Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Expansive,safe beach; fun for all ages-close to town. SeaviewGrotto, Gold Beach

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Three Bedrooms, Two Full Baths, Sleeps Six in Two Queen Beds And Two Twin Beds

The sunroom doubles as a dining room and writing room, with huge south and west windows. The owner’s favorite early-morning writing room can be closed off by double-pane sliding glass doors to allow other family members to visit, listen to music or watch television. If you need to work while your family relaxes, the spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean waves from the sun room will salve your soul.

Everyone loves the family room and open kitchen area where blue tooth speakers allow you to select the playlist of your choice.

The kitchen is fully-equipped and allows cooks to participate with family. Microwave oven, gas oven, four-burner gas stove, side-by-side refrigerator and all the necessary pots, pans, and utensils are provided for wonderful meals.

Cable television,including Netflix, Wi-Fi, and clean, comfortable furniture with premium mattresses provide all the comforts of home. The large hot tub is on the patio in the side yard protected from coastal winds. This private residence is only 150 feet from a gorgeous sea grass dune trail leading another 100 feet to the most beautiful and safe recreational beach in southern Oregon, known for its driftwood structures and stunt kite flying. No need to climb down a dangerous cliff to get to the beach!

More Details

Owner
Mary Matheson
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 12, 2017

About Mary Matheson

Len & Mary Matheson grew up in Southern California and now live in Missouri. Active grandparents and professionals, they enjoy hosting family and friends in their home on the spectacular southern Oregon coast.

Mary Matheson purchased this house in 2006

Why Mary Matheson chose Southern Coast

Far from the crowds of California and the summer heat of the midwest. Once we arrive and walk on the beach, the cares of the world melt away.

What makes this house unique

The southern Oregon coast is known for its spectacular cliffs. Sebastian Shores is located at beach level. Our Seaview Grotto home is a few feet off the beach, nestled in a fern grotto with southern exposure, protecting the hot tub from wind, while allowing sunbathing during the day and stargazing at night.

Amenities

Gold Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Double sinks for master bedroom.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Downstairs bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Downstairs bedroom with plush pillow-top twin beds.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master bedroom with full bath and plush pillow-top queen bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Downstairs bedroom with plush pillow-top queen bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Goldbeachvisitorscenter.org - check this out as soon as you get to town for things to do(walk from our house) Massages available Sports and fitness club available while you're in town Jerry's Jet boat - make reservations

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
16% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Expansive,safe beach; fun for all ages-close to town. SeaviewGrotto, Gold Beach
average rating of 4.5675673 based on 37 reviews
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

This home fully met ~ and even exceeded ~ my expectations. The owner was extremely accommodating and easy to work with! She provided a crock pot after a simple inquiry because our weekend looked like it would be filled with rain! My mom, sisters and I fully enjoyed this wonderful home! Easy access to the beach when the sky cleared, luxuriating in the hot tub at our convenience, and enjoying a full kitchen instead of eating out. Absolutely loved it!

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

It was ok.

  • 3 of 5

Pretty house but found mold in the coffee maker, dirty gross pan/cookie sheet put away in the cupboard and frozen fruit dripped all over the inside of the freezer, this was all the day we got to the house. Over all an ok stay though.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Mediocre house with worse view and horrible customer service

  • 1 of 5

Seaview grotto is a misnomer. The only glimpse of the sea you get is from an awkward room that may have been designed as a deck then converted or poorly incorporated into the construction plans of this awkwardly laid out quasi-house on a remote corner of the otherwise pleasant Sebastian Shores community. Worse than that, the owner was so horrific to deal with, she managed to ruin my stay in an otherwise relaxing beach town by accusing me of tracking soot onto carpets and threatening to charge my credit card for over $200 for carpet cleaning (at the end of a busy summer season of multiple other renters, by the way). If there was any soot at all, it was due to the immense fires in the area and the lack of air conditioning on 80 degree days which necessitated opening of a window. After she threatened to charge me for carpet cleaning, I offered her a possible explanation, but she proceeded to make harassing emails and rude phone calls. I was so appalled at her lack of customer service and incredibly unprofessional behavior, I have regretted the decision to spend any amount of money on this "vacation rental" as it was only stress inducing! Do your family a favor and stay elsewhere, where your patronage will be appreciated and your hosts will be kind and hospitable rather than rude and confrontational!

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As the owner of SeaviewGrotto, I am very sorry this guest had an unpleasant experience . The all seasons porch of which she speaks was a contractor decision for all Northern exposed homes. Our guests speak highly of this room as a gathering to eat and play games. Please see other reviews. We made modifications to the home for this guest for the September thru August rental, as requested, and expected that the terms of the contract signed would be honored. We value and enjoy good relationships and communication with our guests as other reviews will show.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
5

Comfortable and well cared for with a private lot shielded from the wind.

  • 5 of 5

The weather was beautiful! The beach is huge and gorgeous. The Rod n Reel Restaurant on Wedderburn has some of the best clam chowder we have ever had.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your comments about the house. We love that you can even sun bathe in the sheltered area you spoke about. While we can't take credit for your fabulous weather, you picked a great month to visit to enjoy all that the beaches have to offer. You are always welcome at SeaviewGrotto. We appreciate the care you took while enjoying the comforts of our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quiet relaxation

  • 4 of 5

Great house. Super short easy walk to smooth sandy beach. Love the dinning bonus room. We played cards and enjoyed the view of ocean. We had the windows open so u could hear the surf.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Long Beach, CA
5

Enjoyable one week vacation

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for our group. My wife and I had the upstairs bedroom and bath to ourselves. My mother and our youngest daughter shared one of the downstairs bedrooms and a friend stayed in the other downstairs bedroom where they all shared the common bathroom. We all spend much time together enjoying the spacious living area upstairs along with the adjacent well equipped kitchen and lovely dining area. The house being in a small private community of similar homes was nicely located near the edge of town to provide a peaceful setting while close enough to all of the towns' amenities. The location of the house within the small community was ideal being situated well below the highway and against a hill to provide privacy and quite while still being just a very short distance from the beach. We all enjoyed adventures to the redwoods, up the Rogue River, walking on the beach, strolling in the forest, and exploring the town of Gold Beach. For our group this was an exceptional value, and the property manager provided superior support. We would go again, and we will recommend this home to our friends.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Mark for letting me know how much you enjoyed your stay in our home, SeaviewGrotto. You did all the things we love to do ourselves when we come to Gold Beach. Like you, we think the private colony of Sebastian Shores is great. I will be sure and tell Clare , our manager, how much you appreciated her support. Looking forward to having you all again. Mary and Len Matheson
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Portland,N.Bend,Medford,OR. Crescent City, CA
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Gold Beach
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Bandon Dunes Golf Resort, Brookings, Gold Beach
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
101 aka Ellensberg Hwy
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Several Excellent Restaurants
Nearest Ski
250 Miles
Mt. Hood
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
Pacific Ocean
Car: necessary

Locale

Seaview Grotto is located at the southern edge of Gold Beach in Sebastian Shores, the last private 'on-the-beach' residential colony on the Pacific coast of the United States. Although the wide and sandy beach is public, it is used almost exclusively by homeowners and guests of the Sebastian Shores colony, making it safe and comfortable for notables who want to be left alone. Pass your day on the beach building driftwood art, bird watching, kite flying, reading or napping, and shell collecting. Walk north on the beach 100 yards to the Gold Beach Visitor Center and ask the friendly docents to help you plan your stay, then continue 1.5 miles along the beach to the Rogue River as it enters the Pacific Ocean. South from Sebastian Shores, wade through or leap across Hunter Creek and stop at Kissing Rock, a beautiful example of the Oregon Coast's ancient volcanic origin. If you're with someone you love, help the rock keep its reputation. The low tide pools are exciting to explore. Walk, run or ride your beach cruiser bicycle through Buena Vista Ocean Wayside State Park to Cape Sebastian, 3 miles further south.

Wind Surfing and Paddle Boarding

World-class ocean windsurfing and paddle boarding at Pistol River and freshwater windsurfing (and lessons) at Floras Lake are major attractions.

Family Activities

Free berry picking along every back road is popular with families in July, August, and September. Spectacular hiking abounds for people at all levels of ability on well-maintained trails. A campfire on the beach (away from the sea grass dunes) is a wonderful evening activity.

Shopping & Dining

The town of Gold Beach boasts the best bookstore and art gallery in southern Oregon with baristas and a pastry chef famous known for her creative use of local fruits and berries. The Gold Rush Center is home to wonderful local artists and craftspersons. Two supermarkets and a fish market have all the provisions for wonderful home-cooked meals at Seaview Grotto, but Gold Beach has several excellent restaurants within walking distance and the elegant Tu Tu Tun Lodge and Spa with its exquisite riverside dining room seven miles up the north shore road of the Rogue River. The cliffs at Otter Point and Nesika Beach can be carefully explored a few miles north of town.

Golf

Two intimate and fun (and inexpensive) public golf courses are nestled in banana belts within 30 minutes. The fantastic Bandon Dunes golf complex is less than 1-hour north, with 5 spectacular courses. Golf Odyssey reports, “on this remote stretch of the wildly stunning Oregon coast, where the finest golf courses in the whole world quietly await you.”

Wild and Scenic Rogue River

Two miles from the house, the Rogue River enters the Pacific Ocean from its origins 215 miles east in Crater Lake. Famous for Salmon and Steelhead trout, Gold Beach winter fishing in a heated boat could not be more relaxing. The Rogue National Wild and Scenic River is surrounded by forested mountains and rugged boulder and rock-lined banks. Two jet boat companies provide safe and comfortable but very exciting trips up into remote canyons where Bald Eagles, Otters, and Black Bears abound.

Coastal Redwoods

Considered to be one of America’s most beloved treasures, the old growth Coastal Redwood forests begin just below the California border, 30 miles south of Gold Beach. Stop by the Visitors Center in Crescent City to choose your Redwoods experience. These majestic trees cannot be captured on camera – they need to be experienced! Fishing, hiking, bird watching, and Roosevelt Elk are all part of you Redwood Forest visit.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Security depoit $300
Pet Fee $50
Cleaning and service $125
Tax Rate 7.0%

To secure a reservation, contact Mary at 636-346-8868 and check on availability.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties