Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Cape Cod Home In Southwest Harbor, Close To Town, Bus And Acadia

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,976 sq. ft.
Property type house

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, Sleeps 8, On A Wooded Lot Close To Acadia

Charming 4 bedroom/2 bathroom house conveniently located in Southwest Harbor with easy access to the Island Explorer bus and Acadia National Park. First floor master suite with king size bed. Second floor has full bathroom, laundry room with full size washer/dryer, one king size bedroom, one queen size bedroom, and kids room with two twin size beds. Beautifully updated kitchen with granite countertops, dishwasher, microwave, electric stove, and refrigerator/freezer. Separate dining area with large dining table. Deck off dining area that opens to wooded back yard. Two car attached garage and mudroom. Basic cable and high speed internet. Hand pegged wood floors throughout the house. Pets considered. Nicely appointed!


Owner
Liz Pereira
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 14, 2017

About Liz Pereira

Hello MDI Travelers! My name is Liz and my husband Andy and I purchased our lovely home in 2014 while living in Chicago. We rented it out the first season we owned it and then both had the opportunity to work from home, so we moved into it for two years! Work obligations brought us back to Chicago this year, but we are so happy that we can share our home again. We hope you enjoy your stay at Penny's Place!

Liz Pereira purchased this house in 2014

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Hancock County-Bar Harbor Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Downtown Southwest Harbor
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Southwest Harbor
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Causeway Club
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Downtown Southwest Harbor
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Echo Lake

Amenities

Southwest Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1976 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Second Floor Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    First Floor Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Eaves Room - 2 twin/ single
    Upstairs Bedroom - 1 queen
    Downstairs Bedroom - 1 king
    Upstairs Bedroom - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
13% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Cape Cod Home In Southwest Harbor, Close To Town, Bus And Acadia
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 15 reviews
Arlington, VA USA
5

Very nice house

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here in early October, when the foliage was at peak. Beds were comfortable. Neighborhood was quiet. House was clean. As serious cooks, we were glad that we brought our own rasp, citrus reamer and other not exotic, but more than basic, kitchen tools.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! It sounds like you all made some wonderful meals while you were up there!. We'll be sure to crash the party next time. Ha! Many thanks, Liz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

perfect property for our family!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay in Liz's home! The location is awesome (very close to downtown Southwest Harbor and many entrances to Acadia), the house was well appointed with everything we could possibly need (lots of cooking gear, towels, washing machine/dryer, etc.), and Liz was a pleasure to work with! We'll definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review Liz! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and it was fun having my name twin stay in the house! We hope you'll visit again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Clean, family friendly!

  • 5 of 5

Liz's home was perfect for our big family. We had a great time and wished we had stayed longer

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Nice layout, good communication with the host

  • 4 of 5

Convenient location, nice layout, cozy. Could use a little sprucing up but priced accordingly. Comfortable for our group. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review, Jen! We're glad you all enjoyed your stay! Best, Liz
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great access to Acadia National Park

  • 2 of 5

This home has great access to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. We loved being able to access the park in 20 minutes when going to Cadillac Mountain for sunrise, sunset and star gazing. I was a bit disappointed in the kitchen cooking, serving dishes and utensils. I had to get creative when cooking/serving meals. There was one cooking pot, but 5 lids. We could use 2 out of the 5 burners on the stove top due to the ceramic top being cracked. Luckily we brought along a crockpot and electric griddle and made use of that for meals. Yes, there was a two car garage but we could not park our vehicles in the garage for the duration of our stay due to the previous tenant's bags of trash being there, the smell was horrendous. The trash was removed 4 days into our stay but the smell remained. We parked in the grass and were attacked by mosquitos every time we got in and out of our vehicles. My family enjoyed the back porch, using the Thermacell mosquito repellant it was a nice place for the older boys to hang out. (we do understand that mosquitos come with the territory). The beds were noted as kings, they were two twins on a king frame with a big slit down the middle. The house was minimal. The owners had moved out and left what they needed to rent it. We have rented houses on a private island for a lot less money to rent this house and those homes had fully stocked kitchens. For someone who just wants a drop and go place, this would work wonders. Our family tries to save money by eating in as much as possible. We truly enjoyed the sights of Acadia National Park but the house was a disappointment.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Sandra, Thank you for the review and I'm sorry your family did not have a better experience. We do an inventory before/after all our guests' departures and I can confirm that the kitchen was fully stocked with pots and pans both before and after your stay. I wish you would have mentioned that you had trouble locating them during one of the many times we spoke over the week. I would have been happy to help you find them. I'm also surprised to hear that you thought the provisions in the house were minimal. We did, in fact, move out of the home. But we moved back to our home in Chicago that we maintained while living in Maine. So we left almost everything in the house (even board games). With regards to the stove, our property manager and cleaning person both confirmed that the cook top was not cracked prior to your group's arrival, so I'm not entirely sure how to respond to your complaint. Regardless, we have since replaced it with a brand new stove for our guests. I apologize again for the trash in garage (the previous tenants generated more trash than normal). We had it removed within 48 hours of your check-in and our property manager did not notice any remaining smell in the garage. While we're sorry you did not enjoy your stay more, we were very confused when we received notification from HomeAway that you submitted a claim with your credit card company that the HomeAway charge to your credit card was fraudulent. This was after your stay, after our many communications, and after you wrote a review on the property. Nonetheless, we wish you all the best in your future travels. Thanks, Liz
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Very nice, clean, and spacious home.

  • 4 of 5

Except for the mosquitoes hovering around the house (not a problem most places on MDI) we really enjoyed our stay. The mosquitoes bothered my wife and daughter more than it did me. I thought they were tolerable. The house had lots of room and was very clean. The water pressure reminded me of my parent's house (flush the toilet and you lose all pressure at the sink, the washing machine, the showers, etc.). Not a real problem. More of a trip down memory lane for me. Since we were on vacation, we did not spend a lot of time in the house and ate most of our meals wherever we happened to be (Bar Harbor, mostly). The street is a bit rough coming off the highway, but I don't see this as anything the property owner can do anything about. Just need to go slowly. All in all, I highly recommend this property as a base for exploring Acadia NP and Mount Desert Island and its surroundings in general.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Timothy, Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay! The mosquitos have definitely been rough this year. We've always hesitated to spray since the property abuts Acadia National Park and there is so much wildlife around, but they really seem to be bothering our guests. As such, we have secured a service and will start spraying for our guests next season. Hopefully that will alleviate the problem. Many thanks! Liz
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Full refund for cancellations at least 30 days prior to arrival date. Refund for cancellations less than 30 days prior to arrival subject to owner's ability to re-book property.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties