Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy A frame- In town, Near River Sleeps 3

Sleeps3
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

This is a cute little cabin, just right for your little family up to three people.(Preferably 2 adults max, and 1 child) It is in town, just a short walk to all the fun. At night, have a little bonfire outside in the fire pit, and stare up to the giant starry sky above. Visit our private waterfront park just yards from the cabin playing horseshoes, fishing in the hootch, build a bonfire, or just lay in the hammock and take a nap!


Owner
Cindy Smith
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 25, 2017

About Cindy Smith

We are Tim and Cindy Smith, from Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Tim was the Vice Mayor of Fort Lauderdale some years back, and Cindy is an accomplished marathon runner (having completed 16 full marathons and a billion or so halfs!). We still live in Fort Lauderdale and Helen Georgia. We love people, dogs, kids, motorcycles, even Pina Coladas!

Cindy Smith purchased this cabin in 2003

Why Cindy Smith chose Northeast Mountains

This property is so much fun and just a short walk into town where there is even more fun. Your only complaint will be that you didn't plan enough days here!

What makes this cabin unique

...walk to town.... ...near river

Amenities

Helen Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Because we do not charge a cleaning fee, guest is required to leave it as it was found.Due to the steep driveway motorcycles cannot access this cabin.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 3
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • water tubing

Reviews

2.8/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

Cozy A frame- In town, Near River Sleeps 3
average rating of 2.75 based on 4 reviews
jasper,fl
5

great little cabin to relax

  • 5 of 5

my husband and I rented this cabin this past weekend for our 22 year anniversary get away.We didn't get to spend a lot of time at the cabin but the time we did was wonderful. Then there was Cindy wow what a little firecracker. She is awesome. Couldn't find anyone in Helen more easy to deal with. She does tell it as it is. I really like that honesty. Anyone that has rented this cabin and gave it a bad review must have thought they were renting a room at the Hilton and not a real cabin in the woods of Helen Ga. GO DAWGS TEENA AND KENNY

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Josh Maxwell

  • 1 of 5

This was the worst place ive ever stayed at! Driveway was rediculous, mattresses were horrible ,pretty sure im gonna have to go to chiropractor tomorrow, the air conditioner does not get cold enough and cuts off every 10 minutes for 10 minutes and I think I woke up sweatin everytime...didnt get hardly any sleep, then the air conditioner leaks in the front door you get dripped on every time you pass through., also tracks water in the cabin . ..the shower makes a mess , the showerhead is way too low and curtain goes everywhere, the ad for this cabin says there is a large dvd collection assuming there was a dvd player we rented a dvd before hand and there was no dvd player..only vhs.We planned on staying saturday night and had plans of tubing and fishing sunday, we were so ill and tired from not getting any sleep , we went straight home and went to bed.Also I paid too much for 1 night and still had to clean the cabin, so I wouldn't have to pay more money .This cabin is worth no more than 80 a night , econolodge would have been way better, sleeping in my truck would have been way better! I do not recommend this property to anyone!

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Josh- As we don't sleep in the cabins, we rely on the guest feed back on how to improve. You are the first guest that has complained about the shower , A/C, and beds, and we rent it very often.I am sorry you had a bad experience, but wonder why at any time did you not bring these issues to our attention?We would have put you in a different cabin, or refunded your money. The A/C is on thermostat, which is why it shuts off periodically, again, if you had said something about it not being cold enough, we would have made other arrangements for you.As far as the driveway, I explained that it was steep prior to you booking the cabin. As for the price, I also explained that we charge extra for a one- night stay on the weekend in high season, as it prevents us from renting it for multiple nights. Also, it would be fair to explain that the price covers free tubing, and use of the park we built on the river which includes fishing on property, horseshoes, and a bonfire pit- something that the Econolodge does not provide.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 4
Des Moines, IA
4

Great Budget Cabin with Excellent Customer Service

  • 4 of 5

I rented this cabin for a car show in Helen I attended. First off I'd like to say Cindy was absolutely fantastic. She was friendly, helpful, and with a little communication was able to extend my stay and accommodate my shifting check in time since I was driving from Iowa. The cabin was as described. Nothing incredibly fancy but more than sufficient for spending a long weekend in Helen. It was comfortable and had all the necessities I came to expect of a VRBO.

The driveway was an adventure to say the least. With Cindy's encouragement I was able to conquer it no problem in a 2007 VW GTI with a slight drop (I'm on air ride, max height got me up just fine), anything lower would be a challenge.

I would have no hesitation staying in this unit again, and I hope to rent with Cindy again.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
North Augusta, SC
1

Should be called Hidden fees, Dangerous driveway, We'll get you in the end.

  • 1 of 5

Cute cabin. Add is a little decieving though. The pics seem to make it look like its right by the river. But it's not. It's up a winding road from the river. It has a steeply graded driveway that can only be driven into and out of in one direction. The parking area is shared between two cabins. We found our parking area being invaded by our neighbors who had too many vehicles for the small parking area. Be aware of the ladder leading up to the loft. It does have a warning sign of no more than a 150 lb weight limit. Reason being? It's a folding ladder from an attic space door reinforced by two pieces of wood and a couple of bolts because the owner himself broke it trying to get up to the loft. The no fees part of the add is in my opinion...a lie. There were cleaning guidelines posted in the kitchen area. We followed these instructions to the letter including stripping the beds of their linens which was not on the list. There is no vacuum, so the floor must be swept and rugs shaken out,which was done. Unfortunately not to the satisfaction of the owners, seeing how in this NO FEES CABIN, the person whose credit card paid for the place, was charged and EXTRA $50.00. The main reason I'm giving this a poor rating is because of the Shady back charging. WE were willing to overlook the other issues. We will not be recommending this place to ANYONE.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: JC- There are no hidden fees- you were made aware that a cleaning fee would be charged if the cabin wasn"t left the way you found it- We simply cannot afford to keep this inexpensive cabin for small families on a budget to afford at a price of only $99 a night if we had to put additional time and money out towards extra cleaning. As far as the driveway is concerned, you were also made aware of that, and it would be fair to say that you had 4 vehicles parked in your driveway (one that usually holds one car) and front yard. As for the ladder- we explained that the loft that the ladder services is suitable for small children, and if you didn't have more people stay than you had told us, it wouldn't have been necessary for you to use it!
Did you find this review helpful?
32 3

Map

The Hilltop Loft Cabin is located within the town of Helen. It is on the hillside at the north side of town, so it is peaceful and quiet, yet just a short walk into town for all the fun! You can walk past a local private waterfall, and just might see deer, maybe even a bear in the wild !! This cabin has the best of both worlds and is the best deal in town!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Helen Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
July 4th
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$135
 
 
Oktoberfest
Sep 1 2017 - Nov 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$135
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2017 - Nov 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$135
 
 
Christmas & New Years
Dec 21 2017 - Jan 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
$135
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$115
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 15.0%

Stay 3 nights Monday through Wednesday for $99 per night plus tax

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties