The Shack- 3 bedroom finished house

Photo gallery for The Shack- 3 bedroom finished house

A living room with hardwood flooring, two black leather sofas, a coffee table, and a TV mounted on the wall.
A bedroom with a bed, a ceiling fan, a nightstand, a dresser, and a wall-mounted TV.
A kitchen with grey walls, wooden cabinets, a stainless steel oven, and a built-in microwave.
A spacious living room with hardwood flooring, a mounted flat-screen TV, and a door leading to a kitchen area.
A small, single-story building with a red door and windows, a picnic table, and a barbecue grill outside.

Reviews

7.8 out of 10
Good

Highlights

  • Made for relaxation
    Top-rated for comfort — guests feel right at home here.

Popular amenities

  • Dog-friendly
  • Barbecue grill
  • Air conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Washer
  • Internet

Explore the area

View in a map
Leadwood, MO
  • Place, Big River
    ‪2 min drive‬
  • Place, Elephant Rocks State Park
    ‪36 min drive‬
  • Place, Johnson's Shut-ins State Park
    ‪48 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 6)

Bedroom 1

1 King Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Double Bed

Bedroom 3

1 Twin Bunk Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet · Hair dryer

Spaces

Kitchen
Outdoor play area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the neighborhood

Park Hills

Park Hills is home to this vacation home. St. Joe State Park and St. Francois State Park reflect the area's natural beauty and area attractions include The Space Museum & Grissom Center and Farmington Water Park.
Map
Leadwood, MO

What's nearby

  • Big River - 2 min drive - 1.8 km
  • Missouri Mines State Historic Site - 9 min drive - 11.2 km
  • Elephant Rocks State Park - 36 min drive - 41.6 km
  • Johnson's Shut-ins State Park - 48 min drive - 64.1 km
  • Taum Sauk Mountain State Park - 49 min drive - 60.5 km

Getting around

  • Arcadia Valley Station - 45 min drive
  • St. Louis Lambert Intl. Airport (STL) - 82 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪McDonald's - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪Casey's - ‬13 min drive
  • ‪The Old Mine House Bar and Grill - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪PIZZA 101 SOUTH - ‬15 min drive
  • ‪SONIC Drive In - ‬9 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is The Shack- 3 bedroom finished house pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total).

How much does it cost to stay at The Shack- 3 bedroom finished house?

As of Oct 27, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at The Shack- 3 bedroom finished house on Jan 3, 2027 start from $143, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking?

Onsite parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at The Shack- 3 bedroom finished house?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at The Shack- 3 bedroom finished house?

Check-out is at 10:00 AM.

Where is The Shack- 3 bedroom finished house located?

Situated in Park Hills, this vacation home is 1 mi (1.6 km) from Big River and within 6 mi (10 km) of Missouri Mines State Historic Site and Columbia Park. St. Joe State Park and Irondale Park are also within 9 mi (15 km).

Reviews

7.8

Good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labeled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 4 out of 10 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 3 out of 10 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 2 out of 10 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 10 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 10 reviews

7.6/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

9.0/10

Communication

6.8/10

Location

8.6/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Disliked: Location

Decent place

Was pretty clean and overall enjoyed our stay
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great location

We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the home and it was close to where we were going to be. Communication with the owner was always quickly responsive and friendly.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2025
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, listing accuracy

House hunting

Was perfect for what we needed to accomplish. WiFi was excellent. It was very private.
Stayed 29 nights in Apr 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family get together

Overall great. Just as stated.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on Sep 9, 2024
Thank you!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Quiet and comfortable

At the end of quiet street. Roomy and comfortable with all your basic needs. You do need to bring your own paper towels and coffee, everything else was provided. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return. Only complaint is bathtub drain was very slow.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Close enough to everything and well worth driving for the price

Clean home partially updated. Mostly furnished with everything you need to cook and clean. Location is a bit odd (google map it on satellite view) but it is still private enough. Host is SUPER responsive and was a gem to converse with. Answered all our questions extreamly quickly and even allowed us to check in a few hours early (texted after cleaning lady was finished). We all felt the host went above and beyond and did not require anything from us. Enjoyed our stay here emensly no complaints what so ever.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on Aug 1, 2024
Thank you so much!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, listing accuracy
We were visiting St Joe State Park and wanted to spend two days there. This house allowed us to stay in close proximity to the park and had comfortable beds to rest up for day number two. We had plenty of space and were grateful that our dog was welcome. We were not able to find paper towels or hand towels in the kitchen or bathroom. Not a big deal, we went out & bought some. However, the shower needs some work. It was not very clean and the floor underneath did not feel safe.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on Nov 25, 2025
Thank you for the your stay, we have taken your feedback and improved the shower.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, listing accuracy
Disliked: Location

February visiting family

Kevin is a really nice guy. When we arrived the smoke alarm needed a battery and come to find out the heat wasn't working. He came right over and fixed both. However the coffee cups were dirty and the silverware was questionable. The shower didnt have much water spray.
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2025
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy

Friend visit

Suppose to stay in the shack, but Carpet was just cleaned the day I was suppose to stay. He gave us a place next door that was nice. Shack was a 3/1 and the second one was a 2/1. Believe I should have been compensated for the difference. Nothing was ever said about it it. . No shampoo or bars of soap , no paper towels. Expected to start laundry dishwasher, sweep floors and take garbage out . Don’t know what the fees were if I was expected to clean everything.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2025
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in, communication
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
When I arrived the first step in the door I could smell animal urine. I went room to room and was shocked by how the carpets, ceilings, tub, rear entrance door and the front entrance door looked. The front door is secured by maybe a 1/2”, you can see the outside, and the door moves with the slightest pressure on it. All rooms that were carpeted were stained with either pet urine, beverage spills or who knows what. The tub has a huge crack down the middle that feels like you’re going to fall through when you put weight on it, and is filthy but that may just be from the water type (smelled like rotten eggs). The rear door had packaging tape around the border, probably trying to keep small insects out? Kitchen ceiling is falling apart, possible water damage. I didn’t feel comfortable using the cookware, so I used the grill (no lighter fluid or charcoal) once. Got some extra blankets/pillow at the D General and slept on the couch, thought that was the safest route. My dog and I had fun hiking in the area but I would not return to this home under any circumstances. Not as advertised in my opinion. I absolutely hate writing bad reviews but it’s been bugging me for quite some time. Not sure the other positive reviews and I stayed at the same location?
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2025
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback