Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful. Cozy. Downtown.

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 3,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 9) August and July rent by the week only

Location, Location, Location! Our 1792 brick beauty with 4 BRs and 3 BAs. Preserved on the outside while inside it has been magnificently transformed! Expansive, warm contemporary interiors w/views of the water & harbor. Situated in the best location right in the core of downtown. The oversized master suite offers fantastic views, custom closets & a luxurious bath. Private fenced-in patio.

Our house is just a few yards away from the brand new Clipper City Rail Trail Walk or bike along the1.1 mile multi-use pathway. Haley’s Ice Cream and various bakeries, coffee shops, and restaurants located a short distance from the trail.

Just a block and half away are downtown Newburyport's Market Square where holiday events and live entertainment go on.

Newburyport/Plum Island is world-famous as a “natural history” destination. Recognized as one of the nation’s finest birdwatching areas, birders and nature enthusiasts from around the world come to this area.

There are whale watch cruises with Newburyport Whale Watch, deep-sea fishing boats, evening party boats, public docks, sunset cruises, and harbor tours.

Kayaking are ways to enjoy the river and sea. In the summer, the Merrimack River is full of boats; you don’t have to have your own to enjoy the beauty from the water. Instead, you can take a narrated harbor tour or a Plum Island Ecotour.

There are plenty of fish to be caught in the Merrimack River and offshore. If you enjoy fishing, you can cast your lines off the shore of Plum Island, or sign up for an off-shore excursion with the Captain’s Fishing Parties, Rocky Point Fishing Charters or the Clipper Fleet. Or hire a charter boat with Channel Edge Charters.

Bicycling, running, jogging and walking around the flat streets of the city are popular pastimes. Newburyport’s reputation for exquisite fare is well known throughout New England and beyond. Park your car and you are in walking distance to over thirty restaurants. Locals, day-trippers, and tourists flock to this city of dining delights, not only in the summer but year-round.

We hope you enjoy your vacation in our beautiful home.

Sean and Monica Welsh

*Please note, we have one nest security camera on the exterior front of the house.

**Please note that our 218-year-old home does not have central air. It does have seven air-conditioners, one in each bedroom and two on the first floor. The attic master suite in extreme weather conditions can become too hot for both the ceiling fan, skylight shades and air conditioner. We can not be held responsible for the weather.

***No discounts

Keywords: beach, water view, brick, federal, house, newburyport, salisbury, plum island, newbury, seabrook, portland, maine, boardwalk, shopping, seaside, coastal, quaint

More Details

Owner
Monica M Welsh
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 13, 2018

About Monica M Welsh

Sean and I both work in Advertising in New York City. We bought the house shortly after moving from San Francisco to Newburyport. Since this was our first home, there has been a lot of love put into it. We added a brick sidewalk and landscaping not long after moving in. We enjoy golfing, biking and swimming in the area. We have a 14-year-old cockapoo named Brownie, that loves to chase after squirrels in our yard. After weeks in the city, Brownie is glad to enjoy her yard in Newburyport.

Monica M Welsh purchased this house in 2002

Why Monica M Welsh chose Newburyport

We chose Newburyport for its beauty and its schools. Being urban people, we wanted to live near where the action is. Our house is in a very desired location near town. We love being steps away from everything downtown. Running back to our house from a waterfront concert downtown is a nice convenience.

What makes this house unique

We have enormous windows with views of the water. The pedicabs run around our block all the time so catching a ride is easy. We have a treadmill in the master with a view of the river that is magnificent. Our home is stylish yet comfortable

Amenities

Newburyport House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9 ...
  • Max. adults: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • You must have a VRBO rating.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 1 Full Bathroom on the first floor 1 Full Bathroom on the second floor 1 Full Bathroom on the fourth floor master
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Library - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Blow up Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
16% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful. Cozy. Downtown.
average rating of 4.774194 based on 31 reviews
New York
5

Artfully decorated downtown Home

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at this art-filled home.

A perfect location and walkable to everything. All communications were easy!

We’d return again in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

a Lovely, historic home in a great location!

  • 4 of 5

My family had a great week! The house is in the perfect location with many shops and restaurants a short walk away. The only downside was the upstairs master bedroom was very warm. We were there during a heat wave and the ac unit in the room did not keep it cool. We survived by using many fans in addition. Overall a great experience and we would definitely go back!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Michele Glad you had a good during the heat wave. Sorry about the master. We are working on it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Needs more attention to details

  • 3 of 5

Location to downtown and river is very convenient, but house is right off a main road so there was lots of traffic noise. In addition, there is currently a construction site next door so we experienced lots of vibrations and many pictures were hanging askew.

House was plenty spacious with a very well-equipped kitchen. Many little welcoming details were missing. It was only on the last day of our stay that we noticed a binder but in it, details about the house were sparse – no instructions on how to use TV, where to find trash/recycle bins etc.

Cleaning was casual and haphazard (blinds not dusted, damp bath mats in washer, random items strewn in cupboards so you couldn't find hanging space) and there were some maintenance issues (mildewed shower curtain in one of the bathrooms, hand-shower head missing in main bathroom, jersey sheets in one bedroom had small holes & were too shrunken to stay in place, door lock intermittently failed, grass in back yard was a foot high).

Slow response from owner (14 hours) when we could not find extra bed linens for the futon in the library.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jennifer I am so sorry you had a few issues at the house. That said I appreciate your feedback and will forward it to my housekeeper. The construction next door is unfortunate, but I’m glad to hear you only experienced vibration. I believe the construction is over now. I did replace the shower curtain when we were in the house after your stay in May. We put much time into the binder, so I’m sad you were not able to find it. Another thing I mention to my housekeeper. Again thanks for your helpful feedback. Monica
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home great location very unique

  • 5 of 5

Very clean and well kept

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect stay in perfect house in lovely Newburyport1

  • 5 of 5

Location was great, house was comfortable and easy to manage, owners super. Would stay again in a heart beat.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous downtown property

  • 5 of 5

Walking distance to everything Newburyport! Gracious hosts too.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Logan Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Black Cow Restaurant and Bar
Nearest Golf
2.7 Miles
Evergreen Golf Course
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Newburyport Train Station
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Interstate 95
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Black Cow Restaurant and Bar
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Plum Island Beach
Car: not necessary

Check the Newburyport Chamber for Dates

Eagle Fest, February

Spring Fest, Memorial Day Weekend

Yankee Homecoming, usually the last week in July

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $225

*Rates are subject to change.
1-week minimum during July and August.
Please make sure to put trash out on the curb by the street on Monday night or before you leave.
Failure to do so could result in a $50 extra trash charge.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.