expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Charming Cape Cod Home In Southwest Harbor, Close To Town, Bus And Acadia

Southwest Harbor, ME, USA
  • House1976 sqft
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay1 - 3 nights

4 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, Sleeps 8, On A Wooded Lot Close To Acadia

Charming 4 bedroom/2 bathroom house conveniently located in Southwest Harbor with easy access to the Island Explorer bus and Acadia National Park. First floor master suite with king size bed. Second floor has full bathroom, laundry room with full size washer/dryer, one king size bedroom, one queen size bedroom, and kids room with two twin size beds. Beautifully updated kitchen with granite countertops, dishwasher, microwave, electric stove, and refrigerator/freezer. Separate dining area with large dining table. Deck off dining area that opens to wooded back yard. Two car attached garage and mudroom. Basic cable and high speed internet. Hand pegged wood floors throughout the house. Pets considered. Nicely appointed!

Owner

Liz Pereira

Member Since 2014
Response rate:
100%
Response time:
within a few hours
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Apr 18, 2018
About Liz Pereira

Hello MDI Travelers! My name is Liz and my husband Andy and I purchased our lovely home in 2014 while living in Chicago. We rented it out the first season we owned it and then both had the opportunity to work from home, so we moved into it for two years! Work obligations brought us back to Chicago this year, but we are so happy that we can share our home again. We hope you enjoy your stay at Penny's Place!

Liz Pereira purchased this House in 2014

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Pets Welcome
    • Heater
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
      • Eaves Room
        2 twin/ single
      • Upstairs Bedroom
        1 queen
      • Downstairs Bedroom
        1 king
      • Upstairs Bedroom
        1 king

        Bathrooms

        • 2 Bathrooms
        • Second Floor Bathroom
          toilet, combination tub/shower
        • First Floor Bathroom
          toilet, combination tub/shower

          Location Type

            • Rural
              Nestled on a wooded lot, in a quiet neighborhood off Bass Harbor Road. 2 minute drive to downtown SW Harbor. Easy access to Acadia, Echo Lake, and all MDI has to offer.

              Theme

                • Adventure
                • Away From It All
                • Family
                • Romantic
                • Sports & Activities
                • Tourist Attractions

                  Meals

                    • Guests provide their own meals

                      General

                        • Clothes Dryer
                        • Garage
                          Two car, attached garage.
                        • Heating
                        • Internet
                          High speed internet.
                        • Iron & Board
                        • Linens Provided
                        • Living Room
                        • Towels Provided
                        • Washing Machine

                          Kitchen

                            • Coffee Maker
                            • Dishes & Utensils
                            • Dishwasher
                            • Kitchen
                            • Microwave
                            • Oven
                            • Refrigerator
                            • Stove
                            • Toaster

                              Dining

                                • Dining
                                • Dining Area
                                • comfy seating for 6 people

                                  Entertainment

                                    • DVD Player
                                    • Games
                                      Board games located in master bedroom closet.
                                    • Satellite / Cable
                                      Basic cable.
                                    • Television

                                      Outside

                                        • Deck / Patio
                                        • Lawn / Garden

                                          Suitability

                                            • wheelchair inaccessible

                                              Attractions

                                                • library
                                                • autumn foliage
                                                • botanical garden
                                                • churches
                                                • cinemas
                                                • coin laundry
                                                • festivals
                                                • forests
                                                • bay/sound
                                                • live theater
                                                • marina
                                                • museums
                                                • playground
                                                • pond
                                                • recreation center
                                                • restaurants
                                                • winery tours

                                                  Leisure Activities

                                                    • paddle boating
                                                    • antiquing
                                                    • bird watching
                                                    • eco tourism
                                                    • horseback riding
                                                    • beachcombing
                                                    • photography
                                                    • scenic drives
                                                    • sight seeing
                                                    • walking
                                                    • whale watching

                                                      Local Services & Businesses

                                                        • ATM/bank
                                                        • fitness center
                                                        • groceries
                                                        • hospital
                                                        • laundromat
                                                        • massage therapist
                                                        • medical services

                                                          Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                            • mountaineering
                                                            • basketball court
                                                            • deepsea fishing
                                                            • fishing
                                                            • fly fishing
                                                            • freshwater fishing
                                                            • golf
                                                            • hiking
                                                            • mountain biking
                                                            • mountain climbing
                                                            • cycling
                                                            • pier fishing
                                                            • rafting
                                                            • roller blading
                                                            • sailing
                                                            • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                            • snorkeling
                                                            • sound/bay fishing
                                                            • swimming
                                                            • tennis

                                                              House Rules

                                                              Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                              Check-out: 10:00 AM

                                                              Cancellation Policy

                                                              100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                              15 Reviews

                                                              Excellent4.3/5

                                                              Latest reviews

                                                              Very nice house

                                                              Eddie A.Arlington, VA USA

                                                              Stayed here in early October, when the foliage was at peak. Beds were comfortable. Neighborhood was quiet. House was clean. As serious cooks, we were glad that we brought our own rasp, citrus reamer and other not exotic, but more than basic, kitchen tools.

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! It sounds like you all made some wonderful meals while you were up there!. We'll be sure to crash the party next time. Ha!

                                                              Many thanks,

                                                              Liz

                                                              perfect property for our family!

                                                              Liz P.

                                                              We really enjoyed our stay in Liz's home! The location is awesome (very close to downtown Southwest Harbor and many entrances to Acadia), the house was well appointed with everything we could possibly need (lots of cooking gear, towels, washing machine/dryer, etc.), and Liz was a pleasure to work with! We'll definitely be back!

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              Thanks for the great review Liz! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and it was fun having my name twin stay in the house! We hope you'll visit again soon!

                                                              Clean, family friendly!

                                                              Dorie V.

                                                              Liz's home was perfect for our big family. We had a great time and wished we had stayed longer

                                                              Nice layout, good communication with the host

                                                              Jennifer P.

                                                              Convenient location, nice layout, cozy. Could use a little sprucing up but priced accordingly. Comfortable for our group. Thanks!

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              Thanks for the review, Jen! We're glad you all enjoyed your stay!

                                                              Best,

                                                              Liz

                                                              Great access to Acadia National Park

                                                              Sandra S.

                                                              This home has great access to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. We loved being able to access the park in 20 minutes when going to Cadillac Mountain for sunrise, sunset and star gazing. I was a bit disappointed in the kitchen cooking, serving dishes and utensils. I had to get creative when cooking/serving meals. There was one cooking pot, but 5 lids. We could use 2 out of the 5 burners on the stove top due to the ceramic top being cracked. Luckily we brought along a crockpot and electric griddle and made use of that for meals. Yes, there was a two car garage but we could not park our vehicles in the garage for the duration of our stay due to the previous tenant's bags of trash being there, the smell was horrendous. The trash was removed 4 days into our stay but the smell remained. We parked in the grass and were attacked by mosquitos every time we got in and out of our vehicles. My family enjoyed the back porch, using the Thermacell mosquito repellant it was a nice place for the older boys to hang out. (we do understand that mosquitos come with the territory). The beds were noted as kings, they were two twins on a king frame with a big slit down the middle. The house was minimal. The owners had moved out and left what they needed to rent it. We have rented houses on a private island for a lot less money to rent this house and those homes had fully stocked kitchens. For someone who just wants a drop and go place, this would work wonders. Our family tries to save money by eating in as much as possible. We truly enjoyed the sights of Acadia National Park but the house was a disappointment.

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              Hi Sandra,

                                                              Thank you for the review and I'm sorry your family did not have a better experience. We do an inventory before/after all our guests' departures and I can confirm that the kitchen was fully stocked with pots and pans both before and after your stay. I wish you would have mentioned that you had trouble locating them during one of the many times we spoke over the week. I would have been happy to help you find them. I'm also surprised to hear that you thought the provisions in the house were minimal. We did, in fact, move out of the home. But we moved back to our home in Chicago that we maintained while living in Maine. So we left almost everything in the house (even board games). With regards to the stove, our property manager and cleaning person both confirmed that the cook top was not cracked prior to your group's arrival, so I'm not entirely sure how to respond to your complaint. Regardless, we have since replaced it with a brand new stove for our guests. I apologize again for the trash in garage (the previous tenants generated more trash than normal). We had it removed within 48 hours of your check-in and our property manager did not notice any remaining smell in the garage. While we're sorry you did not enjoy your stay more, we were very confused when we received notification from HomeAway that you submitted a claim with your credit card company that the HomeAway charge to your credit card was fraudulent. This was after your stay, after our many communications, and after you wrote a review on the property. Nonetheless, we wish you all the best in your future travels.

                                                              Thanks,

                                                              Liz

                                                              Average Stay

                                                              Leo M.

                                                              Place is adequate for basic stay. However, it needs better cleaning and living care. There are lots of flying insects in the driveway and in front of the house. One of the bath vanity was clogged up. Owner did offer a plumber but we asked the repair to be done after our visit. Washer/dryer was good to have.

                                                              Owner's Response:

                                                              Hi Leo,

                                                              Thank you so much for your review and I'm sorry you didn't have a better experience. I am disappointed to learn the house needed better cleaning and we will certainly follow up with our cleaning crew to ensure this isn't a problem in the future. We have also since remedied the issue with the upstairs bathroom and I appreciate you bringing that to my attention.

                                                              Thanks,

                                                              Liz

                                                              Location

                                                              Southwest Harbor, ME, USA

                                                              Rates & Availability

                                                              Additional information about rental rates

                                                              Damage Insurance
                                                              $59
                                                              Damage Deposit
                                                              $250
                                                              Tax Rate
                                                              9%

                                                              Full refund for cancellations at least 30 days prior to arrival date. Refund for cancellations less than 30 days prior to arrival subject to owner's ability to re-book property.

                                                              $234avg/night
                                                              15 Reviews
                                                              Excellent 4.3/5
                                                              Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                              For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                              Property # 3755868ha

                                                              x