Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Book Now, only one prime week in July left, two in August! Offseason rates June.

Bedrooms 5
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 0 - 31 nights


About the property

Beautiful Summer Rental with excellent reviews! Winter 2018 rental considered!

Enjoy a beautiful summer retreat. Walk to largest beach in Rhode Island - Matunuck Town Beach - Beach Pass provided. Walk to State Beach with free access. Spotless, new 5 full bedroom, extra bonus den, 3 bathroom, large living room with fireplace, air conditioned, with all amenities for family vacation and fun. 20 minutes to Newport. Large eat in kitchen with all appliances. Close to great restaurants!

This is a Saturday to Saturday summer rental, check in after 3 pm, check out 10 am. Please check the calendar - it is up to date.

Keywords: beach cottage, Matunuck, South Kingstown, Narragansett, Westerly, ocean access, URI, academic year rental.

More Details

Joslin Leasca
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 27, 2018

About Joslin Leasca

Family Nurse Practitioner with local urgent care center. Well vested in the community with excellent reputation built through great customer service.

Joslin Leasca purchased this house in 1985

Why Joslin Leasca chose Matunuck

My husband and I love the community and the property. The property is in the midst of hundres of acres of conservation land. The land has been in our family for generations.

What makes this house unique

The house is peaceful, quiet. Walk to nearby farm and buy fresh eggs and homemade bread. Walk to beach, stop on the way and pick up a beach meal, have a lobster boil delivered to the house, go clamming at sunset. Just a beautiful house in a great setting.


Matunuck House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • All trash/food must be removed from kitchen/refrigerator/cabinets/drawers/yard or deduction from damage deposit will occur.
  • Pet damage will incur damage deposit deduction.
  • Excessive cleaning will result in damage deposit deduction
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , First floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Second floor.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Basement.
    Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower , Outdoor hot/cold.
  • 3 full/partial bathrooms all with shower and one with tub, and additional outdoor hot/cold shower.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , First floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , First floor.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Second floor.
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Basement apartment, queen futon.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Second floor.
  • Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Outdoor fireplace, outdoor hot/cold shower, one yard away to family run organic farm with fresh baked goods, organic produce, grass fed beef, petting area. Outdoor table with umbrella and chairs.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Book Now, only one prime week in July left, two in August! Offseason rates June.
average rating of 4.857143 based on 21 reviews
Kingston, RI

Excellent beach house rental!

  • 5 of 5

Excellent rental! Plenty to see and do for young and old. Beach is minutes away by foot, nearest two for older teens is about 10 minutes by car. Very safe area, yard is huge - largest we have seen - with an outdoor firepit, nice large picnic table and seating around firepit. Nicely landscaped. Linens are clean and fresh, some are older, but clean and fresh. Outdoor hot/cold shower worked great for our family. Owners leave on movie channel for rainy days which we had two of - and we enjoyed some quiet family movie afternoons which we don't get to do too much! Great rental for all.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great time! You had a rainy few days,, so we are glad you enjoyed movies, live theatre, the Ocean Mist with your 85 year old Mom!! Looking forward to hosting you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Albany, NY

So much fun!

  • 5 of 5

What a fun beach house! Big bedrooms, clean fresh linens, plenty of towels for beach and showers, fresh new carpets. Kitchen is clean, appliances working well, each floor has plenty of air conditioning and we were there during a heat wave. Outdoor hot and private shower is so appreciated for little kids who need to shower sand and dirt off as well as rinsing bathing suits and gear. We brought our bikes with us and never got back in the car for the week. The beach is a 2 minute walk - (2 tenths of a mile) - with a wonderful tiny market that provides great beach sandwiches on the way. Enjoyed a show at Theatre by the Sea and great Bloody Mary's at Ocean Mist. Owners are nearby and immediately responsive to any needs. We recommend this rental to anyone who wants to relax in a quiet area, surrounded by conservation land, very close to the ocean. We have come annually and will be renting next year.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh, such a nice review! So glad you found things as advertised! Looking forward to hosting you in 2015 and 2016 and look forward to fun updates to the beach house and property each year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Jersey

Love this beach house!

  • 5 of 5

This is our fifth year renting this beach house and we have booked for next summer. We try to book our stay during the Run for Kerri event in July and as a family we participate in the run! The house is spacious, the linens are fresh and clean, there are plenty of towels for everyone. The yard is huge - over an acre, with a great firepit, nice large picnic table with umbrella, and well landscaped. The house is well maintained and very comfortable for our family of 14. with air conditioning on every floor. Everything is within a 5 minute walk and the beach is very close for family members of all ages. Kitchen is well stocked and appliances are clean and in good working order. Thank you for renting exactly what you advertise!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed the new backyard furniture, firepit, walking trails, and the rustic nature of the beach house along with the award winning Theatre by the Sea, Ocean Mist, and the Martha Stewart recognized Matunuck Oyster Bar! We look forward to hosting you again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

8 Antique road

  • 4 of 5

Each year extended family plans a vacation to a different locale. This year we chose to stay close to home and stayed at 8 Antique Road in Matunuck, Rhode Island. The house is a Cape style and provided plenty of room for 14 of us.

The house was a ten minute walk to the beach (one minute by car) and the beach (South Kingstown Town Beach) was fantastic.

8 Antique Road provided plenty of parking spaces for the families vehicles and the yard was large. The linens supplied were fine and dishes and utensils were adequate. This house is not fully air conditioned. There are four units (kitchen, 2 bedrooms upstairs, and basement). The kitchen unit was at its max and still struggled to keep the area cool. Two bedrooms did not have units and made sleeping difficult as the week was extremely hot and humid. The furniture near the backyard fire pit was old and needs to be replaced. Sitting on the wood furniture near the pit was at your own risk as the wood was rotted. There was a new picnic table near the barbeque. There was a great deal of poison ivy growing in and around a tree in the driveway and on a tree near the fire pit so that area had to be avoided. The owner was great and responded quickly to our need to have a slow drain in the shower cleaned out. They promised to take care of the poison ivy later in the season. I would definitely recommend this property if you are looking to vacation in Southern Rhode Island.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay at our beach house. We have reviewed your comments very carefully and are delighted you were happy with the cleanliness of the home, the fresh cotton linens on every bed including extras for the two futons and the folding cot, the three full bathrooms with additional outdoor hot/cold shower, large beach towels, bath towels, hand towels, and facecloths for each guest, the spacious bedrooms, the gas grill and charcoal grill, the acre and 1/2 of manicured yard space, and the easy walk to a great ocean beach which is exactly two tenths of a mile from the front door. We hope you had a chance to enjoy the neighborhood organic farm, theatre by the sea, and other attractions within walking distance. As you so nicely mentioned, we are immediately responsive to any concerns such as a slow running drain. The outdoor furniture has been tightened up so that it is as sturdy as the new picnic table and the landscaper has already cleared the small patch of poison ivy around the tree. Additional air conditioners have been placed in the last two bedrooms. We are glad to hear that you recommend our beach house to vacationers who would like a quiet destination with lots of outdoor activities very near the ocean surrounded by hundreds of acres of conservation land in Southern Rhode Island! Thank you for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

A perfect rental house for our family!

  • 5 of 5

This was our family's first time renting 8 Antique and we could not be more pleased with everything. The house was perfect and so comfortable for our children and eight grandchildren. With bedrooms and a bathroom on each floor we were well-spaced and the bedrooms are the biggest we've ever had in a rental. Having our linens and towels provided was a big help. And air conditioning, if needed, was great. The backyard is huge and we ate outside every night. Our beachgoers found it an easy walk to the beach, and our littlest ones loved going out the back of the property to Carpenter's Farm next door where they fed the little goats. The owners are so warm and friendly and available to answer questions. We were so happy with this rental and would certainly recommend it to others and in fact have booked already for next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We are delighted that you found the house comfortable and as advertised and that Carpenter's Farm and the Vanilla Bean provided lots of entertainment! We look forward to hosting you next summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kingston, RI

2013-2014 URI academic year rental.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great experience with this rental and owner. Property manager is great, very responsive. Homeowner is great, damage deposit completely returned. House is near the omist and joyce's pub. Each bedroom is huge with plenty of privacy for each renter. Yard is huge, outdoor firepit a definite advantage. Housekeepers were so helpful. Definitely recommend this one for students who want a big, clean, comfortable house one block from the ocean.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice post. You were a pleasure to have and thank you again for leaving the house in such great condition!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Spain of Narragansett
Wonderful Spanish Restaurant - probably more for adults than kids - excellent bar for waitin...
Matunuck Oyster Bar
By far the best outdoor restaurant in South County! Oyster right from the pond around you, ...
Block Island Ferry
Directions from the guest house: Route 1 north to Galiliee Exit - follow signs to Galilee. ...
Scarborough Beach
Not our favorite - we prefer Matunuck Town Beach or Matunuck State Beach. Scarborough is a ...
East Matunuck State Beach
Gorgeous beach! We go regularly. Excellent facilities, open ocean that looks out towards B...
George's of Galilee
Yum! George's of Galilee is a fixture in South County! Excellent chowder, clamcakes and lo...
Crazy Burger Cafe & Juice Bar
Outstanding vegentarian/vegan menu! See it on Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives! Best black bea...
Mews Tavern
Best burgers in town! Wood fired pizza oven, great cocktails. Definitely pub style atmosph...
Fun family adventure - a little hokey, but perfect for little ones who want to mini golf, bu...
Phil's Restaurant
Has been a South County fixture since the 60s! Outstanding food, outdoor patio on top floor...
Carpenter's Farm Enterprises
Obviously our favorite spot! Right next door to the guest house, you will find homemade fre...
Nearest Point of Interest
Matunuck Town Beach
Car: recommended

In the summer, spend the day on the beach - walk home! Historic Theatre by the Sea within one mile. Historic Ocean Mist Restaurant within 2 miles. Five miles from URI via Rt 110. Bypass Upper College Road completely and never wait in traffic to leave school!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $250
Property Damage Protection $79
Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $200
Tax Rate 13.0%

$550 per bedroom for academic year rental. There is absolutely no smoking in this house. If smoking is detected, full cleaning will be deducted from damage deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties