Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Enjoy Winter in The Adirondacks at Ruby Hill Cabins

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

.Enjoy all of the beauty and excitement that the Adirondacks in winter have to offer while staying in your own cozy log sided cabin. Grill outside on your charcoal BBQ, make s’mores in the stone fire pit, take a refreshing three mile walk through the quaint Hamlet of Wells and around Lake Algonquin or just curl up with a good book in your warm and comfy cabin.

Newly constructed with all new appliances and furnishings. One bathroom with tub and shower and washer/dryer. Fully furnished modern kitchen with stainless electric stove, microwave and refrigerator. Living room with 32” flat screen TV with built in DVD player, Dish Network, WiFi and furnished with unique Adirondack style furniture.

Located in the heart of the southern Adirondacks, Ruby Hill is 15 minutes from Oak Mountain Ski Area , 30 minutes from Gore Mountain and 20 minutes from Lapland Lake Cross Country Ski Area. There are also numerous trails nearby for snowshoeing, hiking and cross country skiing.

If snowmobiling is your thing, you can unload your sled at your cabin, ride our private trail a quarter mile and connect with the hundreds of miles of the New York State Trail System. You never have to load it back on the trailer until your stay is over.

We provide an ideal cabin for those who want to experience an Adirondack getaway in the woods with the convenience of nearby winter activities. An experience that will keep you coming back year after year.

More Details

Amenities

Wells Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View
  • Village
  • Water View
General:
  • Internet
  • Telephone ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Sink, toilet,combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Bedroom 1 Beds: Double (1) Loft Beds: Twin/Single (2) Notes: 1 Futon chair
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
5% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Enjoy Winter in The Adirondacks at Ruby Hill Cabins
average rating of 4.894737 based on 38 reviews
5

Simply perfect!

  • 5 of 5

We couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay. The cabin is cozy and relaxing. Perfect after long days of skiing. Can’t wait to return. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a relaxing getaway from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The cabin was perfect, clean, had everything we needed. We enjoyed time on the lake with their canoes, and hiked nearby. A lot of restaurants nearby are closed Monday's and Tuesday's. So keep that in mind. We cooked at the cabin so it didn't affect us much. Jerry and Susan were great hosts and have a nice little cabin. Do not hesitate to rent this beauty.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful cabin, well kept. The lake with the canoes and kayaks were a great time. Plenty of good hiking trails. Auger Falls was a favorite. Fire pit after a long day was really nice. Would definitely come back.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fairport, NY
5

LOVED IT!!!!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was awesome, Gerry and Susan are rock star hosts, we really enjoyed our stay. It was not enough time...great area for children, we loved being able to walk right over to the beach. The cabin is cozy, the screened in porch is key for after the kids are in bed! I can't say enough, we will be back!!

The Jones Family

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Adorable secluded cabin

  • 5 of 5

Loved this cabin. Besides being extremely neat and clean it was adorably decorated and a lovely place to relax for a few days. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good for a few nights-but watch out

  • 3 of 5

Pros: Clean cabin, fairly new, good location, owner appears friendly.

Cons: Bedding is old and worn out, wifi usually does not work, hidden fees- they will add a $59 cleaning fee, then tell you they clean it themselves. They add a 10% booking fee. They look for excuses not to return your security deposit. Most restaurants in area are closed Monday and Tuesday, some seem permanently closed.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Although I hesitated to respond to this review, it contains so many inaccurate statements that must be addressed and the review must be put in its proper context: *All of the bedding is replaced each year in the spring. The quilts fade through the season because they are washed after each reservation. *WiFi. We are located in the Adirondack Mountains. Admittedly, we don't have the high speed fiber optic connectivity found in the more populated parts of the state. We do, however, have our internet provided through a DSL. It is quite reliable and we have very few service outages. We have the same service for our business as our cabins. (Although different networks) During our guest's stay, there was no service outages. There may have been a problem with the cabin's network. Possibly, the guest forgot that I explained that on rare occasions the router or the signal booster in the cabin has to be rebooted and if that problem occurred, just call me and I can restore it in minutes. We were never made aware of the problem. *Hidden fees. There a $50 cleaning fee (not $59) which is clearly stated on the VRBO/Homeaway web site. We have a person who cleans our cabins and that fee goes directly to her. On occasion, we have guests departing and arriving on the same day in both cabins. When that happens, Susan and my daughter give her a hand. A spotlessly clean cabin for our guests is far too important to us to have the process rushed. *Booking fee. The 10% booking fee is assessed by VRBO/Homeaway. We have nothing to do with it. * The one restaurant in Wells closes on Tuesday and Wednesday. We provide our guests with the menus of numerous restaurants located 15 minutes north in Speculator and 15 minutes south in Northville. *Security deposit. In the five years that we have rented our cabins to the many hundreds of guests, we have held only TWO deposits. In this case we did not have to look for a reason to keep this guests deposit. We only had to step inside the cabin to smell the stale cigarette odor on the curtains and furniture. We had to pay people to come in to wash and rehang the curtains and fumigate the cabin for our incoming guests that day. The web site and the house rules which are posted on the refrigerator clearly prohibit smoking in the cabin for the comfort of our future guests. Clearly, this review is predicated on the retained deposit rather than the quality of product that we provide our guests. Please read our other reviews......... Gerry & Susan
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Owner

Gerry & Susan Murphy
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
February 17, 2018

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Damage Deposit $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties