Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

ELK RIVER HOUSE, Sleeps 15, Hot Tub, Garage, Pool Table, Wi-Fi, Sat TV

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 15)

This 3000 sq foot home on the Rio Grande River is perfect for your large family or group. Sleeping up to 15 in beds. Space will never be an issue. Relax in the hot tub on the Rio Grande River with beautiful mountain views. Stroll out over the river on your private boardwalk. First bedroom has a king size bed, as well as, a twin bed with a flatscreen tv. Attached Master bathroom. Second bedroom has a King size bed and a flatscreen tv. Third bedroom has 2 queen/twin bunks and a flatscreen tv. A full bathroom is shared between bedroom 2 and 3. There is also a half bath. The upstairs loft offers 2 queen beds, pool table and sofa.Oversized 30' X 40' garage for winter and summer AtVs, Snowmobiles, Boats and of course your vehicles. No need to remove the two foot storm that dropped on your vehicle overnight.

Keywords: Riverfront, Hot Tub, Ski Area, Wolf Creek, South Fork, Sleeps 12, Garage, Fish, Hike, Ski, ATV, Snowmobile, Washer, Dryer, WI-Fi, Fireplace, Satellite TV, Gas Grill, patio furniture, pool table, car port.

Located at 31820 HWY 160 South Fork, CO 81154

More Details

Property Manager
JoyceAnn Reed
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2018

Why JoyceAnn Reed chose South Fork

This 3000 sq. foot home offers plenty of space for your family or group. From the Hot Tub to the awesome river views off the back deck this home has it all. Sleeps up to 15 people in beds.. Park your toys in the oversized four car garage. In the winter you will never have to worry about removing snow from your vehicle. Park in the garage and the driveway and roads will be plowed for your trip to the slopes by 8:00 AM. Experienced management team maintains property and are available 24/7 should any issues arise. Hot Tub is well maintained. Nothing to worry about except to sit back and enjoy your vacation!!!

Guestbook comments from the manager

The gurgling river souls and the bugeling Elk sang us to sleep each night. We arrived to fall like landscape and awoke to a winter wonderland. Again, Wolf Creek Pass did not dissapoint and she shared her stashes of powder to boarders and skiers alike. We shall return triumphantly! Alsa, I shant forget the bounty bestowed upon us Thanksgiving

The Ross Family, Texas
Nov 2008
  • 1 of 1


South Fork House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 twin/ single
    Loft - 2 queen
  • All bedrooms have mattresses, no sleeper sofas or blow up beds.
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(44 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
15% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
ELK RIVER HOUSE, Sleeps 15, Hot Tub, Garage, Pool Table, Wi-Fi, Sat TV
average rating of 4.590909 based on 45 reviews

Excellent place!

  • 5 of 5

This is the second time we've stayed here for a Wolf Creek ski trip and had an absolute blast.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great property

  • 3 of 5


Big garage for several vehicles and toys

Dog friendly

open floorplan

across street from great Mexican joint - Ramones

Nice relaxing view of river


Most jets dont work in hottub

grill needs to be replaced, all burners are rusted out and gross

pool table cues all broken and no chalk provided

several bed pillows need to be replaced


  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very dissatisfied with the owner and management company

  • 1 of 5

Renters beware. If your group is specifically going for skiing or snowmobiling and the snow is questionable do not even book with this venue or any other house ran by this company and owner. They will no work with you if the snow storm that is suppose to come is a complete bust and you didnt cancel. I lost all 6k on the house i rented for 16 days and it didnt snow even though i was assured it would with the snow storms coming. I will not be renting with this company and owner ever again. Consider yourself warned

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that your trip didn’t work out as planned. Our reservation policy, as you were aware, allows for a full refund until 30 days before your arrival. You called us the day before you were scheduled to arrive and cancelled your plans with us which did not allow time for the property to get back into the rental pool. We regret that you weren’t able to enjoy this wonderful property.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Absolutely Awesome Stay!!!

  • 4 of 5

Right off the bat, I will say that we plan on staying at the Elk River House again! It's a beautiful cabin that was very spacious and clean for our family. Pictures DO NOT do it justice AND they are nice pictures!! We enjoyed the large kitchen which was full of everything we needed including a crock pot. Previous posts complained of dull knives so I brought my own, but never used them because plenty of sharp knives were available. The outdoor deck area was especially awesome with hot tub, plenty of seating for all of us and a fire pit which we used during the beautiful mornings and evenings with plenty of firewood avaiable. Fishing off the walk out deck was so much fun for the kids! We all enjoyed great night's sleep on comfortable beds. The detached garage was so HUGE we fit 4 vehicles inside. Laundry room was spacious with nice washer and dryer. We can't stress enough about this cabin! Love love loved it!!!

Our own recommendations to better our stay would be for written directions left at cabin for direct tv, heating systems (different systems) etc. because we had to bother manager and didn't want to (Manager responded promptly when we called or texted). Microwave was noisy and didn't heat food or drinks like it should. Electric can opener should be replaced or hand held opener even better. Glass shower enclosure in Hollywood bathroom didn't stay on track. Cob webs were still pretty bad that we had read in previous posts. By no means did these things interfere with our stay! We absolutely loved it and will return as soon as we can!

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to relax.

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time ,the place was very nice . sitting on the deck and watching the river and hearing it. beautiful property with great views. the place had everything you needed.loved it.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spacious and Relaxing

  • 4 of 5

This is the third time we have stayed there....for a reason. The proximity to the highway is deceiving, but once inside or on the back deck, the normal world disappears. We love the space and the access to the deck. The garage is perfect to store extra items, i.e. golf clubs, so the house doesn't get cluttered. The kitchen is well stocked so we have never had to bring any items from home to use. Beds are comfortable and plentiful and the bathrooms are plenty big.

My concerns/suggestions:

1. It would be great if there was a screen door on the back deck so you could get the breeze and river sound without the flies.

2. The first two times we were there, laundry supplies were available. This time, we didn't bring any from home and we had to purchase some.

3. The Jack/Jill bathroom shower door broke and did not get fixed while we were there.

4. We had to replace five lightbulbs that were out on our first day.

5. We couldn't find any instructions on how to use the hot tub. Once we got it running, it tripped the breaker so we didn't use it again, not wanting to damage it.

With those five "cons", I would recommend this place wholeheartedly. In fact, we have already reserved it for next year!

Wichita, KS

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Old FireHouse
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Rio Grande Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Nearest Ski
17 Miles
Wolf Creek Ski Area
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $130
Pet Fee $75

CANCELLATION POLICY–Thirty(30)days notice prior to the arrival date you will incur $50 cancellation fee or you may reschedule your dates one time at the prevailing rate for any available dates within one year. VRBO also charges a fee (.029% ) when a refund is made. Less than 30 days, owner will keep the amount of one night stay, plus the administrative fee and the VRBO charge.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties