Two Bedrooms With Bonus Bunk Room Overlooking The Pacific Ocean
About Heidi Koch
Originally from California, Jake and I met out in Colorado where we lived for over 17 years. We enjoyed living there and sharing all the fabulous outdoor activities with our children as well. We purchased our Baja house in 2007 hoping to spend some quality time with our family at the ocean. We surely enjoy this special time with such an amazing view of the Pacific! More recently we have moved back to California in the San Luis Obispo area and are looking forward to sharing all that California has to offer with our children as they grow, but also hoping to get to Baja even more than before.
Heidi Koch purchased this House in 2007
Why Heidi Koch chose El Pescador
We first vacationed at this house during Thanksgiving time in 2006. It was for sale and we loved our time here so much that we bought the property soon after. Our plan was to be able to enjoy the house when we were able to get away from Colorado and to continue to use it as a vacation rental as well. We have had many memorable visits with our children. They absolutely love being at the Baja house. The connection with the ocean is unforgettable.
What makes this House unique
One of my favoite places when at the house is the front entry courtyard. It's such a cool place to sit on a warm summer day. The bouganvilla cascading over the entry is absolutely beautiful. But it's undeniably the view of the Pacific Ocean on the back patio that cannot be forgotten. Being able to walk down to the waves to surf in front of the house is Jake's favorite activity. Come experience our House by the Waves, Casa De Las Olas. It is such a family friendly house in a quiet and safe neighborhood with a beach below (depending on tides) and the village of Puerto Nuevo next door. Perfect for a couple or a family.
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 12:00 PM
Pets considered with pet deposit.
Suitable for all ages.
Minimum age of primary renter:25
CLEANING FEE IS SEPARATE due upon arrival. Typically $60-75
Nightly Rental Rate Increase for Over 6 People
100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Absolutely The Best Ever
This house was amazing!! I could have not had a better place to stay at! Seven of my friends able to just relax, drink, and eat our hearts out!! Rental was just what the pictures show but the location is off the charts! House right on the cliffs where crashing waves never stopped! It’s was angelic simply can’t say one bad word!! The house made the experience a lifetime!! Everything was at our fingertips!!
We enjoyed our time in 118 Pescador house! The home was clean and had plenty to offer our group, the view and beach were excellent for the kids and dog . We also loved how close it was to Puerto Nuevo . We would definitely stay again .
Thank you for the wonderful review Samantha! We enjoyed hosting your group.
We hope to see you again!
Clean house But not what I expected, if the owner fix all the issues this house will have a potentia
This house has a nice view but not a swimming beach, the stairs will take you to the cliffs. 15 or 20 minutes drive will take you to two different swimming beaches. One of the amenities that has listed is cable for the tv, but the house doesn’t has it ( yes Debbie mention it but is not the point) I booked 3 nights I expected to found what was listed. The house has a strong and bad bad smell between an old house and sewer, ( we used her spray odor neutralizes and we bought more) maybe open the house more often or days before the guest arrive, My dog get a fleas in the house ( I didn’t walked her on the streets or took her at the beach) that’s why I rented this house because was pet friendly, yes the owner answered me that they do fleas bombs but who knows, if you go here, buy in advance flea powder or give your pet a flea pill or collars or a flea shot. The house doesn’t have screens on windows or doors, so be prepared to deal with mosquitoes, get a mosquitoes repellent in advanced. We had many, many ants on the left side of the sliding door going to the couch and all over the floor in the dining room area and living room ( no I didn’t have food outside we didn’t use the kitchen except to warm water for a coffee in the morning) ants didn’t went in the kitchen. If you are looking for a clean house this house is very clean and have everything like umbrellas patio furniture in their storage to enjoy the view ( just the view) we didn’t use anything. Hope the owner fix this issues as she said she is doing what she can do.
I would like to address the low review: after 12 years of owning this home and opening it up to renters, this is the lowest review we have received. Nothing has changed at our home and we usually get 5 stars.
Some issues that this renter had could have been cleared up if she followed our home rules and information given to each renter and explained in person by our manager, Debbie:
*the neighborhood stairs that lead to the beach are 5 houses down. We ask that renters not use the back stairs of the house that lead to the bluff and the cliff area. This renter used the wrong stairs to access the beach.
*We have not had cable tv for the last 4 months. We have a smart tv with netflix etc. This is stated on the website and was updated over 3 months before this renter booked her reservation. This renter did not read the information packet.
*We do our best to open the house to air out before renters arrive. It is summertime and warm/hot. During summer, the seaweed can pile up on the beach due to lack of winter storms and can attribute to an ocean smell.
*We allow dogs with prior approval and are proud to open our home to pet owners. We use flea bombs frequently to take car of any fleas. We have never, not once, had a renter complain about fleas. This renter told me in an email that she found 1 -one- flea on her dog.
*We do not have screens on the sliding doors. There's not been a need as there are very little bugs. We have not had good luck with sliding screens as they rust out within months due to the salty ocean air. We have tried the hanging screens and can try that again.
*This renter brought more people than stated in the reservation and hid them from our manager when checking in.
*Ants: typically there is not a problem. Of all the years of owning the home, we never noticed an ant issue until last visit in which we noticed ants finding some food and we adjusted. We spray if needed and leave spray for others. Not sure what else we can do. We try our best and will continue to do so.
We do all that we can to keep the house clean and ready for renters. Our house manager lives nearby and has cared for our home for years now. She is available for renters if an issue arises. This renter did not contact her until they were planning on leaving. We wished that she would have contacted Debbie, our manager, to assist with the issues as they arose. All we strive for is a comfortable happy stay. We do our best to do this, all along keeping our rental prices low to accommodate renters. We want people to enjoy their stay and our home at the same time! We have a good track record and are proud of our over 10-year rental history.
Had a great, relaxing mini-vacation.
Beautiful location. Invitingly decorated. Well cared for
Great house, beautiful view, outside smell, helpful host
Overall we had a great stay. The house is charming and clean with a wonderful view. Debbie is nice and welcoming. We surfed right off of the tidal beach below the house and on one day two seals joined me throughout the session. The beach further south was a fun day trip. The only drawbacks were the smells outside the house. It frequently smelled of sulfur outside the house and in the evenings it seemed many people burned garbage. Also, the water is not safe to drink. Again, the house itself was clean, but these are a couple of considerations about the area.
Great charming property
This house was perfect for me and my BF weekend gateway. We liked how it was Gates and it sits on the corner lot. The views of the beach were spectacular. The weather was awesome. And just walking distance from the lobster village. Only 20mins ride into rosarito. The house was spacious and very clean. The property manager was very informative and was very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay. Only thing I would say are to upgrade the mattresses. They were just a little firm. But overall we had a fabulous time. We'd definitely come back.
The quaint lobster village of Puerto Nuevo is a two-minute drive or a short stroll down the beach. The village is home to many restaurants and marketplace outdoor shopping.
Casa de las Olas is only 15 minutes south of Rosarito Beach with its wide sand beaches, wonderful restaurants, and great shopping. Shop with local merchants and artisans! Casa de las Olas is located approximately 40 minutes from the San Diego International Airport and 30 minutes south of the Mexican border from Tijuana