check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

5Bed Canalfront Wild Horses, Kayaks, Incredible Views

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
13
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
5 - 7 nights

About the property

5 Bedroom, 3.5 Baths W/ Hot Tub Close To Beach (Sleeps 10-13) Incredible View

Accessible by 4x4 only. A Treasure Cove is what you will find in this charming home. Enjoy sound sunsets with views over the nature preserve where the wild horses roam. This is a great spot for a treasured family vacation. The whole family can enjoy the boat dock with its picturesque sitting area and the sandy play area. After a day at the beach, enjoy a drink on the deck or a little relaxation in the hot tub.

Level 1 : MBR (Q)w/ full bath; three BRs (1 Q,)( 2 sets of bunkbeds) ,( Daybed/Trundle and Twin);full hall bath.

Level 2 : Great room with gas fireplace; dining area; kitchen; half bath; screened porch.

Level 3 : MBR (K) w/bath and private deck.

Extras : Hot tub, Gas grill, boat dock with sitting area, fire pit, sandy play area, boat ramp, rowboat, kayaks, Fish cleaning station. Multiple TVs/DVDs with Direct TV, WiFi. Large screened porch with large table for a big family.

More Details

Owner
Carolyn McGarry
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 17, 2017

About Carolyn McGarry

We are from Hackettstown, NJ and have had our beach house for 5 yrs. We feel very lucky to be able to enjoy all that nature has to offer on the canal and are pleased to share it with our guests. Bring your own water toys or enjoy ours. Fish/Crab/ Kayak from the dock. The wild horses are truly amazing. Enjoy nature at its best!

Carolyn McGarry purchased this cottage in 2008

Why Carolyn McGarry chose Northern Coast & Outer Banks

Best Beach in the Outer Banks- Very Secluded! Our Family Loves the Outback feel of Adventure every visit brings a Great Family Vacation!

What makes this cottage unique

It is so Peaceful you can really relax and enjoy your family time. Yet there is so much to do that everyone can keep busy if they choose to!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We enjoyed our stay this home. The house was large enough for our group of 12. We enjoyed crabbing off the dock and we had a big crab feast on the screen porch. Looking forward to our return in 2013.
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

5Bed Canalfront Wild Horses, Kayaks, Incredible Views
average rating of 3.7142856 based on 9 reviews
5

Very nice getaway!

  • 5 of 5

House was clean and well kept. Loved the location! Horses came up to the house everyday and was an easy drive to the beach. We had a wonderful time and will be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Greensboro, NC
4

Beautiful home with beautiful views of the wild horses

  • 4 of 5

Would have gave a 5 star review if not for the water at the house. Definitely bring water to drink and cook with. Somehow a different filtration system needs to be installed. Other than that everything was wonderful!

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?
3

Beach House

  • 3 of 5

My reason for giving 3 stars was:

The outside property was nice. There is 2 double kayaks and 1 fishing boat which came in handy. There is a dock to go fishing which my kids loved every day for hours. We did crab too from the dock.

The inside of the house well it is an older house that could use some TLC. There is only 1 frig there. So you need to get ice everyday from the fire station up the road on your way to the beach. Bring ALL of drinking water. The water there is brown color. I did have the maintenance guy come out the first day and he explained to me that the water has always been that color and explained the reason. So be prepared that is the color everywhere ( shower, sink, toilet etc). The frig on the patio is broken and should be removed.

Overall this is an older house to keep in mind. We came down for the beach and did not let little things bother us. We spent 8-10 hours a day on the beach. So to come back to shower and sleep is all. They do have a gas grill but you are responsible for filling the tank. Have plenty of coolers. You will need them to store left over drinks and etc. Luckily the fire station up the street sells ice that you can pick up daily. A house this big really could use another full size frig. Whenever I come down I stop once to shop for food and then one other trip later in the week to refill. We come for the beach and don't want to have to be going into town to get water and food. We had to go out more than we wanted to get water. You don't realize how much you through. I would recommend 10-15 gallons depending on your family size.

Overall it was a nice vacation and we did what we wanted to do. The horses were in the yard daily. It is about a 30 min drive up the beach.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappionted !!!

  • 2 of 5

Was very disappointed ,WATER is terrible should get 100$ refund for money spent on ice and water . It smelled and looked like it was pumped out of sound !One refrigerator ,the grill is a rusty mess, no gas, no handle to lift lid unusable had dinners planned for this !!!

No boat oars , the yard was a mess needed mowed branches everywhere on side parking ! These pictures for the outside need updated you can't see preserve for overgrowth . So many cobwebs couldn't use outside shower ,the hot tub area had sand everywhere and more cobwebs that covered the chairs and walls of the deck it sat on ! Yes horses are in every yard every day ! The inside was nice , could use more seatting in great room ! As always the Outer Banks is a great time .... Couldn't believe when we got there not one roll of toilet paper good thing we stopped at the store before arriving there ! If people let things you should let it, pay it forward, not throw out ! If someone else is managing this you should be following up on them ! Not my first time renting ....

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are saddened that you were disappointed. We provide our cell number, and email so you can contact us. The property manager also provides their contact information., with a note to contact them if you need them or encounter any problems. We never heard from you or anyone in your group. Had you contacted us during your stay we would have did everything possible to resolve any issues you experienced. We heard from the tenant after you that the water treatment system needed a minor repair. Which was done immediately. We also replaced the BBQ when we found out that it had been damaged.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Very disappointed...

  • 2 of 5

We were very excited when we initially checked in to the house. Unfortunately, the water issues will not have us returning to the house. We stay at Carova Beach every year & are used to the water sometimes having a small odor, but the water was Brown, just like the water in the canal. We had brought bottled water to drink, but did not realize our showers & toilets would be Brown as well. We had to use bottled water even to brush our teeth. It's also really sad that we didn't even feel clean after a shower, because of the water situation. I would also suggest removing the broken fridge in sun porch, & replace it. One fridge is not enough room for 13 people, spent a fortune in ice the whole week to try to keep things cold. Also, the website states there is a gas grill, we planned dinners to grill out every night. Needless to say, the grill was rusted out, no propane,& couldn't be used at all.I would suggest removing that from the items available to use. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I apologize that you had a bad experience with the water. We provide our contact information , cell phone , email, the property manager also provides her contact info which is also posted on the front of the house. We use a local company that has a very fast response time.You never contacted us that you were experiencing water issues, The water treatment system needed a minor repair, which was fixed. Had you contacted us it would have been fixed immediately. I was very surprised because you texted me that you loved the house. The gas barbecue was also replaced.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing, Peaceful and Full of Adventure

  • 5 of 5

This property is absolutely amazing! Most fantastic place that we have ever rented. The location is ideal, right on the canal water with beautiful views, quiet, peaceful and also near the beach. When we arrived we were amazed at how pristine and beautiful it was. You can watched the sunset from the hot tub as it goes down over the water and the nature reserve. We took a walk from the house to the beach and saw wild horses along the way. The crabbing off the dock was so much fun. The Great room is opened and roomy. The screened porch was large enough for our group. We all felt that it was truly wonderful week! I would 100% recommend booking this property and would love to visit again. Book it now! You'll be so glad you did!!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

Located directly across the canal is the Spanish Mustang Reserve, where you can see wild Spanish Mustang horses grazing in their natural habitat. You can watch them swim across the canal and their daily visit to graze in the front yard. For action-oriented recreation kayak tours depart from our canal daily go on a tour or explore on your own with the kayaks we have. Crab and Fish from our dock or from our rowboat. Carova Beach Park at the end of the canal has a public boat ramp and volleyball nets. A short walk or drive and tailgate on the beach, where you can Swim, Surf, & Fish.

No visit to Corolla is complete without climbing the Currituck Beach Lighthouse, a 158-foot high structure built in 1875 that still flashes at 20-second intervals to warn ships hugging the chain of barrier islands. Next on the must see list is the Whalehead Club, a 21,000-square-foot Art Nouveau home that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Horse lovers will also enjoy the Corolla Wild Horse Museum located within the restored schoolhouse of Corolla Village. Kids have an opportunity to paint their own wild Colonial Spanish Mustang. For some great family fun, play the Grass Course, a miniature golf course on all natural grass.

Shopping is abundant at the village Timbuck II.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Corolla Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Early Season
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 16 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,995
 
 
In Season 2016
Jun 17 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,450
 
 
July 4th week
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,595
 
 
Season
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,450
 
 
Post Season
Aug 19 2017 - Sep 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,695
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$290
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet fee for 1 $100 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $100
Cleaning fee $135 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Corolla Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 5 - 3 twin/ single
  • 1/Master with king and bath and private deck 2/Master with Queen and full bath 3/bedroom Queen shares hall bath 4/bedroom 2 sets of bunkbeds 5/bedroom 1 twin and 1 daybed with pullout trundle
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This home has a private well, with a water filtration system. You may want to bring bottled water. The nearest grocery store is in Corolla so you may want to stop and bring supplies with you.

Partner Offers