Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Eagle Rest Lodge - Upscale Seclusion with Dramatic Views,

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,850 sq. ft.
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Amazing mountain views perched high atop granite rocks.

Eagle Rest Lodge was constructed in 1983 and remodeled from top to bottom in 2007 adding high end appointments. The home features vaulted ceilings in the living room, a dramatic fireplace and sweeping views. The cabin offers the perfect balance of rustic wood paneling and beams to upscale floor coverings and furnishings.

Eagle Rest Lodge is perfect for a romantic getaway or large family gathering. The Lodge has a private, secluded hot tub, pool table, casino gaming table, flat screen televisions, basic gym, and gourmet kitchen for the cook or baker. The home features two well appointed bedrooms, and a loft and additional open sleeping room with expansive views. All beds feature high quality linens and appointments. The home offers an outdoor spa against the rocks, a game room with pool table and gaming table, popcorn machine and more. The gourmet kitchen offers quartz counters, stainless steel appliances, special features including an espresso machine and waffle machine. The vaulted ceiling living room features a large fireplace with lava rock reaching to the ceiling.


Owner
JOHN RINALDI
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 22, 2017

About JOHN RINALDI

We live in San Diego and love to hike. Owning a home in Idyllwild has been a dream since I first visited the mountain 18 years ago. The home is a dream! It is beautifully appointed, newly remodeled from top to bottom and enjoys lots of privacy and seclusion.

JOHN RINALDI purchased this lodge in 2012

Why JOHN RINALDI chose Idyllwild

The last owners remodeled the home with love and utilized many of the same materials used in my primary home like slate floors, the moment I walked in the home I knew this was the house!

What makes this lodge unique

I love views and being up high. The home features large decks in the front and in the back and is quiet and serene. It is a first class home with many fine touches. The unique wood carvings, the large lava rock fireplace reaching to the ceiling, the spa against the rocks, a backyard surrounded by granite rocks, all of these things captured my heart.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a very nice weekend! The cabin is amazing. All of the amenities needed were here and more. We loved the game room and hot tub! We hope to visit again next year!
Jan 2013
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Idyllwild Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Dual Sinks
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Masterbed - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Loft Bedroom - 1 double , Loft accessed via wall mounted ladder, mattress on floor.
    Studio Bedroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , This is an open bedroom area off the hallway to the master
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(54 traveler reviews)

Eagle Rest Lodge - Upscale Seclusion with Dramatic Views,
average rating of 4.6296296 based on 56 reviews
5

Perfect nature getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This home welcomes you with a clean, fully supplied vacation. Submerged in nature, near town and easily accessible hikes. I felt cozy and at home. Highly recommend this stay for anyone who wants to get away from it all and have a home away from home!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Folks, I am thrilled you enjoyed my cabin it is my pride and joy! Come visit again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

The accommodations were great ... getting to them is another matter

  • 1 of 5

The pictures make it look great. However, the 50 steps from the mini parking space where you can't open the doors all the way to get things out of the vehicle, are daunting at best. Having to carry everything up the stairs, including the dogs, taking into account my age of 65 and the higher altitude, was close to impossible. Then the realization that there's no yard in the front of the place and you have to go up a spiral/metal staircase to get the dogs outside to do their business - definitely not a happy camper. One of my mini dachshunds tried to do the outside and fell, thankfully only 4 steps. She tried again inside to do the spiral staircase, but because it's metal, she slipped and fell again down 4 stairs. Strong wifi posted in ad - NOT. This was a working break for me and, the intermittent signal proved problematic. Then had an incident at work and had the internet worked, I could have stayed, but because it wasn't reliable, had to leave the second day into the stay. I don't recommend this place unless you're in very good shape. Climbing those stairs even without carrying anything in the altitude is tough enough. Place actually had a funicular in the back, but wasn't available for guests.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am biased, I love my cabin as does the majority of guests confirmed by the many, many 5 star reviews. I describe the stairs in the welcome package, the main picture on this website shows the stair case in detail and yet, I get the occasionally guest who then complains and write a negative review about my stairs. Thus, I conclude the guest(s) must either be illiterate and or too lazy to look at the picture or to call and ask questions of the extremely responsive owner to verify the property suitable for their particular needs. I work from the cabin all the time remotely with friends along also working remotely with no internet problems. This guest called after check in telling me of their work problem and advising me they may need to check out early. I informed the guest, this cabin rents every weekend and I cannot cancel/refund their reservation as we unfairly lose income and this type of incident is why I suggest travel insurance. Then I braced for this type of childish retaliatory review. The guest claimed the "fast' internet described should be at least 200mpbs. (no where do I promise speed like that) I do not believe we can even get that speed on the mountain top and I only use 100mpbs in my business of 25 employees in San Diego. To everyone reading, the cabin offers an amazing retreat with top of line amenities like one would find at a Kimpton, including a welcome bottle of wine whenever possible and yes perfectly great internet from which I routinely stream Netflix, Pandora, connect my phones and surf the internet. ( Yes, maybe I need to disconnect more, but I digress) Yes, there are stairs, if you cannot handle stairs, hills, mountains, then the mountains may not be for you. However, the price of a serene, mountaintop retreat and privacy are stairs, hills and mountains. To this guest, I suggest you more carefully read the very accurate description of the property that owners such as I painstakingly post to ensure the right guests choose the right property and enjoy their stays. (Yes, a guest's enjoyment is overwhelmingly important to owners). Finally, when I stay in Hotels I don't experience Hotel chains willingly letting one cancel an hour before or during one's stay thus, I am bewildered that one would expect owners of smaller enterprise like a VRBO cabin to take a loss because a guest experienced a problem at work and failed to purchase travel insurance.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Home!

  • 5 of 5

This is closer to a home than a cabin- very clean, high end kitchen and furnishings and gorgeous views from all decks and patios! If you travel in May, be prepared for any weather. It went from 82 degrees and sunny to 30 degrees with a healthy blanket of snow in 3 days!

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Views and Outdoor Space

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time staying at the Eagle Rest. Beautiful backyard area with hot tub -- very dog friendly! Will definitely visit again!

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

The minute I arrived at Eagle Rest Lodge, I was so impressed. The photos look beautiful, but they don't even do the home justice. That tells you something.

I went with 5 other people, all couples all in their mid twenties to mid thirties. We all live in Los Angeles and wanted a snowy getaway without committing to overcrowded and pricy Big Bear. It was the perfect setup, one couple was delighted to take the loft (basically a cozy, grown up fort) and the other two rooms had plenty of space, bathroom space was also definitely not an issue.

Some great features:

-So many areas to see gorgeous views! There's a wet bar upstairs with a pool table, popcorn machine and darts and the back yard with hot tub is directly outside that area. Then theres another couple areas as well that would be perfect to sit outside and have breakfast or read a book with view of the mountains.

-People spoke highly of the kitchen and theres a reason. There's plenty of space for cooking and just open space in general. You can tell this guy made sure everything was top quality.

-The hot tub. So crucial. You'd be surprised by how many hot tubs are advertised for rentals but don't actually heat up at all. *A helpful hint: make sure it doesn't go into Eco mode. All of a sudden the hot tub stopped heating. Once we realized that mode was the problem, we temporarily switched if off and it stayed at a delightful 100 degrees with no problems. There is no greater combination than hot tubs and snow.

-Great customer service. I wanted to find out if we could do a late checkout and it was no problem, we were able to leave at 2 pm which allowed for a relaxing morning.

Honestly, every issue I saw on the reviews I didn't find to be a problem/it was very clearly stated. I had no issues with the cleanliness and I would expect to bring logs and other necessary needs for the fireplace. Just pick it up at Home Depot before you arrive to save you some costs from the nearby grocery store. Yes, the bedroom sun roof is bright. That's in the description, not a surprise. To those who complained about dog hair: Its stated multiple times that this cabin is dog friendly. As a dog owner myself, you can't get every speck of fur out of every crevice of a two story house. It's just not realistic.

I probably sound like a paid advertiser, but this really is such an amazing home to stay at. I've started doing annual trips to Idyllwild and I can't see any reason to not return to this lodge every year.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am thrilled you love the stay, please visit again soon. On the dog hair, the maids do a great job cleaning the home, however, there are 4 dog blankets under the TV, to place on the couch, unfortunately, no matter how many times we point out they are doggie blankets, I will get the occasional complaint about dog hair when people use the dog blankets for something else.. Alas, what are you going to do :) Glad you enjoyed and thanks for the great review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cool cabin with good management.

  • 5 of 5

Everything was clean and ready for us. A couple questions came up and John was helpful right away. I recommend this cabin to anyone looking for a getaway.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
23 Miles
Palm Springs
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
JoAnn's
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
243
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Cafe Aroma
Car: recommended

Located a bit over 1 mile to the center of town, the cabin sits high atop a secluded lot, privacy abounds! Idyllwild offers the perfect romantic getaway, the perfect place to relax, the most peaceful serene place for relaxation. The town center boasts amazing restaurants, cute cafes, a rustic theater, antique stores and lots of small town mountain charm. The area is surrounded by national forest, trails for hiking, rocks for climbing and wildlife for watching.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Idyllwild Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2
Jul 6 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$215
From
$275
Fri,Sat
$1,320
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
FALL
Oct 1 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$275
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
WINTER DEC
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$275
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 3 2018
4 night minimum stay
$400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$215
From
$250
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $125
Property Damage Protection $59

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Rates are based on 4 persons or less additional guests 25$ per person, per night. All rates quoted reflect a cash discount of 2.5% payment via echeck Holiday rates are higher please email for quote. IF YOU CHOOSE NOT TO ACCEPT THE PROPERTY DAMAGE PROTECTION WE WILL REVISE QUOTE TO INCLUDE A $1000.00 REFUNDABLE DEPOSIT. Check in is 4pm, Check out is 11am. Air Condition is locked to protect from being set lower than 76 degrees. If you desire it lowered between 76-71 an additional fee of $25 per day applies.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties