Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Waterfront - Orchid Bay Casita 9A

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,150 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

One bedroom Casita with loft and beautiful hardwood right on the beach.

Orchid Bay is a resort community located on a protected cove on the beautiful Bay of Chetumal in northern Belize. Casita 9A is an 1150 2 bedroom (one is a loft) one bath home with complete kitchen, air conditioning, and a large screened in porch right on the waterfront. It has beautiful Belizean hardwood ceilings, loft walls, and furniture. The use of our 2 Bicycles and DVD movies are included. (No television channels are available yet.)

It is not located right in Corozal. It is 12 miles on bumpy, unpaved roads.

---Options for getting to Orchid Bay :

1) Fly to Belize City and rent a 4X4. (All agencies have them) There are two options to drive to Orchid Bay. (each takes approx. 2 1/2 hrs and we will provide directions on request)

a) Take the paved Northern Highway to Corozal and then the last 3/4 hr is on a dirt/gravel/bumpy road. You will also have to cross two rivers on hand cranked ferries to get to Orchid Bay. These are pretty cool as you can ask the gentlemen if it's o.k. for you to crank and they will gladly oblige. This is the best way for your first time to Orchid Bay.

b) Take the paved Northern Highway to Orange Walk. Then turn to San Estevan, Little Belize and then to Orchid Bay.

2) Fly to Belize City and then hire a transfer to drive you to Orchid Bay.

3) Fly to Belize City and then fly to Corozal. Hire a transfer company to take you to Orchid Bay (approx. US$50) or rent a vehicle in Corozal. The cost is approx. $80/day including insurance. Belize has two national airlines : Tropic Air and Maya Island Air.

5) Fly into Cancun and then take Tropic Air to Belize City and then do one of the options above.

6) Fly into Cancun and rent a vehicle. Make sure you ask if the vehicle can be taken across the border to Belize.

7) Fly into Cancun and take ADO bus lines to Corozal, Belize and then get transfer company to pick you up and bring you to Orchid Bay.

More Details

Owner
Debi Millet
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 25, 2017

About Debi Millet

We are parents and Grandparents and love to spend time with our family. We live in the Pacific Northwest when we are not enjoying our time in Belize. We also love to travel, snorkel, read and go sailing.

Debi Millet purchased this house in 2010

Why Debi Millet chose Corozal

We purchased our Casita in Orchid Bay Belize mainly for our own use as a vacation home. We fell in love with Orchid Bay when we first visited in April of 2008 and purchased our casita pre-construction. It was completed in December of 2010. We are not yet able to be there for more than a few months a year and so are making it available for others to enjoy when we are not using it.

What makes this house unique

The rest and relaxation we enjoy when we are here make it very hard to leave. We chose Belize because of the ease of getting there from the USA. The people are so friendly and almost all of them speak English. It is a beautiful warm area. Watching the sun set from our porch with the warm scrumptious tropical breezes floating by is beyond description. Make sure you try an Apple Banana in Belize they are the best!

Amenities

Orchid Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1150 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , The second bedroom is a loft open to the living area.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • The living room has a queen sized futon.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
The on-site property manager will check guests in and out, and can provide contacts for tours, excursions, and transportation services. Note: There is a single $75 per stay (not per night) cleaning/restocking fee in addition to the nightly rate. Longer term lease rates are available. Please contact us.

Reviews

4.5/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

Waterfront - Orchid Bay Casita 9A
average rating of 4.5 based on 4 reviews
Jacksonville Florida USA
5

Orchid Bay Casita 9a was a fantastic vacation, ocean beach only steps away.

  • 5 of 5

We talked with the casita owner before heading to Belize. She gave us a great deal of information about her casita and Belize in general. We were well prepared for the trip and planned some wonderful adventures while there. We want to thank her for the personal, caring insights she shared with us.

We loved the casita layout and quality of construction (we got to watch another casita get the roof replaced). Casita 9a has a small beach and a boardwalk that was ours exclusively, what a lovely location. The entire development is in its early stages but casita 9a is first class (location, construction and amenities).

We had the experience of a power outage for a night (ALL the windows open but no breeze, only grilled food at the restaurant). The power came back about 1:00 am and the ceiling fan finally started moving. This is Belize and that kind of problem can happen, it's part of the charm of Belize.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a great time in Belize and enjoyed our home! I also enjoyed talking to you before you went on your trip. We hope if you are ever in Belize again you would contact us. Thank you so much for the great review!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wow ! This casita has the best view on this beach which is only a few steps away !

  • 5 of 5

The owners are super friendly and gave me a lot of tips and info on how to get there. The community is a little isolated BUT that is exactly what we wanted and expected. The good thing is in the community there is a restaurant, bar, boating activities, swimming pool, etc... The beach area is great for kids. Area is very safe and they also have 24/7 security as well.

The house is beautifully built and very modern with wifi internet access, HD TV, air conditioning, etc... I wish our houses in Canada where built this well !

Would stay again in a heart beat, the whole community is also very friendly and helpful.

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 1
3

Not as advertised!

  • 3 of 5

The property had one frying pan to cook with, no bottle opener and was not super clean!

The internet was not accessible from the casita,had to walk to the restaurant to get signal and even then, if the weather was not great, you would loose the signal! The roads we're absolutely horrible (mud, holes or flooded). The bugs we're unbearable, they only sprayed twice during the whole month we we're there! They make you believe that you are on the ocean (from the pictures) and you are in a lagoon area and the water was brown not aqua! They said it was because it had rained so much! They knew that the rain had been bad and they could have warned us that the water was all murky before renting it to us, but they failed to mention....did not swim once in that water as I could not see in it and was told that there could be alligators! There is no sand, only mud!!! All in all, we we're very disapointed and would not reccommend this place to my worst ennemy! We finally left early as we could not take the bugs eating us alive any longer!

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry you were disappointed! I have not been there during the rainy season to take pictures nor can I control the weather. This has been the rainiest year Belize has had for over 20 years. Before you go on Vacation you should check out the weather forecast. Due to the rain the rivers have made the Bay of Chetumal very murky and brought out more bugs than usual. There is sand on the beach, it is a bay not a lagoon. There are many types of fish in the bay, even dolphins and manatees come in. We apologize for not clearly stating on our VRBO site that it is a shallow bay. You should wear water shoes as there are rocks. It is not a great place for snorkeling like out on the barrier reef where there are more colorful fish and clearer water. We swim in the bay every day while we are there and have never seen an alligator. Remember this is Belize – it is a third world country and the internet and electricity are sometimes unreliable.
Did you find this review helpful?
13 2
Southington,Ohio
5

Best Casita

  • 5 of 5

This is the best, closest to the water where every night you fall asleep listening to the waves lapping against the shore which is about 100' away. The only one with a private little dock and boardwalk. And a private beach albeit a small one. The casita has everything you need full operating kitchen, beautiful huge bedroom and a small loft for sleeping also with a very steep ladder for access. The Orchid Bay property is most definitely under development and the roadways in and out of the property are at times challenging to navigate, full of potholes, waterholes, and if raining very muddy. There is only a little restaurant on the property that serves bar food and excellent drinks. Stephen is very well versed on the happenings in the area as he is your contact for all your needs at the casita at his Orchid Bay bed and breakfast. The roads in Belize are full of potholes and every town has speed bumps known as the silent policemen. Top speed is most of the time 20-30mph. Driving around Belize can be challenging as some times there are no road signs to tell where something is. We explored Orange Walk, Corozal, Santenja, Little Belize, where the language spoken is mostly a local dialect of German, and the small towns that you have to drive through to get to these towns. All in all I can't wait to return to explore more of a very fascinating country. If your not used to seeing people that live on a very modest income and rough conditions getting to things, Belize may not be your cup of tea. It is a very under developed country by US standards. The Belizean people are friendly and we felt secure wherever we went. All I can tell you is this was the most interesting vacation I have ever taken.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review and helping others see what a great adventure Belize can be!
Did you find this review helpful?
9 2

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Corozal
Nearest Barpub
Tradewinds Bar and Grill
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Laguna Seca
Nearest Motorway
12 Miles
Corozal - Northern Hwy.
Nearest Restaurant
Tradewinds Bar and Grill
Nearest Beach
A few steps from your front door
Car: recommended

Relaxing Beach, Restaurant, Swimming Pool are on site. Paddle Boards are available to rent from the restaurant (Tradewinds Bar & Grill). High speed wireless internet is included. Laundry service is available from the on site property manager. Arrangements can be made for excursions to Maya Ruins or Cave Tubing. Snorkeling and Scuba Diving are best out on one of the Islands located on the reef. Orchid Bay is pleasantly remote, yet not isolated. Corozal Town (population 10,000) is about 12 miles away, which usually takes 45 mins. because of the rough unpaved roads. While Chetumal, Mexico (the state capital of Quintana Roo Mexico, population about 260,000), is just across the Mexican border another 8 miles north of Corozal Town.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Orchid Bay House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Low Season
Jun 1 2017 - Nov 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$130
$780
$2,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$145
$870
$2,610
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
One time cleaning fee $75
Tax Rate 9.0%

In addition to the rental rate there will be a single $75.00 cleaning and restocking fee charged for each reservation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties