Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Panoramic Views Of Sound And Marsh-Short Walk To Beach

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 1/2 Baths, Open Kitchen & Living Area

Panoramic views of the sound and marsh, and easy walking to the beach, this Frisco gem has it all.

On the first level you will find 3 bedrooms, two with a shared hall bath and master with its own bath. Convenient hall laundry near bedrooms. Shaded deck with beautiful sound views!! The second level offers a kitchen with an island, living and dining area with access to the sundeck, half bath.

1 Queen(master)/1 Queen /1 Triple bunk set

Pets not Permitted,stereo with CD Player,Deck Furniture,Non Smoking.

More Details

Owner
Jennie Veal
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
September 13, 2017

Map

Jolly Roger Pub and Marina
"Great place to have a shrimp burger and a cold beverage while visiting Ocracoke."
Ocracoke Coffee Co
"Great smoothies and nice book store."
Ocracoke
"Take a ferry ride to visit Ocracoke, rent a bike and ride the village or you can also rent a..."
Cape Hatteras Lighthouse Old Location
"A must see while visiting here. It is the tallest lighthouse in the country."
Dancing Turtle
"Fine cup of joe!"
Dinky's Restaurant
"Awesome food. go early or you may have to wait, but it's worth the wait."
Nearest Airport
1 Miles
Frisco Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Capt. Rolo's
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Hatteras Ferry
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Frisco mini golf and go cart
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Quarterdeck
Car: recommended

Amenities

Frisco House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , master
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , living area
    Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , double on bottom, twin on top
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
43% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Panoramic Views Of Sound And Marsh-Short Walk To Beach
average rating of 4.4375 based on 16 reviews
4

Nice place, good location off beaten path and away from tourist part of Outer Banks

  • 4 of 5

Overall, the rental at the Tern Inn was great. The place has a solid view of the Sound which is a superior view for hanging out on the back deck in the morning or sunset time. The place had more than enough room to take care of our 9 guest party. Three full BDs on the first floor and the Widow's watch on the 3rd floor. Yeah there are some repairs that need to be made with sheetrock, etc., but nothing that will ruin your vacation, the negative reviews that were posted were probably by snotty NY people expecting nothing but the best for the money and whining about stupid stuff that has no bearing on their vacation. We did not see any bugs, and had no issues the entire time we were there-minus the loss of power to the island that was by the construction crew building the new bridge. It just happened to be when we were on vacation. I feel bad for the poor people coming in after us that had to cancel their vacation due to the evacuation-but again no way the owners could have prevented this..... Overall, I highly recommend this place but I will say they should update their VRBO ad and remove the pics of the walkway to the Sound because they are a bit misleading. There is a note that the walkway is under repair on the fridge. The walkway is not accessible due to repairs stemming from a hurricane. However, it was very apparent that the walkway has been in disrepair for quite some time and the home owners have no intention of making the repairs(probably due to insurance reasons). The boards blocking off the walkway are weathered and you can tell it has been this way for years. They should remove the pictures of the walkway until they decide to actually open it up. We however paid no attention to the signs to not use the walkway and explored the area and had a great time. There is very little damage to the walkway and we made our way down to the sound with no problem. Overall, a great place to stay, a 2 minute walk to the beach with great views of the Sound. It is a remote area but has all of the conveniences you need. Grocery store within minutes, restaurants within walking distance, and what we all want for vacation: peace and quiet with beautiful views and serenity. Definitely will come back here again. Loved it!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad that you enjoyed your stay even as the loss of power during your stay. The walk area was damaged during hurricane Mathew last October and we can't get a crew to work on it yet because they are busy getting folks back into their houses. The old boards we put up are used ones that we had that is why they are so weathered and not new looking. We do hope to have that repaired before next rental season rolls around. I am glad that no one was hurt when you walked to the sound. Looks like they may open the island if all goes well this weekend so vacationers can come back. Hope to hear from you next season.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Not Bad

  • 4 of 5

First time to OBX with 10 of us in tow and will say that Frisco is great. Love to be away from all the crowds in the beach and that's what this house provides.

The house needs updating and basic attention.

Counted 5 large roaches inside the house during our stay. Big ones. Didn't freak us out too much though, if you're only surface cleaning twice a month or so you're going to attract these bugs. But they should spray for these for future guest sakes.

The house needs basics like light bulbs - indoor and outdoor. Many were burnt out and the ones we needed the most were the flood lights in front of the house - even the front door outside light didn't work.

For god sakes, buy a new hose. That thing kinks when the wind blows and is a real downer to use.

Beds weren't made when we got there. I kind of expected that. Most of the linens were still in the dryer when we arrived.

The loft is super hot and I know it's been mentioned in previous reviews but something should be done. Listing your house as a place that sleeps 10 is a bit of a stretch when most nights it's not bareable to sleep in the loft. Buy a window unit, get a AC blade installed, do something to utilize that room.

It's also boarded up on one side up there due to maybe an old leak. It's time to fix it.

The mattresses have to be every bit of 20 years old.

The trundle bed under the stacked bunk beds wasn't used because it's so narrow and extremely uncomfortable.

The couch IS so comfortable but clearly needs to be replaced - you'd be well served to buy a pull out couch and replace it.

I gave this place 4 stars based on the location and the basic needs it met for me personally. My wife on the other hand would have rated it 3 stars.

Finally, some of the closets are locked up and not accessible. Not great when you're renting this as a ten person house...we could have used that extra room.

I hate writing a bad review but if you don't know what's broke, you can't fix it.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are aware that the house needs updating and are planning on doing things this winter before next rental season. The roaches you saw are not roaches they are water bugs. We have them here because of the water we have around us and the march lands also we have had a lot of rain and that is when they come inside. We don't make the beds but leave clean sheets for each bed and the quest makes what bed they choose to sleep in. The reason there was some linens in the dryer the quest before you didn't wash the linens and to make sure they where clean I had to wash and get things done. There are light bulbs under the sink in the kitchen and over the washer and dryer. the closets that are locked are owner lockups all rental house's have them. The door in the loft is done because of hurricane damage and right now it has to stay that way but we hope to get a shutter made for it so we can use the deck. We hope that you will stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

The place was very nice and clean. I liked the privacy of the location.

  • 4 of 5

It's located in a great location with beautiful views of the sound! I was a little upset that the boardwalk walking down to the sound was not in working order also I could feel the house move when my husband was walking around out on the deck or if the washer was on spin cycle. I'm not sure if this is normal, I've never stayed in a house with stilts. It was just my husband and I, if my kids were with us we probably would've had to go buy more towels there's only four towels for the whole place and those are bath towels there's no beach towels included. Overall I really enjoyed the place!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the house. The walkway is closed because of the hurricane damage and so many people are still trying to get back into their house that will have to be repaired at a later date. Houses on pilings do shake that is how they are designed. We put out a towel and washcloth for each guest that is listed on the web site. The house does not provide towels for the beach and that is on our page under amenities. Hope to have you come and stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Great view, awesome beach but the house sways

  • 3 of 5

We loved Frisco! The house is cute and we really liked the layout. The beach was amazing and was never crowded! The person who manages the house was very nice and easy to talk to! However, we won't ever stay there again. The whole house sways back and forth at all times. We are all beach people and have lived and stayed in a lot of beach houses. None of us have ever experienced a house that moves like this one did. Laying in bed or standing in the kitchen, we could feel the house moving left to right! We had great weather and low winds. I felt like I was on a cruise ship. The house is in need of repair as well as the dock. The top deck is boarded up and you can't access. All of the outdoor furniture is horrible. There were a few plastic chairs that hardly held an adult male and the adirondacks had so many rusty screws sticking out we were afraid to sit in them. If this house was in good repair, it would be great.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nikki, All of the houses here sway in this area, they are designed to do that. The upstairs area has been closed off for many years due to leaking issues that could not be fixed. The house is 17 years old and the owner is aware of repairs to be done inside and out and will be getting started on that as soon as possible. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great house and location!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay here in June 2017. Great location, well furnished, great sunset views.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Our stay on Hatteras was wonderful! The house was comfortable and tasteful with a good amount of space for our family of 5. Our kids loved the loft area and we all went up to read books, play games and see the light from the Cape Hatteras lighthouse. Beautiful view of the sound! Morning and evening (sunset) views were amazing. We brought our fold-out wagon and loaded up for the beach and it was a quick walk down the street and over the dunes. Fantastic weather and a great beach. Aside from street noise from Hwy 12 which runs right next to the house, the area was pretty quiet. We spent time on the beach, visited the Cape Hatteras lighthouse, went to mini golf/bumper cars, and took the ferry to Ocracoke for a day of riding bikes around the island. Couldn't have been more relaxing.

My only criticism would be that the supplies are a bit sparse. Only 1 extra roll of toilet paper and one towel/washcloth per person. We ended up buying some laundry detergent and washing towels several times during our stay. I had also brought extra toilet paper and paper towels from home and we used those. Also, the walkway to the sound was roped off due to needed repair which was disappointing. Not such a big deal but would have liked to know that before going as it's a nice feature of the house.

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $79

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.