check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

San Juan River Village /Wolf Creek townhome

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

Townhome, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

One of three luxury townhomes on it's own one acre 2 story town home, 3 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, 1 car garage with mountain views and San Juan River in San Juan Mountains.

fifteen miles from Wolf Creek Ski Resort and five miles to Pagosa-Springs

HD Satillite TVs, Internet, DVD, CD, Surround Sound System, Gas powered Fireplace, use of garage for cars and SUV's (please no trucks there's only a 6' clearance in garage), Bar B Que Grill, Fire Pit out back - with wood in beautiful San Juan river village

Note about Supplies:

We furnish renters with basic supplies: 6 rolls toilet paper, 2 paper towels, 3 garbage bags, 3 loads dishwashing det. and 3 loads of laundry detergent and tissues. Roughly enough for a 4 day stay for a group of 6. Those staying longer may need to restock. We do not furnish any personal toiletries such as body wash or shampoo or toothpaste so don't forget to pack those!

Keywords: Townhome, 2 story, HD TV, Internet, DVD, CD, Firepit in back, Hiking, Fishing, Skiing

More Details

Robert Ludwig
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 23, 2017

About Robert Ludwig

Cathy and I live locally and manage this property ourselves so we have checked the place personally before you arrive and are able to make sure everything goes right with your stay.

Robert Ludwig purchased this townhome in 2007

Why Robert Ludwig chose Pagosa Springs

We are conveniently located in a resort community just 15 miles down the mountain from the Wolf Creek Ski Area and 5 miles outside Pagosa Springs on the Wolf Creek side. San Juan River Village is located just off 160 and stays well plowed through winter. We also plow the driveway included in your rental. We have river access right in the village to tube into town or fish. We also offer a stocked pond for the kids.

What makes this townhome unique

close to the slopes and the hot springs

river access

view of the San Juan mountains


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

San Juan River Village /Wolf Creek townhome
average rating of 4.5 based on 24 reviews

Magical White Christmas with family in this lovely Pagosa Springs home

  • 5 of 5

My family and I just returned from a magical Christmas week spent at this lovely home just outside Pagosa Springs. The house was just perfect for our holiday and vacation with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The kitchen and dining room were well equipped and easy to prepare meals in. the split living room floor plan upstairs was interesting but not in a bad way. The views from the upstairs dining room were fantastic. We loved the ample space in the foyer for taking off and storing snowy winter gear. The beds were comfy and warm, and the linens were very nice.

We skied at Wolf Creek and it was wonderful to be a few miles in the right direction making the drive better than we are used to. Having a 2 car garage was fantastic given the foot of snow we received on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. We did ask for a white Christmas, and the Ludwigs delivered beautifully with this property and all that comes with it.

One final note - we arrived in between a couple rounds of snowstorms - the proprietor called me 24 hours ahead to let me know about the weather and his concern for part of our party driving in from Texas. We arrived safely and without any issues, but it was nice to have a local giving us a report and advice for routes to choose, etc.

We definitely plan to return and can't thank the Ludwigs enough for a truly fabulous and memorable white Christmas (the very first ever for our family!)

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Celia, We couldn't be happier that you received the white Christmas you were hoping for! Thank you for the lovely review. The shorter drive to Wolf Creek is definitely one of the best things about the townhome. You can get to Pagosa Springs in a few minutes but you don't have to navigate through town to get to the slopes. I am especially glad you appreciated the nice linens since I had just replaced all the towels prior to your arrival. We like to keep the place in top shape and strive to be a great buy for the price. We loved having you and look forward to your return visit. Keep our listing number and see you next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent location for wolf creek and town!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying here. 5 mins from town and about 20 mins for Wolf Creek (depending on snow of course). They had great big windows to watch the snowfall. Great little place if you want to get away and relax. They had good little nooks to cozy up and read or watch TV. Great kitchen that had tons of kitchen utensils one wouldn't think they would need or forget. For example tongs! That was a life Saver. Great rooms with plenty of space. It was all around a great place! Thanks guys we will be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great cabin!

  • 5 of 5

Great location. Well maintained and clean. Comfortable beds. Exactly as advertised. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the review . Hope to see you next year and returning with 10% off. Robert and Cathy Ludwig
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Surprise Birthday Weekend for my Outdoorsman Husband and friends!

  • 5 of 5

I surprised my husband with this amazing townhouse for his birthday with our friends, and it was BEYOND our expectations! They literally think of everything thing that you might possibly need while staying there as far as the necessacities! The backyard was perfect to set up our corn hole game, grill away and roast marshmallows! There was plenty of room for everyone and our friends dog! It was super clean and felt like home, the beds were super comfortable, and Robert kept in constant contact to make sure everything was perfect! The townhouse is super close to any outdoor activities, we brought our razor and were conveniently located to multiple trails my husband loves the outdoors and he enjoyed every second! I cannot rave enough this is the best surprise for your money, and we will be returning!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kylee, I remember how excited you were in planning this surprise for your husband and we are so glad our place helped you make it such a success! Unlike some properties that are strictly rentals we love to spend time out there and cook and sit out back so the place is indeed stocked right down to the skewers for kabobs if you so wish! Please do keep our listing number somewhere safe and we would be glad to be part of your vacation plan for next year! Thanks again for booking with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great week at the San Juan River Village/Wolf Creek townhouse

  • 4 of 5

We had a great week at this property! It was very clean, very comfortable and the kitchen was very well equipped with dishes, cooking utensils and basic cooking needs. ( Spices, oils, condiments etc.) The back yard was delightful with fire ring and plenty of wood for a camp fire to make smores. Pagosa Springs was easy to get to from this location for shopping and going to The Springs (mineral springs for soaking). There were many trailheads in this area for hiking in the National Forests.Wish we could have stayed longer and are seriously considering a return visit.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Nancy, Thank you so much for your kind review. We want you to know that we are constantly striving to improve the experience for our guests. Advice and critiques help us to do just that and we appreciate it. We hope to see you on a return visit next season. Just keep our listing number handy!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not the stay we had expected.

  • 1 of 5

I rented this property for 12 days. At arrival we were greeted by mice. The owner stated he would have someone out to solve the problem in the am. The next morning he called and asked if I could handle the problem myself, since I bought mouse traps and he wasn't sure if his friend was available. During the stay we caught 5 mice. The owner stated he never had a problem before, yet we saw a mouse trap in the garage. He offered a 1 night refund for the issue and said "hopefully, you won't write a bad review with the refund". Prior, he had offered an extra night free, 2 days later, he rescinded the offer because he wanted to rent to someone else.

I had specifically asked if the property had high speed internet. Prior to booking I was told yes and he had just recently upped the speed. Let me say, I didn't expected cable high speed but I did expect what is technically considered high speed which is 10+Mbps. Upon usage I found it had a speed at maximum 2mbps. I messaged the owner encouraging checking with his provider due to it being below the high speed limit and he told me he had just upped it for me, which was a lie, as he had told me he had just upped the speed, prior to my booking. He didn't check with his provider about speed issues.

There are no fans for the property, with the exception of a ceiling fan in the loft. We were there 12 days with an average temp of 87. I asked about fans and I was told they aren't needed, just open windows. At that temp and no breeze, fans are a must and we went out and purchased them. Also, the downstairs bedroom only has a sliding glass door as a window, however, it's missing a screen. So it's impossible to leave it open at night and no fan, it's very uncomfortable. The kitchen window is also missing a screen, if you try to open in the evenings to help cool down the house, you can expect the house to be filled with bugs.

The property also butts up right to the highway to Wolf Creek. If you are wanting a quiet serene setting to enjoy the outdoors, this is not your property. Saturday the traffic was so heavy that all windows had to be closed to try and mask some of the noise but it was still very noisy.

I have since received an email from the owner denying 1 night refund, accusing my daughter of coloring on walls. She has special needs and doesn't use crayons. He accused of us not using garbage bags, which is not true. He essentially called us animals. We purchased $40 in mouse traps, with no reimbursement

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Robert and I love renting our 2005 townhouse on Homeaway, largely because of all the great people we meet. Our reviews speak for themselves and since we have overwhelmingly positive remarks we know we must be doing something right! However, all experiences can't be positive and so it was with this nightmare tenant who complained from the moment she,her mother and toddler got there . We had never allowed a cat in our home before and were as surprised as anyone when the cat did discover mice. I'll paste our letter to her below. Regarding, internet, Dish satellite internet is not blazing fast but it has been the most reliable in these mountains that we have found. When we are here, we spend less time surfing and more time sitting out back enjoying the fire pit. We haven't been bothered by bugs at all. We're on a one acre lot well off 160, the two lane hwy that runs between Pagosa and Wolf Creek so we are perfectly convenient to both. The kitchen screen was broken by the previous renter and will be replaced immediately. Dear Michelle, We wanted to take a minute to write you regarding your recent stay. We take pride in our home and make every effort to see that our guests have the best experience possible. We were very sorry to hear that your stay was less than ideal. We were entirely ready to forward to you the refund of one day in order to set things right. However, we furnish our guests with trash bags for up to a week stay and expect longer renters to realize that when they run out of supplies they are expected to furnish their own. That is a standard practice in the industry. Thats why we were very dissappointed to hear from our manager and receive pictures (which we would be happy to forward to you) that you were placing your unbagged trash, diappers, and cat poop in our waste bin. We paid our housekeeper extra to pick what she described as a disgusting mess out of the can and bag it for you. Something she easily could have refused to do. We were especially dissappointed to hear that you let your toddler scribble with crayon on our walls and we are not exactly sure how to rectify that with out touching up with some paint. We expect our renters to respect our home and be good stewards of it. Had we known, we would have required a damage deposit from you. Instead, It is for these reasons that we will not be sending the refund of one day as discussed. We can only hope you can understand our position and wish you luck finding a rental in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Golf
8 Miles
36 holes pagosa sprngs country club
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Nearest Ski
14 Miles
wolf creek ski resort
Car: necessary

Fire Pit outside fire wood B B Q

walking distance to san juan river and fishing pond for kids national forest access rafting and fly fishing

back with seating area and firewood


Rates & Availability

San Juan River Village Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Superbowl weekend
Feb 3 2017 - Feb 5 2017
2 night minimum stay
spring break
Mar 1 2017 - Apr 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
holiday 2017
Dec 18 2017 - Jan 7 2018
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $125
Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 8.0%

Check out time is 10am . Check in is 4pm. This is a non-smoking house. Evidence of smoking (including smell) will result in a $100 being withheld from your damage deposit. We have chairs available so that you may smoke outside. Thank you!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


San Juan River Village Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • one full bath down stairs and one full and one half bath up stairs
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (3)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Fire pit out back, hiking, biking, snow mobiling, fishing, hunting, 300' from San Juan River, San Juan River National Forest

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties