Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Log Cabin Fish Creek Watch the Wildlife

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-8)

Whispering Winds Log Home is located ¼ mile out of Fish Creek off Hwy 42. It is still close enough for a nice walk to all the local shops and businesses.

If you want tranquility and privacy or just a retreat with your family and friends, the Whispering Winds has it all. Set on one acre of land with beautiful birch, pines, maple and hemlock trees that surround this beautiful log home. It has a sitting room, a loft, and a gorgeous fireplace. The deck surrounds the home where you can relax and watch the local wild life.

Keywords: Log Cabin, Fish Creek, Wooded, Wildlife

More Details

Property Manager
Sharon Charnetski
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 23, 2017

Amenities

Fish Creek Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) Twin Beds, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen Size Pull Out Couch
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Please bring your own sheets and towels. Cleaning fee may apply for less than a week's stay! Firepit

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Log Cabin Fish Creek Watch the Wildlife
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews
5

This place is the BEST!!

  • 5 of 5

My husband I stayed at Whispering Winds Aug 5-10. When we drove up to the cabin with its private drive, we knew we were going to love it here. Our 2 dogs came with and were able to enjoy themselves off leash without worrying about neighbors looking on. We took long walks morning and night in the woods on the property. There is a mulch path you can take, but we were interested in exploring. Picked up tons of wood for the campfire. No need to buy any. The wrap around deck is wonderful. We used the Weber grill for dinner. Do bring your own charcoal and stick matches. We had left over and left our bag behind for the next campers. The grounds are kept clean.

Inside there are 3 sliding doors allowing you to access any part of the deck, also great for the evening breeze. The kitchen was very well equipped with spices etc. utensils, pots and pans. In fact we forgot to bring tooth pics and bought some in town, well upon exploring the lazy susan and all the spices there was a large jar filled with tooth pics! There is a nice coffee pot and also a tea pot. The ceiling fan in the living room really moves the air and the cabin also has 2 stand up oscillating fans. One upstairs and one down. The cabin doesn't have a musty smell. Very, very clean place.

The location is close to everything. We went to Washington Island and it was a 30 min drive. Be sure to eat at Al Johnsons with the goats on the roof in Sister Bay. Go early though. Service is excellent as is the food. No waiting for our breakfast. In Ephraim go to Wilsons for ice cream and watch the sunset. We had lunch one day and you will NOT leave hungry!

If your looking for peace and quiet this is the place. No traffic sounds, airplanes, people, nothing. Great place to decompress and enjoy the beauty of the woods. We never once turned on the tv and didn't miss is a bit. Oh! Jacksonport has a nice beach at Lakeside Park. Whitefish Dunes, is great for hiking and they have a beach on the south end that's just for dogs. North is for people. Our dogs had a blast and it wasn't busy either. Highly suggest going if your looking for a dog friendly beach.

We had a wonderful experience and will be returning to this cabin again.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Antioch IL
5

A Wonderful Visit to The Cabin in The Woods

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I had a wonderful visit at the cabin. The cabin is in a wooded area and very quite, peaceful and relaxing. We slept so well and it seemed that time just slowed down for us. We didn't even turn the TV on for the 3 days we were there. The cabin was very clean and comfortable

I enjoyed the remote area, but yet just a couple minutes to Fish Creek. That area of Door county is relatively close to towns north and south on the peninsula. We did a lot of shopping and also eating at great restaurants. Sitting on the deck each day with just the sound of the trees in the breeze was great.

My wife loved the personal touches in the house and outside. The planters with flowers, hummingbird feeder, recently published books to borrow, decor, etc., made her feel at home.

We would definitely recommend this cabin to anyone visiting Door County. The property manager and owner were great to work with as well.

Sent from my iPad

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Private but close to it all!

  • 5 of 5

Had a great long weekend stay at this lovely log cabin. Very roomy. The loft area is huge. Had everything we needed for a fun family weekend. Close enough to fish creek to walk to the fireworks. Dogs are allowed which was a must for me. Nice wooded lot with wrap around deck, fire pit and grill. Very clean and well stocked home.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Berwyn IL USA
5

Lots of fun

  • 5 of 5

This house is cool. It's not very big, but sits on a good sized property. I saw Deer, Turkey's, and even a Fox while lounging on the front deck. A fire pit sits on the side with concrete benches that have glass inlayed murals. It was a nice touch for relaxing outside at night. This place is very close to the state park which has lots of fun things to do. It's also very peaceful when you need a break.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Pros and Cons

  • 3 of 5

There are both pros and cons to this property. I want to remain fair and balanced as the owner and I came to a fair agreement.

Pro: They accept pets

Con: They accept pets. The cabin did not meet my expectations of cleanliness. The property manager insists it was very clean. I disagree. However, if you're a dog lover, you might not notice the dog smell and hair.

Pro: It's in the woods

Con: It's in the woods. We had a bat. In the cabin. There was also a LOT of activity on the roof at night. I'm not sure if it was flying squirrels or something IN the roof. Either way, it was very noisy at night.

Pro:There is a property manager

Con: There is a property manager. While she was always available, she was not very pleasant. I feel she was less than truthful with the owner about the cleanliness of the property. It took some doing to actually communicate with the owner.

The owner worked with me and agreed to a small refund. I wouldn't stay here again, but it wasn't awful. We stayed the entire week (b/c everything else was booked). We have great stories to tell our friends!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As the property owner, I have to say that this review is very atypical of all the responses I have personally received from my renters. In this instance the renter waited 4 days before complaining that the house was dirty. At that time she wanted a full refund for her stay or she threatened to write a bad review and ruin my business. My house has never, ever been dirty. Never before in all the years I have been doing rentals has ANYONE complained about the cleanliness of my cabin. Her one legitimate complaint was that there was a bat in the house. If there was, it could have flown in when the door was opened. In any case, I refunded her money for the night's sleep she lost because of the bat but I refused to refund the entire vacation rental as she demanded. If you want a quiet, clean place in the woods to get away from the world, my cabin on five acres of land is a wonderful choice. Thank you. Ruth Kopala (Owner)
Did you find this review helpful?
11 0
Palos Heights, IL
5

Great Place to Stay!!!

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from one of the best vacations we've ever experienced at the Whispering Winds Cabin. The cabin is gorgeous with everything you need. It's a short trip to anywhere but feels far away in spirit. One morning we saw a spotted fawn in the front yard and that evening as we were eating dinner we saw 4 deer stroll across the driveway! Our favorite part was each night sitting by the fireplace and just relaxing with a great book. Your cabin is beautiful! This was just the relaxing weekend that we were hoping for and look forward to staying here again in the future! Highly recommended!!!

  • Submitted: May 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Fish Creek Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Season
Jun 24 2017 - Aug 19 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,375
 
 
Pumpkin Patch
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$750
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,375
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 11.0%

(June 18nd - August 20th, October 10th - 20th)
All Holiday Weekends)
$1375.00/Weekly $250/Nightly up to 6 people

(May 24th - June 21st, August 19th - October 10th)

$1200/Weekly $195/Nightly
(May 1st - May 23rd, Oct 21 - May 23rd)
$1000/Weekly $175/Nightly
(3 night minimum) ( A cleaning fee will apply to less then a 5 night stay stay)
A cleaning fee applies to all rentals with pets

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties