Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front 4BR House, WiFi, Pet Friendly, HDTV, MB Balcony Overlooking Ocean

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Ocean Front 4 Bedroom House 1200 SQ Feet, Sunday/Sunday weekly rental

Ocean Front House, Modern floor plan and kitchen with brand new, Flat Screen TV's in Every Room, Free WiFi.

In September 2014 we took out all the carpet and installed hardwood floors in all rooms. Additionally, every bed has a new mattress, new blinds in the rooms and a new heat pump for more efficient and effective cooling and heating! Also, we brought in new couches in September! It is FRESH!!

This two-level beach cottage includes ... cable TV/DVD... high speed internet.. a variety of cards, & board games for your family to enjoy...all at no added cost. The screened-in porch is lovely no matter the weather! There is a picnic table for morning coffee or afternoon snacks, or sit back, relax and listen to the ocean in the wicker chairs.

The kitchen is well-equipped with all plates, pots, pans and gadgets so you can can easily whip up a meal from the abundance of fresh, local seafood and produce available on the island. Don't miss the Farmers Market every Monday located a half mile from the house.

The master bedroom has a queen size bed where you will wake up looking out over the ocean! The second upstairs bedroom has a 1 queen bed, downstairs the 3rd has 2 double beds and the 4th has a queen bed.

Walking distance to City Center with 5 Public Tennis Courts, skate board park, soccer/ball field, new playground, pizza place, ice cream shop, movie rentals, and T-shirt/souvenir beach shop.

A perfect get-away for families and couples any time of year! Need to de-stress and unwind, then its time for a beach vacation.

This is a Sunday to Sunday weekly rental during the Summer.

More Details

Sarah Davidson
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 23, 2017

About Sarah Davidson

We are an active traveling family with 6 vacation properties for rent. This ocean front house, and another 6 houses down the street, a Townhome in Cottonwood, Utah (8 miles from Alta, Snowbird, Solitude and Brighton) and 3 Slopeside Condos in Wintergreen, Virginia. Vacation Year Round in one of our wonderful homes! We offer 10% discounts for customers who stay in two our homes in the same year. We are pet friendly because ours are apart of the family. We love to ski and play tennis as a family, but travel frequently for Sarah (Mom) who is a frequent triathlon competitor.

Sarah Davidson purchased this house in 2013

Why Sarah Davidson chose Southern Coast

The View is Amazing. The ocean runs East to West so you get an Ocean Sunrise and Ocean Sunset. Conveniently located a half hour off Interstate 40.

Tennis For Free..Just 3 blocks from Free Public Tennis Courts that are in Great Shape!

For Golfers...The Oak Island Golf Club welcomes you to a coastal Carolina golfing experience. But summer vacationers to Oak Island’s vacation community in Brunswick County enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and warm southern hospitality that are hallmarks of Oak Island GC. The 18-hole, 6,720 yard George Cobb design provides an exciting adventure, round after round.

What makes this house unique

Rest, Beach, Bike, Tennis, Golf, Walks and Plenty of Night Life. Great for Families. The Monday Farmers market is 3 blocks away--so fun! Also in this area is a skate board park and children's playground!

We have another ocean front home 7 houses down the street if you are bringing more family and friends along--togetherness, but not too close!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Sarah, Just a note to tell you how much we enjoyed our week at Smooth Sailing. The beds were super comfy, the kitchen extremely well stocked, and good vibes were present everywhere. We especially loved the top deck view, and the warmth of the sun...even in late November!! Thanks so much for creating such a warm and welcoming "home away from home" Anne and Family
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 2


Oak Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Ocean Front Master with One Queen Bed (upstairs). 2nd Bedroom 1 Queen Bed (upstairs) First Floor: 3rd Bedroom 2 Double Beds (1st floor) 4th Bedroom 1 Queen Bed (1st floor)
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
1 outdoor showers


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

Ocean Front 4BR House, WiFi, Pet Friendly, HDTV, MB Balcony Overlooking Ocean
average rating of 4.725 based on 42 reviews


  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Smooth Sailing. It was our second year to stay and we hope to make it number three next year!! Thanks, Sarah.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Randee, We love our returners! That is the best compliment that could ever be paid to us. Your vacation was so perfect you want to do it again. Looking forward to #3! Take Care, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A little disappointed. House in need of some repairs such as lights and fans. Location undedirable.

  • 3 of 5

We loved the screened in porch. The house was very clean. Difficult getting to beach even though house is beachfront. Rain caused a large pool of water between house and dunes that couldn't drain and remained all week. Interior of house in need of repairs. Several fans and lights not working properly. Pillows are horrible.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pam, Sorry you were a little disappointed. It is hard for us to clear water out of the land between our house and the beach. Please keep in mind we had a terrible hurricane in the Fall that we are still rebuilding from. We had to hire someone to create new dunes for us and plant new vegetation. It is all coming back very quickly and now even the city has stepped in and helped make the dunes bigger. April can be a wet month, so the rain did build up some, but this is very unusual and really there is nothing that can be done about it. I know there is a city walkway two to three houses down that should have provided a great walkway for you. I haven't had a single complaint about the pillows, so you are the first person to bring this to my attention, but now that I have heard rest assured I will be on this and most likely replacing pillows within the month. I also hadn't had any feedback about fans and lights not working. I had a maintenance man in there two weeks ago to get the place in shipshape to begin the summer season. We like our homes to be perfect for guests because we want every guest to leave happy. I will have my maintenance man back in there with a week to take a look at fans and lights and get them running perfectly. Feedback from renters is always very helpful to keep our home looking and running great. I am thankful for you help. Rest assured light bulbs will be replaced (we always keep extra for guests so they can replace if need be) and pillows will be purchased. Take Care, Sarah Davidson
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location, location, location

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this beach house. You couldn't ask for a better location..right on the beach! The sunrises and sunsets were amazing, and we enjoyed sitting out on the front deck. Glad we were able to spend the month of December there. Although this rental includes linens and bedding we brought our own, and having the washer and dryer was an asset. There is plenty of dishes and cookware and we cooked most of our meals at the house. Thank you for allowing us to rent the house as we really ejoyed ourselves.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased you had a great time at our beach house! We are really close to the beach and especially so after the hurricane this fall! It gives beach front a new meaning. We like cooking ourselves so it is important to us to have everything you need to cook up a great meal. The screen porch lets you enjoy the outdoors even on those less than perfect days. What a great way to spend December. Thanks for choosing our home and we hope you can comeback next year! Happy 2017, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Definitely "Smooth Sailing".

  • 5 of 5

We had the most amazing vacation week at Smooth Sailing that we have ever had. Going to bed at night and getting up in the morning looking at the ocean was so relaxing. We had everything we needed to cook meals, relax, and just make memories. Sarah the owner made everything so easy for us to have this time together, we plan to come back here asap.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Donna, I can tell you that you are one of those really positive people who makes everyone around feel good. Your feedback was so kind, positive and happy throughout our communications. I am thrilled you had an excellent vacation. You and your family are welcome back any time and hopefully often! Thank you, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Feels like home

  • 5 of 5

This was our 3rd time at Smooth Sailing, and our 4th time renting from Sarah. She is so lovely to work with. This cozy beach house is very well equipped, and the location is perfect. This is truly our home away from home. Hope to return for a 4th time next year!

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alan, I am so glad it feels like home and the wonderful thing is you treat it like your own home. You are so helpful and kind. Thanks to you two for being so conscientious. Keep coming back we love having you every time! Take Care, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Canandaigua - Finger Lakes, NY

Oh what a beautiful beach week!

  • 5 of 5

This home is literally about 40 steps from the beach! Taking that into account, know that this is truly a beach house! There is everything you need to make you stay fun - games galore, everything you need to cook (but why?), beach chairs, grill, all the fixin's for a fabulous time but all you really need is your sunscreen, swimsuit, beach towel, a snack and some cold beverages!

And...LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! We loved little day trips to Southport, Bald Head Island, Carolina Beach and Calabash! Truly, we ate so much great seafood that we only cooked twice....and that was breakfast!

Being at the beach is a retreat from reality of us and we're retired! It was nice to just sit back, relax and enjoy our surroundings. There are televisions in each bedroom and the living room and we never turned one on once. We enjoyed the fabulous back porch and outer deck, the sound of the waves and the birds and watching folks stroll along the beach.

The house is easy to live in - it's a bit rustic and being at the end of the summer rental season could use a little sprucing up - some fresh paint on the trim inside, etc. I mentioned that to Sarah, the owner and she is all over it!!! A delight to work with from our initial contact with her. We had absolutely NO issues at all. A note to future renters...put a pan of water outside the door and a towel to wipe your toes - that way you don't get sand inside - a lesson we learned years ago after doing a lot of sweeping and cleaning! I don't want to clean or sweep when I'm on vacation!

Relax, enjoy and just BE AT THE BEACH!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Monica, Well that just about made my week, what a wonderful way to start Monday morning. That review was so thorough and informative I have nothing to add! Except how pleased I am that you completely enjoyed your vacation. We work hard at communication and upkeep so it is hassle free over your very precious vacation time! The porch screens get replaced next week--salt air and hurricane winds can do a number on screens! I certainly loved your tip about the bucket and towel! I did keep a bucket out there for just that sort of thing but that blew away quickly! We certainly look forward to having you back next year! Love your attitude! Take Care, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Many Bars and Restaurants
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Oak Island CC
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Many Restaurants
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Ocean Front
Car: recommended

Free Public Tennis Courts are 1 mile away. Also, there is a free skateboard park close to the tennis courts.


Rates & Availability

Oak Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
May 2017
Apr 30 2017 - Jun 3 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
Early Summer
Jun 4 2017 - Jun 17 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
Jun 18 2017 - Aug 12 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
4th of July
Jul 2 2017 - Jul 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Late Summer 2016
Aug 13 2017 - Sep 10 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
Sep 11 2017 - Oct 21 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
4 night minimum stay
Late Fall
Oct 22 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Early Winter
Nov 1 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jan 1 2018 - Feb 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
March 2017
Mar 1 2018 - Apr 6 2018
5 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Cleaning $160 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Weekly rental Sunday-Sunday Summer

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message

You might like these similar properties