Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Panoramic Oceanfront Penthouse!

Bedrooms 3
Space 960 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

Condo, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-9)

This upgraded condo is on the top floor (4th) of the building and has 3 bedrooms and 2 full baths. This oceanfront unit is a stone's throw from the seawall and ocean. You'll enjoy unobstructed views of the whales, amazing sunsets and everything the ocean has to offer right from the comfort of your living room and lanai. Molokai and Lanai seem close enough most days that you feel like you can almost touch these neighboring islands.

The unit has been upgraded with granite counter tops and backsplashes in the kitchen, new carpet in both bedrooms, new beds and mattresses in the bedrooms and loft, new furniture and wood flooring in the living room, remote control lit fans in all the rooms, and new lanai furniture. All the linens and towels are new as well. Everything needed for your vacation is here, right down to clock radios in the rooms, air conditioning, beach towels, beach chairs and boogie boards. The only things you need to show up with are a rental car, spending money and your beach clothes.

The kitchen is complete with all major and minor appliances, plates, dishes, cutlery, cooking utensils and dining bar. There are a washer and dryer next to the main bathroom. The living room has a queen pull out sofa bed, two matching recliners, dining room table and 52' wall mounted TV complete with Blue Ray player. The living room opens through large glass doors to the spacious lanai that is truly an extension of your living area. The bar height lanai furniture seats 5.

The master bedroom has been furnished with a king sized 4 poster bed, dresser, night stands and opens onto the adjoining en-suite with corian counter, sink with private tiled toilet and shower area. A flat screen TV and DVD player have also been added to the master suite.

The 2nd bedroom has a queen bed with dresser, end tables, large closet and is next to the main bathroom. This bathroom is also furnished in corian counters, sink with private tiled toilet and shower area.

Going up the open wooden staircase from the living room you will find the private penthouse loft with 1 single bed, 1 queen bed, night stand, large closet, desk area, for those who may be forced to do a little work while away, and ample cupboards and drawers for you storage needs.

The Papakea Resort is a collection of eleven 4 storey walk up units, serviced with elevators and security, situated on 13 acres of perfectly manicured grounds. The lit tennis courts are next to the building that houses the reception desk, house keeping and Expedia. There are Yoga and Water Aerobics classes and Tennis lessons.

Please note that the Papakea does charge a facility fee of $17 USD per day, to a maximum of $170 USD per stay. This fee is not included in the quote provided, and will be payable to the resort at the time of check-in.

The oceanfront units are direclty on the ocean and the ocean view units surround 2 Koi ponds, 2 heated swimming pools with hot tubs and cabanas, 2 putting greens, 2 shuffle boards and 2 large BBQ areas. This building concept ensures every unit has a great view of the ocean and is uncrowded, low density living at its finest with direct access to miles of the worlds most pristine beach.

Keywords: Condo, private beach, family, quiet, pools, Whale watching from the Lanai

More Details

Amy Shipley
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 13, 2018

About Amy Shipley

We are Debbie & Keith with girls Amy, Rebecca and Corah from Alberta. After years of traveling to hot spots around the world the ladies asked why we had never been to Hawaii. The answer was ' the first time we vacation in Hawaii we'll never go anywhere else'. After a vacation to Maui and the Papakea 16 years ago we've never been anywhere else.

We're now able to share or home away from home with new and old friends all year long. The Papakea feels as good or better than home everytime we return and we're sure you'll feel the same way.

Amy Shipley purchased this condo in 2011


Lahaina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 960 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • In the event of a cancellation made by the traveller, all booking fees incurred by Home Away or VRBO will be covered at the expense of the traveller.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Please note this is an open air loft.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
18% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Panoramic Oceanfront Penthouse!
average rating of 4.763158 based on 38 reviews
Calgary, Ab

Had a great stay.Our unit was very accommodating. Had everything we need.

  • 5 of 5

The property was emaciated. The pools were great and well keep.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay, Luigi! Hope we can host you again some time soon. -Amy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great condo in great location

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay in suite A403. The ocean front location was so amazing to have morning coffee and happy hour drinks. The condo itself was great, a bit warm in the loft but easily made up for with the rest of the unit. The resort itself was nice, clean, and had lots to do when needing a day close to home.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our unit. The ocean front makes for a fabulous view. You'll need to come back at a time when the whales are in season! Thank you for the great review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Paradise, Ca

Stunning ocean front view from the comfortable lanai

  • 5 of 5

We totally enjoyed our stay in this condo. The view did not disappoint, sandy beach is a short walk away. Loved the grassy area for lounge chairs with ocean front view. The property is immaculate. The pool was also nice. The condo is comfortable and clean . We were there at a hot time of year and the air conditioning had a hard time keeping up.. bedrooms were a bit warm at night. Owners were great to deal with and very accomadating. Overall a great property, we would definitely return.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the condo, and that you had a great time on the island. We love the Papakea and feel fortunate that we were able to share it with your family. Thank you for the kind review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Our stay was in April of 2017

  • 5 of 5

The best thing about this condo is the view. We enjoyed sitting outside in the Lanai looking at the ocean and beautiful sunsets as well as the occasional turtles. The condo itself was comfortable for the amount of people we had. We stopped at the COSTCO close to the airport and stocked up on food for the kitchen and cocktails.

We traveled with another couple and with two 20 year olds who slept in the loft bedroom. Location of the condo is within walking distance of beautiful beaches and other resorts. Thanks for the information sheet provided on things to do and close by stores and restaurants. It was very helpful. The resort is almost too quiet at the pool areas and could've used some nice Hawaiian or background music to make it more lively.

We took one of your folding chairs to the beach and when we opened it up the seat cloth was ripped. The chair was thrown away so you could probably use 2 more new chairs since the remaining one is aging.

Thanks for a fabulous stay in your condo, we would book it again if we return to Maui in the future. L. Schmidt

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review, Lourdes. The lanai is fantastic, and we're happy that you enjoyed it as well. Thank you for letting us know about the chairs, we'll get a couple more in there. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Take care.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location, comfortable place

  • 5 of 5

You could spend the entire time out on the balcony, the view and the breeze never get old. Easily spot turtles everyday. Complex very quiet and accomodating. Rooms were large and the loft was nice, although the stairs would not be recommended for littler ones. Would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: May 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you had a great time, Patrick! The balcony is our favourite part as well, and our kids love seeing the turtles. Thank you for the review. Take care, Amy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Extravagant and amazing

  • 5 of 5

The Papakea Resort was amazing A403 was just breathtaking loved every single bit of it and we will definitely come back and see your guyses place again

Glover Family

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you loved our home, Jaimi! It makes me want to be there :) Thank you for the wonderful review, and we hope you're able to join us again in the near future. -Amy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Ka'Ana Kitchen
Hawaiian Restaurant
Wailea Kitchen and Tap
American Restaurant
Morimoto Maui
Japanese Restaurant
Ulua Beach
Lappert's Hawaii Ice Cream and Coffee
Ice Cream Shop
Cheeseburger Island Style
Hamburger Restaurant
Manoli's Pizza Company
Pizza Restaurant
Humble Market Kitchin
Hawaiian Restaurant
Tommy Bahama
Hawaiian Restaurant
Longhi's Wailea
Maui Vegan Personal Chefs
Vegan Restaurant
Fabiani's Italian Restaurant
Italian Restaurant
Pita Paradise
Greek Restaurant
The Market
Monkeypod Kitchen by Merriman - Wailea
Hawaiian Restaurant
Mo' Bettah Food Truck
Bistro Molokini
Californian Restaurant
Polynesian Restaurant
Wailea Beach
Ferraro's maui
Pizza Restaurant
Ferraro's Bar e Ristorante
Italian Restaurant
Duo Steak & Seafood
Steak House
Hawaiian Restaurant
Sarento's On the Beach
Mediterranean Restaurant
5 Palms Restaurant
Pacific Rim Restaurant
The Restaurant at Hotel Wailea
American Restaurant
Nick's Fishmarket Maui
Seafood Restaurant
Caffe Ciao
Italian Restaurant
Ama Bar And Grill
Hawaiian Restaurant
Mulligans on the Blue
Irish Restaurant
Polo Beach
Kamaole Beach Park III
Kamaole Beach Park II
808 Deli
808 Bistro
Moose McGillycuddy's - Kihei
Fred's Mexican Cafe - Kihei
Mexican Restaurant
Coconut's Fish Cafe
Seafood Restaurant
Da Kitchen Express
Hawaiian Restaurant
S and Q's Coffee & Shave Ice Shack
Cafe O'Lei Kihei
Pacific Rim Restaurant
Hawaiian Restaurant
Maui Thai Bistro
Thai Restaurant
Maui Tacos
Mexican Restaurant
Po‘olenalena Beach
Taqueria Cruz
Mexican Restaurant
Maui Teriyaki
Japanese Restaurant
Koiso Sushi Bar
Maui Fish'n Chips
Fish & Chips Restaurant
Cafe @ La Plage
Nearest Airport
29 Miles
Kahalui Airport
Car: recommended

A 10-minute drive gets you to: the PGA golf courses at Kapalua, Plantation and Bay right next to the Ritz Hotel, world class surfing, boggie boarding, cliff diving, stand up paddle boarding, Napilli Bay turtle snorkeling, rain forest hiking and zip lining, horse back riding, scuba diving, sport fishing, sailing, ocean kayaking, whale watching tours, helicopter tours and the shopping and history of old Lahania Towne and Whalers Village. The on-site Expedia agent will also arrange any possible tour you can imagine.




Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Tax Rate 13.62%

**Rates are based off US Dollars.**

Daily Maid Service available at additional cost.

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties