Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Fun in the Sun Waterfront Rancher Near Williamsburg

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House sleeps 2-8

Are you a 'Rivah Lover' looking for a perfect retreat? If so, you are sure to find it at our secluded waterfront rancher! Its away from the hustle and bustle but very convenient to all your needs. You'll fall in love with the convenience and gracious lifestyle this home has to offer. You will surely enjoy the peace and quiet, as you partake in the beauty of nature on the water. Our home will wipe your worries away and soothe your soul. Located 15mins to public beach, pier for fishing, grocery stores, restaurants, etc. Approx. 20 minutes from Williamsburg. The kids are sure to be occupied on the pier and in the above ground pool. Come enjoy all the amenities this home has to offer.

Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2018

About Ashley

Hello! A little bit about us. We are in our early thirties and have two beautiful children. We are true water lovers! We both love Real-Estate and own several houses. This was my husband's house before we got married. We lived there for a short period and then moved into something a little bigger. This home brings such comfort and peace when you are there. It's a very quiet place and the views are beautiful. My favorite was always the morning sunshine, that sparkled on the river. We enjoyed many boat rides to nearby beaches and restaurant in the summer. Once, returning from dinner we would always end our evening, with a dip in the sparkling pool! This home is very well decorated and has a lot of charm! We have put a lot of hard work and thought into making this place, a vacation home you will always remember and enjoy! We tried to think of things we enjoy most when we stay on vacation. A few that come to mind are comfortable beds, nice sheets, lots of kitchen goods, clean and nicely decorated. We feel we have provided this for our guest! We hope you will enjoy your stay and return again.

Ashley purchased this house in 2006

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for opening your house to us. We had a wonderful time. we enjoyed the pool and dock. We loved watching the birds, crabs and snails. Our stay was perfect! We loved the decor! You've done a beautiful job. Thanks again!
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 10


Hayes House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
7% Complete
2% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
Fun in the Sun Waterfront Rancher Near Williamsburg
average rating of 4.642857 based on 52 reviews
Washington DC

The house was enjoyable. The owner will not respect your privacy. Stay away.

  • 1 of 5

Horrible experience.

I rented this home for me and 11 other friends from Friday-Monday. We came to the area because we were attending an event at the Hampton Coliseum each day from 5:00pm-1:00am. Yes, I knew her maximum was listed as 8, but three more people just to get some sleep between 1:00-11:00am seemed feasible. We rented this home on VRBO because every hotel was sold out, and we wanted stay as close as possible to our event. Even though there was a 30 min drive to and from, this seemed like a comfortable place for us to keep most of our cars, get some shut eye, and carpool in to the event each day.

While we were swimming outside on Sunday around noon, Ashley had two men come to her property to do lawn work. I felt an invasion of privacy while these men were cutting the grass, disrupting our conversations on the patio. Why would you schedule maintenance while your house is being rented? It was absolutely inappropriate. Later that night, Ashley (owner of the home) entered the property while we were all at our event. What did she find? She sees dishes in the sink, clothes around, and a couple of air mattresses. It was absolutely unnecessary for her to come in while we weren't there. We fully intended on cleaning up perfectly on Monday before we checked out, I even confimed a later check out with her the day before to ensure we had enough time to do so on Monday. Later that night, Ashley called me and insisted that I leave my event to come back to her home to start packing up or she threatened to tow our vehicles and throw all of our items in the house "outside in trash bags". Because of this threat, my boyfriend and I, as inconvenient as it was, left to return to the home 30 min later to do so. Ashley continued to make accusations and say vulgur things to me as we were fully complying with her.

My friends and I are college educated, young professionals, and we enjoy traveling from all over to meet up for events like this. We have been renting homes as so for the past three years and I have never in my life come across a person with such low class, insensitive, and rude demeanor. From 9:30pm until 2:00am she sat parked in her car with a sheriff by her side, while she evicted us. Let me add to, that she put most of my friends in a very uncomfortable and very unsafe position in the middle of the night. They had nowhere to go and ended up spending more money on hotels just to get sleep for another few hours to make it to their flights.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Natalie, we all know there are two sides to every story. Please allow me to fill in all the facts you happened to forget or felt the need to leave out. Yes, my grass cutters did come cut the grass during your stay. They come weekly and can't always come during the short 4 hour vacancy between renters. You most likely felt uncomfortable because you were doing something you shouldn't have been. Not sure where you learned to count because my husband, myself and the deputy counted 20 PLUS people at the house! There were 11 cars total. Some were even parked in our yard. Most cars had 2-3 people in them. Once, I received the phone call of what was going on at our house, I attempted to call you several times without an answer. At that point my husband and I decided to ride down to our house. We were SHOCKED AND APPALLED when we arrived. Nothing prepared us for the filth and mess we would find in our house. It looked like a college fraternity house. There were air mattresses against the living room wall, in the laundry room, 2 in one bedroom and 1 in the other bedroom. We also noticed bags of marijuana and pills laying all over the house along with other drug paraphernalia!! Several of my pictures were knocked off the wall. The kitchen table was covered with plates and bowls, which still had food in them. There were flies all over the food. The counter and sink were full of dirty dishes. The large trash can outside was overflowing with trash. There were 10 big bags of trash laying on the ground. Every side table, nightstand and dresser had half drank bottles of alcohol sitting on the them. The floors throughout the house were covered with glitter, grass and filth. Needless to say after seeing all of this, I did make the decision to have you and your friends leave. We work entirely to hard to have people like you come and disrespect our house! Yes, we did sit there for HOURS. That was how long it took for all your friends to return and for you'll to pack up. I never said I would have your cars towed. I said you could sleep in them for all I cared but you weren't sleeping another night in our house. A good lesson for you to take away from this is "When you are doing something you shouldn't be, you'll get caught every time." I wish you all the best Natalie and pray another homeowner doesn't have to deal with the nightmare you created for myself and my husband!
Did you find this review helpful?
9 2

Wonderful trip

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed here before

it has always been a pleasure

this time was especially fun and interesting due to the rain storm and power outage

The power was out for a few hours although we cooked on the grill and we had a great time

We made up new games to play with the children

the power did go back on it was not a big deal it was a lot of fun

The owners did tell us about the pending storm prior to our arrival so we were not taken by surprise and we had our flashlights and lanterns so overall it was great and the kids loved it

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
East Hartford

Wonderful peaceful vacation home

  • 5 of 5

It was a beautiful quiet vacation home kids love the pool nice backyard with a beautiful dock we enjoyed the kayaking, and the public beach in Yorktown would absolutely stay here again

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The house and view were beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautiful, clean and comfortable. The back yard was serene and peaceful. The owner was a pleasure . Great trip and house!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful peaceful place! Great getaway for the family.

  • 5 of 5

Loved the beach themed decor. House had everything we needed. Kayaking was great! Would defiantly go back!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved it

  • 5 of 5

Very nice home family had a wonderful time and you and your husband was really nice to us thank you tony

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0





Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning/Pool Fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties