Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

White Fence Farm in DOWNTOWN BLOWING ROCK

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Very quaint 3BR in the heart of Blowing Rock. Walking Distance to everything!

JUST OPENED JUNE OF 2016.....Very Quaint & Rustic cottage in the heart of Blowing Rock across from the Ragged Garden on Sunset Drive. Walking distance to the Park & all of the Shops / Restaurants on Main street. Very peaceful yet in the middle of it all! The House is 3BR, 2 Bath with a queen fold out sofa. Our Barnwood interiors, original wood floors, gas fire logs and homemade cherry slabs offer a cozy yet rustic/contemporary, artsy feel. The inviting yard and location offer a very "homey" experience with cozy pubs, bars and restaurants 50 feet away.

PERECT LOCATION.

More Details

Owner
Fulton Lovin
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
150 Miles
Charlotte NC
Nearest Barpub
New Public House 50 feet
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Blowing Rock Golf course
Nearest Restaurant
Ragged Garde, New Public House, Blowing Rock Brew
Nearest Ski
4 Miles
Appalachian Ski Mountain
Car: not necessary

Blowing Rock is a very quaint yet sophisticated town in the heart of the blue Ridge Mountins. 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway taking you to Grandfather mountain. 8 miles to Boone, NC home of Appalachian State University. BEAUTIFUL area with TONS of things to do!

Amenities

Blowing Rock Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Small comfortable Bathroom with large shower (no Tub) off of the master bedroom (Horse room)
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Our "Pig Room" has a cool "log bed" in it.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Bunk Beds
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Our Lamb room- barnwood with extra fridge & coffee make
  • Our Rustic Barnwood "Horse Room" has small Fridge & coffee maker with 3/4 Bath (no tub). Has its own private entrance with big deck and Grill. Can be rented separately from the house during sunday - Wednesday.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Truly a convenient yet private get away in one of the best locations in town.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

63% Complete
13% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
White Fence Farm in DOWNTOWN BLOWING ROCK
average rating of 4.318182 based on 22 reviews
1

White Fence Farm, Blowing Rock, NC

  • 1 of 5

Reading the glowing reviews of this property led me to book fifteen days in August, 2017 - little did I realize my shock on arrival at the house!

The Real Estate Rental sign outside the property creates the impression that the house is actually a Rental Office and we had to keep the front door locked to stop people walking into the house unannounced and looking for a rental property.

The lack of privacy in the living room due to the desperately inadequate burlap curtains to block out prying eyes and car headlights was most annoying.

The so-called three-quarter bathroom in the front bedroom is much too small. The lighting through-out the house is very poor and is exacerbated by the use of old dark barn wood siding on all the walls.

No coat hangers could be found - a broken towel rail in main bath - unable to use gas fireplace ( propane gas tank empty!!}

Filthy barbaque grill with disgusting, rusted patio furniture.

The beds, though comfortable, creaked badly when getting in and out of bed.

Noise from continues traffic was quite annoying.

All in all not a pleasant two weeks!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay. It is our goal to learn of such complaints and do everything we can to improve the experience we offer our guests. It sounds like our rustic style and decor did not appeal to you. We do have many guests who appreciate these elements but also realize that there will be some guests who are looking for something different. We are so sorry that you did not find what you were looking for at White Fence Farm. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and have already taken care of any problems that you referred to in your note. We did send maintenance over immediately, during your stay, to provide more hangers and fix the towel rack and are sorry if our response was not to your satisfaction. We regret that you did not have a positive experience as we do strive to provide our guests with the best possible vacation stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Great Location, Very Rustic Facilities

  • 3 of 5

Great location in downtown Blowing Rock, can easily walk to anywhere in town.

Facilities a a bit rustic for my tastes, I found the place dusty (ie, walls are covered with barn boards), kitchen is minimally outfitted and makes meal preparation difficult (ie, no measuring cups or measuring spoons--we bought some of these and left them there as a gift to the house), and the washer/dryer combo was a nightmare (washer OK but dryer wouldn't start without some magic password we never mastered and it was very inefficient at drying clothes).

Location can't trump all this!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

excellent place for one level needs

  • 4 of 5

First let me say for the sake of advertising that this property is not across from the Inn at Ragged Garden. It is however, down the street from the Inn. It did make a difference for us. It is perfect for those wanting to be downtown and stay in a home that is all on one level. It is sufficient for guests who want to mostly eat out. Oven cooking items are non existent. We had an overnight outbreak of ants in the kitchen to which the owners only response was "humm we sprayed last week". Putting everything that was already in zip lock bags, in the refrigerator solved that. Parking is such a plus with only one step up onto the porch and one step into the house. This was wonderful for my mother (86) and her sister (83). Great for porch cocktails and people watching. This is a charming VRBO. It was clean, except under the beds.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property, house was decorated beautifully. We had a wonderful time

  • 5 of 5

Everything about the house and it's location was fantastic. The only tiny tiny tiny flaw was that the master bedroom shower curtain kept falling down. Maybe find a way to secure it better? We had a wonderful time in the home is in a great location, across the street from a wonderful restaurant and just steps away from Main Street. Loved it and would come back !

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

In a great location, but grass needed cutting and gas grill and deck was in poor condition when we g

  • 3 of 5

Overall is was fair but not worth the money. It was in a good location, but the grass needed cutting and deck and gas grill were filthy when we got there but owner did come and power wash next day. We only had 3 washcloths for the whole week so had to buy some. The beds slept well though and the kitchen was stocked well. A lot of lights were out but did enjoy the fact they had a washer and dryer. Also loved sitting in the swing on the front porch and watching people go by.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We greatly appreciate the feedback and for letting us know what we can do to improve. Customer service is so important to us and we strive to respond quickly and to address any problems that might arise. We hope you choose to return to see that we have addressed all the issues you referred to above.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Adorable cottage in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We had 6 adults in this cute 3 bedroom cottage. It is on one of the main streets in Blowing Rock, so you can walk anywhere, even to the grocery store. We were there for a wedding, as were many of our friends, so we had a party in the front yard and everyone had a great time. There is no way we could have done that at a hotel. The ONLY complaint.... there needs to be more mirrors. Six people getting ready for a wedding and the only two mirrors are in the bathrooms that were being used.....and no full length mirror to see what the dress looks like.....

Other than that, we loved our time in BR at White Fence Farm.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties