Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

2 Floor Luxury 1855 Lower Garden District Townhouse Apt.

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,500 sq ft
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Residing in the heart of the Lower Garden District, this historic Greek Revival townhouse built in 1855 and located on Famous Magazine Street is easy walking distance to award-winning restaurants, famous antique shopping, The National WWII Museum, Coliseum Square Park and the New Second Line Movie Studios. The St. Charles Streetcar line the Convention Center are just a few blocks away. Less than 5 min to the French Quarter.

Beautiful antique furnished two floor historic apartment feels more like a private home . New renovation owned and decorated by published designer. Apartment was built as the owners apartment so it is and furnished at a much higher level than any regular rental. Comprising the second and third floors of the house (1,200 sq ft.), it is luxuriously large. Historic architectural features including 12 ft ceilings, decorative elements, iron balcony on Magazine, large doors, floor to ceiling windows, exposed brick, wood long plank floors. Custom designed open kitchen with Viking cooktop, Monogram fridge, whisper dishwasher, two beautiful designer baths with river rock floors downstairs , 2nd floor master suite is loft like with roman plunge tub and separate limestone shower, 44' Plasma, blu-ray. Luxury historic and modern features incorporated throughout. Decorated with a combination of excellent period French and American antiques, original artwork and modern design pieces.

Close to everything, take a stroll amid the crepe myrtles and live oak trees in this wonderful, eclectic neighborhood abundant in architectural treasures.

Immaculately kept, this house exudes charm and character that makes you feel like a guest in a fine home. A pleasure to come back to after a long day in the Big Easy!

Keywords: Apartment

More Details

Jules Reich
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 13, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

Great location off the busy streets of NOLA

Jules was a great host! I had a package delivered before I arrived and she was kind enough to put it inside for me. After my arrival I realized that I had an iron but no ironing board - Jules picked one up immediately and also drove me to a nearby grocery store to get some additional amenities for my stay. As a local she recommended several locations for eating and activities!

The property was very clean and comfortable. I appreciated the location off as it was only a 10 minute walk to the conference center and much quieter than the busy streets but not far from coffee shops, restaurants, and bars most frequented by locals rather than tourists.

I would definitely recommend staying in any of Jules listings as she is a terrific host!
Mar 2018
  • 1 of 19


Lower Garden District Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
On Famous Magazine Street! Walk to Coliseum Square Park, National WWII MUSEUM and Streetcar, Near both Convention Center and French Quarter


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(77 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
10% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
2 Floor Luxury 1855 Lower Garden District Townhouse Apt.
average rating of 4.7792206 based on 96 reviews

Romantic Charmer in Nola !!

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful place to stay !! Can't say enough about the care that has been taken to give you the nicest amenities but keeping the old world charm of this beautiful building. The pictures do not show you how really romantic and lovely it is !! This home is directly on Magazine street in a wonderful part of the Lower Garden District - close to the Warehouse District and The Quarter so shops, restaurants and bars are just a walk away !! We loved having our coffee every morning on the terrace and watching the "Nola flavor" go by !! With 2 bedrooms and 2 baths we will be back next time and bring another couple to stay !! Our host, Julie was amazing with info of the area and always available if needed. We would absolutely recommend this property to all !!! We will be back soon !!!

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: April 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
15 0


  • 5 of 5

Great location!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Aiken South Carolina

Excellent location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed 6 nights and had a great time, the location is good for exploring, walking distance to the garden district and the French quarter. The information that Jules left was excellent, we tried a number of the restaurants recommended and never had a bad meal. We would definitely stay there again if we ever visit NO again

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Place in Garden District

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I booked our stay at this great place in Garden District. We took our 20 month old daughter. The place was great! It was updated and had all of the original wood flooring. Very clean and great for our daughter. It's walking distance to St. Charles where tons of restaurants and we found a cute place for ice cream, coffee and breakfast 200 yards down the street. It's easy to drive to all the must sees and easy to get on a trolley too! Highly recommend for a family or for 2 couples.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not as described - faulty electric heating & stove hazard. Heating not to City Code Ordinance std.

  • 1 of 5

VRBO Property 44858, New Orleans, upper 2nd and 3rd floors

Frankly I can’t imagine booking a property for my family with the potential safety hazards from defective electric equipment, much least the comfort and features shortcomings, which we found during our stay.

We did not want to be part of the owners property refurbishment and maintenance program during our Christmas holiday stay in New Orleans. We paid for but didn't get a trouble free place to stay.

The property had major electric equipment function, potential safety, and livability defects that weren’t in the listing. After the stay, I emailed the owner asking for a refund of 25% of the nightly fees. The owner received the request and responded by email, gave excuses, offered a lower refund which I did not agree to, but did not provide the 25% refund requested.

Property defects not described in the listing include:

1. The property electric heating unit was defective.

The electric heating system blew the 60 amp circuit breaker every time it was turned on. Our concern was that faulty equipment or potentially faulty wiring may cause a fire in the living space. When turned on the heater ran until the interior temperature reached 64 F, at which point the circuit breaker kicked out accompanied by a large spark flash inside the heating unit. The heating unit was not able to provide interior temperatures above 64 °F with exterior ambient temperatures from 40 – 45 °F. This interior temperature limit does not meet City of New Orleans Code in Article IV Chapter 26 Section 26-215 – Heating Facilities “Every dwelling unit shall be provided with heating facilities capable of maintaining a minimum room temperature of 68 degrees Fahrenheit in all habitable rooms, bathrooms and toilet rooms.”

2. The electric kitchen stove was defective.

When we attempted to operate the electric stove , it emitted a series of warning sounds indicting some kind of fault. It was non-functional. After the experience with the property heating system, we were afraid to further attempt operation and opened its circuit breaker. Again we were concerned of the potential that defective equipment or possibly faulty wiring could cause a fire.

After my request for a 25% fees refund, the owner responded stating that a service technician had tested the heating system and it worked. Nevertheless, the 64 °F maximum interior temperature did not meet the City Code during our stay.

I can’t imagine booking a property like this one.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This reviewer rented the apartment for his three older children while he stayed with a relative in town. In response to his allegations we had the HVAC inspected and no issues were found. The technician speculated that the kids set the heat to a temperature it could never realistically reach which resulted in tripping the breaker. After his children checked out, he contacted us and requested a refund or risk a bad review. While we offered a refund for the last night when the breaker was tripped (which BTW was remedied within 30 minutes of that phone call) we declined his demand for a large sum of money back. We are saddened by the fact that there are guests who feel the need to malign a property in the pursuit of a free vacation, however we wish him well on his future travels. (Regarding the oven: The reviewer did not extend our emailed arrival details and instructions to his children that would have informed them that we always keep the breaker in the "off" position for the oven in our vacation property.)
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great location, great hosts

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful multilevel apartment with all the amenities. Great neighborhood to walk to many sites of interest. Close to museums, convention center and great architecture and restaurants. Close enough to the French Quarter. Hosts were responsive, kind and very knowledgeable about the city and restaurants.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Coliseum Square Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Second Line Movie Studios
Nearest Point of Interest
National WWII Museum
Nearest Point of Interest
Warehouse Restaurant and Gallery District
Nearest Point of Interest
Convention Center


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning fee $105

Prices are based on a monthly stay with two guests. Please let us know exact dates you are looking for and we will do our best to accommodate you if available.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties