Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Star of the West - 5 MINUTES to Ski Cooper! Modern cabin on Lake!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,520 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights


About the property

This lakeside home is perched on a quiet hill with incredible Alpenglow views of Chicago Ridge and boasts private fishing access, an outdoor fire pit area and spacious floor plan! Newly updated throughout and attention to detail, this property will make you feel at home. Located just a few miles north of Leadville, Star of the West is the definition of a mountain retreat! Access wireless internet throughout the house, TV and DVD player for the whole family. County plowed roads allow easier access and it's only 30 minutes from World Class restaurants and ski resorts in Vail, not to mention Leadville's own Ski Cooper is only 1 mile away! This is the perfect setting for your vacation! The living room with fireplace opens to a large deck for entertaining or relaxing. You must see this property!

This property is licensed through Lake County Land Use, License #2018-07

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2018


Leadville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Floor Area:
  • 1520 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 2 Queen, 1 Pull Out Sofa
  • DVD Player
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

54% Complete
39% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
Star of the West - 5 MINUTES to Ski Cooper! Modern cabin on Lake!
average rating of 4.3939395 based on 33 reviews

Great views all around!

  • 4 of 5

We had a nice time in this home. Very clean. Great place to rest you head after a full day of activities! Not too far from town...only about a 10 minute drive to Leadville.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

WiFi issues, no blinds, and tall weeds and grass

  • 1 of 5

There is no cell service at this rental making WiFi an absolute must to stay connected to family, etc. Upon arrival, the WiFi password was incorrect. We had no way of communicating with owner or ANYONE until we left the property the next day and drove into an area with cell service. I text immediately once I had service. I was told to enter the password on the bottom of the router. That did not work either, and we were without cell or WiFi yet again the second night. I text again the third day and was told repeatedly that I was most likely entering the password wrong. I was told the owner had stayed there prior to our stay and had changed it. Then I was told another renter changed it. I was then told had I contacted them upon arrival they could’ve problem solved sooner. Very condescending. How could I contact anyone with no WiFi or cell service? My exact words to them were that statement wasn’t needed. Common sense tells you I had no means of contacting anyone without service. I had no intentions of leaving a review, but after the less than cooperative texts between myself and the manager, I decided to leave one. I finally ended up connecting to WiFi by entering a key phrase on bottom of router. The password on router did NOT work. I was never told to enter key phrase. I did that on my own hoping to get connected. Thank goodness it worked. I pointed out to the manager that there were very tall weeds growing everywhere in the yard. Their response was that wasn’t accurate because the owners had just been there and weeded. I replied I was standing there looking at yard and the weeds and grass were both very high. I was told someone would be there to mow and weed. I replied no way did I want to spend the rest of my vacation with loud machinery and people working in the yard. I was offered a full refund if we left right then or to relocate to another one of their properties. I declined both offers because we didn't wish to disrupt our vacation by packing and moving elsewhere. I have all of these texts saved on my phone. I also have pictures of the yard and spiderwebs that were everywhere upstairs. There are NO blinds or curtains in kitchen, dining, or living room area. This is a privacy and light issue. Several windows didn't have screens, so lots of flies and mosquitoes came inside. Some windows wouldn’t open at all. Back porch had some boards that were very weak and cracked. Stray dog came around every day on back porch and growled at us. Beware!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We work very hard to make every stay amazing for our guests. We have found that when we program wifi passwords into vacation rental homes, often guests will reset the modem which resets the factory passphrase on the bottom of the modem. When this guest arrived, we received a late night angry phone call that they could not figure out how to use the electronic lock code given to them for access. The code was correct, it was user error. The next day we explained that they likely needed to use the factory presets on the bottom of the router, and the guest did not know what a router was. After repeated text messages with the guest at the property attempting to explain to them how to use the factory password, the guest began complaining about weeds at the property.This property is located in an alpine environment and the terrain is natural. The owners had just groomed various areas. We offered to send someone out to help with the weeds to again, make the guest happy, but they were angry about possibly being disturbed. Since we could find no way to satisfy this particular guest, we offered to move them to a more expensive property at no charge, OR give them a complete refund even on the nights they had already stayed. I believe that their review speaks volumes about this particular situation. Our utmost mission is to make every stay enjoyable for our guests in all of our properties and rarely have situations arise that are not solvable. This was one guest that could not be satisfied.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great cabin with a view

  • 4 of 5

This cabin was perfect for our stay the last week of June 2018. The balcony was very nice to sit out and enjoy the view and serenity (mosquitos to be expected near water). Cabin was stocked with basic necessities and was clean. Great location as well. Our only complaints were there was no gas grill (only a tiny charcoal grill) and the couch was extremely worn and uncomfortable. Some shades might be nice upstairs retreat area as the sun blinded us around 6am every morning. Overall we were pleased and would recommend.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful and Peaceful

  • 4 of 5

Very nice place and location! The setting on the lake is beautiful and peaceful and the neighbors are really nice. The kitchen had all the items you needed and having a washer and dryer was wonderful! They hadn't stocked the lake yet and the fish that were in the lake were hook wise :-( The Wi-Fi signal was really weak so we had problems uploading photos. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and the unspoiled beauty of nature!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We loved our stay, cabin is excellent!

  • 4 of 5

Cabin and pond are fantastic! Very nice inside, furnished nice. We enjoyed playing games and enjoying the cool weather. We would have given 5 stars except for 2 things that arent able to be controlled by the host: the mosquitoes are so bad being outside isnt possible, fire ban in the area prevented us from enjoying fire pit. Cabin is at over 10,000 feet elevation so altitude sickness affected all of us.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

It was great. Only one complaint

  • 4 of 5

It was gorgeous. The view and cabin were perfect. The only complaint we had was that one of us almost fell through the deck. We were quick enough to jump away before we went all the way though but It is made of very thin 2 inch wide and 1 inch thick wood that can not hold a lot of weight. If you are not in good shape and lite weight, you need to watch your step so you don't go through. That deck needs to be rebuilt for safety reasons. It is in no way up to code. Other than that our stay was perfect. The fire pit was amazing and the cabin is beautiful.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us! Our guest safety is of utmost importance to us, and we have had a contractor evaluate the deck concerns after your departure. During your stay, we also sent someone out immediately to replace the failing boards that you reported. We hope to host your next stay in beautiful Lake County!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
The Scarlett
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Mt. Massive Golf Course
Nearest Train
6 Miles
Leadville Colorado & Southern Railroad
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
US Highway 24
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Tennessee Pass Cafe
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Ski Cooper
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

You might like these similar properties