byers

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Amazing view

  • 4 of 5

We all (people and dog) had a fantastic time at The Perch! The firepit was perfect for s'mores in the evening, and the view of the sky at night was amazing. It is incredible to be somewhere without all of the "light pollution" and actually see the stars and planets ... Mars and Saturn were viewable our first night, even without the telescope we found in the cabin. The really tall rocking chairs on the back deck were so much fun and let us see the whole view of the lake. The downstairs could have easily slept 5 more people with all the sofas and futons! This is the second cabin we have rented from Karen Harris and we were again very happy with the condition and amenities provided. Can't wait to book again next year!

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Seneca, SC
5

Great cabin!

  • 5 of 5

This is the second time we've stayed in one of Karen's cabins, and this stay was as enjoyable as the first one. The view is amazing, and the cabin is very close to downtown Hiawassee while still being secluded. The only problem we experienced was that the DVD player broke, but Karen had us a new one there within a couple of hours. We love the area, and Karen's cabins is where I will look first when planning next year's vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Why Did We Stay There?

  • 2 of 5

How do I start to tell of our experience......The week before we arrived for our two weeks, paid in full for the Perch, we were asked to move into an upgraded cabin called the Honey Lodge, due to the Perch cabin was having the kitchen cabinets varnished, which was okay, but we could only stay in this cabin for a week. This is where I find out the Manager, Karen Harris, is not the owner of the cabin property too. So, we had no choice and moved into the Perch for our last week, which the kitchen and cabin were not completely cleaned to my satisfaction and I ended up cleaning it, as to avoid being distributed by a cleaning crew. Also, we didn't received access to the cabin codes until the day we arrived within an hour of our arrival with limited cell phone service, unless you go back into town to clearly receive messages by email. By then at this point, I have basically cleaned two cabins upon leaving, which we are required to wash all the bed linens we used and remake the beds, take our trash to the dump facility, and still had to pay for a cleaning fee. All in all, I left both cabins cleaner than they were when we arrived, but the whole 2 weeks we were there, I felt we were hassled by texts from the Manager, Karen Harris, who I felt lied to us about getting a refund for having to move per the owners. Finally, I will say the Honey Lodge was very nice and a quite stay for the week we were there, and the Perch would have been just as nice, if it was cleaned properly and you didn't use any of the chairs in the closet, which are unstable causing one to break underneath with me, causing me injury and a severely bruised arm for a month after. Haiwassee, GA is a great place to visit and enjoy a vacation, but I would be very careful who you rent a cabin from while there.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate this guest moving to an upgraded home at no extra charge. A kitchen cabinet staining maintenance upgrade was done at the home and the work took longer than expected. We let the guest move back to the original home 2 days early at their request. We respect our guest privacy and do not go back into a home once it is occupied. We were not allowed to come back into the home to verify and address any issues due to their request to move back 2 days early before a weekend. A refund was requested but our policy is "if issues arise we will make every attempt to address and correct an issue but no refunds are given. Since this review was submitted so late I am sure the guest forgot about the substantial discount for the 2 week period (which is like free cleaning more than twice) and even though we do not refund money, they did get a $20 refund as promised. The reservation was for 2 people and possibly extra beds were made after extra guest that stayed at the home not on the reservation. With guest staying 2 weeks or longer trash would need to be taken to the land fill unless other arrangements are made with our cleaning crew and we do provide trash bags. Starting the wash is only a request, not mandatory. If anyone chooses to do more it is greatly appreciated because it helps us keep our rates down. We take pride in our homes and greatly appreciate the business from our new and returning guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
120 Miles
Atlanta International Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Blue Otter
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Brasstown Valley Resort, Young Harris, Ga.
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Hwy 76 and Hwy 75 Hiawassee
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Rib Country
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Towns County Mountain Beach
Car: necessary

Every Saturday night at 7pm until... A to Z Auction takes places at the end of Shakerag Road and Hwy 76. Auction is lots of fun with items from coffee, pocket knives, windchimes, cookies, comforters, trash bags and much much more all at great prices. Snack bar on site. Lots of fun!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hiawassee House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring Break
Mar 3 2017 - Apr 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
$80
From
$100
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer Season
May 26 2017 - Jun 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$110
From
$135
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $7 per night, per additional guest
 
Fourth of July.
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$130
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer Season
Jul 10 2017 - Aug 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
$110
From
$135
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $7 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak Leaf Season
Oct 1 2017 - Nov 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$115
From
$140
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 17 2017 - Nov 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$110
From
$135
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$75
From
$95
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $7 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $79 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

*Specials and rates do not apply to holidays, fair weeks and October. Specials on available dates only.
Booking deposit $100 and service fee non refundable. $100 per week booking deposit plus service fee. 12% tax/$75 cleaning fee/$25 pet fee $5 extra pet. (dogs only please)
$150 refundable damage deposit or pet damage deposit
Discounts on 3 night or more except Peak Season. Holidays and Fair weeks - 3 night min. Additional fee may apply for Fair weeks, holidays and groups of 6-10

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hiawassee House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake
  • Lake View ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , On main floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , On lower level
  • Two rolls of tissue for each bath, hand soap and shower gel provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 twin/ single , Tv in Master bedroom.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Bedroom on main floor.
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Futon and twin bed downstairs with large flatscreen tv.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Tv in bedroom on main floor.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Expanded SPORTS channels: Cable channels on WIN 1 package: (includes Basic channels) 16 QVC 18 MSNBC 20 Bravo 21 TBS 22 Discovery 23 FOX News 24 CNBC 25 CNN 26 HLN 27 TWC 28 ESPN Classic 29 ESPN2 30 ESPN 31 FS SOUTH 32 SPORTSOUTH 33 USA 34 AMC 35 Boomerang 36 Nickelodeon 37 Lifetime 38 Spike TV 39 HGTV 40 History 41 ABC Family 42 TNT 43 A&E 44 Comedy Central 45 FX 46 TLC 47 TV Land 48 Animal Planet 49 Cartoon 50 MTV 51 CMT 52 FOOD 53 Fox Sports 1 54 National Geographic 55 Disney 56 Syfy 57 VH-1 58 Travel 59 TCM 60 GOLF

Partner Offers